View Full Version : Who influenced your life?
Raptor 04-03-2006, 10:14 AM I guess each and everyone of us will be somehow influenced by someone at an early stage of our life, sometimes good and sometimes bad influence. So much so that, the way we think, look at life and even the way we live it, was the result of that person's advice or for some, an attempt to emulate the person.
The person who had the greatest influence on my life was my Pre-U Economics teacher. At the time when I was like wondering what my life was leading to (typical teenager crisis) she was the one who talked sense into me and gave me a direction in life. Being an arts student all the time, I had wanted to pursue a career in aviation engineering. Everyone, including my parents were totally against it, except her.
Her words to me then were, if you believe in yourself and have the passion and will to do it, you will succeed. It is OK to try, fail and be disappointed, that will go away in time. But to have been given a chance to try, and did not seize it out of fear, that will be regret you bear with you till the day you die.
And I find her words so true, even up till today.
danielburgess 04-03-2006, 12:29 PM My Ol'man...
Yeh. My old man.
Managed to raise up a family even though his monthly salary was a meagre $500 while I and bro was in secondary school.
Never allowed my mommy to wash the toilet, do laundry or anything except to cook cos mom wasnt in the best of health since young.
Whenever they quarelled, he'd never let it carry on to the next day. His antics made my late mom do nothing but laugh her head off.
Always told me, not to think too much. When there's a job to be done, do it. Tired later nevermind, a good job being done is worthier than a gold mine.
Yeah, he's quite a sicko dad. Always whacking me for reasons I never did realised till today. Always demeaning me by telling me if I won't study, he'll call his friend to give me a job as a road sweeper tomorrow. Always telling me if I got a bike, at night he'd put a lighted matchstick in the tank. Always telling me if I make a girl preggie before marriage, he'll kill me. Always telling me don't change ciggies anyhow lest I get sick. Always telling me no matter wot, religion still commands my regulations and faith at the end of the day.
Till today, I live life on a day as it pass by. Sometimes of course, the fear of tomorrow and with him not being around scares me. But he'd always pacify me by saying he'd raise me up now, the rest is up to me and whatever I do, he'd trust that I'd do a good job like he does cos I come from his sperms (yeah his exact words. Sicko old man)
Money was never a problem for me. Why? Cos like him, there was either not much in the first place to care about or sometimes, too much to worry about.
Somehow, he had been my influence since I started to see life.
My Dad - The Drug Influence I'd Never Be Able To Get Enuff Of.
He created the structure, I am now strengthening it.
sparrow28 04-03-2006, 01:40 PM .......Must be him already......can't think of others
Ah James 05-03-2006, 02:57 AM Quite alot of person.. but the last person that influenced mi was my Platoon Sgt...
Reason: Saddist...
wait4me 05-03-2006, 04:53 AM my old man too...
told me what evr i wanted in life , i have to get it myself,
so as i know the meaning of money , [pleasure and the simplest form of things in life..
even a hamburger when u are poor will taste nice .
PaLmEr 05-03-2006, 09:37 AM My Ex GF. You know who you are. :smile:
CivicR 05-03-2006, 11:12 AM My folks, God Mother and my Secondary Chinese Teacher. His famous quote, human most commonly used word is .................. Me (In Chinese) At first I was sceptical over his statment but after awhile I totally agreed with him. :clapping:
StingRhea 05-03-2006, 11:21 AM ME old man~
Thought me on manners, appearance, table manners, etc....
HE came to SG in the late 60s with just a luggage bag. kudos to him i am wad i am now.
ME ex gf, bed positions, how to maintain a r/s, wad love is all about, how to love someone, not being too controlling...
ME friends, on how i ride, why i ride, introducing me to ktv and now i can sing chinese songs where i didnt listen to them since young, being around when i'm down will eventually make me prefer to be a single man.
ViciousKitty74 06-03-2006, 05:40 PM My mother.
Now trying desperately to be 'NOT LIKE HER'. Cosmetic surgery considering.
Wolverine 06-03-2006, 06:11 PM Wolverine from X Men
Raptor 06-03-2006, 10:33 PM Originally posted by ViciousKitty74@Mar 6 2006, 05:52 PM
My mother.
Now trying desperately to be 'NOT LIKE HER'. Cosmetic surgery considering.
feng125 06-03-2006, 10:41 PM Person who singlehandedly changed the course of my life...
I wouldn't be who i am now if not for her.
StingRhea 06-03-2006, 10:46 PM Originally posted by Wolverine@Mar 6 2006, 06:23 PM
Wolverine from X Men
there used to be one guy last time whu sprayed his bike wolverine paintwork.
BlurLing 06-03-2006, 11:08 PM various ppl.
A - for teaching me a good lesson on how jerk a bf can get when r/s turn nasty.
E - for teaching me how does it feels like to have waited for someone for 2 yrs..
those 2 were my ex. i've learnt alot because of them, and i've grown mentally and emotionally because of them. i wont say a "thank you" because Personally, i dun feel they deserve it. since start till end, i wasnt appreciated in de first place, so mus i say a "thank you" to them. nonedeless, thru them, i've learnt lotsa things.
my 3 *****es who stood by me thru thick and thin. nv doubt a single words i said, because they see me in and out, they know my character and they know wad kinda person i am. if it wasnt them, i doubt i will still be here typing this.
last but not least. my dad. since young, i was a pampered lil' ger. i was de youngest and de onli ger. and i'm totally my dad's lil' princess even up till today. he dun have to teach me much, cos i luv him more den enough to not to let him worry too much. at points of times, like when i broke up with my ex. i was in a total mess. i'll lock myself in my room, and jus cry. if not, i will jus stay in my room for almost 24/7. he will be there, at my doorstep, knocking and reminding me to have dinner. knowing i'm upset, he will buy things, to cheer me up. like my precious ipod. he bought that, to cheer me up, so i wont be lonely during and long and dull journey on transport.
i luv them. all de same
p.s: apart from my ex.
its my dad, and my 3 *****es whom i luv.
13randon 06-03-2006, 11:43 PM my mum :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:
^devoted^ 06-03-2006, 11:45 PM :smile: hmmm~ :smile:
too many ppl already~
and grateful to too many ppl for teaching me, molding me, impacting my life and believing in me till now, who i am today~
e.g There was this old short cleaner auntie, whom i reli admire.
This auntie will faithfully clean up the toilet, no matter how the youngster mess up the toilet~ She wont murmur or grumble unlike the other auntie (who is so much younger) who likes to eat snakes and reli exaggerate abt the condition of the toilet or the ppl using it~
This old auntie reli took pride in her work as her belief is if she don't, she say we kids will fall down due to the wet floors~
I admire her! :thumb:
Frm her i learn abt what is responsibility.
I learnt, it is not how high a person's qualification can hold a person up there~ is that person integrity, character, wisdom, personality that reli held he/she there~
to reli count them and write down my gratitude towards them, i think i reli nid 3 days~ (no joke) :cheeky:
is little by little things or people came across my path each day who change and impact me~
it reli juz take a sensitive and teachable heart to learn each day~
all i could say is that, it is always in the opposite circumstances that reli mold a person character and personality up~ and cultivate some good virtues in one person~
in a environment where every1 is so loving and caring, love, care and concern will be taken for granted so cheaply and easily~
and wont be build such depth in one person~
it will be only a 'form' outwardly,
until all these been thru the test of fire~
is where been thru betrayal, that i learn abt the true in depth meaning of trust~ and still trust~
is thru hate, misunderstanding, impatient, that i learn to appreciate abt contentment, abt love, abt patient & endurance & tolerance~
is thru failures, rejections, pain, mocking, i learn abt the virutes of humble and teachable heart~
Most impt,
thru them:
i learn how to pick myself up when i failed & fall down,
not to hide or run away when facing obstacles,
but stood firm
and lift my head up high
and move on~
with such strength and grace~ :smile:
Before marriage, my parents. After marriage, my wife. Though in both cases, control is a more apt word than influence... :cheeky:
Wolverine 07-03-2006, 09:12 AM two more people who have influenced my life......
those two bastids who have made me a sick bastid myself....
il4 and Firespitter.....
for all the mind provoking, twisted, violence loving, eye twitching, world dominating, shite talking etc antic that I have learnt.....
Kudos to you two Jubos
sparrow28 07-03-2006, 02:19 PM come to think of it...here is another one
http://www.advfilms.com/trailers/WMV/High/...0Large%204x.wmv (http://www.advfilms.com/trailers/WMV/High/Gamera%202%20Attac_WMV%20Large%204x.wmv)
Originally posted by Wolverine@Mar 7 2006, 09:24 AM
two more people who have influenced my life......
il4 and Firespitter.....
for all the mind provoking, twisted, violence loving, eye twitching, world dominating, shite talking etc antic that I have learnt.....
Kudos to you two Jubos
haha those 2 'endearing' dudes keke
_____
for me it's my hubby tat has most influence cos i wouldn't be riding if not for him :smile:
Originally posted by Wolverine@Mar 7 2006, 09:24 AM
two more people who have influenced my life......
il4 and Firespitter.....
Kudos to you two Jubos
Wah Wolverine. With 'compliments' like these from a friend like you, who needs enemies... :lol:
[c]arbine 28-03-2006, 03:13 AM counter-terrorist, CARBINE...press B den 4 den 3
limpeiwah 22-10-2007, 02:58 AM casey stoner
i guess its my all my teachers that have taught me knowledge..teachers from school, teachers from life university and most importantly the guy you see below this sentence. :D
limpeiwah 22-10-2007, 03:04 AM who might that guy be
limpeiwah 22-10-2007, 04:11 AM what did ur dad do for u fufu
queirtus 22-10-2007, 08:18 PM arbine;1809667']counter-terrorist, CARBINE...press B den 4 den 3
Ak-47 press B then 4 then 1 :cheeky: :cheeky:
if you want a hell of a fun time, terrorist/counter-terro press b, 5 then 1 and buy lotsa bullets :P
who might that guy be
you want to see his face?
what did ur dad do for u fufu
lots of stuffs! the main 1 is give me lots of money :P j/k j/k lol but definately many useful things to live as a man :P
casey stoner
so if next season nicky hayden becomes champion, then it'll be nicky hayden who influenced your life?
i am a strong believer in the Person-In-Environment framework
thus, i believe, the environment i live in has influenced me, since young, and will do so, in future
but, however, reflecting on my environment
i realised that, there is this particular 1 person, who influenced my whole environment
*hint* we all know him.... such a lovely old man... associated with reLEEgion and LEEberalism
:P
limpeiwah 23-10-2007, 01:32 AM many useful things to live as a man
fufu share share leh. ckck
no lah. casey stoner is inspirational mah. i not nicky hayden fan. that one must ask newbie.
queirtus 23-10-2007, 08:09 PM lots of stuffs! the main 1 is give me lots of money :P j/k j/k lol but definately many useful things to live as a man :P
useful things? care to elaborate more on wat those things are?:cheeky:
roseonfire 23-10-2007, 08:11 PM Im influenced by all d sMFs i came across in life before.. they made me have a different perception of life.
i m very badly influenced by some girls i meet in my life so far.. sound bad.
life got to go on though
limpeiwah 24-10-2007, 01:09 AM what is a sMFs?
lewis hamilton
slutgarden 24-10-2007, 11:16 AM b*tches all around the world influenced me.
gays.
lesbos.
i find gays to be more sensitive and caring.
lesbos to be more mature and dominent.
i find normal straight age to be stupid metrosexuals now.
last but not least, my folks and a girl named rischka.
what is a sMFs?
super mofo's?.
limpeiwah 24-10-2007, 12:19 PM who is rischka?
Sky99 24-10-2007, 01:03 PM SBF is being infulenced by LimPeiWah
limpeiwah 24-10-2007, 01:15 PM ha ha ha thanks for your support. i am trying to not so off topic cos they are nice ppl. i am glad i influenced some of you.
Sky99 24-10-2007, 01:22 PM SBF = SammyBoy Forum
hachi 24-10-2007, 01:36 PM I would said what are the thing that changed my life....A pay slip...of a PSLE regular working in SAF for 6 years. That pay slip really made me wake up my fxxxking idea...I still can remembered the amount $928 per month.....
Well when I was a teenager....dont like to study only when reality bites then you recall all those people who advised you....
Raptor 24-10-2007, 07:57 PM I would said what are the thing that changed my life....A pay slip...of a PSLE regular working in SAF for 6 years. That pay slip really made me wake up my fxxxking idea...I still can remembered the amount $928 per month.....
Well when I was a teenager....dont like to study only when reality bites then you recall all those people who advised you....
Hence the saying that "Hindsight is 20/20"
limpeiwah 25-10-2007, 02:00 AM Raptor influenced my life by posting this thread
Raptor 25-10-2007, 06:12 AM Raptor influenced my life by posting this thread
You are either trying to be sarcastic with your remarks or you are post clocking?
What is your intent?
limpeiwah 25-10-2007, 11:26 AM it is a tongue in cheek comment. lighten up unc. if u are offended i will edit or remove it . Anyway thanks for your explanation on the fork air bleeders. I meant neither sarcasm nor to clock posts. I meant it as a light hearted joke.
Raptor 25-10-2007, 03:20 PM it is a tongue in cheek comment. lighten up unc. if u are offended i will edit or remove it . Anyway thanks for your explanation on the fork air bleeders. I meant neither sarcasm nor to clock posts. I meant it as a light hearted joke.
Oh...OK. No worries.
limpeiwah 25-10-2007, 05:52 PM today one computer hero coward inspired me. talk so big call ppl loser when it comes to the crunch become no ballZ just so typical of singapore. complain complain about this that and everything about the govt and still vote pap.
|
|