View Full Version : Taking Medicines

ViciousKitty74
22-03-2006, 12:37 PM
Saw someone took meds recently and it strikes me as funny, how everyone of us has a different method to taking meds.

Eg. Pills: Most folks hate to swallow the pills. They will pop it into their mouth, quickly drink one glup of water and jerk their head all the way back to swallow. But still, they complain that they can still taste their meds on their tongue.

Does jerking your head back really open up your throat to drop down the meds?

SK I
22-03-2006, 01:57 PM
Most pills dissolve a bit when contact with water mah...so explains the bittter taste I think :confused: If it's capsule type, then no taste lor :cheeky:

Tilting the head backwards should straighten the path of swallow :smile:

ViciousKitty74
22-03-2006, 03:17 PM
Then got one time.

One lady suddenly have gastric attack.

So one of the old riders quickly gave her a bottle of pills, tell her to take.

Cos it was late night and in the dark, she then was given a glass of water and swallowed 2 pills.

Much later, while the attack subsided, then she look at the bottle. On it was the instructions:

"Chew the tablets"

aHgEr
22-03-2006, 03:23 PM
Originally posted by ViciousKitty74@Mar 22 2006, 03:29 PM
Then got one time.

One lady suddenly have gastric attack.

So one of the old riders quickly gave her a bottle of pills, tell her to take.

Cos it was late night and in the dark, she then was given a glass of water and swallowed 2 pills.

Much later, while the attack subsided, then she look at the bottle. On it was the instructions:

"Chew the tablets"
For Gastric Pills, they alwaz ask you to chew the tablets...

Actually there is not much diff in chewing or swallowing the pills but by chewing the tablets, enables the effects to take off faster :smile:

wacko
22-03-2006, 03:24 PM
for the chewing tablet..
mostly its gastritis tablets..
its helps to dissolve the tablet faster when chewed..
thats wat the doctor told me is got gastric..
chew instead of swallowing whole..

ViciousKitty74
23-03-2006, 09:34 AM
Me, I've develop a system of swallowing pills.

No matter how bitter. I would always put them at the back of my throat, drink the water and swollow like normal ways of swallowing foods. No need to tilt my head up or anything.

Then I will always follow up by sucking a sweet or drink a glass of fruit juice. that always takes off the taste of meds real quick.

And certain anti biotics, after consuming, will make the mouth taste like its tasting metal.

So usually, I will take the anti biotics during a meal. Not after a meal. ie. Eat some rice, swallow the meds & then eat some more. it helps to suppress down any nauseousness or the smell much better.

QuietStorm
23-03-2006, 04:58 PM
How many of u when takin pills, u accompany it wif warm or hot water? do u know its bad for ur health?

some may argue dat warm water can dissolve the med pills faster, which is true. however, if e med were to be dissolve faster than expected, it could cost ur life...

research shows dat takin pills wif warm water is more dangerous compare to takin it wif room temp. water... Why izit so? when u take pills wif warm water, it actually disslove the pills faster... in such scenarios, the med din really 'attack' e bacteria but was absorb by other organs in our body. meaning dat e med din hav enough time to reach e bacteria. but if u took it wif room temp water, it allows e pills to go further into ur body and uses our body heat to dissolve it. Thus its more effective in fighting off e bacteria...

So conclusion is, next time when takin pills, please take it wif cool water...

Cheers!!!

Aie
24-03-2006, 07:40 AM
I've never had any problems swallowing pills. Used to it cos I started taking supplements tablets since I was young... :smile:

chaos_heaven
24-03-2006, 08:38 AM
normally i took my meds with warm water. The reseach above i think must have scared the wits of many ppl here

QuietStorm
24-03-2006, 09:16 AM
i too used to take pills wif warm water... after i read e article, straight away i down my pills wif cool water... prevention is better than cure...

Jade
24-03-2006, 10:27 AM
I would take a mouthful of water, hold it, tilt head back up, drop pills in then swallow. No bitter taste!

Caramon
24-03-2006, 10:49 AM
i was on HBP medicine at the age of 14...
took 2 tablets twice a day for 10++ years...
now i can swallow pills without water at all... put at the back of my throat & swallow with a bit of my saliva... :weep:

limpeiwah
22-10-2007, 02:58 AM
wat u tokking

夏日爱
22-10-2007, 08:33 AM
i was on HBP medicine at the age of 14...
took 2 tablets twice a day for 10++ years...
now i can swallow pills without water at all... put at the back of my throat & swallow with a bit of my saliva... :weep:

ar? u so young , already gt HBP?

poor thing.... :(

夏日爱
22-10-2007, 08:35 AM
i koe a person who aged 40+ , still dun koe hw to swallow a tablet,

i think this kind of behaviour have to be cultivated at tender age of learning to swallow the tablet.. if not... even u are much older.. u still have the diffculities of doing so.

limpeiwah
22-10-2007, 09:32 AM
aiyah cant be help mah. its his ailment

NPNT
22-10-2007, 08:00 PM
I normally take pills/capsules/tablets thru the anus. I think its better. Wont get to taste them.

Even Panadol i take thru the anus.

Go try.

limpeiwah
23-10-2007, 01:19 AM
I normally take pills/capsules/tablets thru the anus. I think its better. Wont get to taste them.

any video or pictorial tutorial?

Echo
23-10-2007, 01:38 AM

Go try.

just curious, since ur input is at anus, then ur output should be ur mouth?

limpeiwah
23-10-2007, 01:40 AM
newbie wat about food ah? do u eat thru the anus 2?

NPNT
23-10-2007, 07:28 PM
any video or pictorial tutorial?Will try to take.

just curious, since ur input is at anus, then ur output should be ur mouth?Nope, output is at the navel.

newbie wat about food ah? do u eat thru the anus 2?Food i wanna taste, so it goes thru the mouth.

Blahhh
23-10-2007, 07:40 PM
Bro newbie, i juz now got headache, so listened to ur advice and tried taking a panadol thru my butt. But now sit down very pain leh, izzit becoz my butt still virgin ah?

NPNT
23-10-2007, 08:15 PM
Bro newbie, i juz now got headache, so listened to ur advice and tried taking a panadol thru my butt. But now sit down very pain leh, izzit becoz my butt still virgin ah?hhmm.... u adult rite? u inserted 2 at one go issit?

must put 1 at a time.. then sure good and just nice.

C.S
23-10-2007, 09:00 PM
wa sey
i prefer the best method
dissolve them, put into syringe, and inject it
goes right into the blood, for the fastest effect
try it

NPNT
23-10-2007, 09:14 PM
wa sey
i prefer the best method
dissolve them, put into syringe, and inject it
goes right into the blood, for the fastest effect
try itto me, no anal penetration = no kick.

Echo
23-10-2007, 11:49 PM
to me, no anal penetration = no kick.

u want kick, get someone to kick ur as* lah.

word of advice = too much penetration will become tua kang .....

limpeiwah
24-10-2007, 01:06 AM
u can ask the malaysians to feed u thru your butt. they willing to probe your butt.

In May, a 34-year-old Vietnamese factory worker walking at the Bukit Tengah roundabout was dragged into a car by four men, who took turns to rape and sodomise her.

check out these malaysians.

slutgarden
24-10-2007, 11:22 AM
haha. i used to call someone sodomy tan.

limpeiwah
24-10-2007, 12:16 PM
what happen to viciouskitty nick?