View Full Version : Yeow Motor @ AMK

LastDance
19-07-2006, 04:39 PM
bubbles have surfaced on my paintwork again :mad:

my bike spent 3weeks with yeow motors for the 1st paintwork. bubbles surfaced on almost the whole of the lower fairing and there were portions near the engine which looked like they were burnt. the boss claimed that this was due to my exhuast. this couldn't be as there was nothing wrong with the previous paintwork.

yeow motor agreed to respray my bike and it was left with them for another 3weeks. this time the bubbles have surfaced again but not as much as the 1st time. burnt portion also not as much. going to look up ah huat again. should i ask for a refund or go thru another 3weeks without my bike, my main transport. shall see what's his service recovery this time round.

each time my bike was away for the paint job, spent lots on taxi just travelling to and from work :weep:

will share the pics if no service recovery is offered.

CivicR
20-07-2006, 12:20 AM
I have respray my SP with Yeow previously other then the longer waiting time and price worse a bit on the high side I don't have any problem with the paintwork, maybe U speak with him about it and if problem persist maybe ask him to charge U lower then the orginal price.

ermintham
17-08-2006, 08:29 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Jul 19 2006, 04:19 PM
bubbles have surfaced on my paintwork again :mad:

my bike spent 3weeks with yeow motors for the 1st paintwork. bubbles surfaced on almost the whole of the lower fairing and there were portions near the engine which looked like they were burnt. the boss claimed that this was due to my exhuast. this couldn't be as there was nothing wrong with the previous paintwork.

yeow motor agreed to respray my bike and it was left with them for another 3weeks. this time the bubbles have surfaced again but not as much as the 1st time. burnt portion also not as much. going to look up ah huat again. should i ask for a refund or go thru another 3weeks without my bike, my main transport. shall see what's his service recovery this time round.

each time my bike was away for the paint job, spent lots on taxi just travelling to and from work :weep:

will share the pics if no service recovery is offered.
so how's the outcome?

LastDance
18-08-2006, 04:27 PM
decided not to pursue, wasted too much time and money already. just enjoy riding my bike.

if anybody asks me bout their quality, i'll suggest try elsewhere.

i have the pics still, lasy to upload now...

ermintham
18-08-2006, 05:40 PM
mayb u can post them up when u nt lazy...gd to know....coz my fren intend to go there to spray too

LastDance
18-08-2006, 05:48 PM
Originally posted by ermintham@Aug 18 2006, 05:20 PM
mayb u can post them up when u nt lazy...gd to know....coz my fren intend to go there to spray too
good luck to him then

ermintham
18-08-2006, 06:56 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Aug 18 2006, 05:28 PM
good luck to him then
sounds like a v bad experience....thanks

LastDance
29-08-2006, 08:37 PM
spoke to ah huat yesterday, he will respray for me again the lower fairing.

according to him the bubbles arose could be due to the clay not being able to withstand the heat :giddy:

ermintham
29-08-2006, 10:58 PM
hmm..hope it turns out well 4 u.....hehe

GR1Y
02-09-2006, 09:39 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Aug 29 2006, 08:17 PM
spoke to ah huat yesterday, he will respray for me again the lower fairing.

according to him the bubbles arose could be due to the clay not being able to withstand the heat :giddy:
mayb u shld try let the paint dry up then ride ur bike.....as wat u quoted may only happen on metak surface....bt on ur lower fairing,,....thk is tat the paint is nt dry enuf when u started ridding....try press hard on the edge n see if paint dry bo..n of coz if nt dry,u will ve ur finger print on ur bike keke....gd luck....

abv is my very own views due exp...

retro
03-09-2006, 07:53 PM
Originally posted by 7george8@Sep 2 2006, 09:19 PM
mayb u shld try let the paint dry up then ride ur bike.....as wat u quoted may only happen on metak surface....bt on ur lower fairing,,....thk is tat the paint is nt dry enuf when u started ridding....try press hard on the edge n see if paint dry bo..n of coz if nt dry,u will ve ur finger print on ur bike keke....gd luck....

abv is my very own views due exp...
well.. dun think he collected his bike when the paint is still wet right??? quality of paint not good??? hmm... :confused:

LastDance
05-10-2006, 10:13 PM
Finally had the time and left the fairing at Yeow yesterday.

Ah Huat will respray for me AGAIN and this time he says will put a layer of protection against the heat on the inside of the fairing. BUT I will need to pay for that... I agreed, no time to argue.

Will update again when i get back the fairing.

lacrimosae
07-10-2006, 05:11 PM
Bubbles could be from using poor quality paint and not cleaning the surface thoroughly of oil etc before the paint was applied, or if the paintjob was rushed and not allowed adequate drying time before the subsequent layer is applied. Had the same problem at many places.

Many shops which do airbrushing do it very poorly. Most of the time the image is so blur you can hardly make out what its supposed to be. Even if seen from afar it looks like a mess of colours bled together, much like when I dont wear my glasses to watch a movie.

Its hard to find honest and skilled airbrush painters in SG. If there is, do post here and share.

IamLD
27-10-2006, 02:02 PM
Just got a call from Ah Huat. My fairings are ready. Took them 23 days this time. The stickers are however not ready and can only be done next Mon/Tue.

Mentioned before in last post that he will put a layer of protection in the fairing and he's charging me $70 for that...

Will update all again if the problem persists. Wish me luck! :help:

IamLD
07-11-2006, 01:16 PM
This is pathetic... my fairings are still not ready :nono:

gargantua
07-11-2006, 02:26 PM
Just got a call from Ah Huat. My fairings are ready. Took them 23 days this time. The stickers are however not ready and can only be done next Mon/Tue.

Mentioned before in last post that he will put a layer of protection in the fairing and he's charging me $70 for that...

Will update all again if the problem persists. Wish me luck!

That is a lot of waiting and money spent. If you do not wish to spent the $70 with that poor paint work, there must be a recourse to recover that lost money. From my experience till now, I will not pursue something if already feeling negative.

This is the kind of experience that make me want to give up riding...:nono:

LastDance
16-11-2006, 12:29 PM
Originally posted by gargantua@Nov 7 2006, 02:01 PM

That is a lot of waiting and money spent. If you do not wish to spent the $70 with that poor paint work, there must be a recourse to recover that lost money. From my experience till now, I will not pursue something if already feeling negative.

This is the kind of experience that make me want to give up riding...:nono:
I agree this really make me very sian already. But I love my bike and I want it to look good. Ah Huat wants me to buy exhaust header wrap to wrap the headers as a precaution as well. This means more expenses for me.

Any advise from you guys?

He's currently sourcing for it, would appreciate if you guys can share any lobang as well.

LastDance
20-11-2006, 04:54 PM
Just got off the line with Ah Huat. The exhuast wrap will cost me $100++.

I wanted him to cover the cost as I had already paid $70 for the earlier protection he suggested for my lower fairings.
Furthermore during that time there was no mention that I should get the exhuast wrap. It was only after I suggested that did he say I should add the wrap as well.

He rejected my request and I offered to pay $50 while he covers the balance which was rejected again. I have decided to just fix back my fairings without the wrap and told him that.
He replied if I did not get the wrap he will no longer respray for me if the bubbles surface again. I did not agree to this and will fix back the fairings on wed.
Again he put the blame on my bike saying it is hotter than others. That is bullshit as my bike has never overheated and there were no problems to the previous paintwork prior to his.
There were also no mods done to the engine or exhuast after his spray job.

If the bubbles do surface again and no service recovery is offered, so be it. My bike will be a live advertisement for him.
Everywhere I go I will ask people to look at his standard of spray job.

Good day all!

Xenophobia07
20-11-2006, 07:28 PM
I did my Mito with him last year. It was tip top condition and top quality spray work. No problem at all from front to rear. I probably suspect its really the heat from your bike. In terms of paint drying, definately. Mine was even collected at night, and Ah Huat will normally get your bike washed with water first before handing it over. So paint will definately be dry.

LastDance
20-11-2006, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by Xenophobia07@Nov 20 2006, 07:03 PM
I did my Mito with him last year. It was tip top condition and top quality spray work. No problem at all from front to rear. I probably suspect its really the heat from your bike. In terms of paint drying, definately. Mine was even collected at night, and Ah Huat will normally get your bike washed with water first before handing it over. So paint will definately be dry.
If it's really the heat, why wasn't my previous paintwork affected. How bout the other RRs? Why aren't they affected?

I would guess it's the quality of the paint.

Enotsol
20-11-2006, 08:00 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 20 2006, 07:25 PM
If it's really the heat, why wasn't my previous paintwork affected. How bout the other RRs? Why aren't they affected?

I would guess it's the quality of the paint.
Was your previous paintwork original or from Yeow or some other shop? Any other RR that went to Yeow and encountered the same problem?

LastDance
20-11-2006, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by Enotsol@Nov 20 2006, 07:35 PM
Was your previous paintwork original or from Yeow or some other shop? Any other RR that went to Yeow and encountered the same problem?
My previous paintwork was original. Unforthunately I do not know of any other RR who have resprayed at Yeow.

Enotsol
20-11-2006, 08:16 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 20 2006, 07:47 PM
My previous paintwork was original. Unforthunately I do not know of any other RR who have resprayed at Yeow.
Maybe you should ask him which temperature grade of paint he's using... if you really want to test things out, use an infra thermometer and measure the temperature of your bike after a ride.

To me, original paintwork has the best paint quality so maybe Yeow really is using an inferior one.

LastDance
20-11-2006, 08:22 PM
Originally posted by Enotsol@Nov 20 2006, 07:51 PM
Maybe you should ask him which temperature grade of paint he's using... if you really want to test things out, use an infra thermometer and measure the temperature of your bike after a ride.

To me, original paintwork has the best paint quality so maybe Yeow really is using an inferior one.
Any idea where to get 1 of these and how much they costs? Also how to do the measurement?

Enotsol
20-11-2006, 08:27 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 20 2006, 07:57 PM
Any idea where to get 1 of these and how much they costs? Also how to do the measurement?

Just point the thermometer at your header and press the button to activate. Don't bother buying one since you probably won't be using it often... you can check whether your regular bikeshop has one and ride there to measure. I'm sure they won't mind and you will be measuring the rough temperature that your headers will be at after a ride.

My regular bike workshop BikeWorkz has it.

Enotsol
20-11-2006, 08:31 PM
It's too expensive to buy one for personal use.

http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi...em=300049201614 (http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300049201614)

There's a simple version being sold on AAS website but I doubt it will work for such high temperatures.

http://www.aas.com.sg/discounts/special-lifestyle.htm

LastDance
20-11-2006, 08:33 PM
Originally posted by Enotsol@Nov 20 2006, 08:02 PM
Just point the thermometer at your header and press the button to activate. Don't bother buying one since you probably won't be using it often... you can check whether your regular bikeshop has one and ride there to measure. I'm sure they won't mind and you will be measuring the rough temperature that your headers will be at after a ride.

My regular bike workshop BikeWorkz has it.
Cool! I also go there. And Beng knows of a RR who resprayed as well.

Thanks mate!

Enotsol
20-11-2006, 08:37 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 20 2006, 08:08 PM
Cool! I also go there. And Beng knows of a RR who resprayed as well.

Thanks mate!
No problem bro... next time say hi when you see me there ;)

MC28
21-11-2006, 03:31 AM
Ermmmm, but isnt OEM colour the actual colour of the acrylic use for the farring??Usually manufacturer will just paste sticker over it for the design and such...

LastDance
21-11-2006, 12:31 PM
That I do not know. Anyway when I asked Ah Huat why the previous paintwork was not affected, he had no explanation for that as well.
Since he's in this line, he should know bout what you mentioned.

And if he is going to use heat from my bike as an excuse, he should have warned me before accepting the job.
I will find time to check the heat of my bike and see if it's really true that it is extremely hot as per his claim.

MC28
21-11-2006, 03:40 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 21 2006, 12:06 PM
That I do not know. Anyway when I asked Ah Huat why the previous paintwork was not affected, he had no explanation for that as well.
Since he's in this line, he should know bout what you mentioned.

And if he is going to use heat from my bike as an excuse, he should have warned me before accepting the job.
I will find time to check the heat of my bike and see if it's really true that it is extremely hot as per his claim.
All the best bro...

btw, u use to join #HRC using this nick as well right???If you do, remember a guy by the nick os nastro??

LastDance
21-11-2006, 07:10 PM
sorry not me

AlvZz
22-11-2006, 02:31 PM
Ld i sure u r not the only one tat faces it
infact the amount of heat is too much for the sticker that he use

LastDance
22-11-2006, 04:59 PM
Originally posted by AlvZz@Nov 22 2006, 02:06 PM
Ld i sure u r not the only one tat faces it
infact the amount of heat is too much for the sticker that he use
U encountered the same problem?

LastDance
23-11-2006, 09:58 AM
Ok got word from another RR who resprayed his bike but not at Yeow. Bubbles have surfaced on his paintwork as well. Guess this bike is really too hot down below. :giddy:

What kind of paint has the highest resistance to temp, anybody any idea?

MC28
23-11-2006, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 23 2006, 09:33 AM
Ok got word from another RR who resprayed his bike but not at Yeow. Bubbles have surfaced on his paintwork as well. Guess this bike is really too hot down below. :giddy:

What kind of paint has the highest resistance to temp, anybody any idea?
I think his suggestion of wrapping the exhaust is not bad...

LastDance
23-11-2006, 03:43 PM
I've done the exhaust wrap and there are signs of bubbles surfacing again.

Called Ah Huat and he suggests I must've used poor quality exhaust wrap :nono:

I suggested monitoring the situation and to pay him a visit the following week but he didn't bother to acknowlede that and just ask me to go wrap another layer. :nono:

I guess he does not wish to bother anymore and just wash his hands off this issue. I've done all that he has requested (1) protective layer within fairing $70 (2) exhaust wrap and he has never suggested using a better quality paint. When I asked him what kind he used, he replied it is high temp paint and can withstand the heat.

Enotsol
23-11-2006, 03:56 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 23 2006, 03:18 PM
I've done the exhaust wrap and there are signs of bubbles surfacing again.

Called Ah Huat and he suggests I must've used poor quality exhaust wrap :nono:

I suggested monitoring the situation and to pay him a visit the following week but he didn't bother to acknowlede that and just ask me to go wrap another layer. :nono:

I guess he does not wish to bother anymore and just wash his hands off this issue. I've done all that he has requested (1) protective layer within fairing $70 (2) exhaust wrap and he has never suggested using a better quality paint. When I asked him what kind he used, he replied it is high temp paint and can withstand the heat.
My friends and I sprayed our headers with high temp spray but my bike(Phantom 200) was the only one that did not experience a change in the colour after some days. The other bikes(Super4s) had the colour turn into ashy white for a sizeable portion near the engine although the label on the spray can states that it can withstand up to 650 degree celsius.

In your case, your problem is with your fairing and not headers but it would be good to play safe and get a better grade than the one I bought since your engine is even hotter.

AlvZz
24-11-2006, 07:48 AM
i dun think what he suggest will work wor... LD
bubble only will come out @ always the same location of urs right...
i think the fact is his sticker problem

LastDance
24-11-2006, 12:32 PM
AlvZz - think our bikes were parked together yesterday evening.

Have you gone back to Ah Huat to tell him bout the sticker problem? Cos he said he has done 1000RR and 600RR before and only my bike has the problem.

Most of the bubbles that surface are where the stickers are. I'll monitor for another week.

Abd-b$b
24-11-2006, 12:50 PM
LD seems like u having bad luck recently ..muz go tua pek gong pray pray liao .. :D :pray:

AlvZz
24-11-2006, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 24 2006, 12:07 PM
AlvZz - think our bikes were parked together yesterday evening.

Have you gone back to Ah Huat to tell him bout the sticker problem? Cos he said he has done 1000RR and 600RR before and only my bike has the problem.

Most of the bubbles that surface are where the stickers are. I'll monitor for another week.
ya parked beside is ur bike i know that
u always park there now i saw it a few times there already

HelmetBOX!
27-11-2006, 09:13 PM
my friend had his RR done no problem at ALL!
think is the spray that has the problem.
not the heat!

6.5rpm
03-12-2006, 06:45 PM
Anyone haf Yeow Motor number???

un-sith
03-12-2006, 07:07 PM
ah huat. 81006969

LastDance
10-12-2006, 06:35 PM
AlvZz raised the issue on the quality of the stickers used by Yeow, below is for all to see.

http://img180.imageshack.us/img180/5131/yeowsucksmq8.jpg

AlvZz
10-12-2006, 06:53 PM
as i thought is cmf its the sticker proble
u really go test it ar

LastDance
11-12-2006, 09:01 PM
no need to test, it just happened since i have to fix back the fairing.

Qwerrty
12-12-2006, 04:18 AM
should read this post earlier...
just send my bike there for spraying today

1st time went there to survey
was qouted 500 plus plus...
Confirm wont exeed 600
without rim

today i sent to him
ask him to do my rims up also
rims is 120 btw
so rougly its 600+120
720 if my maths its not wrong
say will call me tonite
to confirm cause need to check my fairing and all
when i call he said total
800 but if never change my head 750

his service is very good and friendly
was raining heavily so i waited at his shop
than he send me all the way to the bustop with his umbrella
very impress with his service

btw im riding an sp but my fairing condition is 5/10
if its good which i think it will than its worth every dollar

AlvZz
12-12-2006, 10:13 PM
Originally posted by LastDance@Dec 11 2006, 09:01 PM
no need to test, it just happened since i have to fix back the fairing.
this the part u sent back for complaining?
that dun seem to me like airbubble though
1 dark patch

AlvZz
12-12-2006, 10:26 PM
Originally posted by Qwerrty@Dec 12 2006, 04:18 AM
should read this post earlier...
just send my bike there for spraying today

1st time went there to survey
was qouted 500 plus plus...
Confirm wont exeed 600
without rim

today i sent to him
ask him to do my rims up also
rims is 120 btw
so rougly its 600+120
720 if my maths its not wrong
say will call me tonite
to confirm cause need to check my fairing and all
when i call he said total
800 but if never change my head 750

his service is very good and friendly
was raining heavily so i waited at his shop
than he send me all the way to the bustop with his umbrella
very impress with his service

btw im riding an sp but my fairing condition is 5/10
if its good which i think it will than its worth every dollar
he is friendly
his paint work job i can say is gd last time
i still remember how perfect he did for my first 150RR respray that i never forget that colour
but then for now i just seem to find his sticker is not tat gd on hotter bikes

LastDance
14-12-2006, 08:09 AM
Originally posted by AlvZz@Dec 12 2006, 10:13 PM
this the part u sent back for complaining?
that dun seem to me like airbubble though
1 dark patch
ya this the part, the bubbles not so many this time.

Ayi
28-09-2008, 05:53 PM
does alan or yeow motors do airbrush?

Team_Commander
08-06-2009, 06:25 PM
sorry to dig up this old thread... am thinking of doing the spray in yeow for my sp. my head fairing there got broke meaning the fairing which supports the bubble is broken. the length is for the 2 screw lengths.. how much would he ask for it do the moudling??

XXL
08-09-2009, 09:17 PM
sorry to dig up this old thread... am thinking of doing the spray in yeow for my sp. my head fairing there got broke meaning the fairing which supports the bubble is broken. the length is for the 2 screw lengths.. how much would he ask for it do the moudling??

I don't recommend yeow motor for spray.. it's too overcharged la.. i let ah huat spray my sp for $840!! super ex man.. heartache.. :(
I can give u a number, look for ah ken and the price's negotiable..

Cheers :)

lwfc
08-09-2009, 09:48 PM
I don't recommend yeow motor for spray.. it's too overcharged la.. i let ah huat spray my sp for $840!! super ex man.. heartache.. :(
I can give u a number, look for ah ken and the price's negotiable..

Cheers :)

quite contradicting leh.

you know it's ex & overcharging to you, and yet you let him spray?
unless you spray already then realize then it's ex compared to other shops?

anyway, i would always go to ahhuat for spray esp light colors (white).
becus he always delivers a quality paintjob. :angel:

nGuOrEn
08-09-2009, 09:56 PM
i agree with lwfc.. like i said previously.. want cheap, PLS PLS PLS.. don't go to Yeow Motors. want quality, by all means..

mamat
08-09-2009, 10:31 PM
greatly recommended.quality work albeit waiting patiently for 2 weeks.had my super4 done a 2 tone job with the rims,forks and wheels painted black.$700 satisfied.dat was in 2006.he took a pic of my bike before i left.