View Full Version : SBF X8ers Cafe 2009 / 2010

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7

sid
08-01-2007, 03:42 PM
Welcome to the X8ers Club

http://www.MyOnlineImages.com/Members/disar/images/piaggio_x8_x6c1.jpg

PIAGGIO X8 200: TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

Engine - Single-cylinder, 4 stroke, 4 valve Piaggio LEADER with SAS and catalytic exhaust
Displacement - 198 cc
Bore - 72 mm
Stroke - 48.6 mm
Fuel - Unleaded
Compression ratio - 11.5:1
Power - 21 hp (15.7 Kw) at 8,500 rpm
Torque - 17.5 Nm at 6,500 rpm
Cooling - Liquid
Gearbox - Automatic CVT (continuously variable transmission) and torque server
Start - Electric with automatic start
Frame - Double cradle of steel tubes
Front suspension - Ø 35 mm tele-hydraulic fork with straight shafts, 90 mm vertical travel
Rear suspension - Engine works as single-arm. Two dual-effect hydraulic shock absorbers and four-position spring preload, 90 mm vertical travel
Front brake - Stainless steel disk, Ø 260 mm, floating caliper with two pistons, Ø 25.4 mm
Rear brake - Stainless steel disk, Ø 240 mm, caliper with opposed pistons, Ø 32 mm
Front wheel rim - Die-cast aluminium alloy, 14" x 3.50
Rear wheel rim - Die-cast aluminium alloy, 12" x 3.00
Front tyre - Tubeless 120/70-14”
Rear tyre - Tubeless 130/70-12”
Length/Width - 2,050 mm/ 760 mm
Wheel base - 1,490 mm
Seat height - 790 mm
Dry weight - 157 kg
Fuel tank capacity - 12 litres (of which 1.8 litres reserve)
Max. speed - 120 km/h
Consumption - (ECE 40 cycle) 23 km/l
Emissions - Meets Euro2 standards

Brembo
09-01-2007, 08:50 AM
Posting on Behalf of Rusty 83 bro...

hi all x8ers! im quite keen on buying an x8 after seeing it on the road, hehe it looks really nice and i also like its huge compartments.

i have been reading up on the x8 cafe thread to see if any x8 owners experiencing any problem with this bike anot but err...the thread is really long lor lol about 100 ++ pages.

so i think ill just post here and hope some active x8 bikers will come and solve my doubts about this bike hehe.

hmm i have a few questions...(preferably reviews from x8 owners for 2years and above =D )

1. i would like to ask if anyone is facing any major problems up till now? like spent over few $100 on repairs?

2. how much do the monthly maintainence cost? i.e change of engine oil, belt chain etc.

3. anythings or parts need to change often? tyres?

by the way im not interested in any 2nd hand x8..cause i have an extremely bad experience...(do not trust anyone!!)
i bought my my current bike from some guy i found in this forum and the repairs up till now has already cost me near to $1500(bought it for $2.7 FP plate)...i have been riding for about 3 years now..its a WR200 scrambler..and after those repairs, the current condition of the bike is as follows:
no signal lights(keeps blowing after replacing new ones, dunno y =_=), neutral lights, fuel gauge, speedo, rpm, horn, handle bar slanted, IU spoilt, bike has loud cracking noise when picking up speed after changing gear, can only go about 60km/hr max, valve spoilt. :giddy:
haiz..this is what i get from buying 2nd bike without proper knowledge. (newbies buying 2nd hand bikes pls BE CAREFUL!!)

million thx to replies!!

muddi
09-01-2007, 12:12 PM
hey disar any mod for performance recommended? Had changed to polini clutch and installed polini speed control. Going for the GPR next, any recommendation to mod before the gpr?

firestorm_33
10-01-2007, 07:16 AM
Originally posted by Brembo@January 09, 2007 08:50 am
Posting on Behalf of Rusty 83 bro...

hi all x8ers! im quite keen on buying an x8 after seeing it on the road, hehe it looks really nice and i also like its huge compartments.

i have been reading up on the x8 cafe thread to see if any x8 owners experiencing any problem with this bike anot but err...the thread is really long lor lol about 100 ++ pages.

so i think ill just post here and hope some active x8 bikers will come and solve my doubts about this bike hehe.

hmm i have a few questions...(preferably reviews from x8 owners for 2years and above =D )

1. i would like to ask if anyone is facing any major problems up till now? like spent over few $100 on repairs?

2. how much do the monthly maintainence cost? i.e change of engine oil, belt chain etc.

by the way im not interested in any 2nd hand x8..cause i have an extremely bad experience...(do not trust anyone!!)
i bought my my current bike from some guy i found in this forum and the repairs up till now has already cost me near to $1500(bought it for $2.7 FP plate)...i have been riding for about 3 years now..its a WR200 scrambler..and after those repairs, the current condition of the bike is as follows:
no signal lights(keeps blowing after replacing new ones, dunno y =_=), neutral lights, fuel gauge, speedo, rpm, horn, handle bar slanted, IU spoilt, bike has loud cracking noise when picking up speed after changing gear, can only go about 60km/hr max, valve spoilt. :giddy:
haiz..this is what i get from buying 2nd bike without proper knowledge. (newbies buying 2nd hand bikes pls BE CAREFUL!!)

million thx to replies!!
hi bro,

It depends on what you are looking at....

Storage, speed or comfort.

Storage - one of the best as can put 3 helmet below seat and 2 in box... no other bike can do that so far.

Speed - on average, 130km/h no issue but crusie btn 90-110km/h best as very relax.

Comfort- slightly lose out X9 as seat is shorter but still pretty comfort for 2 unless both very big size.

Problems - mainly only new X8s that had.Eg; signal switch faulty,slight clutch slip,tyres easily out of shape(not the preilli ones) after a few months, had all except tyres changed and done at PSC during warrenty time.For those who had own the bike 6 months & above , no reported defects or problems at all so far till date.

Personally owning a X8, so far have no problems with the bike and like i mentioned in the sale thread for scooter 2007, it's mainly because of family committment...... son going school and daughter coming to this world soon, hiaz.... money become a issue, else i would love to continue to ride the bike for the next few years.

- as reflected above.

- monthly not much, just every 3-4k engine oil change(abt20),alternate change, need to change oil filter(abt20), every 12-15k(mileage) change belt,u-shoe and roller,etc/...(full svc)(abt 2hnd plus).

- tyres i stated as above also..... any way if you do not take care of the bike, do expect many parts to be change lor.... it's the same for all bikes......

Btw, i understand from Brembo that there's no more new X8 around liao.....
Beside that, do not because of once bad experience spolit all other bikers reputations.... there are lots of other bikers out there who do take good care of their bikes.....
if you are looking for one, i would reccommend u go for a 2nd hand one as problems would have been all resolved but of cos do view the bike carefully before buying and best is to get a friend who know how to look at one before buying....of cos i also agree that some riders who do not take of the bike at all also/...........

All the best to your bike hunting!! :cheer:

sid
10-01-2007, 07:28 AM
Hey Rusty 83, here are some answer to your queries. Hope it helps

I've been riding an X8 for 2 years now, so far no major problems except for the normal wear and tear

Maintenance cost will come every 3K - 5K although the manual recommends every 6K

If you are a heavy rider then every 3K - 5K you need to change

I suggest you join the X8ers in our meet ups so you can personally asked us on maintenance and problems. Not all X8 are problem free just like any other bikes.

Very sorry to hear about your misadventure on buying a 2nd Hand bike.

sid
10-01-2007, 07:32 AM
Originally posted by muddi@January 09, 2007 12:12 pm
hey disar any mod for performance recommended? Had changed to polini clutch and installed polini speed control. Going for the GPR next, any recommendation to mod before the gpr?
I suggest you change the GPR 1st and see wat enhancement the pipe gave you. But do remember you need to retune your bike after installing the pipe.

For me, my scoot i had also change the gear ratio and added in polini oped pod before my GPR. So my GPR is like an icing to a baked cake :smile:

rusty83
10-01-2007, 06:33 PM
hey guys thanks for the reviews and advices

haiz i still cant decide :mad: actually im also looking at another bike yamaha x1 coz its very cheap even 1st hand only costs 3k plus low maintainance and super low fuel consumption about 40km per litre..

so if i compare x1 and x8...

x1 maintainance n petrol cheaper, bike also a lot cheaper. but not as comfy as x8 and also x8 has better performance and storage.
so x8 = looks nicer than x1, performs better than x1 but expensive..but..i like it more than x1..
but...the major problem now is M O N E Y as im NSF at the moment and as u all know NSF allowance is really pathetic...haiz.. :help:

btw firestorm_33 ur fren is in the same camp with me and he told me about u selling ur x8 :smile:

muddi
11-01-2007, 02:28 AM
hmm the gear ratio thing how much ar and the pod?

sid
11-01-2007, 07:29 AM
Not very sure of the price, need to check with FS :smile:

sid
15-01-2007, 08:52 AM
spOOky ride II

Date : 27 Jan 2007

Time: 2100hrs till early morning

Place To Meet Up : TBC

Itinerary For The Nite: TBA on 15/01/2007

Untouched itinerary during SpookyRide I & potential places to discover. (based on SPI site, visit www.spi.com.sg)

a) Mysteries of Tanjong Rhu - Tanjong Rhu HDB (missing blk 13)
b) Kampong Java Park - Next to KK Hospital
c) Sonng Sister's House - Grange Rd, Orchard
d) Mystery of Dairy Farm - Upper Bukit Timah Rd
e) McRitchie Water Tomb - McRitchie Reservoir
f) Mt Pleasant Cemetary - Lornie Rd
g)
h)

Anymore places guys? Fill in the blanks pls

Interested Spooks

1. Kimi
2. Recon
3. Brokenbones
4. Justborn
5. disar + Gfren
6. SensibleX8 + Gfren
7. Lawrence Yeu
8. beachboyzsg
9. rockfordfosgate
10. ah ray
11. goldstar

Note: the ride may be postpone if weather doesn't permits

Sonic
17-01-2007, 04:05 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@January 10, 2007 07:16 am
Btw, i understand from Brembo that there's no more new X8 around liao.....
really no more x8? if its ture then now no more new x8 and x9. does piaggio has any replacement models?

sid
17-01-2007, 04:08 PM
Originally posted by Sonic@January 17, 2007 04:05 pm
really no more x8? if its ture then now no more new x8 and x9. does piaggio has any replacement models?
saw a couple of new X8 at ASPhoon Changi. I think arnd S'pore there are some new X8 balance from the old shipment. New ones no news yet :smile:

cOngx
17-01-2007, 09:57 PM
ooOooo disar: no need reply me about the basic wear n tear stuff for x8 le happen to read this thread :cheer:

btw tyre 3k-5k must change le?
oh my

i ride my sp -.- for i think 10k+ le my dunlop tt900 the threading still alot

can explain why? 3-5k keep changing tyre is darn ex leh!

btw my weigh 70kg with occasional pillions of 40-80kg

sid
17-01-2007, 10:04 PM
Originally posted by cOngx@January 17, 2007 09:57 pm
btw tyre 3k-5k must change le?
oh my

i ride my sp -.- for i think 10k+ le my dunlop tt900 the threading still alot

can explain why? 3-5k keep changing tyre is darn ex leh!

bro, tyres cannot be every 3K to 5K change :smile: if engine oil possible but tyres can last up to 18K but i change at every 12K

cOngx
17-01-2007, 10:07 PM

but this is what u say ma!

cOngx
17-01-2007, 10:07 PM
woops double post!

sid
17-01-2007, 10:16 PM
Originally posted by cOngx@January 17, 2007 10:07 pm

but this is what u say ma!
Ooops sorry bro i tink i was drunk wen i answer tat question. it should be:

Tyres at every 12K although some had stretch it to 18K

Everyone else my apologies for the wrong info given on my earlier post :smile:

cOngx
17-01-2007, 10:22 PM
hahaha its ok, anyway why u selling going for x9 500cC?

btw whats ur FC like??

from the technical specs my 2stroke sp can go even more leh 20-23 if valve open 23-28 if valve rarely open

sid
17-01-2007, 10:25 PM
Originally posted by cOngx@January 17, 2007 10:22 pm
hahaha its ok, anyway why u selling going for x9 500cC?

btw whats ur FC like??

from the technical specs my 2stroke sp can go even more leh 20-23 if valve open 23-28 if valve rarely open
Me don own a X9 500 bro :smile: I'm selling my X8 :smile:

my FC is 25km/L

lawrence_yeu
18-01-2007, 10:19 AM

My X8 cannot start this morning but the head light is on when I turn the key.
Can someone please give me some advice as I am very new to biking?
My X8 is coming 5 months old and mileage is 4K+.
So far only changed engine oil twice at 1K and 3K, nothing else.

Best regards,
Lawrence Yeu.

18-01-2007, 11:18 AM
Check yr fuse? maybe fuse blow liao. :sweat:

firestorm_33
18-01-2007, 02:02 PM
Originally posted by lawrence_yeu@January 18, 2007 10:19 am

Best regards,
Lawrence Yeu.
your engine switch got on?
another possibility is like wat uncle mark said, fuse blow....

CCK
18-01-2007, 08:10 PM
If your bike is brand new and is stillunder warranty, contact Piaggio to have your bike tow to their workshop and rectifiy. FOC. :smile:

recko
18-01-2007, 11:57 PM
I had fuse blown situation on my GTS200 before, which was my main power supply's fuse, so scenario was, when I turned on my ignition, no lights, no indication, can't crank, totally nothing. I just replaced a new fuse will do...

2nd scenario was from my fren's X9 200 Evo, turned on ignition, indications, headlights all ok, initially had cranking sound but can't start, subsequent cranking became weaker then. Checked his batt with a voltmeter, only left with 10v w/o engine turn on. This shld mean that the batt is weak already and time for a change...

Though different bikes, but when comes to such situation, troubleshooting methods are more or less similiar. Just sharing some personal experiences here for others to understand better... :smile:

Reese
19-01-2007, 12:00 AM
when u say ur bike cant start, is there a cranking sound when u attempt to start it?
if yes & if u have added a main headlight switch, off the lights b4 u try cranking
if no den workshop visit u must

recko
19-01-2007, 10:27 AM
I think the replies in this thread seem quite useful to newbies, it's good for them to gain some troubleshooting knowledge on their own machines.

I'd like to add on from Resse bro's post is that having a headlight switch is useful because if the batt is weak and your bike has the headlight on automatically by default w/o a headlight switch, then it will weaken the batt even further as there might not be enough voltage to support/start at all. (Experts, pls correct me if I'm wrong!!! :cheeky: )

I dun ride a X8 or X9, but these are experiences I've gained from some of my frenz and relatives who are riding them... CHEERS!!! :smile:

Reese
19-01-2007, 06:55 PM
dat's the only reason why i installed the switch... as runner is automatic transmission, there's no way to jumpstart except thru slave cable on another machine

un-sith
19-01-2007, 09:16 PM
hmmm, to check if its weak battery, without multimeter or voltmeter, try hitting the horn once. If it sounds good, which means batt is strong, then u shd diagnose other possibilities.

perhaps spark plug cap came loose, starter motor weak etc

2 cents

newbee
26-01-2007, 11:31 AM
Hi there.... me newBee

Any one know how to adjust the time show at the meter? just bought my bike and only realise the time not match....

sid
26-01-2007, 12:14 PM
open the left hand side glove compartment, at the top right hand corner (or left) there is a knob tat states 'RES' turn the dial to adjust the time :smile:

Welcome to the X8ers club :cheer:

newbee
26-01-2007, 01:36 PM
:sweat: Thanks....

sid
26-01-2007, 02:34 PM
No worries :smile:

weeliano
28-01-2007, 10:17 PM
Hello fellow X8ers!

So far my scooter has been performing admirably and I'm quite satisfied with it's performance despite it's problems in the beginning. Right now I face another problem but I think for this one, I am partly at fault. It was raining very heavily recently and I had to ride in the rain and sometimes during the evening. In order to increase my visibility I managed to press the light switch downwards all the way until both lights are on and the switch stayed there when I pressed at the corner of the switch. I've been doing this during rainy days and what I didn't realize was that I'm depleting my battery faster than I can recharge it!

When I went to start my engine on Saturday morning just to warm it up in the rainy and cold weather, the starter motor just won't budge and the light indicators showed a marked decrease in brightness. I knew immediately that I'm out of battery power. I opened the battery hatch and measured the voltage using a voltmeter and it was around 11.1Volts, and at the same time, the battery was powering the storage light. I thought that was it, I have to send the bike to have the battery recharged. Luckily I remembered I had a couple of high powered Lithium Polymer batteries I used for flying model planes and they are rated at 12Volts and more than 2000 mAh. I managed to hook up one of the battery and successfully started my engine! Now all I have to do is to ride around until my scooter's lead acid battery is recharged.

Besides sending the scooter to the workshop to get it recharged, is there any device out there I can use to refresh and re-charge my battery when it goes flat?

Hope my experience will help everyone keep an eye on their battery.

sid
29-01-2007, 11:30 AM
The issue of batteries or battery not charging is a common problem with the newer X8. Makes me wonder are there any faults from the bike?

So far 2 X8 faced this problem in the past week alone. And both less than 1 year old. :confused:

newbee
29-01-2007, 02:21 PM

can i ask how to add "water" and i know that X8 have reserve petrol, how can i use the reserve petrol if i run out?

sid
29-01-2007, 02:55 PM
what do u mean by add wayer? :confused:

for X8 we don't have a lever or a switch / button to start using the reserve petrol. It will automatically starts using the reserved petrol once the fuel light indicator turns on. :smile:

weeliano
29-01-2007, 03:53 PM
Hi newBee,

If you are referring to adding water for your liquid coolant system, then you must unscrew the right hatch using a philips screw driver that comes in a mini tool kit under the seat. When you have removed the hatch, you will see a coolant cap. Unscrew the coolant cap by turning counter clockwise, and before you unscrew the coolant cap, make sure the scooter is not running and has cooled down at least 15 minutes. Unscrew slowly and carefully. To top up the coolant, USE ONLY DISTILLED water, you can use "Battery Water" they sell at gas stations, as it is the same thing. If you are using specially formulated coolant, just follow the instructions that comes with it, usually you will need to mix 50% distilled water and 50% coolant.

Actually, the best thing for you to do is to take the X8 manual, sit down and read through it completely. You will find most of your answers for your questions regarding the X8. I also highly recommend this book.

http://www.amazon.com/Scooter-Book-Everyth...g/dp/1844250954 (http://www.amazon.com/Scooter-Book-Everything-enjoying-maintaining/dp/1844250954)

weeliano
05-02-2007, 02:18 PM
Last Friday,my Scooter battery went Flat! Apparently, my riding around for a week is not enough to charge up the battery. I ended up having to leave my scooter at my workplace and go home by public transport! :giddy: I returned the next morning and re-started my scooter with my portable LiPo Battery and decided that I had better re-charge my scooter's battery with a proper charger.

Drove my scooter to Sim Lim Tower and bought myself a Newstar Lead Acid "smart" battery charger for $28. I also bought a new sealed 12V lead acid battery and crocodile clips and wires for electric start up emergencies. Once I arrived home I removed my scooter battery and hooked it up to my charger. When handling the scooter lead acid battery, be very careful, as the acid drops can eat your scooter's paint job as I've discovered, do not let the acid drip onto your marble floor or else it will start to dissolve the surface and cloud it. When I measured the voltage before charging, it was around 9V! It's almost dead! After charging it for about 18 hours, it measured more than 13V.

I'm happy to say now that starting up my scooter is a breeze and I can feel that it's more responsive and peppier! Also I discovered that it's a good practice to dust your scooter with a slim toilet bowl plastic bristle brush, but of course do it when the scooter is cold, otherwise the brush will melt! There is a hatch under the seat of of the X8 and removing that hatch will give you access to the carburettor and the throttle springs. Recently, my throttle doesn't spring back as smoothly when it was brand new, I thought it was the rain, but after dusting the spring, the throttle now springs back easily.

weeliano
05-02-2007, 06:08 PM

Best regards,
Lawrence Yeu.

Hi Lawrence, it's a late reply but I guess my experience will help other X8 owners when they encounter this problem. Your problem sounds exactly like the problem I'm experiencing for the past week. Since your light is still on, it is most likely a weak battery. My X8 is also around same age as yours and nearing 4K mileage and went for the 1k and 3K servicing. I attribute my weak battery to having 2 of my headlights switched on during rainy weather ( you can read about it here (http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=143808&st=0&#))

The battery compartment is located right under the seat with the battery hatch removable with the philips screwdriver that comes with toolkit under the seat. If you have a spare 12V battery with enough amperage, you can try hooking it up (make sure the polarity is correct!) and try to start the scooter and drive it to the nearest service center. If not, you can try to charge the battery yourself using a Lead Acid battery charger available at the Sim Lim Tower basement store selling rechargeable batteries. You can read about my experience here (http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=143808&st=0&#)

Hope this is informative to all!

weeliano
07-02-2007, 02:33 PM
Does anyone know where I can get a little bit of the Champagne Gold paint for my scooter? I've been getting all sorts of nicks and scratches to my body work and just want to patch it up. The colour must be exact otherwise it won't match the original metallic Gold.

Went to Future Scootering just now but realized that they don't sell the paint. I was referred to a Goh Leng by Mr. Yap, called the number but no one picked up.

Any referrals would be appreciated!
Thanks in advance.

matchbox9
08-02-2007, 09:29 AM
Originally posted by weeliano@February 05, 2007 02:18 pm
Last Friday,my Scooter battery went Flat! Apparently, my riding around for a week is not enough to charge up the battery. I ended up having to leave my scooter at my workplace and go home by public transport! :giddy: I returned the next morning and re-started my scooter with my portable LiPo Battery and decided that I had better re-charge my scooter's battery with a proper charger.

Drove my scooter to Sim Lim Tower and bought myself a Newstar Lead Acid "smart" battery charger for $28. I also bought a new sealed 12V lead acid battery and crocodile clips and wires for electric start up emergencies. Once I arrived home I removed my scooter battery and hooked it up to my charger. When handling the scooter lead acid battery, be very careful, as the acid drops can eat your scooter's paint job as I've discovered, do not let the acid drip onto your marble floor or else it will start to dissolve the surface and cloud it. When I measured the voltage before charging, it was around 9V! It's almost dead! After charging it for about 18 hours, it measured more than 13V.

I'm happy to say now that starting up my scooter is a breeze and I can feel that it's more responsive and peppier! Also I discovered that it's a good practice to dust your scooter with a slim toilet bowl plastic bristle brush, but of course do it when the scooter is cold, otherwise the brush will melt! There is a hatch under the seat of of the X8 and removing that hatch will give you access to the carburettor and the throttle springs. Recently, my throttle doesn't spring back as smoothly when it was brand new, I thought it was the rain, but after dusting the spring, the throttle now springs back easily.
Hi Weeliano,

I suffer the same problem recently. I forgot to close the hatch behind the seat, thus the lights in the compartment was on for a few hours. Until i discovered, the battery has went flat. I totally cannot start my bike.

I have been riding my x8 for a year and decide it abt time i change a new batt, so i call for towing to a bikeshop to change the battery for me. I had to take bus home and leave my bike there. Its really so troublesome.

Is there any " jump start kit" availabe in the market that is small enough to keep in the bike? so that we can use in case of such incidents.

weeliano
08-02-2007, 02:45 PM
I will post pictures of my own startup kit. Its not that difficult to make your own actually. Watch this post for the pictures.

weeliano
08-02-2007, 07:41 PM
Here's my own Emergency Battery Startup Kit.

I bought this 12V 7mAh Sealed Lead Acid battery and made my own crocodile wires using components bought from Sim Lim Tower. It's advisable to use the thickest wires possible to prevent the wire from overheating.
http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/3183/battwiremj6.jpg

A cheap voltmeter is used to measure the voltage.

http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/9151/selfcheckxm3.jpg

This Emergency "Jumpstart Kit" works great, but remember, it's just adequate for starting the motor and the wires should be removed immediately once the motor is started.

matchbox9
09-02-2007, 06:01 PM
Hey Weeliano thanks for sharing your DIY jumpstart kit.

larree
12-02-2007, 04:48 PM
Hi all, im interested in getting a x8, would like to check what is the current market place for 2nd hand x8?

recko
12-02-2007, 05:45 PM
Originally posted by larree@February 12, 2007 04:48 pm
Hi all, im interested in getting a x8, would like to check what is the current market place for 2nd hand x8?
Hi, you might wanna check out this sale (http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=148391&st=0) inside the Garage Sales. Just helping my friend here... :goodluck:

newbee
15-02-2007, 10:56 AM

Yesterday i ride my X8 from woodlands to Changi Expo and from then ride to Bugis, When i reach Bugis, I heard some noise come from my X8, the noise sound like a big fan blowing and after a while it stop.

May i ask what is the problem/

firestorm_33
15-02-2007, 11:58 AM
Originally posted by newbee@February 15, 2007 10:56 am

Yesterday i ride my X8 from woodlands to Changi Expo and from then ride to Bugis, When i reach Bugis, I heard some noise come from my X8, the noise sound like a big fan blowing and after a while it stop.

May i ask what is the problem/

don't worry....

it's just your raditor's fan activated.....

normally if the bike temp is hot, the fan will be activated to keep it cool....:smile:

Simply80Chup
20-02-2007, 10:32 PM
Selling away X8 registered in 2005. FZ plater. Low milleage. Below 18000km. Accident free. View in Pasir Ris. New Tires and Belting. Engine oil change every other month. Everything else stock. Good bike for commuting. Selling $5.5K negotiable.:thumb: Pm to deal. Have a gd day!

jae_81
24-02-2007, 12:19 PM
i m currently riding NSR 150RR n thinking of changing to either X8 or X9. 1. I would like to know the diff between X8 n X9?
2. How much is the market rate for a 2 years bike?

Any plz................. thanks.

dstapp
24-02-2007, 03:39 PM
Originally posted by jae_81@February 24, 2007 12:19 pm
i m currently riding NSR 150RR n thinking of changing to either X8 or X9. 1. I would like to know the diff between X8 n X9?
2. How much is the market rate for a 2 years bike?

Any plz................. thanks.
Hey Bro i just bought My X8 today!! the market from what i have observed is about 5.5k 2005 fz plate but there are some that are cheaper but thats the market price direct from owner if from bike shop they are asking about 5.5 - 6k but you have to look out and view a few as for me i was lucky the first bike i viewed was the best one low milage and perfect condition the others all had minor to major problems and where asking about the same price as the first one i saw 5.5k i managed to neg down to 5.2k for my X8 very nice owner and we closed the deal in 2 days :thumb: good luck on your search :goodluck:

dstapp
24-02-2007, 03:49 PM
Can Any X8 Riders tell me Where is the best Place to Bring My X8 for mantainance!?

and if it is advisable to add soundsystem? just bought my baby today from simply 80chap. :thumb: upz!! to you for selling me the bike Bro

hahahahoho
24-02-2007, 04:16 PM
hi anyone selling x8 ? plz pm me .. thxz :thumb:

weeliano
26-02-2007, 11:21 AM
http://us.st11.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/motobooks_1936_35914482.jpg

Ordered this book from Amazon.uk a few weeks ago and it arrived yesterday and I must say the information covered is very impressive! Still going through the book and lots of very useful advice and tips included for the various Piaggio scooter models featured. Lots of pictures and diagrams showing you how to do your own maintenance.

Strongly recommended! :thumb:

dstapp
26-02-2007, 11:27 AM
HEY GUYS!!

ANYONE NOW IF TINTING THE WINDSHILD IS LEGAL IN SINGAPORE??

PLUS I WANT TO REMOVE SOME STICKERS ON THE BIKE SOMEONE TOLD ME TO USE WD40? DONT KNOW IF THIS IS TRUE?

ANY X8 RIDERS HERE WENT FOR THAT X8 ERS KICK START CLUB FROM FUTURE SCOOTERING?

ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED

sid
26-02-2007, 08:47 PM
The X8ers Club Kick Start party was not organised by Future Scootering. It was organised by me and Fatboy71 along with X8ers Club members with the help of Piaggio Asia Pacific. Future Scootering are 1 of the sponsors :smile:

dstapp
26-02-2007, 09:09 PM
Originally posted by sid@February 26, 2007 08:47 pm
The X8ers Club Kick Start party was not organised by Future Scootering. It was organised by me and Fatboy71 along with X8ers Club members with the help of Piaggio Asia Pacific. Future Scootering are 1 of the sponsors :smile:
cool bro i'm innteresed in joining the club is that possible?

dstapp
27-02-2007, 06:02 PM
today i went down to as phoon to check whats wrong with my handlebar as the steering is funny the mac told me that my bearing spoilt and have to cheange he quote me $130 to change anyone know where to get this done cheaper?

Brownkai
27-02-2007, 07:24 PM
Originally posted by dstapp@February 27, 2007 06:02 pm
today i went down to as phoon to check whats wrong with my handlebar as the steering is funny the mac told me that my bearing spoilt and have to cheange he quote me $130 to change anyone know where to get this done cheaper?
hello... can roughly explain in detail y ur steering is "funny" ??

how u notice or think theres problem in ur X8 ???

I tot u bought ur bike in very low milage ?

redash
27-02-2007, 07:42 PM
Was trying to change my X8 battery today and dropped the bolt into the hole beside the battery compartment.
Was trying to find it on the floor but wasn't sure if it's stuck inside the bike or had rolled behind the wheel of some car.
Do I need to dismantle the body to find the bolt? Will it fall into the engine compartment?

firestorm_33
27-02-2007, 11:00 PM
Originally posted by redash@February 27, 2007 07:42 pm
Was trying to change my X8 battery today and dropped the bolt into the hole beside the battery compartment.
Was trying to find it on the floor but wasn't sure if it's stuck inside the bike or had rolled behind the wheel of some car.
Do I need to dismantle the body to find the bolt? Will it fall into the engine compartment?
bro, don't think you can really find liao.......

anyway the possibilty of it going into the engine is 0.00000000001% possible only..........:cheeky:

weeliano
07-03-2007, 12:30 PM
Just returned from another pit stop at PSC. After having to re-charge my own lead acid battery every weekend, I had to conclude that either the battery is not holding the charge or my scooter charger is not functioning properly. True enough, the problem was traced to a faulty coil of the charging unit and it was replaced. Since my scooter is less than 6 months old, the replaced part and servicing is free.

firestorm_33
07-03-2007, 01:59 PM
Originally posted by weeliano@March 07, 2007 12:30 pm
Just returned from another pit stop at PSC. After having to re-charge my own lead acid battery every weekend, I had to conclude that either the battery is not holding the charge or my scooter charger is not functioning properly. True enough, the problem was traced to a faulty coil of the charging unit and it was replaced. Since my scooter is less than 6 months old, the replaced part and servicing is free.
lawrence_yeu.....

bro i suspect your problem is actucally the same as weeliao.....

get your X8 quickly check out at piaggio......

sid
07-03-2007, 08:32 PM
i tink tis is affecting all newer batch of X8. They should go to PSC to get it change :smile:

kimi
07-03-2007, 09:04 PM
Originally posted by sid@March 07, 2007 08:32 pm
i tink tis is affecting all newer batch of X8. They should go to PSC to get it change :smile:
one time go together... :cheeky:

weeliano
14-03-2007, 09:20 AM
Hello Fellow X8ers!

Anyone know where I can get those road tax and/or season parking plastic disc holders?
Right now I'm using clear plastic tape to stick them to my windshield and peeling them off after have expired leaves an ugly muck.

Thanks in advance!

firestorm_33
15-03-2007, 08:30 PM
Originally posted by weeliano@March 14, 2007 09:20 am
Hello Fellow X8ers!

Anyone know where I can get those road tax and/or season parking plastic disc holders?
Right now I'm using clear plastic tape to stick them to my windshield and peeling them off after have expired leaves an ugly muck.

Thanks in advance!
you can easily buy from those bike accessories shops/.... one shouldn't cost more than $3/-:smile:

weeliano
16-03-2007, 02:57 PM
Thanks firestorm_33! I dropped by at Ah Boy and picked up a pair of plastic disc holders for a mere $1. Now I just have to get the right screws to fix them to my X8.

kimi
16-03-2007, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by weeliano@March 16, 2007 02:57 pm
Thanks firestorm_33! I dropped by at Ah Boy and picked up a pair of plastic disc holders for a mere $1. Now I just have to get the right screws to fix them to my X8.
Can screw to the dashboard under the hook thing.i use to screw my plastic disc to the screw there :smile:

firestorm_33
16-03-2007, 04:17 PM
Originally posted by weeliano@March 16, 2007 02:57 pm
no problem.....:smile:

SlowlY_RiDeR
16-03-2007, 04:19 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@March 16, 2007 04:17 pm
no problem.....:smile:
bRos NO work WOrK MA???:confused:

hahahahoho
17-03-2007, 06:29 PM
hi guys . how much would it cost to touch up e minor scratches on sides of e bike ?regarding e piaggio box base can it fit other box like givi or need to get another base? thxz

whyme_82
18-03-2007, 02:02 PM
bros, any of u noe of any good place dat provides spraying of box? my x8 box yesterday kena a big scratch. so damn heart pain ar:cry:

thanxx in advance

firestorm_33
18-03-2007, 05:38 PM
[QUOTE=hahahahoho,March 17, 2007 06:29 pm] hi guys . how much would it cost to touch up e minor scratches on sides of e bike ?regarding e piaggio box base can it fit other box like givi or need to get another base? thxz

[QUOTE=whyme_82,March 17, 2007 02:02pm]]bros, any of u noe of any good place dat provides spraying of box? my x8 box yesterday kena a big scratch. so damn heart pain ar:cry:

bros, for paint work esle, it depends on how deep are the scratches and colour and how fast you want it back...... etc etc.....hmmm..... sms or call me at 92745438 i see how i can help out.... maybe some DIY might just be able to resolve the problem....

btw the piaggio box is unqiue to its own. even if you have the rack, you will still need the bracket and do mod to it before you can use it for other bikes. :sweat:

firestorm_33
18-03-2007, 05:42 PM
Originally posted by SlowlY_RiDeR@March 16, 2007 04:19 pm
bRos NO work WOrK MA???:confused:
paiseh paiseh was on line for a while by the time i saw your post 2 days late liao.....:cheeky:

whyme_82
21-03-2007, 11:51 PM
Hi firestorm bro. sorry for late reply. wasnt online for dis few days la. btw, I attached a pic of the scratch on my box. however the pic not dat clear cuz of the reflection. hope u can give me some advice.

Thanxbro
daniel

firestorm_33
22-03-2007, 12:29 AM
Originally posted by whyme_82@March 21, 2007 11:51 pm
Hi firestorm bro. sorry for late reply. wasnt online for dis few days la. btw, I attached a pic of the scratch on my box. however the pic not dat clear cuz of the reflection. hope u can give me some advice.

Thanxbro
daniel
hmm... seems to me that the mark is abit deep....

3 ways abt it - 1. go piaggio buy the "lipstick" from them and try to cover it if you feel that the mark aren't too deep.... you can ask brembo lao da to give you his advice before buying....

- 2. get a paint shop to touch up... this is only if the mark is deep and "repairing" the surface is confirm required.......

-3. buy stickers and stick over it.......

hope that the info will be of use to you.:smile:

anyway if you need more advice, feel free to contact me anytime like hahahoho....

i will try my best to help......:cheer:

simplesums
25-03-2007, 01:22 AM
Hi guys, need some advice on how to handle my current situation urgently. My X8 rear box is jammed and I cannot open it using my key. Tried using my back up key but it doesnt help too. Most probably must be the locking mechanism spoilt. Is there any means of servicing it without the need to change the box? Please advice. Thanks.

Simmz
25-03-2007, 05:29 AM
try the shop near LAB there... i heard there got a shop which help people to fix lock thingy... or u oso can ask lock smith... but will be much more ex... if ur lock spoil... i tink the most change 1 lock ba... no need go change the whole box...

hahahahoho
25-03-2007, 11:13 AM
hey for e lipstick tingy how much is it?

simplesums
25-03-2007, 02:11 PM
Ok. Thanks for your advice. I will try to replace the lock instead. Have a nice day. :goodluck:

who_noe
25-03-2007, 02:15 PM
u can try to spray some WD40 into the lock 1st n see if it can open

firestorm_33
25-03-2007, 07:45 PM
Originally posted by hahahahoho@March 25, 2007 11:13 am
hey for e lipstick tingy how much is it?
not very sure leh must ask brembo lao da.....:sweat:

richardolee
30-03-2007, 12:09 AM
Hi thinking of getting a 2nd hand Piaggio. What's the diff betw x8 and x9.
Anybody selling theirs?

firestorm_33
30-03-2007, 07:14 AM
Originally posted by richardolee@March 30, 2007 12:09 am
Hi thinking of getting a 2nd hand Piaggio. What's the diff betw x8 and x9.
Anybody selling theirs?
hmmm.....

well... differences btn X9 and X8

X9 got LCD meter
X9 seat is longer hence more comfy...
X9 uses Brembo brake callipers
X9 uses 2 front and 1 rear brakes
X9 got slightly lesser compartment space
X9 and X8 outlook different
X9 evo side mirror very expensive.

so far can only think of these few,..... hope its help.

richardolee
30-03-2007, 02:47 PM
Thanks Firestorm. It was helpful.

firestorm_33
01-04-2007, 10:15 AM
Originally posted by richardolee@March 30, 2007 02:47 pm
Thanks Firestorm. It was helpful.
no prob....... we are all bikers.....

all the best in finding your bike....:smile:

newbee
09-04-2007, 10:37 AM
Need help!!!!

This morning I can not start my X8.....
anyone have any idea?

Yesterday still fine, but today just can not work.

It did spark up when i press the starter, but it will not ignite after long time I press the starter.

Is it related to the Plug? if yes, where is the plug located?

firestorm_33
09-04-2007, 10:53 AM
Originally posted by newbee@April 09, 2007 10:37 am
Need help!!!!

This morning I can not start my X8.....
anyone have any idea?

Yesterday still fine, but today just can not work.

It did spark up when i press the starter, but it will not ignite after long time I press the starter.

Is it related to the Plug? if yes, where is the plug located?

Did you try to trottle a little bit when you start up?

Btw, when was the last time you changed the spark plug?

there is a few possibility that i can think of....

1. spark plug too old (in any case, your spark plug is located on the right side of the bike at the small squarish cover area.)

2. battery insufficient voltage ( like what happened to those who bought the 06 model before, due to coil issue)

3. never trottle a bit when starting bike

4. spark plug wet (kanna water)

so far can only think of these few.... but rided X8 for a year, hadn't got problem like yours yet...... anyway think will know more if see the bike......

where you stay? maybe i can go check out for you since i am not working today.
contact me at 92745438..... :smile:

newbee
09-04-2007, 12:48 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@April 09, 2007 10:53 am
Did you try to trottle a little bit when you start up?

Btw, when was the last time you changed the spark plug?

there is a few possibility that i can think of....

1. spark plug too old (in any case, your spark plug is located on the right side of the bike at the small squarish cover area.)

2. battery insufficient voltage ( like what happened to those who bought the 06 model before, due to coil issue)

3. never trottle a bit when starting bike

4. spark plug wet (kanna water)

so far can only think of these few.... but rided X8 for a year, hadn't got problem like yours yet...... anyway think will know more if see the bike......

where you stay? maybe i can go check out for you since i am not working today.
contact me at 92745438..... :smile:

For the spark plug, u mean is the cover box beside the right handle?

firestorm_33
09-04-2007, 01:11 PM
Originally posted by newbee@April 09, 2007 12:48 pm

For the spark plug, u mean is the cover box beside the right handle?

bro,

not there, that's the coolant compartment.

look at the side of your bike, you should see a squarish cover with a screw there......... that's the one....

btw if you aren't confident abt changing the spark plug, my suggestion would be that spend 20-25 dollars to tow it to shop for them to check the problem....

in this way, at least u would be able to assure yourself that the bike will not have more problems due to your careless or inconfidence.....

not dressing you down but looking from a point of view where i always asked myself this question....

Do i want to take the risk if i not sure abt the procedures which might result in worse situations?hmmm by asking that, noramlly i can take a step back and consider again all options and neccessary info required before deciding again.

Btw, just though of something,if you have a ammeter, use it to check the voltage on your battery before deciding on something else....

one more thing, do you always top up your battery water?..... all the best...:smile:

newbee
10-04-2007, 03:46 PM

My bike done.... yesterday go back and see the plug...
the plug connector loosen... so i plug back and fast fast go and change the new one.

hehe.....
add battery water as well...

Thanks alot

firestorm_33
11-04-2007, 04:47 PM
Originally posted by newbee@April 10, 2007 03:46 pm

My bike done.... yesterday go back and see the plug...
the plug connector loosen... so i plug back and fast fast go and change the new one.

hehe.....
add battery water as well...

Thanks alot
no prob.... all the best....:smile:

Brownkai
13-04-2007, 09:01 AM
:thumb: X8 thread seems very quiet nowadays...

anyway safe ride guys!

its friday the 13th... :cheeky:

muddi
13-04-2007, 10:27 AM
siao liao guys, i lost my alarm remote. If i use my key just start engine like that alarm will go off?

firestorm_33
13-04-2007, 10:49 AM
Originally posted by muddi@April 13, 2007 10:27 am
siao liao guys, i lost my alarm remote. If i use my key just start engine like that alarm will go off?
there is a reset button when you buy/fix your alarm... press till the sound goes off... or call me 92745438 i see how i can explain it over the phone faster/better//...:smile:

CCK
14-04-2007, 02:40 AM
Maybe just disconnect the alarm first?

firestorm_33
15-04-2007, 03:53 PM
Originally posted by muddi@April 13, 2007 10:27 am
so.... problem resolved?

Brownkai
20-04-2007, 11:45 AM
Hello.. any idea wat type of bulb for our back rear light for X8...

I wanna change to brighter one especially the one when i squeeze my brake will light up one...
dam piss off with cars which alway tailgate... need some strong light to wake them up... :mad:

firestorm_33
20-04-2007, 04:12 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@April 20, 2007 11:45 am
Hello.. any idea wat type of bulb for our back rear light for X8...

I wanna change to brighter one especially the one when i squeeze my brake will light up one...
dam piss off with cars which alway tailgate... need some strong light to wake them up... :mad:
T10 and the normal switch bulb(big one), not the type with thread but those type which is 2 small pin by the side one.....

goldstar
20-04-2007, 08:11 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@April 13, 2007 09:01 am
:thumb: X8 thread seems very quiet nowadays...

anyway safe ride guys!

its friday the 13th... :cheeky:
agree:cry: seem like now less n less x8 rider in sbf:help:

Brownkai
20-04-2007, 10:41 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@April 20, 2007 04:12 pm
T10 and the normal switch bulb(big one), not the type with thread but those type which is 2 small pin by the side one.....
any brand ? I thinking of getting from the MO here in the SBF section...

Brownkai
20-04-2007, 10:43 PM
Originally posted by goldstar@April 20, 2007 08:11 pm
agree:cry: seem like now less n less x8 rider in sbf:help:
yah.... hear no more new 200cc X8 in market liao... I guess tat y also no new member...haha...just come here see see look look... when some times X8 thread fall too way below... help to up abit... :cheeky:

firestorm_33
21-04-2007, 01:31 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@April 20, 2007 10:41 pm
any brand ? I thinking of getting from the MO here in the SBF section...
can try the MO as long as it's T10 ok liao,......

best is LED type.... my last one using that..... :cheer:

goldstar
21-04-2007, 01:51 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@April 20, 2007 10:43 pm
yah.... hear no more new 200cc X8 in market liao... I guess tat y also no new member...haha...just come here see see look look... when some times X8 thread fall too way below... help to up abit... :cheeky:

hahahahoho
21-04-2007, 08:13 PM
i m a friday sat sun x8er. :cheer: east side .

goldstar
21-04-2007, 08:47 PM
Originally posted by hahahahoho@April 21, 2007 08:13 pm
:confused: u only ride on those days:confused:Than i full day x8ers liao:bounce: :bounce:

Brownkai
21-04-2007, 10:19 PM
Thx firestorm.. will got take alook around for the bulbs, might get philip brands for H7 type (Silver vision)... hear dunno got free T10 bulbs ...

I also part time rider... haha...

savvy
21-04-2007, 10:21 PM
Originally posted by hahahahoho@April 21, 2007 08:13 pm
Juz bought x8 together wif my dad...haha, im also a weekend x8 rider...east side orso..

goldstar
22-04-2007, 12:20 AM
Originally posted by savvy@April 21, 2007 10:21 pm
Juz bought x8 together wif my dad...haha, im also a weekend x8 rider...east side orso..
welcome savvy:cheer: u buy x8 yr dad oso:cheeky: than can ask yr dad to come for meet up if there is:cheeky:

Brownkai
24-04-2007, 10:35 PM
Thx firestorm n Dr pony for helping me to change my headlight..
Now the front is bright and clear... wooo ....
Tyre change liao also feel better... pick up improve also I think is better grip ba...

X8 :thumb:

leo_rider
24-04-2007, 10:52 PM
any1 knows the price of X8-400? thinking of getting back an X8, but might consider the 400cc

Brownkai
24-04-2007, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by leo_rider@April 24, 2007 10:52 pm
any1 knows the price of X8-400? thinking of getting back an X8, but might consider the 400cc
$8400 excluding COE, Insurance and IU qoute from our brembo lao da...

goooodaaaaa....

leo_rider
25-04-2007, 10:55 PM
hmm which bike shop carries this model? dun see any around leh..

Brownkai
26-04-2007, 01:04 AM
Originally posted by leo_rider@April 25, 2007 10:55 pm
hmm which bike shop carries this model? dun see any around leh..
this one I not very sure... but heard my fren he saw X8 400 on the road liao...
maybe can check with piaggio-65474466 ?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v258/brownkai/x84006.jpg

leo_rider
26-04-2007, 01:54 AM
piaggio webby dun have X8 400

hahahahoho
28-04-2007, 09:58 AM
any x8 east side wanna meet up? i weekend riders coz weekdays e bike sleeping in my camps' carpark. :bounce:

goldstar
28-04-2007, 01:49 PM
Originally posted by hahahahoho@April 28, 2007 09:58 am
any x8 east side wanna meet up? i weekend riders coz weekdays e bike sleeping in my camps' carpark. :bounce:
Hi,i stay at seng kang :bouncefire: any meet up can sms me at 96695597.

goldstar
29-04-2007, 05:53 AM
Anyone want to go malaysia GP on 30th nite:cheer: eat supper,pump fuel,tkss.

Brownkai
01-05-2007, 01:31 AM
Originally posted by goldstar@April 29, 2007 05:53 am
Anyone want to go malaysia GP on 30th nite:cheer: eat supper,pump fuel,tkss.
Goldstar bro... do u think we shld try organise a X8 gathering... X8 gathering like long time not much ppl... anyway wanna give it a try... ?

Let me know again...

All X8ers reporting in!!!!

Goldstar/????/96695597
Brownkai/Sembawang/93889685
Velton/Jurong/????

X8ers pls leave ur nick location n contact here... pls support... thx...

goldstar
01-05-2007, 06:12 AM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 01, 2007 01:31 am
Goldstar bro... do u think we shld try organise a X8 gathering... X8 gathering like long time not much ppl... anyway wanna give it a try... ?

Let me know again...

All X8ers reporting in!!!!

Goldstar/????/96695597
Brownkai/Sembawang/93889685
Velton/Jurong/????

All x8ers reporting in !!!!!

1) goldstar /rivervale /96695597
2) Brownkai/Sembawang/93889685
3) Velton/Jurong/????

X8ers pls leave ur nick location n contact here... pls support... thx...:cheer:

goldstar
01-05-2007, 06:19 PM
Bro Brownkai,i think is better to put the time,date n place.so other x8ers can know :cheer:

goldstar
01-05-2007, 07:31 PM
All x8ers reporting in !!!!!
3) Velton/Jurong/97327439

Brownkai
02-05-2007, 12:08 AM
Originally posted by goldstar@May 01, 2007 06:19 pm
Bro Brownkai,i think is better to put the time,date n place.so other x8ers can know :cheer:
Hmm... I love too... maybe some good places like ECP, KFC...etc where we can chill out get to know each other... well its now a dryrun... hope more ppl ride X8 join in... add contacts..

now we need to wait n see hows the respond.. if not just 3 of us also can.. haha..

Brownkai
02-05-2007, 11:34 AM
Originally posted by goldstar@May 01, 2007 07:31 pm

:cheer: All x8ers Reporting In !!!!! ):cheer:

Brownkai
03-05-2007, 02:51 PM
:lovestruck: maybe the gathering will be held in may...
Wheres all the X8ers ? uncles aunties ah gong ah ma ride X8 welcome also...
dun be shy

ezias
03-05-2007, 03:00 PM
i've been riding x8 for a yr plus. but wasnt active in this forums before.
staying at marsiling area. :smile:

goldstar
03-05-2007, 09:11 PM
Originally posted by ezias@May 03, 2007 03:00 pm
i've been riding x8 for a yr plus. but wasnt active in this forums before.
staying at marsiling area. :smile:
Hi ezias,happy u r back to this forum:cheer: kindly leave yr nick n hp number.So when there is meet up can sms u.:thumb:

goldstar
03-05-2007, 09:20 PM
All x8ers Reporting In !!!!!
4)ezias /marsiling/???

ezias
04-05-2007, 02:41 AM

4) ezias /Marsiling/98588850

i'm sure there's more x8 riders than this. weee! :cheer:

:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:

Sensible
04-05-2007, 11:25 AM
4)ezias /marsiling/???
5) Sensible_x8/ Bedok / 97699026

Yo, bro brownkai, have not seen u for a long time since the last outing at Little Bali.
Eagerly awaiting news of the gathering :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

Brownkai
04-05-2007, 11:27 AM
thx ezias for ur virgin post and welcome ....

will update u the gathering soon.. maybe a lah kopi outing...

I believe theres more... just tat they got come here see see look look anot.. hehe

ezias
04-05-2007, 01:05 PM
virgin post? :cheeky:

anyway aft riding for so long i have a problem with the backrest on the box.
it was getting loose initially and now it has come off!! :cry:
last nite i unscrewed the backrest out from the box but i cant fit the cushion back in. :sian:

any idea where to buy a replacement one? :confused:

goldstar
04-05-2007, 05:59 PM
All x8ers Reporting In !!!!!1) goldstar /rivervale /96695597
4)ezias /marsiling/98588850

whyme_82
04-05-2007, 07:07 PM
4)ezias /marsiling/???
6)whyme_82/Clementi/81834789

Hi guys, would really love to join in your outings=
)

goldstar
04-05-2007, 07:17 PM
Hi bro whyme,welcome to x8ers club:cheer:

goldstar
04-05-2007, 07:19 PM

Terrible One
04-05-2007, 09:23 PM
http://static.blogo.it/motoblog/piaggioxevo.jpg

X8 Evo

goldstar
04-05-2007, 10:46 PM
Originally posted by Terrible One@May 04, 2007 09:23 pm

X8 Evo
Nice bike:thumb: The front look like x9 n the rest same like x8 200cc.Is this the latest model?

firestorm_33
04-05-2007, 10:56 PM
X8 Bros......

No longer riding X8ers like me can join anot???...............

Yo... Goldstar.... long time no see liao.......:smile:

Hmmm.... X8 evo.... will it ever come..... but still prefer Premium Sport now.... unless X8 evo can change mine decision .......:cheeky:

Brownkai
04-05-2007, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@May 04, 2007 10:56 pm
X8 Bros......

Hmmm.... X8 evo.... will it ever come..... but still prefer Premium Sport now.... unless X8 evo can change mine decision .......:cheeky:
firestorm bro.. of cos u most welcome...u will be our DJ for tat nite... hehehe kidding... infact anyone also can join...

we'll keep u guys update abt the upcoming gathering.. I hope i will be successful one....

share info get to know more new scooterist n old birds too...

hahahahoho
04-05-2007, 11:12 PM
7)hahahahoho/changi/93218312

firestorm_33
04-05-2007, 11:17 PM
ok ok.... you know how to contact me.....:smile:

logging out liao.... feeding my daughter milk/////.......:sweat:

Brownkai
04-05-2007, 11:19 PM
Originally posted by ezias@May 04, 2007 01:05 pm
virgin post? :cheeky:

anyway aft riding for so long i have a problem with the backrest on the box.
it was getting loose initially and now it has come off!! :cry:
last nite i unscrewed the backrest out from the box but i cant fit the cushion back in. :sian:

any idea where to buy a replacement one? :confused:
hmmm....very hard to tell.. have to see... anyway... izzit the screw rusty ? replacement of the screw... ?

Brownkai
04-05-2007, 11:45 PM
Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 04, 2007 11:25 am
Yo, bro brownkai, have not seen u for a long time since the last outing at Little Bali.
Eagerly awaiting news of the gathering :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

5) Sensible_x8/Bedok / 97699026
6) whyme_82/Clementi/81834789
7) hahahahoho/Changi/93218312

hope to see ya guys soon too.... :cheer:

sid
05-05-2007, 07:53 AM
Originally posted by Terrible One@May 04, 2007 09:23 pm

X8 Evo
Interesting :smile:

Sensible
05-05-2007, 11:29 AM
Bros,

When will the gathering be?
Getting excited and hyped-up liao! :cheer:

goldstar
05-05-2007, 12:31 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@May 04, 2007 10:56 pm
X8 Bros......

Yo bro firestorm,Ya miss u a lot ley:cheer: c u on the coming meet up:bouncefire:

goldstar
05-05-2007, 12:33 PM
Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 05, 2007 11:29 am
Bros,

When will the gathering be?
Getting excited and hyped-up liao! :cheer:
Yo bro dun worry comfirm is this year:cheeky:

goldstar
05-05-2007, 12:35 PM

hope to see ya guys soon too....

firestorm_33
05-05-2007, 07:42 PM
Originally posted by goldstar@May 05, 2007 12:35 pm

ya man...... long time never meet up liao.......

i will try to ask the new owner of my X8 and the other X8 friend to come along.... as they aren't active in the forum....:smile:

goldstar
05-05-2007, 08:20 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@May 05, 2007 07:42 pm
ya man...... long time never meet up liao.......

i will try to ask the new owner of my X8 and the other X8 friend to come along.... as they aren't active in the forum....:smile:

goldstar
05-05-2007, 08:22 PM

weehwa
07-05-2007, 02:22 PM
8) WH/Bedok/92289196

goldstar
07-05-2007, 07:19 PM
8) WH/Bedok/92289196

rockfordfosgate
07-05-2007, 11:56 PM
8) WH/Bedok/92289196
9) rockfordfosgate/sembawang/91918359

aoc
08-05-2007, 12:27 PM
hi X8ers;

just got my ride last friday. bought it 2nd hand. engine sound smooth enough though the timing abit fast as compared to my previous wave. is that norm? mayb will change to a more x engine oil next round....

milleage seems ok (since i top up last nite arnd 10litres) of abt alomost 300km since i didnt dare to exploit the reserve tank kaka. speed and pick up is good!

one thing i need to know from the xperienced ones is that i find that the bike abit wobbly especially during movin off and at bends. tot it was the tire pressure but after pumping air still its there. tot that x8 is totally a different ride from wave (onviously) since its heavy. well for the benefit of the doubt - is that a norm too? or mayb i was just underpowered/undertrottled huh?

anyway

8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) aoc/jurong/98581544

Brownkai
08-05-2007, 12:47 PM
Originally posted by aoc@May 08, 2007 12:27 pm
one thing i need to know from the xperienced ones is that i find that the bike abit wobbly especially during movin off and at bends. tot it was the tire pressure but after pumping air still its there. tot that x8 is totally a different ride from wave (onviously) since its heavy. well for the benefit of the doubt - is that a norm too? or mayb i was just underpowered/undertrottled huh?
Hello I guess u just need to get used to it with the bike ba...cos different bike got different feel of handling... not only just the weight will affect the handling, the build of the bike too..got other factors also.. dun worry
We will have a gathering very soon... will either post it here or give u guys a sms the time n location...cheers

The Gathering might not in large number of group, most important We get to know more frens riding the same bike,share info,riding exp,passion...etc
It will be a chill n relaxing nite out...

1) Goldstar/Rivervale/96695597
4) Ezias /Marsiling/98588850
5) Sensible_x8/Bedok/ 97699026
6) Whyme_82/Clementi/81834789
7) Hahahahoho/Changi/93218312
8) WH/Bedok/92289196
9) Rockfordfosgate/Sembawang/91918359
10) Aoc/Jurong/98581544

aoc
08-05-2007, 03:23 PM
kakaka i tot so too - cant forget the first ride like yesterday just passed my 2B boy! Thanks for the thoughts though.

Brownkai you've got pm...

Sensible
08-05-2007, 04:32 PM
hi X8ers;

just got my ride last friday. bought it 2nd hand. engine sound smooth enough though the timing abit fast as compared to my previous wave. is that norm? mayb will change to a more x engine oil next round....

milleage seems ok (since i top up last nite arnd 10litres) of abt alomost 300km since i didnt dare to exploit the reserve tank kaka. speed and pick up is good!

anyway

8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) aoc/jurong/98581544
Hi AOC,

Welcome to the club!!!

firestorm_33
08-05-2007, 10:23 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 08, 2007 12:47 pm
Hello I guess u just need to get used to it with the bike ba...cos different bike got different feel of handling... not only just the weight will affect the handling, the build of the bike too..got other factors also.. dun worry
We will have a gathering very soon... will either post it here or give u guys a sms the time n location...cheers

The Gathering might not in large number of group, most important We get to know more frens riding the same bike,share info,riding exp,passion...etc

8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) Aoc/Jurong/98581544

I want outing !!!!

i want outing!!!!!

goldstar
08-05-2007, 10:46 PM
hi X8ers;

anyway

8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) aoc/jurong/98581544
Hello aoc:cheer: welcome to the x8ers club:bouncefire:

goldstar
08-05-2007, 10:47 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@May 08, 2007 10:23 pm
I want outing !!!!

i want outing!!!!!

coming coming:cheer:

goldstar
08-05-2007, 10:49 PM
Originally posted by rockfordfosgate@May 07, 2007 11:56 pm
8) WH/Bedok/92289196
Welcome bro :cheer:

goldstar
08-05-2007, 10:54 PM
8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) Aoc/Jurong/98581544
11)
12)
13)
14)

goldstar
08-05-2007, 10:59 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 08, 2007 12:47 pm

sid
08-05-2007, 11:22 PM
can i join? :smile:

Brownkai
09-05-2007, 12:24 AM
Originally posted by sid@May 08, 2007 11:22 pm
u aready auto add liao same with fire storm... :cheeky:

will let u guys know soon...

Gold star bro.. sorry... didnt manage to call u tonite... I try calling u again when u free...

AOC... got ur pm... no worry... not compusory.... hehe..

safe rides guys.. its really hot these days... :sian:

Apocalypto
09-05-2007, 01:38 AM

kimi
09-05-2007, 01:41 AM
just update me on the date & timing.nowadays not online & bz at work.anyway welcome all the new x8ers. :cheer:

firestorm_33
09-05-2007, 10:53 AM
Originally posted by kimi@May 09, 2007 01:41 am
just update me on the date & timing.nowadays not online & bz at work.anyway welcome all the new x8ers. :cheer:
no wonder lar....... tot you MIA liao.......

see ya around... :smile:

ezias
09-05-2007, 02:24 PM
:shy:

think there's still more x8ers in singapore.

kimi
09-05-2007, 02:58 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@May 09, 2007 10:53 am
no wonder lar....... tot you MIA liao.......

see ya around... :smile:
wont MIA lah... :cheeky: :cheeky:

goldstar
09-05-2007, 09:10 PM
Originally posted by kimi@May 09, 2007 02:58 pm
Bro kimi u MIA for so long:help: Make sure u come for the meetup:bouncefire:

goldstar
09-05-2007, 09:15 PM
Originally posted by sid@May 08, 2007 11:22 pm
u say ley:cheer:

Brownkai
09-05-2007, 09:29 PM
Originally posted by goldstar@May 09, 2007 09:15 pm
u say ley:cheer:
Gold star bro.... so location we confirm at Kallang KFC.. okie ?

date will be at sat but dunno 19 or 26... :smile:

Sensible
09-05-2007, 09:43 PM
Originally posted by kimi@May 09, 2007 02:58 pm
Hi Kimi,

Long time no see..

How's the going?

goldstar
09-05-2007, 11:15 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 09, 2007 09:29 pm
Gold star bro.... so location we confirm at Kallang KFC.. okie ?

date will be at sat but dunno 19 or 26... :smile:
OK:cheer: THINK 26 may sat nite will be better so the rest of the x8ers won"t miss it.:lovestruck:

goldstar
09-05-2007, 11:20 PM
8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) Aoc/Jurong/98581544
11)
12)
13)
14)
:bouncefire: :bouncefire:

goldstar
10-05-2007, 06:39 PM
X8 meetup

DATE: 26/05/07
TIME: 2000
PLACE: KALLANG KFC

ALL ARE WELCOME

:cheer: :lovestruck:

Sensible
11-05-2007, 12:51 AM
Originally posted by goldstar@May 10, 2007 06:39 pm
X8 meetup

ALL ARE WELCOME

:cheer: :lovestruck:

Do you think we should all ride for supper after the meeting?

After all, its very fun riding around in a big group... Don't u think so?

ezias
11-05-2007, 12:38 PM
eh i finish work ard 9.45pm @ tpy! :giddy:
would love to join u guys after that.

Brownkai
11-05-2007, 11:16 PM
Originally posted by ezias@May 11, 2007 12:38 pm
eh i finish work ard 9.45pm @ tpy! :giddy:
would love to join u guys after that.
come come...its sat u know.... I guess will we stay there quite late... if any changes in location we will let u know...

Brownkai
13-05-2007, 08:43 PM
X8 meetup

ALL ARE WELCOME

Sensible
13-05-2007, 08:58 PM
Can't wait to meet-up! :cheer: :cheer:

aoc
14-05-2007, 03:05 PM
Hi X8ers;

wish i could have the time like u guys. anyway need helplah.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....ic=163293&st=0& (http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=163293&st=0&)

Brownkai
14-05-2007, 04:21 PM
Originally posted by aoc@May 14, 2007 03:05 pm
Hi X8ers;

wish i could have the time like u guys. anyway need helplah.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....ic=163293&st=0& (http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=163293&st=0&)

hello.. sad to hear ur little mishap...

I hear piaggio center might have the colours match our X8 colour lipstick/marker tat can cover the scratches, hear last time got some of the scooterist say one... u can call them up and check...

for me I using the lipstick tat come together with turtle wax... silver... the colour doesnt match but at least cover up the dark black colour scratches...

last thing... U say u wish could have the time like us ? wat time ?
I like to say all of us have living now in the same time same world, spending on the same time also, unless u telling me ur "world" have 12 hrs or less.. it is base on ur time management, we all have work, studies , and of cos family to commit...
Got time No time or not enuff time ? its up to individual, each to its own...

firestorm_33
14-05-2007, 11:19 PM
Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 13, 2007 08:58 pm
Can't wait to meet-up! :cheer: :cheer:
bro,

how's your bike?

prob resolved??

whyme_82
15-05-2007, 12:28 AM
Hi guys, juz checking if any1 bringin their partners along for the meet-up?

Sensible
15-05-2007, 10:55 AM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@May 14, 2007 11:19 pm
bro,

how's your bike?

prob resolved??
Hi bro,

Yeah, the sound went off by itself after 2 days...

Have not bring my bike my check-up yet though..

Sensible
15-05-2007, 10:57 AM
Originally posted by whyme_82@May 15, 2007 12:28 am
Yo!

I'm bringing mine along.

See ya on that day! :cheer:

Sensible
15-05-2007, 11:03 AM
Its a wet day today.

Al bros out there ride safe, ok.. :thumb:

Brownkai
15-05-2007, 04:09 PM

8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) Aoc/Jurong/98581544
11)
12)
13)
14)
15)

Safe ride guys!

goldstar
15-05-2007, 07:33 PM
Originally posted by whyme_82@May 15, 2007 12:28 am
me too:cheer:

velton_x8
15-05-2007, 09:50 PM
hi, all.. i've been riding this x8 for abt 9mths.. nothing much happens till recently there's a creaking sound coming out somewhere around the petrol compartment. sometimes it's loud but at times there isn't any sound like it's fine. is there any problem with my engine? any fellow x8ers with expedite solution to solve my problems? btw, when i throttles.. there isn't any sound as well. only when it's stationary.. initially i thought it because of my late change in 4T oil but even after that, there's still that damn irritating sound .. pls help me with it, thanks guys! :help: :faint:

goldstar
16-05-2007, 12:17 AM
Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 11, 2007 12:51 am

Do you think we should all ride for supper after the meeting?

After all, its very fun riding around in a big group... Don't u think so?

Good idea:cheer:

firestorm_33
16-05-2007, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by velton_x8@May 15, 2007 09:50 pm
hi, all.. i've been riding this x8 for abt 9mths.. nothing much happens till recently there's a creaking sound coming out somewhere around the petrol compartment. sometimes it's loud but at times there isn't any sound like it's fine. is there any problem with my engine? any fellow x8ers with expedite solution to solve my problems? btw, when i throttles.. there isn't any sound as well. only when it's stationary.. initially i thought it because of my late change in 4T oil but even after that, there's still that damn irritating sound .. pls help me with it, thanks guys! :help: :faint:
bro,

you might want to feed in more details...

feel free to contact me 92745438

we can discuss more over phone....

can't stay long on line as working....:sweat:

modstar
16-05-2007, 11:22 AM
hello x8 brothers,

i bought over an x8 yesterday! and i must say i love it!previously riding a vespa,this auto needs getting used to.

i have a few questions...i appreciate if u can help me

1)may i know where i can get the manual or user guide?

2)i am still not sure of how to lift up my rear helmet box so that i can open the lid for my 'boot'?

3)how do i set the clock for my dashboard?

4)to install air horn..which area has to be dismantled in order to wire orginal horn?

modstar
16-05-2007, 11:23 AM
hello x8 brothers,

i bought over an x8 yesterday! and i must say i love it!previously riding a vespa,this auto needs getting used to.

2)i am still not sure of how to lift up my rear helmet box so that i can open the lid for my 'boot'?

4)to install air horn..which area has to be dismantled in order to wire orginal horn?

modstar
16-05-2007, 11:24 AM

8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) Aoc/Jurong/98581544
11) Modstar/Hougang/ 92960659
12)
13)
14)
15)

Safe ride guys!

Sensible
16-05-2007, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by modstar@May 16, 2007 11:23 am
hello x8 brothers,

Congrats on purchasing of your x8!

I presumed that you bought your x8 in the 2nd hand market, u should check with your seller. The manual should come along with the bike!

There is a knob just beside the left side of the back seats below the rear box.
Loosen the knob fully and press the knob down while lifting the box at teh same time.

At your left hand side of the "dashboard", there's a front compartment for you to keep your handphone, keys etc. In it, there's a res button, use that button to set the time.

For that, its advisable that you look for a qualified mechanic.

Sensible
16-05-2007, 01:32 PM
hello x8 brothers,

I presumed that you bought your x8 in the 2nd hand market, u should check with your seller. The manual should come along with the bike!

Loosen the knob fully and press the knob down while lifting the box at teh same time.

At your left hand side of the "dashboard", there's a front compartment for you to keep your handphone, keys etc. In it, there's a res button, use that button to set the time.

Sensible
hello x8 brothers,

Sensible
hello x8 brothers,

Sensible
16-05-2007, 01:39 PM
hello x8 brothers,

Hi!

Congrats on purchasing your x8 !

I presumed that you bought your x8 from the 2 nd hand market?
The manual should come along with the bike.
Please check with your seller.

There's a knob on the left hand side of the rear box. Twist it open anti-clockwise fully and press down the knob while shifting your box up at the same time.

There's a "res" button in the front compartment on the left hand side of your "dashboard". Use the button to set the time.

Its advisable to get a qualified mechanic to fix a LTA-approved horn.

Hey, u might also wanna catch up with the rest of us on 26th May at Kallang!

Cheers :thumb:

modstar
16-05-2007, 03:26 PM
hahah brother you answered me 3 times.

see you guys this saturday!

aoc
16-05-2007, 03:49 PM
hei modstar;

congrats on your new ride. me too same2 just abt 2-3 wks ago. have the same questns as yours but for the no1 (manual) i tot of goin to piaggio hq to ask whether they got sell another copy or not. ive sent them email but bo reply lo!

the rest of your questions safely said sensible x8 has answered them 3times right :)

brownkai;
sorry lah bro don mean get u worked up. ure right. we make the time but my time say no time for me :) our new addition needs more time from me hehe.

anyway, ive realised the scratches dat i got on monday wasnt as bad just need to do a little work on it tho. will update...

shahbin
16-05-2007, 04:28 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@April 13, 2007 10:49 am
there is a reset button when you buy/fix your alarm... press till the sound goes off... or call me 92745438 i see how i can explain it over the phone faster/better//...:smile:
Hello Sir, after reading so many post, you seen like very experience on the trouble shooting of the X8, can i asking you some question on it? I have my X8 for about 6th months come to 7th, recently my X8 is vibrate quite badly at initial of ride. I send to repair shop and the technician say this is common problem on the X8 original clutch (Vibrate in low speed riding I think they call it Clutch Slick) it normally happen after distance of riding (like 15K), the work shop recommend change to Polini Clutch because Polini are better build the the original. To change the clutch may cost me up to $300++, may i know got other cheap way to solve this problem. Thank you very much.

modstar
16-05-2007, 07:45 PM
having a hard time trying to open my rear boot. because i cannot lift up the box behind!
any advice?

i need to make another key...i was informed of the process.how much is the piaggio key at PSC?

sid
16-05-2007, 10:26 PM
Originally posted by shahbin@May 16, 2007 04:28 pm
Hello Sir, after reading so many post, you seen like very experience on the trouble shooting of the X8, can i asking you some question on it? I have my X8 for about 6th months come to 7th, recently my X8 is vibrate quite badly at initial of ride. I send to repair shop and the technician say this is common problem on the X8 original clutch (Vibrate in low speed riding I think they call it Clutch Slick) it normally happen after distance of riding (like 15K), the work shop recommend change to Polini Clutch because Polini are better build the the original. To change the clutch may cost me up to $300++, may i know got other cheap way to solve this problem. Thank you very much.

The problem that you describe is a well known classic problem that is haunting X8. Its called "clutch slip". To eliminate the problem all together is to change it to an aftermarket clutch eg polini as wat u have mentioned before.

For a cheaper option will be to open up the transmission and take out the clutch and sand it. This will last for a few thousand kilometres (2 - 3K) BUT once you get the scoot overheat ie during heavy traffic jam or lots of hill climbing then it will come back again.

I donno if I qualify to answer as my experience is very limited :smile:

sid
16-05-2007, 10:32 PM
Originally posted by modstar@May 16, 2007 07:45 pm
having a hard time trying to open my rear boot. because i cannot lift up the box behind!
any advice?

i need to make another key...i was informed of the process.how much is the piaggio key at PSC?
To open the rear boot is a bit tricky. to lift up the top box, you have to 1st lossen the knob that is on the left hand side of your top box bracket. with your left hand pushing the knob in and your roght hand on the bottom of the top box bracket, jiggle your right hand down then lift it up to an anti clock wise direction. make sure after u pushed it up it is locked or it will drop down again. to lower it to its original position juz repeat the same thing :smile:

aoc
17-05-2007, 08:53 AM
Thanks sid for the reply on the top box instructions even tho i didnt bother to ask. anyway, went over to piaggio ysterday. No stock for the manual. they just ordered. and no stock for the lipstick either so bought the turtle wax one that comes w the chipstick (watever). the latter also hard to find (black) and most stores are running out of stocks for it too....

shahbin
17-05-2007, 03:02 PM
Originally posted by sid@May 16, 2007 10:26 pm
The problem that you describe is a well known classic problem that is haunting X8. Its called "clutch slip". To eliminate the problem all together is to change it to an aftermarket clutch eg polini as wat u have mentioned before.

For a cheaper option will be to open up the transmission and take out the clutch and sand it. This will last for a few thousand kilometres (2 - 3K) BUT once you get the scoot overheat ie during heavy traffic jam or lots of hill climbing then it will come back again.

I donno if I qualify to answer as my experience is very limited :smile:
Thanks Sid! Do you have any workshop for recommend? Reasonable price with good service? and i also need to install an alarm, any brand you recommend ? Thanks again. :cheer: :cheer:

Sensible
17-05-2007, 08:45 PM
Hi peeps,

How much for our brakes pad? Front and back?

Time to change mine

ezias
18-05-2007, 04:28 PM
brake pads shouldn't cost more than $20 for a pair.
changed mine @ HKL. lol. went there to changed my tire as well.

hahahahoho
18-05-2007, 09:00 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 13, 2007 08:43 pm
X8 meetup

ALL ARE WELCOME

still on? :confused:

goldstar
18-05-2007, 09:08 PM
Originally posted by hahahahoho@May 18, 2007 09:00 pm
still on? :confused:
bro still not over yet.:sweat:

goldstar
18-05-2007, 09:10 PM
X8 meetup

ALL ARE WELCOME

goldstar
18-05-2007, 09:13 PM
8) WH/Bedok/92289196
10) Aoc/Jurong/98581544
11) Modstar/Hougang/ 92960659
12)
13)
14)
15)

firestorm_33
19-05-2007, 10:35 AM
Originally posted by ezias@May 18, 2007 04:28 pm
brake pads shouldn't cost more than $20 for a pair.
changed mine @ HKL. lol. went there to changed my tire as well.
bro,

it depends on the type of brake pads that you uses........

well ...... :goodluck: where you change your brake pads......

still prefer a scooter specialist to service my bike......:smile:

Brownkai
20-05-2007, 12:44 AM
X8ers meetup

DATE: 26/05/07 (Sat)
TIME: 20:00 (8pm)

ALL ARE WELCOME

ezias
21-05-2007, 02:15 AM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@May 19, 2007 10:35 am
bro,

it depends on the type of brake pads that you uses........

well ...... :goodluck: where you change your brake pads......

still prefer a scooter specialist to service my bike......:smile:
that time i still quite noob mah. lol. cuz my fren recommended me to change my tire there. so at the same time i changed the brake pads too.

at first there's a problem. the brake light couldnt light up when i depressed the brake normally. a few mths later when the brake pad is 'seasoned', the brake light went back to normal as well.

firestorm_33
21-05-2007, 05:38 AM
Originally posted by ezias@May 21, 2007 02:15 am
that time i still quite noob mah. lol. cuz my fren recommended me to change my tire there. so at the same time i changed the brake pads too.

at first there's a problem. the brake light couldnt light up when i depressed the brake normally. a few mths later when the brake pad is 'seasoned', the brake light went back to normal as well.
i see i see.......

well, think as long as you are comfortable to let them handle it, y not?:cheeky:

anyway, think when it's a scooter prob, would still go back to a scooter spec.

just like if you riding a harley, you won't go to normal bike shop to svc also right?:sweat:

Brownkai
22-05-2007, 01:51 AM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 20, 2007 12:44 am
X8ers meetup

ALL ARE WELCOME
5 more days :cheer:

modstar
22-05-2007, 03:16 PM
may i ask what is the recommended air pressure for x8 rear/front wheels..thanks

jasonyeo123
22-05-2007, 03:45 PM
anyone selling their x8 ? or coi ? juz asking =)

Sensible
22-05-2007, 05:40 PM
Originally posted by modstar@May 22, 2007 03:16 pm
may i ask what is the recommended air pressure for x8 rear/front wheels..thanks
210 for front
230 for rear

If u pillion regularly, then its
215 for front
235 for rear

Cheers! :cheer:

firestorm_33
22-05-2007, 08:35 PM
Originally posted by jasonyeo123@May 22, 2007 03:45 pm
anyone selling their x8 ? or coi ? juz asking =)
bro,

there are.... refer to the classfied thread for scooters sales.....:smile:

modstar
23-05-2007, 07:43 AM
Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 22, 2007 05:40 pm
210 for front
230 for rear

215 for front
235 for rear

thank you sensei_x8!

any idea how often you re-pump the tyres?

and as for the coolant..do i need to top it up regularly?

thanks for the advise

Sensible
23-05-2007, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by modstar@May 23, 2007 07:43 am
thank you sensei_x8!

thanks for the advise
Hi Modstar,

Personally i re-pump my tyre every 2 weeks.
I'm not sure what's the recommended dose of times though... Some bro said its every 500km, etc...

But i stick to every 2 weeks as i'm a heavy user.. haha

Coolant need not top up regularly, just ask the mechanic to top up or check during your full service every 12000km (recommended).

modstar
23-05-2007, 11:42 AM
Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 23, 2007 10:52 am
Hi Modstar,

Personally i re-pump my tyre every 2 weeks.
I'm not sure what's the recommended dose of times though... Some bro said its every 500km, etc...

But i stick to every 2 weeks as i'm a heavy user.. haha

Coolant need not top up regularly, just ask the mechanic to top up or check during your full service every 12000km (recommended).

hi sensi_x8..

thanks for the reply.i get a clearer picture now.

aprt from that..where can i purchase and have fix the voltmeter.

do u recommend me fixing myself?

firestorm_33
23-05-2007, 12:39 PM
Originally posted by modstar@May 23, 2007 11:42 am
hi sensi_x8..

thanks for the reply.i get a clearer picture now.

aprt from that..where can i purchase and have fix the voltmeter.

do u recommend me fixing myself?

bro, re-pump your tyres every 2 weeks is ok but remember , try to do it before your tyres start heating up as it will allows you to have a more accurate air pressure.

Coolant - Think Sensible X8 misunderstood what was told to him - I will not reccommend that you only check or top up every 12k as there are situations where evaporation happen by weather and heat of bike.

hence , it would be recommended that you check at least every 2 months for the coolant level.

Coolant flushing is recommended every 12k......think that's what it was meant to be told to sensible X8.:smile:

Last but not least - Voltmeter - commonly found in car accessories shops. of cos some bike shops sell too. if you want to get one, you can go LAB to get too.....

installation wise , i will not reccommend you DIY unless you know the bike wiring well... :cheer:

Sensible
23-05-2007, 03:19 PM
Originally posted by firestorm_33@May 23, 2007 12:39 pm

bro, re-pump your tyres every 2 weeks is ok but remember , try to do it before your tyres start heating up as it will allows you to have a more accurate air pressure.

Coolant - Think Sensible X8 misunderstood what was told to him - I will not reccommend that you only check or top up every 12k as there are situations where evaporation happen by weather and heat of bike.

hence , it would be recommended that you check at least every 2 months for the coolant level.

Coolant flushing is recommended every 12k......think that's what it was meant to be told to sensible X8.:smile:

Last but not least - Voltmeter - commonly found in car accessories shops. of cos some bike shops sell too. if you want to get one, you can go LAB to get too.....

installation wise , i will not reccommend you DIY unless you know the bike wiring well... :cheer:

Hi firestorm, thanks for adding on!

Hi peeps,

Voltmeter is a must for our kind of bikes as it keeps us aware of our battery status.

Had 2 bad experiences when my bike couldn't start, i did not fixed my voltmeter yet at that time..
Had to spent money to tow my bike in for the 1st time,

The 2nd time happened at the carpark of Raffles Shopping mall.
Bike couldn't start, and that was a few hours prior to the Spooky ride organised by disar and co.
Talk about "spooky" indeed!
Called disar and beachboyz for help. Again very lucky that they were nearby, managed to get me a jumpstart cable from ah boy. that saved me some $$ from paying the towing fee.
Went down to Ah Boy and immediately changed to a dry cell batt.

Haha.. I have kept the jumpstart cable in-case of emergency and have even played mechanic once to my friend's x8 which couldn't start due to batt problem.

Brownkai
23-05-2007, 09:09 PM
Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 22, 2007 05:40 pm
210 for front
230 for rear

215 for front
235 for rear

Hello... regarding the wheel air pressure...

Because our both front and rear wheel are both different size of wheel...

front is 14 the back is 12...

Just like to double check is 230-235 too high for rear ? or is it okie ? :confused:

Sensible x8 if my bike cannot start "touch wood" I call u to help me start okie ?? hehe... kidding... :cheeky:

Brownkai
23-05-2007, 09:34 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 20, 2007 12:44 am
X8ers meetup

ALL ARE WELCOME
3 more days :cheer:

kimi
23-05-2007, 09:42 PM
hi brownkai & goldstar,wun be able to make it as working nite shift.enjoy,.thanks.

Sensible
23-05-2007, 11:45 PM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 23, 2007 09:09 pm

Just like to double check is 230-235 too high for rear ? or is it okie ? :confused:

Sensible x8 if my bike cannot start "touch wood" I call u to help me start okie ?? hehe... kidding... :cheeky:
Hi Bro Brownkai,

This, I checked with Mr. Yap's recommendations.
Haha.. i think its set by the paggio's manufacturer ba..

No prob man, u can call me if your bike can't start... *touch wood*
I'll come down with my trusty cable !
Hee, but.. when my bike down, u must support me la.. hee :cheeky:

firestorm_33
24-05-2007, 10:52 AM
Originally posted by sensible_x8@May 23, 2007 03:19 pm

Hi firestorm, thanks for adding on!

Hi peeps,

Voltmeter is a must for our kind of bikes as it keeps us aware of our battery status.

Had 2 bad experiences when my bike couldn't start, i did not fixed my voltmeter yet at that time..
Had to spent money to tow my bike in for the 1st time,

The 2nd time happened at the carpark of Raffles Shopping mall.
Bike couldn't start, and that was a few hours prior to the Spooky ride organised by disar and co.
Talk about "spooky" indeed!
Called disar and beachboyz for help. Again very lucky that they were nearby, managed to get me a jumpstart cable from ah boy. that saved me some $$ from paying the towing fee.
Went down to Ah Boy and immediately changed to a dry cell batt.

Haha.. I have kept the jumpstart cable in-case of emergency and have even played mechanic once to my friend's x8 which couldn't start due to batt problem.
no worries bro....:smile:

btw add on to what i said, ;

check coolant level every 2months - if you find that your level is getting low, just top up with water can liao...... untill you flush coolant then change new coolant.....

understand from Dr ponytail that if we add coolant instead of flushing it, can also but will have the "dirt" accumlate inside..... also won't know if the radiator become rusty anot.....

beside that for those guys who prefer add coolant, adding "concentrated" coolant will also spolit the metal plates (corrodes) henceforth you must know if it's concentrated type or diluted type before adding coolant......... :cheer:

firestorm_33
24-05-2007, 10:56 AM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 23, 2007 09:34 pm
3 more days :cheer:
ok brownkai bro.....

managed to "physco" my 2 X8 friends.

We shall see you guys there on sat 8 pm......:cheer:

firestorm_33
24-05-2007, 11:04 AM
Originally posted by Brownkai@May 23, 2007 09:09 pm

bro,

tyre pressure really depends on individual.....:smile:

tell you more on sat..... logging out now.....:cheer:

goldstar
26-05-2007, 02:55 PM
Hi guys, c u all tonight at kallang

goldstar
26-05-2007, 07:24 PM
goin out now

shahbin
26-05-2007, 09:03 PM
Hello, I can't find anything about this 2 indicator from the user manual, can someone tell me what does it indicate ? Suppose to be fill up by something ? should be empty or full? my one on left is empty and right is full by yellow liquid. Thanks

goldstar
26-05-2007, 11:58 PM
Nice meeting to all who hv come to the meetup.Hope to see all soon at our next outing.

goldstar
27-05-2007, 12:02 AM
Hello, I can't find anything about this 2 indicator from the user manual, can someone tell me what does it indicate ? Suppose to be fill up by something ? should be empty or full? my one on left is empty and right is full by yellow liquid. Thanks

Dun worry bro,my oso the same.when go svc yr bike just ask them to wash for u.

Brownkai
27-05-2007, 01:22 AM
Nice outing guys!!! really had nice chat with ya guys and also a group of scooter going for a spin to mount faber...
I guess theres more X8ers but just not active in the forum...

hope to see more in future! Safe ride to all!

whyme_82
27-05-2007, 09:50 AM
Nice meeting u guys too. will be eagerly waiting for the next spooky outing=)

firestorm_33
27-05-2007, 11:40 AM
ya men..... nice meeting all of you......

maybe next round should ask brownkai and goldstar X8s Lao Da treat everyone Kopi/......... :)

firestorm_33
27-05-2007, 11:43 AM
Shahbin, once you login and see this, contact me at 92745438..... got some questions to ask u with regards to what you asked yesterday and explainations to what you ask about the question below..... :P

shahbin
28-05-2007, 02:43 PM
Shahbin, once you login and see this, contact me at 92745438..... got some questions to ask u with regards to what you asked yesterday and explainations to what you ask about the question below..... :P

Thanks Man! Thanks you for advise about the clutch slip potion, this problem currently is not that annoying yet. My present urgency is to install an alarm.
Nice to meet your that night at KFC, and also sorry about I cabut halfway. Hope to can have a early planing for myself next time. Thanks:thumb: