View Full Version : Nice Taxi Drivers

Biker`
04-11-2007, 05:00 PM
Weird to see such topic surface right..?

We always talk about those reckless taxi drivers that almost kill us or killed some of us.. So anyone encounter any nice taxi driver before? let's talk about this for a change.

I met this nice taxi driver along ecp and wanting to exit fort road. This taxi was beside me and a truck was behind me blocking me from lane change or slow down too much as i as coming near to the exit.. on my left signal indicate my intention of changing lane...and quite to my suprise.. the taxi driver slow down and let me change my lane.. was quite gald and showed him a thank you wave b4 i exit..

althought just a simple action.. but such stuff brighten up my day... share share la

Speedpass
05-11-2007, 03:03 PM
I believe tat if the taxi driver is nice , do report it to the company , the driver gets rewards for it . :thumb:

Hope tis will motivate more drivers of tis kind .

Luintoxon
05-11-2007, 07:08 PM
Actually nowadys I feel too that the taxi drivers are becoming less aggressive. I also encountered a few times when they slow down to let me change lane. Also less being tailgated by them.

Nowadays I think those normal cars especially those sportier type are becoming more aggressive. :sian:

Nicholai
14-11-2007, 04:16 AM
I've a few experiences where the drivers of any kinda 4 or more wheelers (commercial, lorries, taxis, etc) gave way for the motorcyclists to filter through a heavily congested traffic. Really appreciate their unselfish gestures even though they are the ones who need to endure the long wait of clearing the traffic.

ozzarhomb
14-11-2007, 10:51 AM
that day i was on Pipit road travelling on 1st lane of a 2 lane road, a uncle driving camry cut into my lane leaving like 1M space after i jammed brake to turn right into a HDB carpark. speak of fierce private cars, no need sporty cars, no need young punks. Uncle driving camry can le. :giddy: :giddy:

Actually nowadys I feel too that the taxi drivers are becoming less aggressive. I also encountered a few times when they slow down to let me change lane. Also less being tailgated by them.

Nowadays I think those normal cars especially those sportier type are becoming more aggressive. :sian:

SGGH
14-11-2007, 11:25 AM
i tink taxi driver are actually alright. Nowadays WRX, Mazda GT series and some big camry do anyhow drive as if bikers aren't around.

I do encounter good taxi driver but got one time got one taxi driver really make me angry. i was at the right lane a T-junction, waiting to turn right. then the left arrow shown green, but the round one is still red. then suddenly the taxi behind me come to my side and scold me for not giving way to him turning left. its a red light cam traffic light lei. want me to inch how forward?

roseonfire
14-11-2007, 11:48 AM
Got nice taxi drivers, many of them always horn at me.. I tot i did something wrong but instead they smile n wave or show me thumbs up sign.. Till now dunno for wat. ahakz

夏日爱
14-11-2007, 04:04 PM
seen one v young taxi driver.

think he pt job lo.

Nice, friendly and "pretty"

hahaha ....

DR6
14-11-2007, 07:14 PM
Got nice taxi drivers, many of them always horn at me.. I tot i did something wrong but instead they smile n wave or show me thumbs up sign.. Till now dunno for wat. ahakz

Lady rider mah.

Echo
18-11-2007, 01:14 AM
there are nice taxi drivers around, most prob they are riders themselves too. some i encounter always give way to me, even though i giving way to them.....

roseonfire
18-11-2007, 09:33 AM
I do hav t o admit sum taxi drivers r quite rude.. they make mistakes but they shout at us on d road.. quite annoying n disappointin la. .coz they d one at fault seh.. but anyway ther r black sheeps everywher in every profession.. jus dat for taxi drivers, ther r many i gues. like my bro ever said.. maybe coz they r on d road most of d day n they think they r superior on d road n think they noe everythin n so on

Biker`
20-11-2007, 05:32 PM
Sometimes we try to be understanding abit also la.. cos driving for long hrs really is killing.. can get tire very easily

Blackenese
20-11-2007, 06:01 PM
I notice Comfort Taxi Driver's are more courteous, friendly, well mannered and nice....

The new taxi companys and the mercedes Taxis are those that are really on my nerves.....Had a few encounters with them already.....

nastroazzuro80
21-01-2008, 12:50 AM
haha,yo dudes luk at d date of d last previous post posted..its by Blackenese on 20/11/2007..
wat i m trying to say is dat its been near 2mths since anyone posted on tis 'nice cabby' thread so dat concludes evrytin huh..

mjdod
21-01-2008, 01:15 AM
Well I wouldve posted here earlier but I didnt know there was such a thread! :cheeky: Anyway, back in the time when I was 2b-less (not long ago before Dec 6) my main mode of transport was usually by taxi due to my being habitually waking up late for almost anything. This includes school, work, appointments etc..

So I got very familiar with Bus 240 which happens to be the only blue bus in Singapore. (It was 240 back then la :P ). I am naturally friendly and like to talk to people so during the trip to my destination, I just talk to the uncles and find out most of them used to be riders themselves when they were younger. And by the way they drive, most of them look out for motorcycles.

I think its more of a tiredness issue, if you are on the road for so many hours, constantly driving all it takes is just one mistake to cause a road accident. Thats why I talk to taxi drivers, they welcome it and they will be more alert.

Of course I have encountered some bad eggs who think they are Schumacher , the way the taxi uncle swerve my backside can shift to the right of the seat then to the left then to the middle then back to the left, and another Indian cabby who was driving on the right most lane and cursing and swearing at cars who were going at 90km/h -100km/h. It was really funny just watching him getting uptight over an old uncle who in his opinion was hogging the right most lane. And the best part was that he was high-beaming and horning him at the same time. It was classic!

nastroazzuro80
24-01-2008, 08:36 AM
Of course I have encountered some bad eggs who think they are Schumacher , the way the taxi uncle swerve my backside can shift to the right of the seat

d F1 fever has got to him indeed..

Biker`
24-01-2008, 06:20 PM
glad this htread still alive

C.S
25-01-2008, 02:28 PM
nobody ever remembers all the good things on the road
but once we get annoyed, we remember every little tiny bit of details of the unhappy encounter

UPZ for this "thank u taxi uncle" thread

me inclusive, must start appreciating the taxis uncles...... who knows, maybe next time i may become one also

Flora
25-01-2008, 04:29 PM
there are really alot of friendly uncles and aunties taxi drivers around... upz for them~

think show ur appreciative-ness by sending them compliment letters or if dun remember their plate number... its always cool to Smile n Wave!

RYANS
27-01-2008, 01:04 AM
ytd i met a taxi help me shield n block e traffic for me to let me change lane..

xiaobanz
27-01-2008, 12:15 PM
ytd i met a taxi help me shield n block e traffic for me to let me change lane..

Same, some taxi drivers will help you de. I got helped a few times when i need to make some "funny U turns".:angel:

Sky99
27-01-2008, 02:20 PM
1 out of 100 is good?

nastroazzuro80
27-01-2008, 04:37 PM
1 out of 100 is good?

LOL..mayb dats d exact number! :cheeky:

mjdod
27-01-2008, 08:56 PM
No la, cant be 1 out of 100, last time before my bike license I take alot of taxis, most obey traffic rules, only some are the bad apples in the bunch

aikau
27-01-2008, 10:34 PM
encountered once when i was travelling about 110km/hr the busy BKE exiting
PIE when i saw this particular taxi driver handsignalling to slow down.
suisui saw 2 tp there at the shoulder.

really appreciates him.
if not i wld have kana chialat.

THANKS TO YOU TAXI DRIVER. =)

nastroazzuro80
27-01-2008, 11:56 PM
gud to know dat our bro aikau saved from getin summonned wif d help of d taxi driver..

ozzarhomb
28-01-2008, 12:33 AM
well, i wrote in to a taxi company some time back to thank a driver before, they actually do acknowledge the e-mail and thank me for praising their driver. :smile:

nastroazzuro80
28-01-2008, 09:38 AM
well, i wrote in to a taxi company some time back to thank a driver before, they actually do acknowledge the e-mail and thank me for praising their driver. :smile:

wats d praise for? share wif us ley...

loufu
28-01-2008, 02:15 PM

not really true leh, esp those drivin the new hyundai taxi... they think they got a very powerful pick up... saw quite alot steppin their accelerator away like nobody business....:giddy:

on topic : glad stil can see some nice taxi driver around... muz show finger to them, but not the middle 1 lar... its :thumb:

xiaobanz
28-01-2008, 06:38 PM
Haha yupz, even when i lane split i also don't dare to chase after a hyundai taxi. They are super aggressive. But i find some old uncles quite nice.

stages
28-01-2008, 08:34 PM
now adays hardly see this type od taxu Driver anymore... RESPECT!

nastroazzuro80
29-01-2008, 11:43 AM
on topic : glad stil can see some nice taxi driver around... muz show finger to them, but not the middle 1 lar... its :thumb:

LOL..gud one dude..although some of them realli deserve dat.. :angel:

Sky99
01-02-2008, 04:53 PM
not really true leh, esp those drivin the new hyundai taxi... they think they got a very powerful pick up... saw quite alot steppin their accelerator away like nobody business....:giddy:

their petrol cheaper ma.

can rev lor

elbambino
13-02-2008, 10:21 PM
i see the alot abt those hyundai sonata taxis.. some of them drive like maniacs.. those taxis r autos right? switch lane like f1 drivers.. scary sia.. wonder how the passenger feeling.. pity her..

Skull_Angel
13-01-2009, 09:15 AM
some taxis driver even do drift sia..
ii was once in the cab..
he doin drift at right turn..
ii was like omg..
lao uncle doin drifting..-.-

anodise57
11-03-2009, 01:58 PM

Personal experience with these are NOT GOOD.
God bless their attitude and driving ethics.....

Fritz
12-03-2009, 12:16 AM
So far, haven't experience anything bad with taxi drivers; would like to keep it that way (:

EvilGixxer
12-03-2009, 06:53 AM
So far, haven't experience anything bad with taxi drivers; would like to keep it that way (:

you are very lucky. lady luck loves you.

No la, cant be 1 out of 100, last time before my bike license I take alot of taxis, most obey traffic rules, only some are the bad apples in the bunch

ya can't be 1 out of 100. is 1 out of 1000. used to see nice taxi uncles. now, i never get to see one good one. they all seem to think that they have family to feed but bikers dun have...

NoobGixxer
12-03-2009, 08:59 PM
Weird to see such topic surface right..?

We always talk about those reckless taxi drivers that almost kill us or killed some of us.. So anyone encounter any nice taxi driver before? let's talk about this for a change.

I met this nice taxi driver along ecp and wanting to exit fort road. This taxi was beside me and a truck was behind me blocking me from lane change or slow down too much as i as coming near to the exit.. on my left signal indicate my intention of changing lane...and quite to my suprise.. the taxi driver slow down and let me change my lane.. was quite gald and showed him a thank you wave b4 i exit..

althought just a simple action.. but such stuff brighten up my day... share share la

sorry 1 stupid qns to ask u...u saying e lorry is behind u blocking u to change lane..so e lorry in e same lane as u la...

proradar1
12-03-2009, 09:28 PM
taxi drivers are nice when u're inside their taxi. (not all la)

love to hear them tok kok with me =) don nid to reply them and they can continue all the way

EvilGixxer
12-03-2009, 11:49 PM
sorry 1 stupid qns to ask u...u saying e lorry is behind u blocking u to change lane..so e lorry in e same lane as u la...

lol noob. he is saying the taxi on his left, he and lorry in the middle. coming to exit liao, he feels he cannot slow down bcos of lorry. taxi see him signal, slow down let him change lane and exit. understand? TS am i right?