View Full Version : Depression?

mr suave
30-01-2008, 04:42 PM
Hi fellow bikers, due to some existing family issues and the need to manage my NS together, I find that I feel very depressed, hopeless and sad most of the time. I might just probably be suffering from a mild depression.

According to friends, they all say that one shldnt have it recorded in one's army docket, as it affects one's job opportunities in the future. I hope you guys can shed some light to this issue. Thank you.

bujang_senang
30-01-2008, 06:10 PM
sorry to hear that u're going thru such a difficult phase..i'm not too sure bout whether wat goes into ur docket will affect ur employment chances..but 1 thing i know is if u go DB..it's akin to going to civilian jail and there'll be a record against u...

what kinda unit u in? combat etc? stay in or stay out? is ur presence needed at home etc? talk to ur pc or someone u can confide in..it'll make u feel lotsa betta and hopefully they can help work something out for u to help u with ur problem..

whatever it is..pls pls dun do anything foolish ya...take it easy..there's no problem that can't be solved and no problem that u can run away from...stay strong ya buddy...

xiaobanz
30-01-2008, 07:12 PM
Keep strong man, juz endure. Find one buddy in the army and talk **** keep it fun. I got 1 men whom we always talk **** together to keep life up there. Make more frenz, you will find that life is super good (though i still feel that i can't wait to ORD).

Make more frenz with pple from other platoons, you need they help and talk **** sessions to make time fly..

bujang_senang
31-01-2008, 10:03 PM
yo bro..how u doing man? managed to open up to ur platoon or section mates and talk to someone abt ur problems?

mr suave
31-01-2008, 10:29 PM
Hey guys, thanks for the concern and replies. I just need to know if it would affect job opportunities in the future. If it does, I just gotta tolerate all the crap.

I am currently trying to assess myself daily. Maybe i'll just see a psychiatrist to see if there was really something wrong with me.

bujang_senang
31-01-2008, 10:51 PM
I think it should leave a mark on ur records..but only if u plan to sign on or work as a civil servant..tell u wat...gimme a day..i'll contact a few friends of mine and ask bout this record thingy..i'll get back to u ya..

xiaobanz
01-02-2008, 06:16 PM
Juz endure it man. It doesn't look good when you ORD and go out to work. Smile and everything will be gone.

mr suave
01-02-2008, 09:52 PM
I think it should leave a mark on ur records..but only if u plan to sign on or work as a civil servant..tell u wat...gimme a day..i'll contact a few friends of mine and ask bout this record thingy..i'll get back to u ya..

Yes pls! I need to know how the systems works badly.

mr suave
01-02-2008, 09:53 PM
Juz endure it man. It doesn't look good when you ORD and go out to work. Smile and everything will be gone.

I would love to do so but the problems im facing, its just hard not to worry.

bigboss
03-09-2008, 01:51 PM

hang in there, bro..what doesn't kill u just makes u stronger.

Yatz86
03-09-2008, 01:56 PM
dont think it will affect ure future employment, but it should affect if ure planning to go to command school

Baphomet
24-11-2008, 10:40 AM
nope..it wun affect ya job opportunities. these things are kept confiedntial. even if u admitted in imh its also confidential..unless u u commit any legal offence, then the police have the right to check your medical history.

Toyota23
24-11-2008, 03:04 PM
wont affect!! NO worri........

Metaphor
09-01-2009, 02:58 AM
eh i last time got report depression leh...
My dad passed away 1week b4 i enlist. after p.o.p kanna dump. 1 week later my grandma passed away... cannot tahan already... 7days M/C... given by my M/O... many days of excuse draw arms... excuse marching... excuse exercise activities... got appointment to see pyschatrist.. after awhile people in my platoon call me "ORG GILE" a man with green cert... even after 3cycles of reservist my name still there...
If u r planning to work in the uniform group i suggest dont... but if u are planning to take out a weapon like DAVID TEO... i suggest u go report better....

WoshiBen
29-04-2009, 05:49 AM
eh i last time got report depression leh...
My dad passed away 1week b4 i enlist. after p.o.p kanna dump. 1 week later my grandma passed away... cannot tahan already... 7days M/C... given by my M/O... many days of excuse draw arms... excuse marching... excuse exercise activities... got appointment to see pyschatrist.. after awhile people in my platoon call me "ORG GILE" a man with green cert... even after 3cycles of reservist my name still there...
If u r planning to work in the uniform group i suggest dont... but if u are planning to take out a weapon like DAVID TEO... i suggest u go report better....

Its Dave Teo.

schwein.bissen
30-04-2009, 10:06 AM
The priority is to get it cured. SAF would probably refer you to MMI or PMIC.

There's also a high probability you will be excused handling firearms.

There's no black mark that will be "exported" to the workforce, so not to worry. :)

Baphomet
06-05-2009, 07:14 PM
1 thing to take note though...most likely you will be downgraded to Pes E1L9 or if you recover, C1L3. when going for interview..they will give you an employment form to fill up...there's a column asking u to fill in your PES status. Not sure whether they will ask you why you get Pes E.