View Full Version : [Discussion] Technical - Jet Kits

arsonist
08-10-2009, 06:17 PM
Hi anyone change the jetting for s4? i am interested in doing...
can share experiences and price and location of shop u did?

thnx

gene98
09-10-2009, 02:38 PM
used to do 180 for new dyno kit & 80 for dyno run. no idea what price now

Burnt
09-10-2009, 05:03 PM
Hi anyone change the jetting for s4? i am interested in doing...
can share experiences and price and location of shop u did?

thnx

i ever tot of installing an aftermarket jet kit as well not sure worth the investment anot. not cheap installing one as well.

Fazli
09-10-2009, 11:07 PM
Maybe can try playin with different main jet sizes to suit your riding needs. a cheaper alternative in my opinion.

Burnt
10-10-2009, 08:26 PM
Maybe can try playin with different main jet sizes to suit your riding needs. a cheaper alternative in my opinion.

Doing that currently .. power wise still not bad ..

JbAtRaCeR
10-10-2009, 08:44 PM
I've use both kenso and dynojet during my s4 days..Kenso is stage 2 mods. Whereas dyno is stage 1 mod.End up i switched to dyno coz my mods are only stage 1.

From what i know stage 2 mods is modified airbox,full system exhaust,port and polishing of intake/exhaust.

Stage 1 is stock airbox with aftermarket airfilters (KNN,SIMOTA,BMC,DNA,PIPERCROSS etc),then either a full system exhaust or just endcan.

All i can say its worth the money,you get better throttle response,better drivability at low rpms to mid. Stronger top end pull. Changing mainjet only affects the 3/4 to full throttle peformance.Dynojet and kensojet kits includes needle jets with allows you to tune the 1/4-3/4 throttle peformance.

Burnt
10-10-2009, 10:22 PM
I've use both kenso and dynojet during my s4 days..Kenso is stage 2 mods. Whereas dyno is stage 1 mod.End up i switched to dyno coz my mods are only stage 1.

From what i know stage 2 mods is modified airbox,full system exhaust,port and polishing of intake/exhaust.

Stage 1 is stock airbox with aftermarket airfilters (KNN,SIMOTA,BMC,DNA,PIPERCROSS etc),then either a full system exhaust or just endcan.

All i can say its worth the money,you get better throttle response,better drivability at low rpms to mid. Stronger top end pull. Changing mainjet only affects the 3/4 to full throttle peformance.Dynojet and kensojet kits includes needle jets with allows you to tune the 1/4-3/4 throttle peformance.

frm wad u say .. like tempting.. haha .. got to see $$ first ..

arsonist
10-10-2009, 10:25 PM

can share how much total u spent for the stage 1 dynojet bro? and what shop is best to do it at? thanks

Burnt
11-10-2009, 01:51 AM
can share how much total u spent for the stage 1 dynojet bro? and what shop is best to do it at? thanks

go planet motor ... unless u noe HKL ppl very well ..

JbAtRaCeR
11-10-2009, 12:06 PM

About 300plus,includes dyno run to find the best setting, washing of carbs and airfilter.

Which shop to do,racewerkz...hkl...choice is yours...

I did also use upsize mainjets before using kenso or dynojets,i did feel the performance at full throttle(high rpm above 9.5-12.5krpm. However my bike suffer performance lost at low rpms due to the lesser backpressure(exhaust system). With jetkits like dyno or kenso,you can play around with the needlejet height for better low rpm response.

One thing about carb bikes is that today you tune 'swee swer',tomorrow you ride up to KL...you find the tuning is abit off..

skooldestroyer
12-10-2009, 06:58 PM
Dear broz,

I'm kinda new to S4 stuff so was just wondering.

- What is jetting/dyno jetting and what is it for? (It seems like tuning the Super 4, correct me if I'm wrong)
- Are there different types of jetting? (Saw sum mentioning Stage 1 la, Stage 2 la... Got any diff anot?)

Thanks for the future enlightenment. Pardon for my n00b-ness... :cheers:

arsonist
12-10-2009, 08:32 PM
found this link in the garage sales.. pls read up

http://www.dynojet.com/jetkits/index.aspx

skooldestroyer
12-10-2009, 10:41 PM
found this link in the garage sales.. pls read up

http://www.dynojet.com/jetkits/index.aspx

Hey tx arsonist! Great insight and din noe there's even a STAGE 7 Jet Kit... :cheeky:

arsonist
13-10-2009, 09:32 PM
welcome bro
if got PMO for jet kit would be nice ar... :P
i wanna do but dun wanna spend too much...thats why im trying to find out how much exactly to do all these and best shop to do..
skooldestroyer u also interested in doing is it?

skooldestroyer
13-10-2009, 10:32 PM
welcome bro
if got PMO for jet kit would be nice ar... :P
i wanna do but dun wanna spend too much...thats why im trying to find out how much exactly to do all these and best shop to do..
skooldestroyer u also interested in doing is it?

Still considering ar bro. I tink better I get a Yoshi Full System 1st n go straight to Stage 2 jetting, if dat is e correct way of jetting dat is. Den wont waste time n money... I hear Unique does jetting...

Couple of qns...

- If my bike has done a Stage 1 jetting and I wish to do a Stage 2 jetting, do I have to remove e 1st jetting den move on to Stage 2 or just upgrade?
- A bike needs only 1 jetting done in its lifetime right? Or has to be routinely checked and run again?

skyblood
15-10-2009, 11:48 AM
jetting need to change the needle if its is worn.. like say 25000km, see the way u ride and rev ur bike

JbAtRaCeR
15-10-2009, 06:57 PM
Still considering ar bro. I tink better I get a Yoshi Full System 1st n go straight to Stage 2 jetting, if dat is e correct way of jetting dat is. Den wont waste time n money... I hear Unique does jetting...

Couple of qns...

- If my bike has done a Stage 1 jetting and I wish to do a Stage 2 jetting, do I have to remove e 1st jetting den move on to Stage 2 or just upgrade?
- A bike needs only 1 jetting done in its lifetime right? Or has to be routinely checked and run again?

In the stage 1 jetting there's differerent sizes of mainjets. Only switch to stage 2 if the biggest mainjet in the stage 1 kit cannot supply enough petrol the engine.

It needs to be checked yearly. But still you must consider there is other things also needs to be checked,like valve clearance,clutch plate wear,piston,piston ring,valve seat...etc etc...

With that kind of money to maintain the bike,might as well you get a class 2 bike,unless you are racing in 400cc class..hehe!!:angel:

vtec power
13-12-2009, 10:49 PM
anyone tried changing to bigger jet size but brandless type? How are the reviews of doing so?

Currently using yoshi full system

sugusqui
14-12-2009, 04:41 PM
I accept with information:In the stage 1 jetting there's differerent sizes of mainjets. Only switch to stage 2 if the biggest mainjet in the stage 1 kit cannot supply enough petrol the engine. It needs to be checked yearly. But still you must consider there is other things also needs to be checked,like valve clearance.
Taux calculette pret immobilier | (http://calculettepretimmobilier.com/)Calcul emprunt pret immo | (http://calculettepretimmobilier.com/)Taux interet calculette credit immobilier (http://calculettepretimmobilier.com/)

icex
14-12-2009, 05:07 PM
anyone tried changing to bigger jet size but brandless type? How are the reviews of doing so?

Currently using yoshi full system

brandless? kaos din noe have such a thing...

our 'branded' jets did not even last that long... a few months gone...

JbAtRaCeR
14-12-2009, 08:09 PM
brandless? kaos din noe have such a thing...

our 'branded' jets did not even last that long... a few months gone...

No such thing as brandless...but there's "fake" dynojet kits..One thing about carb bikes,you need to constantly tune it for peak peformance. Things like air pressure lah...this and that....airfilter starts to become dirty will affect the peak peformance.

Thats why efi is better,got air flow sensor...02 sensor n many2 sensor...downside is one sensor malfunction,the FI light will blink like siao...

vtec power
19-12-2009, 03:08 PM
how is the petrol consumption after changing jet?

JbAtRaCeR
19-12-2009, 06:03 PM
When i first went for dynorun,they found out the my bike is running lean at certain rpm and too rich at max rpm..fuel consumption was 280km/15L...

After changing to dynojet,tune it to the best setting they can get for smoother power curve,and my fuel consumption goes to 320km/15L.

vtec power
19-12-2009, 09:42 PM
fuel consumption still quite not bad ma....

Mine wif original jet is doing 320km for 15L.

Cpt.ZR
27-04-2010, 08:17 PM

i just got my vtec 1 a very nice set of dynojet. I have yet to fix it, but I have gotten a few feedback with regards to that. Some tell me need no to do a dyno run for that... some one tell me well better to...

So currently my layout of the bike is KnN airfilter, yoshi titanium end can only. Plus, my bike is almost 112000kms already... So do you'all think its necessary to dyno it? I just want some feed back.. and btw how mch does it cost to dyno a bike huh?

thanks all!

MrIce
27-04-2010, 09:27 PM
i think if u do dyno tuning can have more precise tuning ?

Cpt.ZR
27-04-2010, 11:20 PM
mmm icic.. great input.

i was told that i need no dyno run... unless i am gg track junkie. so prolly just tune by experienced and trusted mech will be good?

Infernalwar
28-04-2010, 07:34 PM
How much does dyno run and dynojet cost and where to get it?

Iceachilles
05-05-2010, 09:22 PM

i just got my vtec 1 a very nice set of dynojet. I have yet to fix it, but I have gotten a few feedback with regards to that. Some tell me need no to do a dyno run for that... some one tell me well better to...

So currently my layout of the bike is KnN airfilter, yoshi titanium end can only. Plus, my bike is almost 112000kms already... So do you'all think its necessary to dyno it? I just want some feed back.. and btw how mch does it cost to dyno a bike huh?

thanks all!

i think if u do dyno tuning can have more precise tuning ?

mmm icic.. great input.

i was told that i need no dyno run... unless i am gg track junkie. so prolly just tune by experienced and trusted mech will be good?

anybody got the ans to the above? curious to know too

JbAtRaCeR
05-05-2010, 09:56 PM
anybody got the ans to the above? curious to know too

1. 112 000kms...i think you might one to go for a compression test to check on ur engine condition. Be prepared to fork out money if there's compression leakage. Price wise for dynojet kit and dynorun,you need to call up the shops that bring in these kits.

2. Setting up the kits using a dyno machine will allow for more precise tuning as there an air/fuel ratio sensor to sniff the readings while the bike is running on the dyno at the same time recording the max torque and hp. But there's also a saying a dynamometer is not a real world. :thumb:

kano
05-05-2010, 10:07 PM

$300 race works
HKL $350

Kioz
05-05-2010, 11:50 PM
1. 112 000kms...i think you might one to go for a compression test to check on ur engine condition. Be prepared to fork out money if there's compression leakage. Price wise for dynojet kit and dynorun,you need to call up the shops that bring in these kits.

2. Setting up the kits using a dyno machine will allow for more precise tuning as there an air/fuel ratio sensor to sniff the readings while the bike is running on the dyno at the same time recording the max torque and hp. But there's also a saying a dynamometer is not a real world. :thumb:

i 2nd that bro. sometimes you just have to see it to believe it with your own eyes.. :cool:

JbAtRaCeR
06-05-2010, 09:09 PM
i 2nd that bro. sometimes you just have to see it to believe it with your own eyes.. :cool:

I've seen and feel the goodness of having a dynojetkit installed on my vtec3 and now a PC3 on my blackbird.

One thing about carb bikes is they cannot alter air fuel ratio automatically when the air pressure changes or temperature. Learned this when i took my vtec3 up Genting Highlands and Bukit Tinggi,bike feel like got lesser power.:dozed:

FI bikes have Intake Air Temperature(IAT),Manifold Air Pressure Sensor(MAP) and etc2 that can make fine adjustment when there's changes in air temperature or pressure.

Cheers bro...Nice looking S4..Mpph!!Yummy rims...:thumb:

Infernalwar
07-05-2010, 12:02 PM
So bottom line is Spec III dynojet or dyno run no good? :cheeky:

JbAtRaCeR
08-05-2010, 09:35 AM
So bottom line is Spec III dynojet or dyno run no good? :cheeky:

Wrong bro,if you want more hp..driveability and throttle response. Then upgrade to dynojetkit for vtec models and powercommander for revo models..

Dynorun is good as it allows the tuner to tune the carbs properly by playing with the mainjets,needlejet height and etc without blasting on the road at 180kph or more.

Infernalwar
08-05-2010, 09:58 AM
Wrong bro,if you want more hp..driveability and throttle response. Then upgrade to dynojetkit for vtec models and powercommander for revo models..

Dynorun is good as it allows the tuner to tune the carbs properly by playing with the mainjets,needlejet height and etc without blasting on the road at 180kph or more.

Ok ok... Thx!:angel:

Iceachilles
09-05-2010, 01:46 PM

After installing dynojets and dynoRun, the next carb wasing and tune is normal wash and tune or have to do dynoRun to tune again? Thank you

JbAtRaCeR
13-05-2010, 12:22 PM
After installing dynojets and dynoRun, the next carb wasing and tune is normal wash and tune or have to do dynoRun to tune again? Thank you

If you want 100% peformance then go for dynorun again but as for me..i juz leave it. There's no point of washing carb if you use ur bike everyday. The gumming of fuel additives in petrol will take a long time to clog ur jets. Maybe a month or two...

rocksteady
13-05-2010, 01:50 PM
afta reading all tiz, guess i better leave my bike as it is, get a class 2 fuel injection bike then do dyno

Iceachilles
13-05-2010, 02:01 PM
If you want 100% peformance then go for dynorun again but as for me..i juz leave it. There's no point of washing carb if you use ur bike everyday. The gumming of fuel additives in petrol will take a long time to clog ur jets. Maybe a month or two...

Thanks bro

Infernalwar
13-05-2010, 02:05 PM
afta reading all tiz, guess i better leave my bike as it is, get a class 2 fuel injection bike then do dyno

Same goes to me! Hahaha!!!

Iceachilles
13-05-2010, 03:27 PM

Same goes to me! Hahaha!!!

Its very tempting whether you want the low to mid range driveability and better throttle respond. I am not a performance or track junkie but if better control during during low to mid rpm respond. Sounds tempting right? If I whack every gear then no problem liao. haha. Its the normal riding style that you feels your bike respond. Also scare the fuel consumption is crazy lor... If you getting cl2 bike soon then better not invest dynojets now.

Any more advise? best from biker with aftermarket air filter running stock endcan, and later changed to aftermarket endcan and after a period went for dynojets. Thank you.

h4x0r3d
19-06-2010, 09:00 PM
Does Anyone hav DTNOJET jet kit for super four VTEC??