View Full Version : Dental reminder

ViciousKitty74
21-11-2003, 10:56 AM
Ladies and gents,

I a bit boliao so here I am giving reminders.

Now is the best time to arrange for your dental appointments. Especially those who are working and has a dental allowance.

Schedule your major dental works end of the year and if your dental claims will exceed your this year allowance. Can always schedule a 2nd appt beginning of next year so you can claim the amounts. :smile:

Don't waste your Dental Allowance!

Beckamon
21-11-2003, 11:09 AM
I not sure what u toking about, can u elaborate?

Marker
21-11-2003, 11:10 AM
Ladies and gents,

Now is the best time to arrange for your dental appointments. Especially those who are working and has a dental allowance.

Schedule your major dental works end of the year and if your dental claims will exceed your this year allowance. Can always schedule a 2nd appt beginning of next year so you can claim the amounts. :smile:

my company doesn't provide any dental allowance leh!!! :pity:

AliDavidSum
21-11-2003, 11:12 AM
Go to Dental???

Where got time?

Why pay more?

Just tie a string to your aching teeth, siah the door, and everything is over...

ViciousKitty74
21-11-2003, 11:14 AM
I not sure what u toking about, can u elaborate?

Lets say, your company only gives $100/- a year for you to claim your dental.

You went to Dentist and needs to pull out wisdom teeth. Possible cost is $190/-.

You clean and pull out one teeth this year, claim $100/-.

You clean and pull out one teeth in Jan 04 claim $100/-.

But if you dragged your dental appts till next year...you are only allowed to claim $100 out of your $190 bill. Your this year $100/- was saved for the office.

seven7sin
21-11-2003, 11:19 AM
not all company now offer dental claim !!! sian...

ViciousKitty74
21-11-2003, 11:22 AM
my company doesn't provide any dental allowance leh!!! :pity:

Then you might have to consider looking into your insurance plans to check whether there is such provisions.

I only have a rough idea that AIA offers such plans.

For NTUC Income, they have NTUC Denti care, offering dental services.

And my mom just came back from 'Kang Ren'. She just remove a teeth yesterday and she tells me its very cheap. Its some sort of charity hospital with outpatient services and dental services.

daniujie
21-11-2003, 11:32 AM
i want to whiten my teeth :D but no dental allowance leh :pity:

ViciousKitty74
21-11-2003, 11:42 AM
There is this new product from colgate, put onto the teeth for 2 weeks to whiten it.

Have to buy from dentist though.

seven7sin
21-11-2003, 01:11 PM
but i dun think it is a permament solution right..hmmz

Beckamon
21-11-2003, 01:16 PM
Then you might have to consider looking into your insurance plans to check whether there is such provisions.

I only have a rough idea that AIA offers such plans.

For NTUC Income, they have NTUC Denti care, offering dental services.

And my mom just came back from 'Kang Ren'. She just remove a teeth yesterday and she tells me its very cheap. Its some sort of charity hospital with outpatient services and dental services.

Can find out more about Kang Ren ?
I got 2 potential teeth to be pulled but delayed till now coz of $$.hehe
Both teeth already collapsed left only the root dangling...

LTC
21-11-2003, 01:36 PM
i want to whiten my teeth :D but no dental allowance leh :pity:

Colgate got new product for teeth whithening saw on tv yesterday.

:shades:

william_liu
21-11-2003, 01:41 PM
Ladies and gents,

:clap:

ViciousKitty74
21-11-2003, 03:12 PM
Both teeth already collapsed left only the root dangling...

Wah Biang eh...... :giddy:

ViciousKitty74
21-11-2003, 03:36 PM
My mother just told me that Kang Ren Dental Surgery is located at Yishun.

Its part of the Kang Ren Medical Centre. Under the category of Herbalist in the Yellow Pages.

rhema83
22-11-2003, 09:23 AM
I'm in the SAF, dental is fully-covered. Thanks for the reminder though, I'll go and book my dental checkup after Hari Raya. :D

ViciousKitty74
14-12-2004, 09:56 AM
Opps.....left it till the last minute to do reminders.

Folks. Especially those working ad has Dental Benefits every Calendar Year.

Please be reminded to use up your dental benefit for year 2004.

Put up that extra sparkling smile for Christmas!!!

myxilplix
14-12-2004, 10:57 AM
Ohh thanks kitty for the reminder. My company covers $150 a year for dental, i'd better use it before it "expires".

+simon+
14-12-2004, 02:20 PM
hijack this thread ...

anione putting braces in here ??
I am 24 .. and I thinking of putting it ..

is not veri serious problem .. but I want nice straight teeth
lolz

Turbo08
14-12-2004, 04:43 PM
Originally posted by +simon+@Dec 14 2004, 02:20 PM
hijack this thread ...

lolz
its not going to be cheap... cost abt 3k leh... noe 1 doctor at mount elizbeth medical centre... seems to be quite popular... magazine often mention his clinic

ViciousKitty74
14-12-2004, 04:53 PM
Originally posted by Turbo08@Dec 14 2004, 04:43 PM
its not going to be cheap... cost abt 3k leh... noe 1 doctor at mount elizbeth medical centre... seems to be quite popular... magazine often mention his clinic
A young man I know just had his braces done.

His was very simple, no colour braces or anything. $4k.

Can pay by instalment. every one 1 and half month goes for checkup and pay $270+ till its fully paid up.

Turbo08
14-12-2004, 05:39 PM
Originally posted by ViciousKitty74@Dec 14 2004, 04:53 PM
Can pay by instalment. every one 1 and half month goes for checkup and pay $270+ till its fully paid up.
installment sounds gd. But the braces on for how long ?? 2yrs ??

none
14-12-2004, 05:45 PM
Normally for customer services / sales line, the company will provide allowances for dental care.

Unfortunately mine don't have, had to spend close to 1k to extract my 3 wisdom teeth :(
Luckily can use medisave for it.

Anyway back to the topic, schedule once per +-12 months whenever free lor (for no allowances people like me).

tiong82
14-12-2004, 05:46 PM
how many pple actually visits the dentist every 6mths?:cheeky:

+simon+
14-12-2004, 07:14 PM
so expensive ...but instalments still okie ..

But then I scare wait put liao .. die die cannot take out ..
lolz

all my 4 wisdom tooth extract liao .. under SAF .. FREE and at the same time claim them MC. :smile:

Turbo08
14-12-2004, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by +simon+@Dec 14 2004, 07:14 PM
But then I scare wait put liao .. die die cannot take out ..
lolz
lol... u put on braces already, y wan to take out ?? it must be there for a certain time for ur teeth to set.

ViciousKitty74
04-01-2005, 02:30 PM
Again, just so that you can claim. :D

torque
04-01-2005, 02:31 PM
everything also muz claim. Come on.. give your company a break..

ViciousKitty74
05-01-2005, 12:48 AM
Well, do let us know if you are planning to give up claiming.

+simon+
05-01-2005, 01:23 AM
Originally posted by Turbo08@Dec 14 2004, 11:02 PM
lol... u put on braces already, y wan to take out ?? it must be there for a certain time for ur teeth to set.
cos ugly mah
lolz

tempest
05-01-2005, 05:07 PM
Originally posted by Beckamon+Nov 21 2003, 01:16 PM--></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Beckamon @ Nov 21 2003, 01:16 PM)</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'>
Can find out more about Kang Ren ?
Both teeth already collapsed left only the root dangling... [/b]
Once you remove those 2 teeth, the dentist should recommend that you do bridging or tooth implant. The cost for those 2, especially tooth implant, stim... So, I went for dentures (actually denture since its only one molar). Not advisable to leave the gap after you extra the teeth because the adjacent teeth have no proper support and will go haywire. So, in the long run, your teeth might slant to one side.

As an example in case you think I am bullshitting, I normally put on my denture when I go to sleep. Its quite uncomfortable personally. If I forget to put it on for a few nights, the gap would have closed up a little and the denture is a bit harder to insert, meaning adjacent teeth shifted a little. Hence, you have to take into account additional cost on top of extraction.

<!--QuoteBegin-ViciousKitty74@Nov 21 2003, 11:42 AM
There is this new product from colgate, put onto the teeth for 2 weeks to whiten it.

Have to buy from dentist though. [/quote]

I think no need dentist presciption these days. I might have seen it off the shelf.

ViciousKitty74
30-09-2005, 05:14 PM
As the topic suggest.

Now is a good time to start booking your dental appointments so that you can use up your this year's dental allowances from your company.

And also a good 2 months to finally get your appointments and smile good for Christmas & New Year!

ViciousKitty74
07-10-2006, 01:57 AM
Its coming to the end of the year again.

So here's a early reminder again for you folks to plan your dental visits.

Aie
07-10-2006, 05:46 AM
After my first wisdom tooth extraction, I did not visit the dentist until now even though I have a huge gaping cavity at my right last upper wisdom tooth. Since it is not painfully achy, I just let it be... :sweat:

Hondaman
07-10-2006, 09:30 AM
My company cpver $50 only! :cry: :cry:

Actually I never went to any dentist my whole life. PHOBIA...

But now I think have to overcome it lah since Mtwo of my teeth wanted to come out but the teeth never want to let go. now the teeth inside like pushing its way out and like hell it went sideways. so its coming out inside my jaw...ewww.

If I ate solid food, it will pain coz of the thining skin that covers the teeth, sheesh.

I asked my fren and he said most prob have to go operation and take out that teeth. coz my teeth outside feels pain whenever I bite. it will cost me ard $600. is it true? Its not wisdom tooth.

One of my fren went to take out the wisdom tooth and the clinic charge using medisave. so she doesnt need to take out money at all. Thats what she said.

Aie
07-10-2006, 09:46 AM
Originally posted by Hondaman@Oct 7 2006, 09:10 AM
I asked my fren and he said most prob have to go operation and take out that teeth. coz my teeth outside feels pain whenever I bite. it will cost me ard $600. is it true? Its not wisdom tooth.
One of my fren went to take out the wisdom tooth and the clinic charge using medisave. so she doesnt need to take out money at all. Thats what she said.
When I extracted just one of my wisdom tooth in 2003, the private dentist charged me $350. Luckily he gave me 4 days MC so although I felt the pinch, still worth it to me. Wisdom tooth extractions are the most expensive kind cos it is considered a minor surgery where anaesthetia is used. If normal teeth, I don't think it will cost that much unless complicated cases or numerous extractions are involved. The instances where you can use medisave is if you go to the government dental clinics. My friend had all four of her wisdom tooths extracted at SGH dental clinic and the bill amounted to around $800 plus. She told me that she used her medisave to pay for it... :sweat:

Alvin.Y
07-10-2006, 10:22 AM
Originally posted by tiong82@Dec 14 2004, 05:26 PM
how many pple actually visits the dentist every 6mths?:cheeky:
I do

my friendly neighbourhood dental clinic sends me a remainder to clean my teeth every 6 mths
of cos the pte clinic costs more than your regular polyclinic. But , u ever tried making an appt at the polyclinic dental? :help:

Dino Bravo
07-10-2006, 10:58 AM
Originally posted by +simon+@Dec 14 2004, 02:00 PM
hijack this thread ...

lolz
i once had braces on. its a suffering. but in the end still worth it. after you remove your braces, its not happy ever after. you gotta wear this retainer when you go to sleep, for the rest of your life. else the teeth will not maintain its current "straightness". but heck i didn't use it the moment the braces came off. till now 7yrs oredi...still not so bad la.
quite a suffering process for the first 6mths. not because of the braces, but because of the preperation itself.

-the dentist will extract 4 teeth fromt he back, regardless if your teeth are good anot. i had 4 perfect teeth pulled out to make way for the crooked teeth to straighten

-after that it will be a series of keeping your mouth open for up to periods of 15min or so, for the dentist to study and "take measurements"
trust me, 15min seems like forever when someone is staring down your throat and talking to himself.

-the most painful part... the dentist will then seperate the gap between your back teeth. by inserting with force... small "rubberbands" in between the gaps. first 3hrs seems ok and fun when you mesh your upper and bottom row of back teeth together. feels "rubbery". slowly the ache comes. by next day... your teeth ache like hell. even biting onto soft plain rice is a torture. you can never sucessfully bite completly in to the rice. 1/4 bite and you give up due to the pain.
the rubberband are inserted to create or loosen the gap between the 2 teeth, to mount the bracket to hold the brace wire. the bracket is a ring like object, made of titanium. so don't worry obout corrosion haha!
it is inserted like how you would wear a ring. yes, slip the whole thing on. except that in this case, it is inserted with a little force. not pain, but scary.

-after all this, things are pretty simple and painless. you just have to go to the dentist every month to tighten the braces. infact, after thightening, you kinda get addicted to the pain. those kinda pain can tahan wan, quite shiok infact.
not like the rubberband thingy.
oh ya, be prepared to break a few wires or even brackets during your braces career =)
there have been cases where the brace broke and pierced the cheek flesh. but that one sway la.
i once broke an upper bridge, not braces, but a kind of bridge where braces cannot be used. the dentist had to do a kind of special soldering in my mouth! gross!
but after all this, its well worth it.

+simon+
08-10-2006, 03:11 AM
i didnt know i post in this thread in 04

every yr i claim $80 from my company due to my braces.
had them for around 1.5yrs liao ...

$3.3k for nice straight teeth. duration of 2yrs
is defintey worth it .. remove 4 teeth as well.

now putting rubberbands and sometimes i swallow them .. :cheeky:
top set of teeth is almost done. only left the bottom set need some fine tunning (2mm gap)

Can be remove in 3-4 mths time, tats provided i put the bands everyday.

wait4me
08-10-2006, 03:15 AM
i used to have dental allowance

but now new company no such privelage

wait4me
08-10-2006, 03:17 AM
i wanted to put braces before as i have bunny teeth ,,,
but thinking all the hassle and all .. forget it
if my teeth show then so be it ...

Aie
08-10-2006, 07:22 AM
Originally posted by wait4me@Oct 8 2006, 02:57 AM
i wanted to put braces before as i have bunny teeth ,,,
but thinking all the hassle and all .. forget it
if my teeth show then so be it ...
If you have bunny teeth then best to look for a GF who doesn't have them. Cos if both of you have bunny teeth, when you kiss, the teeth will grind against one another... :cheeky:

happypill
08-10-2006, 11:30 AM
zzzz..

i got mine leh hahaha way back in may or somewhere but i never go cause i shifted house and i planned to go to a new clinic instead lol

i planned to go before cny hahaha

:huohuo:

+simon+
09-10-2006, 02:30 AM
Originally posted by Aie@Oct 8 2006, 07:02 AM
If you have bunny teeth then best to look for a GF who doesn't have them. Cos if both of you have bunny teeth, when you kiss, the teeth will grind against one another... :cheeky:
I don think so lah ..

Both with braces french kiss . . no problem. With braces give me BBBJ also no problem! Maybe she very skillful ? lolz :cheeky:

Yongster
09-10-2006, 03:24 AM
2mr go find out from my HR whether can claim for detal or nt...if can then i also

go dentist and then claim liao...:cheeky:

retro
09-10-2006, 05:28 AM
Originally posted by +simon+@Oct 9 2006, 02:10 AM
I don think so lah ..

Both with braces french kiss . . no problem. With braces give me BBBJ also no problem! Maybe she very skillful ? lolz :cheeky:
wah... not scared somehow... the braces scratch your watever ah!!!! im scared!!!

but nevertheless.. this is a good reminder for me to visit my dentist... but im scared... :sweat:

ViciousKitty74
09-10-2006, 07:18 AM
Originally posted by retro@Oct 9 2006, 05:08 AM
wah... not scared somehow... the braces scratch your watever ah!!!! im scared!!!

but nevertheless.. this is a good reminder for me to visit my dentist... but im scared... :sweat:
You need someone cute, pretty and also has braces to hold your hands?

retro
09-10-2006, 01:23 PM
Originally posted by ViciousKitty74@Oct 9 2006, 06:58 AM
You need someone cute, pretty and also has braces to hold your hands?
yeah... that would be great!!! but i scared i will hurt her hands... :cheeky: hmm.... must find cute dentists!!! anyone any recommendations!!! :sweat:

ViciousKitty74
15-10-2006, 09:42 AM
My sister has sensitive nose. She just mentioned that I may have a rotting teeth.

She tells me she can smell the difference between bad breath or rotted teeth.

I am like......darn!!!! I need to visit my dentist!

happypill
15-10-2006, 05:11 PM
well precaution is better than cure :)

go see one soon

ViciousKitty74
01-05-2007, 08:15 AM
It's coming to the middle of the year.

Time for those with dental allowance for the office to consider making appointments going for their check-ups. :smile:

Aie
01-05-2007, 09:02 AM
Originally posted by ViciousKitty74@May 01, 2007 08:15 am
It's coming to the middle of the year.

Time for those with dental allowance for the office to consider making appointments going for their check-ups. :smile:
The last time that I went for my dental checkup was like 5 years ago... :faint:

^FOXY^
01-05-2007, 09:50 AM
Originally posted by Aie@May 01, 2007 09:02 am
The last time that I went for my dental checkup was like 5 years ago... :faint:
human are like that teeth nv pain will nv go

wanna drop out then faster find doctor

夏日爱
01-05-2007, 01:06 PM
Co dun hv dental benfits , not good wor..

recently just plucked my wisdom tooth - 2 pxs cost me ard 400 plus...

heng lo.. a sum of it paid by the medisave...

not even paid by the company iself... :nono:

redbeacon
01-05-2007, 02:25 PM
Err...should I be worried about this "wisdom tooth" things? I have a lot of friends happily gossipping about taking MCs just to extract their wisdom teeth and I was just wondering whether this is an ailment that humans can avoid?

夏日爱
01-05-2007, 04:03 PM
well, depends on the indivduals. those people grow wisdom tooth are not affecting their gums or give me pain, will not need to extract it out. If do, it is advisable to extract it ou before it started to decay and affect the other tooth beside it on the same side of the gum.\

Anyway, a lot of friends told me that when extracting the wisdom tooth , there is a lot of drilling and extracting pressure to extract the lower gum one, as for the upper tooth, its the same and normal way of extracting other normal tooth. After extracted, there will be side effects of feeling pain after the operation.

but as for my case, personally, i dun feel anything afer extracted my wisdom tooth, i still can tok non-stop to my frds on the day of operation itself and on the 2nd day, i still can eat hard solid rice . Maybe as for my case, my extraction of wisdom tooth is nothing compared to my broken collar bone.

Unagi
01-05-2007, 05:23 PM
Wah the more I come into this forum, the more I feel it is so... complete. Even got dental appointment reminders! Haha...

I too have seen and heard of friends taking 1-2weeks MC during NS for the extraction of wisdom tooth.

Actually I'm pretty curious myself, it's like everybody else needs to extract but I dun see any need cos I'm not feeling any discomfort... I believe they didn't extract their wisdom tooth in the olden days too, right?

The problem with me is that out of 4 of my wisdom tooth, there's one that has grown crooked... dunno if i should take it out... it's not hurting or whatever, just that sometimes food tends to get stuck inside a gap that's been formed between it and the teeth beside and I'm afraid both will decay over time if i don't brush it properly. I think it's better to lose one than 2. Or is there anyway to straighten the wisdom teeth? it's on my lower right jaw.

夏日爱
01-05-2007, 05:41 PM
grow crooked , hv to extract liao wor..

if not, it will decayed by itself...

good advise is get it done asap..

somemore.. it on lower jaw..

good luck... need operation....

Unagi
01-05-2007, 05:58 PM
Originally posted by summerlove^_^@May 01, 2007 05:41 pm
grow crooked , hv to extract liao wor..

if not, it will decayed by itself...

good advise is get it done asap..

somemore.. it on lower jaw..

good luck... need operation....
oh no... MUST operate ah? Got not-so-gory alternatives? Really no way to straighten? If I leave it to decay will it just drop out by itself? Or is it not a good idea... sorry la I just not comfortable with the idea of operation... or even removing my teeth for that matter, since it's fine at the moment... :giddy:

夏日爱
01-05-2007, 09:17 PM
dun worry. dude

Maybe u can go to National dental Centre for check up and x-ray for ur tooth. if it is needed to extract, then no choice.

Btw, not painful lar..

dun worry too much.

Aie
02-05-2007, 08:44 AM
Originally posted by ^FOXY^@May 01, 2007 09:50 am
human are like that teeth nv pain will nv go
wanna drop out then faster find doctor
I guess this analogy doesn't apply to me. My upper right wisdom tooth has decayed and in its place is a huge gaping hole. I did not visit the dentist to have it extracted when it was in its initial stage cos there was no pain. Even when there was pain, it was bearable so still didn't bother to go. Now, my gums has covered up whatever is left of that gaping hole... :faint:

夏日爱
05-05-2007, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by Aie@May 02, 2007 08:44 am
I guess this analogy doesn't apply to me. My upper right wisdom tooth has decayed and in its place is a huge gaping hole. I did not visit the dentist to have it extracted when it was in its initial stage cos there was no pain. Even when there was pain, it was bearable so still didn't bother to go. Now, my gums has covered up whatever is left of that gaping hole... :faint:
yo yo..idol wor... hahaha

i cant stand painz... not mention tooth painz...

after extracted my wisdom tooth, i kena ulcer in my upper gum..

think more painer than the extraction...

not sure y, funny... but the painz gone in few days...

Zexion
05-05-2007, 03:03 PM
haha, I always skip dental appointments until things got reaally bad. :thumb:

ViciousKitty74
21-12-2007, 06:16 PM
End of the year, nearing the 2008.

Those that have dental allowances in their company welfare.....do go ahead and get some sparkling smiles for your New year!

eedwinn
21-12-2007, 10:16 PM
I just got a damn toothache these few days. But I don't wanna go to the dentist. :cry:

ViciousKitty74
30-01-2008, 01:32 PM
Just shattered a Molar chewing on those Chinese New Year's White Rabbit Milk Sweets.

And its heck of difficult to get a dentist these days. All of them is fully packed with folks doing their tooth cleaning for the CNY period.

If anyone was to shatter a tooth at any day, any hour or any season, 1st thing to do is to go A&E of any hospital. Or later to a polyclinic to get a doctor and the referral first.

Get the doctors to check your gums and give you antibiotics 1st and a referral to Singapore Dental Centre.

And dont estimate the damages yourself. I didnt know mine was that complex, with pieces of tooth in the gums and that my gum got affected and I had fevers and aching bodies until the doc gave me antibiotics.

Some private dentist cannot handle surgery or extensive procedures. (My nerves is curved and hooked, private dentist rather I go to SDC when I saw him.)

eedwinn
30-01-2008, 01:44 PM
Woa, how the hell did it get shattered by the sweet man! :giddy:

ViciousKitty74
20-06-2009, 07:57 PM
Its again, the middle of the year.

Have you claimed your dental benefits from your office yet?

And with the current economic climate, you might not know when you will be retrenched, so why not go service your teeth now?

IZECUBEZ
20-06-2009, 08:03 PM
Skali service already, then they say you're costing too much to the company and then proceed to retrenct you.

Fritz
20-06-2009, 09:25 PM
Just reminded me that I haven't seen the dentist since 4 years ago.

hydn
20-06-2009, 11:37 PM
my dental appointment on the 30th june, 7th july and 20th august.. all planned swee swee =P

ViciousKitty74
21-06-2009, 10:20 AM
Skali service already, then they say you're costing too much to the company and then proceed to retrenct you.

If company want to retrench you, you think this is the only reason they can come up?

ViciousKitty74
20-11-2009, 08:51 AM
November, now is a good time to remind you all again to go book your dental check ups.

Maybe even the year end medical check ups.

And probably start planning your New Year Resolutions and tick off your current year accomplishments.

theblackmamba
20-11-2009, 08:34 PM
book now for govt one how long is the wait

ViciousKitty74
12-05-2010, 04:20 PM
Mid year liao.....time to check your teeth again!