User Tag List

View Poll Results: which sparkplug is the best?

Voters
139. You may not vote on this poll
  • ngk

64 46.04%
  • denso

48 34.53%
  • ows

27 19.42%
+ Reply to Thread
Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast
    Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Crazy View Post
    Which means can use the plug as long as possible till there is difficulty starting/cranking the bike?

Apply to all the plug be it Iridium or regular plug?
    You can take the answer as yes...IMHO. There will always be tell tale sign that a plug is about to go..like running on three cyclinder instead of four. Hardly is a case that a bike can't start because of bad plugs..which normally its too wet and this has to do with the carbs. If a plug don't fire well..it has to be the spark plug cable or the step-up coil. If you are the enconormical type..you can even take out the plug once a year..have it clean and the electrode bend to correct gauge gap and reuse...unless, the electrode and core are worn out of form.

When I first used my standard NGK for the PB1...it was a long lasting two years over...no problem...performance and all as usual and I don't ride gentle. I change to iridium when it came out because the specification shows that it's tougher and stronger and provide better sparking due to its thing tips...still using theml date.

we have to understand that the plug is only managing a 100 cc engine for each and it can handle better for today engine design has come a long way.

Again...opinion may differ..and I do know of ppl changing plugs every three months or every tthree oil change....sighhh.
    Last edited by Ah Pek; 04-04-2008 at 05:55 PM.
    Stupid Hurts!.Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does
    BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

PaLmEr
    ish nom nom noming!
    Feedback Score
    27 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

anyone can tell the difference between say... a normak NGK/Denso plug and Iridium?

Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

... a normak NGK/Denso plug and Iridium?
    What is "normak"?

Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

The various type..same for NGK except "U" grove from Denso only at the ground electrode.Attachment 57680
    Last edited by Ah Pek; 19-07-2008 at 09:41 PM.

FY****
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Last edited by FY****; 22-04-2008 at 10:54 PM.

DVD
    has no status.
    Class 2
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by PaLmEr View Post
    anyone can tell the difference between say... a normak NGK/Denso plug and Iridium?
    Riding wise cannot feel much of a different just that iridium plugs are built last longer then the normal ones

MonoWorld
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

omg, am using OWS's regular plug... i jz read the exploded spark plug stories.. anybody else using the OWS regular sparkplug and exploded? guess i m gg to change mine to trusted brands.

teenwolf
    has no status.
    L Plate
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Thumbs up

I'm new to this forum, and would like to share with u guys my experience with OWS regular spark plug....
    Went for servicing last saturday, and take up a servicing package offer by the bike shop consist of EO, spark plug and oil filter for $100..on my ride back to home, observed the response of my bike is difference....lost of power and sluggy response. go back the shop today to retify the problem and found that the newly installed OWS spark plug was the root cause for this problem. the shop offer to change the spark plug and the problem gone at once after the replacement...guess OWS is not compatible with my bike anyway and will stick to my trusted NGK from now on...

rayhunter
    has no status.
    TeePee
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by teenwolf View Post
    guess OWS is not compatible with my bike anyway and will stick to my trusted NGK from now on...
    which superfour u riding?

deviLLian
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I'm new to this forum, and would like to share with u guys my experience with OWS regular spark plug....
    Went for servicing last saturday, and take up a servicing package offer by the bike shop consist of EO, spark plug and oil filter for $100..on my ride back to home, observed the response of my bike is difference....lost of power and sluggy response. go back the shop today to retify the problem and found that the newly installed OWS spark plug was the root cause for this problem. the shop offer to change the spark plug and the problem gone at once after the replacement...guess OWS is not compatible with my bike anyway and will stick to my trusted NGK from now on...
    actually its not good to change plugs while ya bike is still hot. reason is d plug n d hole has expanded. changing to a new (cold) plug will thus result in improper tightening n so comes many probs. but its a common practice to see pple riding up to their fav bikeshop n have their plugs changed there n then. usually d mechanic will only do d plugs last. maybe d plugs r alrite afterall. but our maintenance practices could be d source of d prob. juz sharing...

if Life ain't any Better..
    seek Death & u'll feel Lighter..

Crazy
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    7 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

today when i change i notice that there is some oil on the plug's white ceramic? What is the problem there?

Crazy

luckystar
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

OWS regular spark plug fouled.... so wat brand are u using now? ever tried the OWS iridium?
    Adventures has no limit....

Aug 07 to Jun 08 - Honda NSR150SP
    Jul 08 - Honda CB400 Spec 2

teenwolf
    has no status.
    L Plate
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

mine is vtec 1, never encounter something like this b4 even with normal NGK so might as well stick with it fr now on...just treat this as lesson learn...
    OWS iridium? no, never use this b4 as I'm quite happy NGK performance...

Blackbeauty69
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

i'm now using ows iridium spark plug.. it's awesome to me.. engine more smooth! change at unique got the package eo(ows can't rmbr full/semi), oil filter and ows iridium spark plug cost me $100. good deal i feel the diff.

My Motard make wonders

FY****
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

changed to denso few weeks ago at one shop, feels loss in power and unstable idealing, then change to NGK Iridium recently by DIY, now idealing good and much improvement gained from top end, 6k above pick up much faster than before......i think change plug when hot is no good as engine treads had expanded

Cookbird
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Yo guys,

may i know how to change spark plug DIY? as in things to loosen,remove,etc to access the spark plug...

many thanks in advance...

ZERO_shift
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Questions!

My bike is NSR 150.Is denso iridium spark plug is good to use on my bike in what sense and how long will it last at least?

Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by ZERO_shift View Post
    Questions!

My bike is NSR 150.Is denso iridium spark plug is good to use on my bike in what sense and how long will it last at least?
    Because of iridium material which is so much harder and stronger than the nromal nickle...the manufacturer can use laser technique to construct a thinner core which gives better concentrated sparking. Don't expect increase in horsepower or fc etc..just smoother ride as combustion is more efficient (no that this does not increase your fc).

The above are what is said in their "white paper".

As to how long you can use it...
    Iridium spark plugs claim to be 7 times stronger and 12 times harder (subjected to different brand) but do take that with a pinch of salt.

I used my for nearly a year..ride regular and most time real hard (red zone friendly)..surprise to find the wear and tear is quite unsatisfactory..that needle tip core was almost worn out..than again..am happy with it because it has provided me the "Go!!!!!!!" I want when I want it...but at a higher price. So..if you asked me how long..if you ride your ride like a gentle..take my reference and times it with 3 or more

limsn65
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Default OWS Iridium

Wonder if any of u guys experienced this problem with OWS Iridium. I fixed the plug 2-3 months ago and more than 2 weeks ago I experienced strange sound. Check with mechanics cant find the problem. Until I DIY my Iridium plugs and found one of the plug Iridium tip is missing.. The sharp needle like tip which supposed to be the hardest element in the Iridium plus is not there. I hope the iridium tip ends up out through the exhaust. After changing to NGK Iridium, the strange sound from my engine was gone. I've wrote twice to UM to verify this problem but till now no reply yet..

Here are some pic,

Last edited by limsn65; 30-07-2008 at 12:43 PM.

Killer75
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

I m also using OWS iridium plugs, so far no problem and in fact after changing to the OWS iridium my bike runs smoother than before.
    3 Sides to a Story: His story, Mine & the Truth

SMR
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

From left to right:-
    Broken OWS Iridium spark plug, normal used OWS Iridium spark plug, New NGK Iridium spark plug.

This picture shows what happened to my OWS Iridium spark plug after 12,000km of usage.

Disclaimer: I'm just sharing my experience with OWS spark plugs and nothing against any parties.
    Attached Images

Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by SMR View Post
    From left to right:-
    Broken OWS Iridium spark plug, normal used OWS Iridium spark plug, New NGK Iridium spark plug.

This picture shows what happened to my OWS Iridium spark plug after 12,000km of usage.

Disclaimer: I'm just sharing my experience with OWS spark plugs and nothing against any parties.
    ...... ...... .....

Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by limsn65 View Post
    Wonder if any of u guys experienced this problem with OWS Iridium. I fixed the plug 2-3 months ago and more than 2 weeks ago I experienced strange sound. Check with mechanics cant find the problem. Until I DIY my Iridium plugs and found one of the plug Iridium tip is missing.. The sharp needle like tip which supposed to be the hardest element in the Iridium plus is not there. I hope the iridium tip ends up out through the exhaust. After changing to NGK Iridium, the strange sound from my engine was gone. I've wrote twice to UM to verify this problem but till now no reply yet..

Here are some pic,

...... ...... .....

gwzc_mk2
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Here are some pic,

about the OWS iridium spark plug, i heard from my mech dat he had some S4s which had to overhaul cos the tip fell into the combustion chamber and melted there.

and got once he show me a freshly taken out OWS spark plug from a S4 which the metal before the tip had became loose. any more stress to it would cause it to come loose. heng the fella took his ride to the mech for a complete servicing before going on his touring trip

Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

about the OWS iridium spark plug, i heard from my mech dat he had some S4s which had to overhaul cos the tip fell into the combustion chamber and melted there.

and got once he show me a freshly taken out OWS spark plug from a S4 which the metal before the tip had became loose. any more stress to it would cause it to come loose. heng the fella took his ride to the mech for a complete servicing before going on his touring trip

...... ...... .....

kurarensu
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

i bought iridium sparkplug($12/each) from lab.. they gave me the NGK one.. i tried for few days.. i find that the plugs sucks and no power.. my normal denso plugs perform much better.. today i went to purchase the new denso normal plugs.. $5/each only.. the power is way better..

now i wanna sell away my ngk iridium but i think 1plug might be spoil.. i only run less than 500km mileage sia.. anyone wants? sell u $20 can liao.. i wanna earn back my normal plug price =)

who interested can pm me i send u the pics.. i jus wanna sell for some $.. sian..

4D~ToTo~Big Sweep
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Wink

LAB some items abit chiong 1 sia
    Upz 4 your salez

HAte My Gold Rims and Red shocks~!!!

Qrisx
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

aiyo... so far i heard alot of bad reviews for ows iridium i scared liou... but i heard denso iridium is good? the difference from those $5 denso plug and iridium is when u high rev. the $5 will find it hard to rev after 6 or at least slower...

issit true???

-=:| The man who smiles when things go wrong has thought of someone to blame it on |:=-

limsn65
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by kurarensu View Post
    i bought iridium sparkplug($12/each) from lab.. they gave me the NGK one.. i tried for few days.. i find that the plugs sucks and no power.. my normal denso plugs perform much better.. today i went to purchase the new denso normal plugs.. $5/each only.. the power is way better..

now i wanna sell away my ngk iridium but i think 1plug might be spoil.. i only run less than 500km mileage sia.. anyone wants? sell u $20 can liao.. i wanna earn back my normal plug price =)

who interested can pm me i send u the pics.. i jus wanna sell for some $.. sian..
    I think u or the mechanic did not screw in the plug fully. When plug are not screw in full the combustion it not full thus cos plug fouling on one or more cylinder.. or either lost of compression..
    Last edited by limsn65; 06-08-2008 at 05:34 PM.

Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

aiyo... so far i heard alot of bad reviews for ows iridium i scared liou... but i heard denso iridium is good? the difference from those $5 denso plug and iridium is when u high rev. the $5 will find it hard to rev after 6 or at least slower...

issit true???
    Very true indeed...right on! Denso best and best in hi-rpm performance.

4D~ToTo~Big Sweep
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy

Here are some pic,

Shyt... its happening on me... change the plugs 2 weeks ago... then 2day while riding i open Vtec,,, this loud weird sound came out from engine...
    Freaks me out man!!!
    Now how leh>???

4D~ToTo~Big Sweep
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question

where can i get budget Iridium plugs>???

limsn65
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by 4D~ToTo~Big Sweep View Post
    where can i get budget Iridium plugs>???
    Use only trusted brand NGK or Denso.. Bought mine for $58 for 4 nos. NGK IX Iridium at shop right opposite Regina (Jln Besar) $15 each.. Dun remember the name of the shop. Bos quite helpful and friendly...

4D~ToTo~Big Sweep
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Unhappy

Should i go back 2 UM 2 verify this problem>???

limsn65
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by 4D~ToTo~Big Sweep View Post
    Should i go back 2 UM 2 verify this problem>???
    Dun waste your time.. I've send 2 email to UM before I posted my problem here. No reply yet. Obviously true as many already reply to my tread with same problem..
    Last edited by limsn65; 09-08-2008 at 09:19 AM. Reason: Additional

e|ement
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

haha mine oso kana like tt same problem

the tip drop into the hole and the spark plug like break into two part

no use de la....heng suay de la
    Nov05-Jan07 -YBR125
    Jan07 -????? - CB400 Spec 1
    Class

4D~ToTo~Big Sweep
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Question

HAiz... I will not use that Brand again...
    How much will 1 normal spark plug cost>???

F|rdAuZ
    is Leo Vinceing..
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Guys,if buy sparkplug at JB and DIY cheap anot?There sell same sparkplug as in spore right?
    Leo Vince on my ride

F|rdAuZ
    is Leo Vinceing..
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

guys..any help
    Leo Vince on my ride

kurarensu
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Qrisx View Post

issit true???
    dun think so leh.. my $5 spark plugs perform well in high rpm as well?

I think u or the mechanic did not screw in the plug fully. When plug are not screw in full the combustion it not full thus cos plug fouling on one or more cylinder.. or either lost of compression..
    cant be.. i always diy my sparkplug.. be it the $5 or the iridium.. no problems with $5.. but big problem with iridium.. tat shows the plug really sarks! *pui*

Dun waste your time.. I've send 2 email to UM before I posted my problem here. No reply yet. Obviously true as many already reply to my tread with same problem..
    agree.. got problem u ask them they run away.. my friend brought a shocks there c whether can install anot they nv check properly then install.. then end up the bike the chain keep rolling against the mainstand.. then the bike super stiff.. then park mainstand the bike onli 1sided... nv go back to there ever.

e|ement
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

bro i juz change from iridium to normal ngk spark plug but it feel like lost of power already

any reason for it?
    Nov05-Jan07 -YBR125
    Jan07 -????? - CB400 Spec 1
    Class

4D~ToTo~Big Sweep
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by e|ement View Post
    bro i juz change from iridium to normal ngk spark plug but it feel like lost of power already

any reason for it?
    BRo u already said...
    i juz change from iridium to normal ngk spark plug
    Thats di reason lor

Ah Pek
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by e|ement View Post

any reason for it?
    Iridium plugs do not give you extra power..but better sparking where it's most concentrated because of the electrode needle like size. Basically, it provide a more effective spark without wearing out the electrode as easily as nickle ones (normal) does.

if you have proper grounding on your bike..than you do feel a great different..not in power but good response when the throttle is twitch.
    Last edited by Ah Pek; 31-08-2008 at 04:56 PM.

greysnail
    stuck on the ground
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Hi guys,juz asking...anyone here change their spark plug cables from OEM to NGK racing cables?
    how much does it cost.Thnx.
    My orgasm starts at 299km/h.....
    Personal ride -
    1st ride - TRZ 125
    2nd ride - GSXR-K
    3rd ride - CBR400RN
    3rd ride - Super 4(S)
    4th ride - R1
    5th ride - CBRXX1100

has no status.
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How do we know that our plugs are dying?

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

FunkyChicken
    wants a cbr1000 rr8
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

do not use **S sprk plug. screwed my frens bike once, one of the spark plug popped out, left the thread only inside. luckily he replace for free. few mths later, not even 7k of usage, yesterday bike wobbles, the plug condemn again!!!! i helped him to clean the plugs...the tips not evenly worn. stick to iridium denso or ngk platinum. din encounter any problem.

also the **s oil very dilluted. he uses fully syn 10w40, but when i drain the oil, im suprise it was so dilluted. so far used esso, castrol, motul. silkolene, amsoil etcc....never experience it before....kinda scary..
    Last edited by FunkyChicken; 24-10-2008 at 02:34 AM.

FunkyChicken
    wants a cbr1000 rr8
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by FunkyChicken View Post
    personally denso iridium and normal denso got diff on my bike. throttle respond, pick up slightly slower and the when u start ur engine....easy to start without throttle.

aniwae how to adjust spark plug gap?
    wah my last post in this thread was the first page..2004

Takeshi1
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

long long time ppl nv post on this thread liaoz...

just wanna koe is there realli no diiference between normal plug and iridium plug when installed into S4?

joey_sfb
    has no status.
    Class 2B
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Oh no!... i also have the **S new advance double tip 'prototype' iridium plugs!!!

How long does your friend's plugs last before the problem occurs?

Quote Originally Posted by FunkyChicken View Post
    do not use **S sprk plug. screwed my frens bike once, one of the spark plug popped out, left the thread only inside. luckily he replace for free. few mths later, not even 7k of usage, yesterday bike wobbles, the plug condemn again!!!! i helped him to clean the plugs...the tips not evenly worn. stick to iridium denso or ngk platinum. din encounter any problem.

also the **s oil very dilluted. he uses fully syn 10w40, but when i drain the oil, im suprise it was so dilluted. so far used esso, castrol, motul. silkolene, amsoil etcc....never experience it before....kinda scary..

steel_headz
    has no status.
    Feedback Score
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Quote Originally Posted by joey_sfb View Post
    Oh no!... i also have the **S new advance double tip 'prototype' iridium plugs!!!

How long does your friend's plugs last before the problem occurs?
    Can specify wat is the brand of the plug? So tat we guys can take note....
    Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

+ Reply to Thread
Page 11 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 LastLast