| Advertisement |
|
|
|
||
According to MS, whether or not they bring in the ABS version depends on the Taiwanese side also. As there hasn't been any final details of the new bike, they can't confirm if they will bring in the ABS version or not. So I guess it's another waiting game.![]()
Hais. Fuel consumption dropped to 29km/L for DT125i.... =(
"---- Trying to lose more weight ----"
Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011 - Kymco Downtown 125i
Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013 - Yamaha Majesty YP400
Class 3: 05 Mar 2012
PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012
Whoa. Not bad sia.
Now I a bit disgruntled.... Hmm.... But what's your avg travel speed to get 30km/L? Cos my 29km/L is mostly full throttle from traffic lights and on the expressway luh. Haha. 125cc mah.
Am in my last stage of running in. Average cruising speed on express is 90-100kmh now. But my pick up from traffic stops are smooth and gradual lor cos I don't find the need to ram it and can't now lol....
I know you've been enquiring on other makes for your 2A which is good. If you wanna go for Majesty or Burgman then you nid to take note of your riding style/pattern cos they are too low for aggressive riding especially over humps. Even my SW is considered low and really have to go slow when I pillion riding.
On a second note, apart from the dislike that I mention in my previous post, I'm willing to go for the Xciting 400 bços of the pros but of course reliability is still to be confirmed as I dunno if I can ride it for at least 6 yrs and above w/o problem like what I experience from SW. And also the most impt thing is FC. If the Xciting can give 29/L and above, that would be an added bonus.
I'm getting consistent 25km/l since new. Other DT3 owners are getting 27km/l-30km/L+ average.
Last edited by parotae; 07-08-2012 at 02:40 PM.
Of course alot of factors like weight, riding style, express versus normal roads, etc etc. but 25 is abit low for DT I think. Could it be your clutch problem that is eating up your FC?
I've read the whole of this thread and know that you face a clutch problem right? Did you went back to MS to rectify the problem? Anyway, once while chatting wif Herbert, I mention about this clutch problem thingy and he says that Kymco have already resolved the clutch problem with a new set instead of using the original. Maybe you wanna check with him?
To be frank, if I'm getting 25/l I wouldn't be at all happy since our peers is getting at least 28 or more. If the new Xciting can't offer 28/l as Xciting 300 on paper, I wouldn't be bothered to look at it man.
Next month is my scoot due date ...any insurance company recommendations ... which plans to apply...any recommendation..
|
||
Recently the squeaky noise came back. While riding especially slowing down for the hump, i would hear squeaky noise coming from below. I suspected the disc brake or suspension and totally forgot about the full stand. I did not suspect the stand also because i have lubricated it some time a few months ago ha ha. So i didn't bother and continue riding. The squeaky noise got softer and i forgot about it eventually.
Today, i happen to look at the stand and tried lubricating it. Couldn't find the squeak until i put it on side stand and realize there is a round bumper/insulator. I gave it a spin and the irritating squeak came out. After a few spray of oil and the squeak was gone. Will monitor when i ride again.
![]()
Last edited by parotae; 08-08-2012 at 10:25 AM.
Problem with NTUC is, you only can go to the workshop they choose not you.
Kenna once anyhow do as my skipper rare, have to take taxi back as at industrial area. Go back second time then ok. Poor quality spray and can see the sand paper lines under the paint. Sian already go back second time, just collect loh.
Told Mr Herbert already, he say put a few days to check. They may want to take out fuel system to check. My one new bike leh, take out here take out there wait cannot solve problems come other problems years later because somethings no need to take out but took out cause problems leh.
Leave everything original until spoil loh. If it ain't broke, don't fix it is my rule of thumb.
Does makes sense but to me I felt being short change since other can go further than mine do. So rather get them to fix it once and for all. The more $$ spent on the long run could well justify any parts if any to me.
But if you have the intention to change bike, then it's all secondary liao hee hee...
Well, maybe i'll consider now. Mr Herbert even reply me that the Taiwan factory claimed @27km/l. I'm not even close to 26km/l.
Since warranty going to finish, mind as well go soon.
He even says "You're the only one complaint, all my customer none came back and complaint."
You say loh, seems like i am a liar right? Or that i don't know how to ride. The mech even say i switch to miles ha ha. If i can get 25miles/l i tiam tiam liao. Secretly laughing lol.
Hello dear Kymco lovers..... nice to meet you
First I've got 64 pages to read onto this thread OMG......
I'll be back to this page in about 2 or 3 day's seeya later
Kind regards,
Jan
NCY / Dr.Pulley / Givi / Spy / Cardo-G4 / Garmin-Zumo / Agility City 16" (50cc) / DownTown 300i ABS / Putoline
'Kymco Tour Club Netherland'
Hi J@n!! U singaporean or from The Netherlands?? Hmm. Netherlands is a place I hope to go leh. The peiple there can come out with The carver One and Pal-V =)
Off-topic,
Must be nice to say that I'm living in Singapore....but unfortunately not..... mainly living in Holland, but since about 20 years Ive got my self a house @ Chiang Mai.
Jan greets Topgearalwaysrock and others![]()
Last edited by J@n; 08-08-2012 at 08:51 PM.
NCY / Dr.Pulley / Givi / Spy / Cardo-G4 / Garmin-Zumo / Agility City 16" (50cc) / DownTown 300i ABS / Putoline
Lol ya lor but who cares if it's a mfg defect, i make sure it's resolve... like my issue.. i always find that it takes a couple of crank to start the engine again after i switch off the engine for a while to do some errand.. went to MS, Herbet says he wanna try to bypass the safety feature of the side stand to do a test. but i insisted i have never deploy the side stand all this while so that day he re-tune the bike for me. But still the problem exists. Then just now, I realise all this while it was park side stand when the problem arise. Knn go back to him sure kena f by him wan lol.. But who cares, f f lor i just want to get the problem resolve.
Btw which insurance you using?
|
||
Lol. Xciting 300 can crank engine even with side stand down?? My DT125 can't even crank engine....
Meanwhile on the other side of the globe, Jan arrived on page 22....pffffff.... 43 to go!
So far I've read many many messages about oil-viscosity, and Kymco's advise, yeah Kymco advise to use SAE 5W-50, but in the same time onto the 'Owners Manual' Kymco showing us a nicely full chart, that showing us also the corresponding weather temperature conditions
And if you ask me and if you take look to that owners manual you don't need SAE 5W-50 in a hot country like Singapore!
I guess, SAE 5W-50 belong more for example to Nordic country's which have temperatures below zero, or even my own country where it's also freezing in wintertime and you can go ice-skating on the canals.
Here's my screen shot from the Owners manual:
I move on to page 22/23
Kind regards,
Jan![]()
Last edited by J@n; 09-08-2012 at 07:55 AM.
@J@n
Hi J@n, welcome to this forum and feel free to post and share anything
I'm preferring the higher SAE50 not so much the W(winter) but the better higher temperature protection and vibration insulation.
Intending to go SAE60. Running lower like the SAE40 "might" give lower fuel consumption and vibration than 50.
I'm running my gear oil with 75W140 cause "i feel" the 90 are not doing well. Now having wheezing sound when slowing down ha ha.
Will drain to check again and see if it turns grey.
@kongfu
I'm using AXA provided by Motorsport, wonder which insurance to take next. 1st party or 3rd with fire and theft?
if the difference is abit more $$$. can consider 1st party. cos scooter bodyworks is quite ex.
for my age 32 the difference is only about $100
1st party 400+
TPFT $300 +
additional rider under my dad's xciting 300
at least if touch wood accident can claim the total cost of repair
Er..I beg to differ a little. No doubt will still go for 1st party whenever possible, but don't forget about the excess that you have to pay to claim which is always around 500 or so.
Hence, most of the time even kena also fork out own poacket $$ cos repair price/part price not higher than excess at all.
Just my 2 cents
Mine is comprehensive 1st party insurance. Excess $300. NTUC will only insure me....
|
||
What about comprehensive 3 party fire n theft....
Anybody knows when the stupid Bajaj advert will go away?? Hais. Hate to have to double click to clear the advert....
definition from general insurance association website
Comprehensive policy
Usually associated with motor insurance, a comprehensive policy covers repair or replacement of your vehicle if it is damaged or lost as a result of theft, accident, vandalism or weather-related damage. It also covers injury and repair or replacement costs of other vehicles and property that are accidentally damaged by your vehicle. Comprehensive cover is generally more expensive than third party cover alone.
Third party policy
Usually associated with motor insurance, third party policies provide cover for injury and damage caused by a person's vehicle to someone else's vehicle or property. Third party insurance is generally the cheapest kind of motor insurance, and is generally taken out by someone with a car of relatively low value to protect them from having to pay for damage their vehicle might do to a more expensive vehicle.
Third party, fire and theft
This is designed to cover injury and damage caused by a person's vehicle to someone else's vehicle or property. It also covers a person's vehicle if it is stolen or damaged by fire.
Insurance is a great business - a group of people contributing to this pool of fund. The insurance company hopes nobody will claim from this fund. But in any case, if the insurance company realizes the fund is running out, just happily increase the premiums of contributions lor.
But of course, I'm sure they have their own ways in keeping out fraudsters - one such way is the excess. So small damages, will still be out of our own pockets. Only damages above excess will be claimable.
to all DT300i owners,
anyone of you here experience power lack in btw 4-5k rpm during pick up?
Not sure about the rpm but for me i found out that it only occurs between 40km/h-60km/h.
Once my scoot hit 40km/h (mild upslope or picking up) the scoot will feel like jerky/nopower/rpm drop.
Once the speed reach 60km/h and above the symptoms will disappeared.
If this is the problem you are talking about then i guess i got it too. I tried explaining to MS tech but the usual response is tuning, riding style, clutch, spark plug and the best response goes to "others don't have this problem leh." I give up, just ride loh. Seems Taiwan also facing the same problem. Change to malossi also the same. The Spanish have replace their ECU to the older model and it seems to solve the problem. You may want to check with Mr Herbert and try the old ECU with tuning and resetting.
|
||
bro i get this kind of reply from them also all the time. Maybe its time we go together and voice our concern over the reliability of this brand. So far i also experience higher fuel consumption. And more weird noise coming from the electronics. Also, my signal timing is a bit inconsistent. Not sure if u have the same problem but my signal light blinks slower when moving and faster if i stop. Tried explaining to MS but they say all units are like that le. my friend 125 dont get such problem.
im not so sure if DT is bad because i have not try other scooters. I feel the basic should be right for a bike at this current state of technology. How can signal light timing different and u say that it is normal? and also, why is there a drop in RPM when we power up on slope? when there is a problem the basic thing they should do is to investigate and give an answer. not just assuming its our riding style. i think its not right la.
Oh ya! My signal light also has irregular ticking times - It ticks faster when I slow down. And recently, my scoot rpm from 7000rpm (peak power rpm for DT125), will drop to 6000 rpm, so momentarily, there's a loss in power. But my scoot 16,700km mileage liao. You all still below 10,000km right??
My fuel reserve light (yellow on the tachometer) lit up today. Confirm when it lights up, you're only left with 0.5L/ 500ml of fuel. Instead of refueling at the Shell kiosk on the way back from JB, I fueled at the Shell just after Woodlands Checkpoint. Hehe.
DT125i fuel consumption dropped to 29km/L. So 12.5L I can only cover 360km.
Haha. I'm not complaining bro. But pls note, when the yellow fuel light is on, that means you only have 0.5L left. And by then, the fuel gauge will not show anything - no bar/ fuel symbol on the digital readout. Hehe.
But better don't play play lah. Just go pump when the last bar starts blinking.
Kongfu you experience such power lack as well? Im just gathering feedback. Anyway this problem sometimes affect my decision to overtake. So im a bit concern. If more is experiencing such a problem, we need to generate a feedback to MS and let them handle it. If MS recognise but is unable to put any action, then the only thing we can do is to let potential buyers weight out the short comings and if they are going for Kymco or not.