Singapore Bikes Forums

Go Back   Singapore Bikes Forums > Singapore Bikes > Bike Specs & Reviews

Closed Thread

Old 02-12-2007, 04:35 PM   #1
Nels0n
TeePee

Default RVF vs CBR vs PGM IV

Hi need some help deciding this 3 bikes.. Im leaning towards RVF coz i like its original paintwork, and it is the newest of these 3 bikes.. As of now, i've no plans to upgrade to class 2.. So which one these 2 bikes is better in terms of performance, durability, fc etc..

Thks in advance for any replies
R6, FBD 6xx4J
Old 02-12-2007, 04:53 PM   #2
redbeacon
SBF Moderator

Location: A stupid place with lots of highrise buildings, screaming children, and blocked views.

Originally Posted by loojinwei7 View Post
Hi need some help deciding this 3 bikes.. Im leaning towards RVF coz i like its original paintwork, and it is the newest of these 3 bikes.. As of now, i've no plans to upgrade to class 2.. So which one these 2 bikes is better in terms of performance, durability, fc etc..

It is agreed amongst us RVF riders that our bikes are petrol-drinkers. Durability -- an RVF is okay, but being a sportbike, sometimes the owner would need to do frequent spot-checks during maintenance.

Any knowledgeable CBR / PGM riders here wanna share with us how your bikes fare?

SBF I.T.inerary forum
Taking care of bikers' computing needs.
Fairy Tale Riders

Old 02-12-2007, 05:42 PM   #3
Stardust83
SBF Lacer

without fail,my choice will be a RVF ! Favourite 2A bike...but i got a Spec III coz of the comfort of riding...waiting for Class 2 then getting a sports bike back !

July 2006 - 21st Aug 2007 : Honda NSR SP (FS1029R)
21st Aug 2007 - 28th Oct 2009 : Honda CB400 Spec III (FY8*8*M) / Suzuki DRZ 400SM (FBC5*2M) (LOST on 15/11/2007)

5th Sept 09 - Suzuki Hayabusa K6 FBA 9**6 J

我一路向北,离开有你的季节

Old 02-12-2007, 06:15 PM   #4
Nels0n
TeePee

haha.. i am also leaning towards that.. only thing is the cost.. but if it's worth it, den i'll get it!
R6, FBD 6xx4J
Old 08-12-2007, 12:17 PM   #5
Speedpass
SBF Fazers

If all these bikes were still avaliable new , give me the PGM anytime .

Old 08-12-2007, 12:31 PM   #6
ah_tee
TeePee

Originally Posted by loojinwei7 View Post

i have not ridden others except PGM IV

its a race bred bike wif dry clutch, fierce sound ( wif twin KNN filter)

with the maintenance of a normal bike, i used to ride one 3 yrs back, it was ard 6 yrs old, and throughout the 3 yrs of ownership, the bike didnt give any problem at all except magnectic coil once.

the power is super shiok when it reach 8k RPM when the valve open, its like sudden surge of power n then u will go wwwwwwwwwoooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

i say gimme the pgm anytime, provided its in good condition,

\PGM will give bery good pickup n mid end power through put as its a V-twin 2 stroke

but it has no top end, normal keycard 178kmh, HRC card duno, but shld be higher ard 200kmh

maintenance wise i think engine oil is 2 bottles, only thing u need to take care is the 2T, used good ones

but i think there arent any good ones in sg already, i heard only 50pcs got registered here, i est the current population now to be less than 10

Last edited by ah_tee; 11-12-2007 at 02:12 PM..
Old 08-12-2007, 03:48 PM   #7
creativekill
Class 2B

For me i go for PGM... Cos among all 3 i tested... PGM is the most powerful one.. althought is a 10 years old bike.. if u could find a good condition one... u could be one of the fastest 2A in sg... upz for PGM =)
Old 08-12-2007, 04:06 PM   #8
c4ble
Class 2

For me, I once thought of getting a 2A sports bike before I got my s4. A 2A sports bike has lots of power but not too much, just nice for SG and occassional NSHW. But if you compare a 2A sports bike to a 600cc bike, a newer 600cc cost much less than a 10yr RVF(exclude insurance & tax) and at least you're certain that parts will be VERY EASILY available at least for the next few years.

Unless it's.............................................. ............................................
http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums...ighlight=rs250.
Old 08-12-2007, 10:23 PM   #9
Blahhh
TeePee

if dun intend to upgrade, den a RVF.

But this kind of thing u cannot really tell.. coz I have a fren who rode a SP as u are riding rite now. Die die say he wun change, but a year later, he was on a s4. Told us S4 is perfect for SG roads & condition, thus will keep it until he has a car. A year after, he's now on a Fazer6. Say FZ6 more powerful, good bike for sg road, blah blah blah. And recently, he just told us he's thinking of selling off his FZ6 for a Busa

Then:
Jun 2006 - Dec '07: Kawasaki KRR
Sep 2007 - Jun '10: Super 4 Spec 1
Apr 2010 - Jul '10: Wave125S
Now:
Jul '10 - ??: X1R

Ride safely. You're only getting in my way if you get into an accident.
Old 10-12-2007, 11:49 AM   #10
Nels0n
TeePee

lol.. funny eh him.. yea.. im becoming more n more tempted by a cbr600 :x

But first thing first, guess i'll see if i can get a gd RVF when i get my 2A..
R6, FBD 6xx4J
Old 10-12-2007, 11:53 AM   #11
jia_yvon
SBF Lacer

upz for cbr400 fireblade

Originally Posted by newbie View Post
dats y. i computer hero

Old 11-12-2007, 03:21 AM   #12
[~ViN~]
Class 2A

Originally Posted by Blahhh View Post
if dun intend to upgrade, den a RVF.

But this kind of thing u cannot really tell.. coz I have a fren who rode a SP as u are riding rite now. Die die say he wun change, but a year later, he was on a s4. Told us S4 is perfect for SG roads & condition, thus will keep it until he has a car. A year after, he's now on a Fazer6. Say FZ6 more powerful, good bike for sg road, blah blah blah. And recently, he just told us he's thinking of selling off his FZ6 for a Busa
wa ur fren reli damn 1 kind.. lols..
Old 12-12-2007, 02:06 PM   #13
allenbryan
Class 2B

i will put a upzz for pgm !!! jus loves it power and the cornering stability !!!!

pgm jus need 2 sparkplug, 1 bottle of gear oil
cbr and rvf is using 4 sparkplug n 4 bottle of engine oil
(correct me if i am wrong)

rode 3 bikes b4, but wat type of things u are looking for ??

like top speed ?
like pick up ?
like corners ?

FC is depends on the bike whether is stock or fully mod and how u ride it !!!!
skills and speed is depends on how much u can throw into the bike for it to perform to it fullness level !!!
NSR SP(FS*560Y)PGM IV (FN45**M)
RVF (FQ6***U)
125Z (FW471*U) SPARK135 (FBB8*Z)
UP 2 Date
2005 - **** : YAMAHA X1 (FZ9***K)
2007 - **** : Honda PhantoM (FT89**C)
2007 - **** : YAMAHA R-1 (FBA2*7G)
Old 02-01-2008, 02:55 AM   #14
RYANS
TeePee

me too.. up for PGM if u like twisty corners~

Present Ride:
FX****A (Y125Z)
FQ****M (NSR250RSP)
Old 03-01-2008, 03:16 AM   #15
danielsin2
SBF Lacer

there'a a pgm for sale in used bikes section.. jus fyi..
Old 06-01-2008, 11:17 AM   #16
jojojo
Class 2A

yupx..see wat u perfer la..corner or top end..
diff bike suit diff type of riding style n wat the rider playin on wat..
since u said u dun plan for class2..juz get a RVF to mod..
RVF for top can reach ard 200km/h or slightly more..n coz of V4 when corner it give u a better pick up.....
Old 08-01-2008, 06:47 AM   #17
sky ^^
TeePee

cbr is only half the price of pgm and rvf
Old 08-01-2008, 08:03 PM   #18
vtec88
SBF Lacer

follow your heart!!!!!!!!

no regret later!!!

-->Increase Travel Mileage (EXTRA 50KM !!!)
-->DYNO TESTED, Up to 2.6HP INCREASE !!!

Customers Review at Product Mass Ordering section.

BROQUET Fuel CHARGER(UK)

Call/Sms 9875-9408 (DEREK)
Old 09-01-2008, 03:04 PM   #19
[~ViN~]
Class 2A

Originally Posted by ah_tee View Post
but i think there arent any good ones in sg already, i heard only 50pcs got registered here, i est the current population now to be less than 10
wa... if u say lidad i really feel damn honoured.. got 1 time i saw 2 PGM in JUST 5 MINS...

i not blind.. 2 diff riders ofcoz..
Old 09-01-2008, 03:56 PM   #20
Gr8White
SBF Lacer

Ups for the 2-stroker!!!
Old 19-03-2008, 11:39 AM   #21
edalpha
SBF Lacer

btw, does any1 knw wats e FC for a normal RVF ???

Old 19-03-2008, 12:00 PM   #22
initial_fire82
Class 2B

think is 22pl

Old 19-07-2008, 03:46 PM   #23
x|aO^FirE
Class 2B

i will choose for cbr L model (fireblade) , even is a 10 year plus bike..

but the power is there...For PGM , The sound is cute, ting ting ting ting!!

laughs~~
Old 17-10-2008, 08:18 PM   #24
TeePee

i like the top speed of cbr
i like the torque of rvf
i like the pickup of pgm

each bike has its own characteristics and its up to u to choose wad u want
2009 - ???? ~ NSR150SP
Closed Thread