Made a trip to Hanoi Vietnam with another friend, rented 2 bikes and went riding... It is indeed a very nice and interesting thing trip. Sceneries are GREAT!!! Though due to time constraint, it is a bit rush nevertheless we still complete the route as planned....
Total cost spent on food, drinks, hotel, bike and petrol etc is about $230 Singapore dollars excluding airfares per person.
Route taken:
Day 1: Hanoi
Day 2 : Hanoi - Langson - DongDang(China-Vietnam borders) - BaiChay, Halong
Day 3 : BaiChay, Halong - Hanoi
Day 4 : Hanoi
Special Thanx to MR FB666Y. Thanx for giving me advice on some of the things to expect. Your advice aids in making this trip successful. THANK YOU
As the plane moves to a halt, we saw militry planes along the runway.
Another view
The aerobridge of Vietnam.
We touch down at Hanoi at about 12+ in the afternoon. Had arranged for a airport transfer with the Hotel but it did not turn up. Made a call to the hotel and they said that they will send someone down soon. So we were expecting to wait for very long but to our surprise, it came within 15mins. It took us about 45 mins to reach the hotel.
Picture of our room.
Another picture of our room.
This hotel is not bad. It is like a small family run business. The staff are friendly. Most importantly, it has free internet access. Thanks for recommanding this hotel FB666Y.
After checking in, we went to the bike shop to rent our bikes.
The bike shop.
Outside the bikeshop.
6 USD per day per bike. Comes with 4 spare spark plugs, a spare tube, locks for the bike, working tools and a service manual. By the time we got to the bikeshop is about 4+pm and the guy in the shop says that its getting late, so he only charge us 2days for the bikes even though we rent it from monday to thursday. GREAT!!!
Note: The MAX speed of the bike is only about 70+ near 80km/hr.
After renting the bikes, we went to get some more detail streetmaps from a map shop nearby.
The lady in the center is the shop owner.
After that, we went riding around the town to get use to the bike.
We read from the net that there is this whole street that sells dog meat. They sell it like how we sell pigs in Singapore's wet market. All died and uncooked, unchop lying there waiting for people to buy. However, we spent hours looking for it but still did not manage to find it.
End up, we only manage to find one restaurant that sells dog meat.
But there is no customer in it. So we left for another place for dinner.
Towards the end of Highway 1A, there are many many bends. HAHA... very fun... until.... we did not even realise we are running out of petrol.
Ran out of petrol. HAHAHAHAHA.....
Luckily there is a petrol station about slightly less than 1km away.
Note: The speedometer on the bike and the petrol gauge is not working from the on start so everything we also AgarAgar.
We are finally near LangSon. It about 1+pm. After which we have to head towards DongDang, where the border crossing is(about 20km away). We stopped at the roadside to check our maps. The Vietnamese civilian are very friendly. They saw us checking the map and they rode their bike over to us at our location to offer their help.
However, language is a problem. So we use the international language, the sign language. But to our surprised, they understand the word "ZHONG GUO" and pointed us the way to china. Later than we realised that the word china, is translated as TRUNG QUOH in their language. Its some what similar to ZHONG GUO in chinese. haha. No wonder they understand what I am asking.
The guys that gave us help.
Along the way to the borders. Tunnel trough the mountain.
Not too long after we left the guys, we reach the 0km mark of Highway 1A. This is where the Huu Nghi Quan(Friendship Gate) is. It is an important transport link between Vietnam and China.
But just too bad we did not take photos there. The Vietnamese soldier there is very arrogant. He keeps chasing us away. Do not even let us park there. Not wanting to get into trouble with them, we left, heading towards the checkpoint.
If you are wondering how this Friednship gate looks like, it is basically a offroad that is about 3-4 lanes wide with a barrier across the road and soilders guarding it. Nothing else. There is really nothing much to see.
After awhile, we FINALLY reached the borders of Vietnam and China, the checkpoint. Its called Tam Thanh.
Photos taken at the borders
The DFS
If you cross the shelter behind me, you will be in China.
Can u see China? Chinese words? China flag? Yes... Its all there... So near yet so far...
After our break, we head for Highway 4B. But before that, we top up our petrol again. hahaha.... Once bitten twice shy... u know?
It shows esso on the sign board
But the logo became shell at the pump.... ????????????
A cyclist outside the petrol station.
We left the petrol station at about 3.50pm... Its getting late... we got to rush... Total distance covered so far is about 190km. Still got about 230+km to go...
Checking the map again along Highway 4B.... Just to make sure we are heading towards the right way.. We cannot afford to go the wrong way.. NO TIME!!!
Most of the view along highway 4B looks like this....
Although its call Highway, but Highway 4B is no highway at all. Its all small, trunk roads going through many many villages. Very rocky and sandy road with potholes everyhole.
Although we rode non stop, it took us 2hrs to cover about 100km.
There were many nice view of the mountains.. but sad to say, we got to beat night fall, so no time to take pics.
Shag face after a 2hrs of rocky bumby ride.
Its already 650pm. sh*t!!!
Took a right turn here to go onto Highway 18.
Highway 18 is very near the coast at South China Sea. It has a mixture of mountain and sea view. Road is still very narrow and twisty.
After a while, the sun went down. We were left riding in the dark(no lamp post or road lamp) on a narrow mountain road. THIS IS NO GOOD.... and we saw an accident in the total darkness.
This trunk in the front overturned and blocked up the whole mountain road.
While waiting for the truck to be cleared, we hang many lightsticks on our bikes to make sure that others can see us. Better to be safe.
Moved off after the truck is cleared. Taking a break along the way at a small town call Cam Pha. Friendly people.
We left Cam Pha at about 8+pm. Luckily the road after Cam Pha is like normal highway and it has street lamps. We can now go faster.
After riding for about more than an hour, we arrived in Halong. YEAH!!!!
The Halong Tower. (I gave the tower this name.)
We were so happy to arrive at halong. Now we need to look for a bridge to cross. This bridge will cut across part of the sea to the other side of Halong where BaiChay is. But when we got to the bridge, we realise that it is still in the process of building. Now we have to look for alternative.
Luckily there is a ferry service.
Queuing up to board the ferry.
On board the ferry.
View from the ferry.
Finally we reach BaiChay. We were so happy. You can see it from my friend's face.
Its already 11+pm. Checked in, and ready to sleep. decided to forgo dinner also.
We wanted to wake up early to catch the sun rising out from the horizon. But we were just to tired to do so. The first light is about 5 am. We ended waking up at about 8am. After which we went riding around the area and took some photos.
I was travelling infront of my friend on Highway 5 and thank god that we brought walkie talkie. If not i would not know that he had an accident behind me.
His thigh
His butt.
Tire punctured and the whole tube came off the rim.
Fish tail and skided and flew and chest hit against this railling.
The mess created.
Broken headlight, signal light and mirror.
This tiny hole caused all these.
Hey... There is a bikeshop nearby....
I let the bikeshop change the tube while i attend to my friend's wound. Luckily i brought along alcohol swap with me. I cleaned up the wound for him.
After a 2hrs rest, my friend decided that he can still ride. So we took a slow ride back. We are now about 80km away from Hanoi.
One of the drink stall along the highway. This lady even offer us to stay at her place if we are too tired to travel as the sun is setting and we are still about 40+km away from Hanoi.
Despite her offer, we moved on. Got back in hanoi at about 8pm, checked in to the same hotel, went to buy some dressing for the wound and went out for dinner.
A french cum vietnamnese reataurant. All the chairs are rickshaws.
Traditional vietnamese custom.
After dinner, we met this man back in the hotel. he is in the medicine industry and he gave some to my friend to relieve his pain.
The helpful guy.
(might visit him some time in the future as he lives near the GREAT OCEAN ROAD. haha another nice place to go touring)
Going to the place where Ho Chi Minh was buried. (The locals call him Uncle Ho).
Very CUTE!! There were like dozens of children holding the shirt of the one infront forming a very very ver long line. Like a very long centipede.
Hey.. It is museum day, so we do not have to pay to get in.. haha..
His tombis behind me. His body still look very real. And it is very heavily guarded by soldiers in their ceremony dress (No. 1). When in his tomb, no headdress is allow. No talking. No putting of hands in the pocket. No taking of pictures etc. Its all about respect.
The toll in the highway. Bikes do not have to pay.
Last pic before flying home... and back to work.. sigh....
We met them at the airport and they are transitting in Spore back to Aust.
We met a N.Z at our hotel on the first day and after talking than we realise we flew on the same flight to Hanoi. Too Bad did not get the chance to take a pic with her.
Overall, the trip was very interesting. Got to see many nice places and know quite a few people here and there. But due to time constraint, it is abit rush. But I still enjoy myself alot.
EXCEPT MY FRIEND.....
When we touch down in singapore, he went to do a check up at the hospital immediately. And realise that he got 2 HIAR LINE CRACK ON HIS RIBS!!!!
Originally posted by fruitcakepablohoney@May 21 2006, 10:58 PM Looks like you guys had a great time man!(Really envy you guys.)
I hope to do it one of these days.
we really did enjoy ourselves alot.... when u do it in the future, do share ur photos with us...
Originally posted by arjen@May 22 2006, 01:48 AM Looks like you had a nice trip.
May i ask what is the round trip mileage estimated for your itinery in these 4 days ?
2000: L2s turbo
2001: ZXR250
2002: RS125
2003: CBR900
Hi YZFx and friend... nice trip and pics you guys had. Muz have been a real adventure. Thanks for sharing your trip. Looks like there are many things to see and discover in Vietnam esp. at the locals.
for you guys!
p.s. got to know your tread from a fellow forumer fren.
Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@May 23 2006, 11:57 PM wow good trip man... bo jio me go ler...
how to jio u... u so far away from me...
besides... this trip is not is can speed very fast ride very fast..... not your type of trip la... u lacer lacer leh... go this kinda slow trip think u will be bored to death man.....
Originally posted by chaochao@May 24 2006, 01:22 PM Hi YZFx and friend... nice trip and pics you guys had. Muz have been a real adventure. Thanks for sharing your trip. Looks like there are many things to see and discover in Vietnam esp. at the locals.
for you guys!
p.s. got to know your tread from a fellow forumer fren.
thanx dude... do i know that friend of urs??? whats his/her nick?
I went to Hanoi recently too and saw most of the thingys u guys saw. However i went there to backpack, not bikepack. I went to Lao Cai border instead of your Friendship Pass. But Will give your trip a try next time i go to Vietnam. Friendship Pass sure looks much better than the Lao Cai border.
Your posts will be a great help for alot of fellow interested bikers. Great job!!
Originally posted by doulian@Jun 11 2006, 03:01 PM Great description of your trip!!
I went to Hanoi recently too and saw most of the thingys u guys saw. However i went there to backpack, not bikepack. I went to Lao Cai border instead of your Friendship Pass. But Will give your trip a try next time i go to Vietnam. Friendship Pass sure looks much better than the Lao Cai border.
Your posts will be a great help for alot of fellow interested bikers. Great job!!
was doing backpacking fun? i have never done backpacking before... maybe i will try it in the future...
actually this is my first trip of this kind... but will try to go for more of it... and i still got lots of things to learn from all the old birds here....
Originally posted by YZFx@Jun 12 2006, 01:53 PM was doing backpacking fun? i have never done backpacking before... maybe i will try it in the future...
actually this is my first trip of this kind... but will try to go for more of it... and i still got lots of things to learn from all the old birds here....
ooo...backpacking is fun as we get to meet lotsa different pple on the way and we get to plan our own schedule. but i guess its a totally different kind of fun when it comes to road trip. At least on a road trip, u can decide your own timing on where to go and dun have to worry about missing the train .
Next time if you wanna go Vietnam backpack can ask me loh and the same for me if im going to do a road trip there too ya?
Cool Pics.... it is so cheap to pay $9 for the damage to the bikes hahaha i was amazed....n tat hair line crack on the ribs...it is a gift...take care bro of the crack.