User Tag List

Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Laptop problem

  1. #1
    AngelPiG
    has no status.
    L Plate AngelPiG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Arrow Laptop problem



    i really can't stand my laptop,
    keep giving me hanging & lagging problem,

    i really wish to change a new one,

    my range is about 1.5k - a.8k

    any recommendation?

    Thanks.....

    The Pig of Angel

  2. #2
    y2kredbull
    has no status.
    SBF Lacer y2kredbull's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pasir Ris Yipee!
    Posts
    10,227
    Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I just got the acer aspire 4397G thru my school.Power to the max.Heard bad things bout acer but the specs swayed me away.Got it for $1700 thru my sch.
    Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16.Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X. Current Ride: Yamaha TMAX 2015

     

     
  3. #3
    MC28
    has no status.
    SBF Lacer MC28's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Beside you..
    Posts
    27,123
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Bro, your's is the Gemstone series which is a improve version over the previous series..Less heat issue..

  4. #4
    marcusa1pro
    has no status.
    L Plate
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    hi i think my laptop has the same problem as urs haha

  5. #5
    ali_baba
    has no status.
    Class 2A ali_baba's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    736
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    try change a new hdd.

  6. #6
    Abacus
    has no status.
    P Plate
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    My note book is already 7 years old and is getting slower than before. Could someone teach me how to use the disk clean up to remove the compressed old file. Everytime
    the same figure stay there. thks.

  7. #7
    y2kredbull
    has no status.
    SBF Lacer y2kredbull's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Pasir Ris Yipee!
    Posts
    10,227
    Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    U can download the "Auslogics Disk Defragmenter" from Download.com. It will defrag ur hd.(Gather all the empty space to one side and the used space to another side).I've been using it on my CPU and laptop.Very good.But not sure whether it will work on a 7-year old notebook.Perhaps u need a HD change too.
    Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16.Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X. Current Ride: Yamaha TMAX 2015

  8. #8
    sleazsith
    has no status.
    P Plate
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    143
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ways to maintain you lappy:-
    1) Disk cleanup :
    Click Start, then My Computer. Right click the drive you want to free up space, and click Properties. Click General tab, and then Disk Cleanup. Follow instructions.

    2) CCleaner :
    CCleaner is a freeware, that frees up hard disk space by removing temporary files, internet cookies,unused registry items, etc.

    Also, use CCleaner to allow minimal number of applications to start during startup. Disable the unneccesary applications so as to allow faster booting up time.

    3) Defragment
    Click Start, then My Computer. Right click the drive you want to free up space, and click Properties. Click Tools tab, and then Defragment Now. Follow instructions.

    5) Upgrade you RAM to fullest capability
    RAM is cheap. RAM makes your laptop go zoom!

  9. #9
    Abacus
    has no status.
    P Plate
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks, own this 7 yrs ago today already srn citizen 60 yrs old
    use for reading world news, sports, communications would be useful also if
    I want to sell my FU S4 spec 2 later. How much would it cost to change
    the hard disk and the ram ? I am staying in the west.

  10. #10
    sleazsith
    has no status.
    P Plate
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    143
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Abacus View Post
    Thanks, own this 7 yrs ago today already srn citizen 60 yrs old
    use for reading world news, sports, communications would be useful also if
    I want to sell my FU S4 spec 2 later. How much would it cost to change
    the hard disk and the ram ? I am staying in the west.
    Go VR-Zone PriceWatch to checkout the catalgoue of RAMs and Hardisks. All products sold at SimLim.

    For RAM, click Memory, then Notebook Memory.
    For Hard disk, click Hard Drive, then Laptop Hardrive.
    Last edited by sleazsith; 05-05-2009 at 10:57 PM.

  11. #11
    Abacus
    has no status.
    P Plate
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sleazsith View Post
    Go VR-Zone PriceWatch to checkout the catalgoue of RAMs and Hardisks. All products sold at SimLim.

    For RAM, click Memory, then Notebook Memory.
    For Hard disk, click Hard Drive, then Laptop Hardrive.
    Once again thanks for all the information.

     

     
  12. #12
    marcusa1pro
    has no status.
    L Plate
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    wah thanks for all the reply....i think for all your reply i can check was wrong with my pc haha...but by the way though of changing a laptop...wat do u all think?

  13. #13
    xiaobanz
    loves riding
    TeePee xiaobanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bukit Batok
    Posts
    1,487
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Actually for now laptops are considerablily cheap compared to last 2 years or so. If you wait until those IT fairs, you really can grab super good deals if you wanna get a new laptop. If you are price consious but wans relative good specs for normal gaming + work, i would suggest getting Acer or Asus. They are ok laptops with good specs prices around 1.2k ~ 1.9k.

    But after using windows laptops for years now, i would think that macs are really good with theirs too. Currently i've saving up for a new macbook 2.4Ghz which i've tested out and feels it good. Pple can consider also.

    I still have my first laptop (Acer 1.5") which have been with me for 6 years+ and still working fine. For me, if can save money upgrade, unless you got spare $$ then buy a new one.
    ~ Future Ride ~
    CBR600rr

    ~ Current Drive ~
    Kia Cerato Forte SX 1.6 SJU

    ~ Previous Rides ~
    1. Spark 135 FBA | 2. NSR 150 SP FS | 3. Yamaha x1 FY | 4. Honda s4 verS FP

  14. #14
    Abacus
    has no status.
    P Plate
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sleazsith View Post
    Go VR-Zone PriceWatch to checkout the catalgoue of RAMs and Hardisks. All products sold at SimLim.

    For RAM, click Memory, then Notebook Memory.
    For Hard disk, click Hard Drive, then Laptop Hardrive.

    I got the Kingston 512/133 SDRAM for $92 they told me my 7 yrs old
    note book can only use this part. the performance is faster now. Dell
    spec. for my hard disk is max 40GB currently is only 20GB. Would
    changing the hard disk to 40GB make the performance faster ? another
    problem now is whenever I power up the monitor will show press F2 to
    set up time and date. how to resolve this ? thks.

  15. #15
    vincekam
    has no status.
    SBF Moderator vincekam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    3,759
    Feedback Score
    16 (100%)
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Changing the HDD would not get you any faster but you have more space for files and swap files.

    Just press F2 to go to BIOS setup and set the correct time.
    If it's not able to save the current time, then the computer battery needed to be replace :-(

    Cheers!
    Quote Originally Posted by Abacus View Post
    I got the Kingston 512/133 SDRAM for $92 they told me my 7 yrs old
    note book can only use this part. the performance is faster now. Dell
    spec. for my hard disk is max 40GB currently is only 20GB. Would
    changing the hard disk to 40GB make the performance faster ? another
    problem now is whenever I power up the monitor will show press F2 to
    set up time and date. how to resolve this ? thks.
    Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

  16. #16
    xiaobanz
    loves riding
    TeePee xiaobanz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Bukit Batok
    Posts
    1,487
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Abacus View Post
    I got the Kingston 512/133 SDRAM for $92 they told me my 7 yrs old
    note book can only use this part. the performance is faster now. Dell
    spec. for my hard disk is max 40GB currently is only 20GB. Would
    changing the hard disk to 40GB make the performance faster ? another
    problem now is whenever I power up the monitor will show press F2 to
    set up time and date. how to resolve this ? thks.
    As what vincekam has stated if everytime you power up your laptop with this prob most likely the 3v battery inside is weak and need replacement..

    Another misconception of most users is changing of HDD will improve speed. Yes it does only a few ms must nothing much. The most impt part to add is always the ram. But for a 7 yr old laptop. I think you can consider changing cos the life span of either a computer or laptop is mostly only 3 years.
    ~ Future Ride ~
    CBR600rr

    ~ Current Drive ~
    Kia Cerato Forte SX 1.6 SJU

    ~ Previous Rides ~
    1. Spark 135 FBA | 2. NSR 150 SP FS | 3. Yamaha x1 FY | 4. Honda s4 verS FP

  17. #17
    Abacus
    has no status.
    P Plate
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Thanks for the info.

  18. #18
    Abacus
    has no status.
    P Plate
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    133
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    The most impt part to add is always the ram. But for a 7 yr old laptop. I think you can consider changing cos the life span of either a computer or laptop is mostly only 3 years.
    >>>>>

    parts are expensive for old bike and old car sometime are also difficult to find not
    only for old note book. I found one second apple asking for few hundred I think is
    better to buy than to hold on to my 7 yrs old note bk. but a sudden change to
    using an Apple would surely cause night mare for srn. citizen like me. old age
    are also chin kan khor in life.

  19. #19
    marcusa1pro
    has no status.
    L Plate
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    wah at last repair my computer cheap cheap only $35 nia...some more come to my hse and do ler...wah gdgd ler....haha anyone want to services can pm mi i pass you the contact...

  20. #20
    RallieC
    has no status.
    L Plate
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Air is essentially an ideal refrigerant, if you consider not only pure efficiency, but the entire set of characteristics. It is available absolutely everywhere and in any quantity, does not require special conditions for transportation and storage, unlike dry ice or liquid nitrogen, especially if you use a 140mm radiator fan browse around this website. And cooling systems that use air are comparatively simple, low cost and much more fault-tolerant, even against the background of liquid systems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •