when i'm on the road , the bike suddenly dies off. when i pushed it back to check, i realise tat when i on the bike and start, and when i on the headlight , the bike couldnt take it and dies off. wad could be the prob ??? help me. the battery i had just changed 2wks ago. ?? but before tat it was left it the rain when i park it?? could it be a prob of short circuit.??

Dont Hate The Player, Hate The Game.

• Replies 46

Ehhh Like that can be alot of things leh...

Can be alternator spoil, therefore didn't charge battery, can be short circuit, can also be idling speed too low, or can be like me, the screw for the fuel:air ratio screw pop out. :rolleyes:

Can go and trouble shoot first,

1st increase the idling speed, if it doesn't work, then

2. Check if there is a hole with a missing screw on carb. If have,

3. Try to push start in the car park, without turning on the headlights, see if it can run. Still cannot then,

4. Dismantle all the covers see if got short-circuit. Very time consuming... :(

5. If lan lan still cannot start, then need to go to shop liao, because if alternator spoil, have to go shop anyway...

Hope this helps, if anyone got a better suggestion please post, and help our Brother out.

you mentioned you on your headlights and it died off, try riding then switch on your headlights.Insufficient charge? Go around riding and try again.Done any change of spark plug lately?

without headlight can ride smoothly but when on. the whole thing if nv whack throttle will die off... hmmm hw sia??? alternator is waD?

most probably is ur rectifier spoiled since u just change ur batt..

same situation as mine..

I change my batt about a week ago then die off cos of faulty rectifier..

Ask the mech check ur rectifier, ask him to check for "Overcharged"

as a faulty rectifier may killed ur batt..

U can set idling to about 2.5k which i did to prevent stalling for the moment..

hope this help a lil

That's why I always believe in LUCK! :cheeky:

at first i also dunno..

depend on bike perhaps..

On my sp..

U open up right side fairing, just about 2 palms behind ur battery.. something like a aluminium box..

If u have a volt meter.. u can actually troubleshoot whether is the rectifier faulty..

Put red colour pin on +ve batt side and black pin on -ve batt side..

Then throttle abit and see the rising voltages, if voltage dun rise..

Ur rectifier is faulty..

If ur voltage rise too high.. it is faulty too..

My SP batt is 12v and about 13v to 14v is required while throttling, anything less than or high than MAYBE a rectifier fault..

Better not ride too long or ur newly bought battery cannot survive need a change again..

U can ask the bikeshop to do "charge up" for u for like $3.. or they make give u free charge up if u do some servicing with em though :)

Note I am not pro so believe at ur own risk :p

haha bro.. u ride sp too? i also ride sp and live jurong too :)

Test batt just to confirm the rectifier faulty..

if u know how to DIY change rectifier then can save $$$

On light then rev engine.

See if the light becomes brighter.

If light same tone, that means the alternator (thingy that charges the bettery) spoil liao.

on light rev engine but the light no tone lei... how sia?? 1 alternator how much??

but nw i set the idling speed higher can work . but once i off the engine, the neutral light is not there. wad to do frenss??

i think there is a short or leakage somewhere..when light is turned on bikes dies..hmmm short related to lights/alternator. what i meant is when the lights are turn on...the aletrnator dies.. somewhere shorted to ground maybe caused by faulty parts ,wires knick and exposed......

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

lunny..have you found the cause?? would apprecaite your findings..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

i think there is a short or leakage somewhere..when light is turned on bikes dies..hmmm short related to lights/alternator. what i meant is when the lights are turn on...the aletrnator dies.. somewhere shorted to ground maybe caused by faulty parts ,wires knick and exposed......
go try change to wet type batt. the batt water you can top up once in a few mths. i got this problem too, changed to wet batt. now problem solved. the batt i changed 6mths ago. opened up to chk the batt water level, its still the same. no need to top up yet. give it a try.:thumb:

check all fuses and spot for bare wirings.... sounds like short circuit...

what has grounding got to help? i'm realy puzzled.

Maybe your petrol tank has leakage of water goes in.

So how the outcome?

Don\'t Ever race with me and you will not win me. Cos i don\'t like to race and not a good racer.

On light then rev engine.

See if the light becomes brighter.

If light same tone, that means the alternator (thingy that charges the bettery) spoil liao.

ya lik wat silent hunter said...i think ur reactifer spoilt le

http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii273/th2om8as7/DSC01676l.jpg

By riding, we already save alot of time. Dun try to save more time by endangering our life....