ya. I bought my 350 at 3.5k spent about 7-8k on the part and shipping cost. If my mum know, she will kill me..ahah

Current Ride:

W650 Cafe Racer

FXSTC Softail Custom

TW200 Tracker

Zephyr ZII Custom

CB750K

CB400four

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/IMG_0627_zps0816850b.jpg

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/EBC0B2D1-5DB8-412B-BE85-D4E7DE4F0247-9859-000001DA1BB41B2E.jpg

• Replies 98

Guest tangolima
I bought all those parts from Julietalphapapaalphanovember, still haven't ship them back yet. I think I bought the whole bike except the frame, engine and wheels.... haha

:giddy: :giddy: :giddy: wah sibeh giddy man

I love the look if the Zephyr...but was discouraged from getting one cos of parts. Ended up getting a CB750 & got shop to restore it.

Its done & rides great...

Still thinking about the Zephyr..for some reason :-(

Hi Phang

Im a zephyr lover. It's nice to know u have made an effort to restore your

zr750 yourself. That would save the high cost of workmen. I've owned 2 before. I bought the 3rd zephyr in 2006. Just like U I spent a fortune to restore it to almost original condition. But I could only afford the used parts. I re-conditioned

all the available parts from my friends ship. Even though I've spent about $4k including workshop charges becos I can't do it myself.

I like your black & yellow paint but its too costly to repaint it in Singapore. So I opt for the maroon with a gold strip at the bottom of the tank just like the original 94 model.

Have u finished your restoration? Can't wait to see the classic in its mint condition. Let me know may be we can meet up sometime. My other bike is

a 20 yrs bmw R65ls. Keep in touch.

Hi Phang

Im a zephyr lover. It's nice to know u have made an effort to restore your

zr750 yourself. That would save the high cost of workmen. I've owned 2 before. I bought the 3rd zephyr in 2006. Just like U I spent a fortune to restore it to almost original condition. But I could only afford the used parts. I re-conditioned

all the available parts from my friends ship. Even though I've spent about $4k including workshop charges becos I can't do it myself.

I like your black & yellow paint but its too costly to repaint it in Singapore. So I opt for the maroon with a gold strip at the bottom of the tank just like the original 94 model.

Have u finished your restoration? Can't wait to see the classic in its mint condition. Let me know may be we can meet up sometime. My other bike is

a 20 yrs bmw R65ls. Keep in touch.

Hi zephyrrt,

I am clearing my reading room now, planning to convert it to a temporary workshop (my wife is screaming). Once the room is ready, I will drop the engine from the frame and bring it to the room and start wrenching

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg

Gentlemen, one third of the zephyr parts that I bought in Japan already reached Singapura:angel:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/room-1.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/SA4100062.jpg

The Japan Post sent a mini van to pick up the carton boxes from my bother’s place in Tokyo without extra charges:thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/SA410006.jpg

Postman: “Wah, this foreigner must be smuggling motorcycle parts…..”

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/SA4100061-1.jpg

Postman: “I should report this to my supervisor Yamamoto-san….”

you have advantage leh Phang.

you got a contact in Japan !!!!!!! wah lau....heheh

you have advantage leh Phang.

you got a contact in Japan !!!!!!! wah lau....heheh

My brother is torn between me and his Japanese fiancée, their apartment is very small and I keep ordering parts and piling up in their apartment:angel:

u buy some nice things online for his fiancee... sure she will kip quiet after tat... hehe...

http://chowtimes.com/photos/mar2006/IMG_3644_edited-1.jpg

alerady sent some bah kut teh packs to them, I guess not enough, maybe I should send 1kg of bah kua.... haha

bak kua now very ex leh... bo hua... lolx....

http://forum.geizhals.at/files/2455/Vfr_logo.jpg
bak kua now very ex leh... bo hua... lolx....

yeah, bought 2kgs 2 days ago at S$48/kg. I don't really like to eat bak kua but my wife insisted.... bo bian

I just extended the Lay Up period for another year. Time really flies, not much action for the past 1 year except the bike is half stripped and bought some parts from Japan. I hope I will have more time to work on the bike in 2008. Happy Lunar New Year to all.

woah. this project seems to be more than just the simple matter of learning more about the bike. you must really love that bike, considering all the time and money you have already spent thus far, buying a whole new bike minus frame, engine and wheels. O.o

new chassis and tank? new mufflers and headers?

im sorry, but it really seems wasteful to me, to restore up a bike that wont even look vintage, but rather would look like the more a recent 2006 model.

well, you have already spent much time, money and effort in your endeavors, and i only hope that you will be satisfied with the end result. best of luck.

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - UG3 (2007 - )

Suzuki GSXR-400 (2008 - 2009)

Piaggio Vespa GT 200L (2009 - 2011)

Yamaha YBX 125 (2010 - )

Yamaha FZ S1 '05 (2011 - )

i just get Yamoto to ship a parts from japan to singapore. 23kg and that cost me about 800sgd for shipping..!

Current Ride:

W650 Cafe Racer

FXSTC Softail Custom

TW200 Tracker

Zephyr ZII Custom

CB750K

CB400four

http://i112.photobucket.com/albums/n166/sgstreetbiker/EBC0B2D1-5DB8-412B-BE85-D4E7DE4F0247-9859-000001DA1BB41B2E.jpg

My project going to start soon!!

Current Ride:

W650 Cafe Racer

FXSTC Softail Custom

TW200 Tracker

Zephyr ZII Custom

CB750K

CB400four

i just get Yamoto to ship a parts from japan to singapore. 23kg and that cost me about 800sgd for shipping..!

http://www.mardep.gov.hk/en/pub_services/sdfiles/images/yamato.gif

Is it Yamato? How come so expensive? You requested them to have security guard to escort it from Japan to Singapore? haha.

My last air freight from Tokyo to Japan by Japan Post EMS, 9kgs, paid SGD90 and reached in 3 days.

Hey there, I love what you have done to your zephyr! I'm having a terrible time here in Sydney trying to find new or even second hand parts for my bike (a beautiful 750). Where did you buy all your goodies... i see in the posts that they mostly came from Japan?? Thanks, Mikey.

Mikey in Sydney - 1991 Zephyr 750

http://www.identify.net.au/zephyr/oz-zephyr.jpg

G'day Mikey,

I bought all of my Zephyr parts from Japan, mostly from the Japan Yahoo Auction. Zephyr enthusiasts in Japan will put up all the parts removed from their new Zephyr in the yahoo auction when they upgraded to aftermarket parts. (Zephyr only ceased production in 2007 for Japan market)

Kawasaki Japan still selling new genuine Zephyr parts, everything down to a single screw or washer.

I bided for the parts in the auction from Singapore and instrusted the sellers to send the parts to my brother in Tokyo, he will then consolidate all the parts and ship them to me in Singapore:cool:

In case anyone is still keeping tabs to this thread, does anyone have any idea where i can find the dealer for kawa parts in JB coz i juz bought a zephyr and on the stage of doing it up.....nothing extensive though.

Hello

I'am Juan. I'am writing from Spain.

I have a '92 Zephyr and I'm waiting to have time to

restore it also.

I really enjoy reading this thread.

Please, post photos of the restoration process.

greetings.

In case anyone is still keeping tabs to this thread, does anyone have any idea where i can find the dealer for kawa parts in JB coz i juz bought a zephyr and on the stage of doing it up.....nothing extensive though.

Try Motomatic from JB. Ah Hua 0127171779. I get my parts from him too and waiting time is usually few days, at most 2-3 weeks if have to take from Japan. Btw the time stated is parts for my 1994 ZX11. Prices are excellent compared to Evershine too. Imagine one pathetic valve seal (I needed 16) costs SGD9 from Evershine, but only RM13 from JB.

So far I already spent more than 3k on my bike and is nearing restoration. Love that DIY spirit Phang, keep it up!

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg