I don't think it is too much free play. Free play refers to the turning of the throttle from its rest position to the position where the rpm starts to increase? In my case, the rpm went from 1 to 2 quickly and normally and after that it sort of like "hangs" between 2 to 3. It will continue to "hang" there unless I turn the throttle a bit more and then it will hit three to 4 very quickly which means my bike may accelerate at a rapid rush kind of reaction such that it will lunge forward. quite scary sometimes so I always keep one hand on the brake. :dozed:

Frankly other than the freeplay i also think you better get to check it the throttle line is been "PULLED" by any parts outside the engine compartment if not please get a mech to check the caributor on the "lower"(slow) fuel injection tip.

• Replies 3.4k

Greetings to all,

sorry if I barge in ur thread.

my name is edi from kuala Lumpur and a member frm our own local GTS club comprising GTS 200 and evo 250i.

we r planning a planning for a trip down south frm 25th dec - 27th dec. The planned route will be frm KL -> Rompin -> JB and will be spending the night i JB on 26th. I was wondering if we could arrange some get together on 26th ( maybe some jalan-jalan cari makan/TT's) . Would love to know and get acquainted with fellow singaporean GTSer :cheers:

If it's not a conveniece to you guys, I can be contacted tru [email protected] for us to work up the proposed get together session.

Tq sirs...

im cool wit it people ............

[Apul.............

sp

reading love since 1984:angel:

item still up 4 sale

Hi all, new Dr pullery performance clutch set 4 gts200 up 4 sale @$320, interested pls sms me @98214979.

Edited by sym7

My exhaust pipe jus cracked about a week ago and it has been sitting at estate's carpark since. I can't ride it out because not only does it give out loud bangs, the chopping noise it gives out when it is idling is horrendous! It's worse and even louder when I'm travelling on the road! Can you imagine, even a Subaru WRX and Mitsubishi EVO gave way to me??!

Anyway, Future and Tai Hin do carry the stock exhaust but the lowest quote I got is SGD$480. I think it is quite a hefty amount. Tai Hin told me that GPR is cheaper at about $400 but they have received numerous complaints of them breaking off into 2 pieces due to its fragile material and the vibration from our scooters. So I guess GPR exhaust pipe is not an option for me?

I don't think I will go for the non-street legal ones as I heard if a fine is issued, it can be as easy as $500 at minimum.

Anyone of you got any solutions, suggestions or advice for me? I think I have no choice but to get the stock one from Tai Hin otherwise my bike will be sitting at the carpark, under-utilized, still requiring me to pay installment of $150 per month and worse, the battery may just die away right? :dozed: Is there no other street-legal pipes for GTS 200 already?

My exhaust pipe jus cracked about a week ago and it has been sitting at estate's carpark since. I can't ride it out because not only does it give out loud bangs, the chopping noise it gives out when it is idling is horrendous! It's worse and even louder when I'm travelling on the road! Can you imagine, even a Subaru WRX and Mitsubishi EVO gave way to me??!

Anyway, Future and Tai Hin do carry the stock exhaust but the lowest quote I got is SGD$480. I think it is quite a hefty amount. Tai Hin told me that GPR is cheaper at about $400 but they have received numerous complaints of them breaking off into 2 pieces due to its fragile material and the vibration from our scooters. So I guess GPR exhaust pipe is not an option for me?

I don't think I will go for the non-street legal ones as I heard if a fine is issued, it can be as easy as $500 at minimum.

Anyone of you got any solutions, suggestions or advice for me? I think I have no choice but to get the stock one from Tai Hin otherwise my bike will be sitting at the carpark, under-utilized, still requiring me to pay installment of $150 per month and worse, the battery may just die away right? :dozed: Is there no other street-legal pipes for GTS 200 already?

Can the crack be welded back?

I forgot to mention that they did some dripping of some metal on the pipe to cover the hole found like 2 months back which had caused my bike to give out loud bangs. Then a week back, it started chopping loudly accompanied with bangs when I decelerate ppl from FS got it welded (not dripping) for me but two days later, the chopping came back with the bangs as well. haiz..:( I've kind of given up hope on it already.

curious, have u been riding your bike at top speed a lot? i know the engine gives really harsh vibrations when you go above 7.5k rpms.

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

I always try to keep it below 90km/hr as much as I can but I do ride above that sometimes when I'm in a hurry. However, my bike will only vibrate between 90 to 100km/hr. Any faster than 100, usually I'll get a smooth ride with very very little vibrations. :)

hmmm. usually my vibrations come in at 100. Then as it goes higher it "seems" smoother but actually the vibrations are just going at a higher frequency which is actually causes more fatigue stresses in materials causing breakage.

Anyway, perhaps you could share with us how the hole came about? Was it due to rusty pipe and the rust slowly ate a hole thru the pipe or was it a sudden metal fracture while riding? I remember inquiring about the stock pipe at future. they also quoted 400+. maybe you could take some photos to show us the position of the crack?

i guess the only thing now to do is either replace the exhaust to a GPR one or stock. Or you could ask a exhaust specialist to cut open the pipe to operate on it and see what is exactly wrong inside before wielding it back. Whats your mileage now btw?

*oh and have u tried posting in the malaysia GTS forum, they have more active members who are quite lao jiaos*

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
I forgot to mention that they did some dripping of some metal on the pipe to cover the hole found like 2 months back which had caused my bike to give out loud bangs. Then a week back, it started chopping loudly accompanied with bangs when I decelerate ppl from FS got it welded (not dripping) for me but two days later, the chopping came back with the bangs as well. haiz..:( I've kind of given up hope on it already.

Dun give up hope so soon. I have ride the gts for ard 3yrs+ already. Mileage ard 56k and of course I encounted a few issues also. But all can be solve so far. I would suggest you to ride less than 100km/h.

If it is only the pipe crack causing those loud bang sound, go back to FS or other motorshop to get it welded.

hmmm. usually my vibrations come in at 100. Then as it goes higher it "seems" smoother but actually the vibrations are just going at a higher frequency which is actually causes more fatigue stresses in materials causing breakage.

Anyway, perhaps you could share with us how the hole came about? Was it due to rusty pipe and the rust slowly ate a hole thru the pipe or was it a sudden metal fracture while riding? I remember inquiring about the stock pipe at future. they also quoted 400+. maybe you could take some photos to show us the position of the crack?

i guess the only thing now to do is either replace the exhaust to a GPR one or stock. Or you could ask a exhaust specialist to cut open the pipe to operate on it and see what is exactly wrong inside before wielding it back. Whats your mileage now btw?

*oh and have u tried posting in the malaysia GTS forum, they have more active members who are quite lao jiaos*

ur idea of the vibra at higher freq works for me. It makes good sense.

i think it was due to rust most probably from what I see. hmm..never heard of an exhaust specialist. Do you know of anyone who is working as one and can u recommend to me cuz I've not come across anyone so far.

I'll try to take some photos and show you guys if I can. It's a hard angle and I don't have a ramp or something to allow me to shoot from below. I've got a good camera though. :p

I can't believe stock pipes can be $480 that ex lor. :dot:

Dun give up hope so soon. I have ride the gts for ard 3yrs+ already. Mileage ard 56k and of course I encounted a few issues also. But all can be solve so far. I would suggest you to ride less than 100km/h.

If it is only the pipe crack causing those loud bang sound, go back to FS or other motorshop to get it welded.

talk about welding..i think the guys at fs should be tired of seeing me with the same problem by now even though it means more revenue for them. besides, I'm staying in the north. imagine having to ride down to and fro FS with the same problem so many times. if the boys there are not tired of me, i'm tired of going down there myself already..

i'm quite bent on getting a new stock exhaust more or less because the pipe seems to be beyond repair..my fren told me because e pipes can get very hot especially after a long ride, the welding may not last. if it was put together by heat, by heat it will be broken off too. :cry:

hi bro i just change a new auto clutch for my gts

but y when i turn the throttle my rpm around 4 then the

bike move before i change the auto clutch my bike move around rpm3

anyone can help thk

search around in sgbikes for exhaust specialist? I never do up exhaust before on my previous bikes. rust seems like a good explanation why your stock exhaust will have a hole. So far i have applied 4 coats of paint over my exhaust to prevent rusting. Still can see a bit of rust starting to form here and there. Best is get a coat of hi temp paint over your new exhaust to prevent rust.

hi bro i just change a new auto clutch for my gts

but y when i turn the throttle my rpm around 4 then the

bike move before i change the auto clutch my bike move around rpm3

anyone can help thk

maybe it the clutch the spring tension thats giving you a different rev

exhaust wise i mean thats always the case for rust the poorer quality will as mention breaks up so taking care when you got the scooter is very important.........other than putting more paint work on it maybe the best way is to oil it once or twice a month but PLEASE remember to clean it off if not you'll get plenty of smoke coming from the pipe

talk about welding..i think the guys at fs should be tired of seeing me with the same problem by now even though it means more revenue for them. besides, I'm staying in the north. imagine having to ride down to and fro FS with the same problem so many times. if the boys there are not tired of me, i'm tired of going down there myself already..

i'm quite bent on getting a new stock exhaust more or less because the pipe seems to be beyond repair..my fren told me because e pipes can get very hot especially after a long ride, the welding may not last. if it was put together by heat, by heat it will be broken off too. :cry:

Ya ,if possible take some photographs and post,maybe we will have a better picture. If the crack part is near the mounting area then it's probably alignment issue after welding. If not then you can try other shop for welding.

My exhaust bracket broken off also. Welded many time too but failed. Then I figure out its the alignment issue because you won't get back the correct position for mounting after welding. I throw away the broken bracket. The design of the mounting part sucks! Now I left with only 2 mounting point. So far ok.

the new GTS evo head lights very nice. looks like a simple plug and play mod to our existing gts200. anyone interested to change head fairing or has done it before?

http://www.scooter-station.com/ttesimages/scooters/nouveautes2009/Sym_GTS_125_Evo_Ambiance_stmz.jpg

You have lobang to change the head fairing?

Hi everyone,

Am thinking of getting a scooter as my ride, currently pondering which one to get. Paggio X8 or SYM GTS200. Can any kind soul help me out with some advice on the performance, reliability, parts, safety, maintenance, etc etc..

Thanks in advance for anyone who is willing to help

Ya ,if possible take some photographs and post,maybe we will have a better picture. If the crack part is near the mounting area then it's probably alignment issue after welding. If not then you can try other shop for welding.

My exhaust bracket broken off also. Welded many time too but failed. Then I figure out its the alignment issue because you won't get back the correct position for mounting after welding. I throw away the broken bracket. The design of the mounting part sucks! Now I left with only 2 mounting point. So far ok.

ma head's confused man. do u hv pictures to show about your explanation on the brackets and mounting points? :p

You have lobang to change the head fairing?

How much izzit? Looked very good...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7