Originally posted by manhunt@Sep 24 2005, 01:46 AM

I recommend sportec metzerer M1 for cornering and wet road :thumb:

Yeah, Sportec M1 best for cornering and wet roads.. And it do not wear out fast. I changed my rear tyre this January 2005 and now still going strong. :thumb:

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

I will be getting some Bridgestone 014's fitted this week so I will report on how they go.

As for buying new bike the amount you end up spending on it afterwards depends a lot on your attitude towards the bike/riding. Personally I want my bike to be perfect, nice and clean, super reliable, good performance and I don't intend to upgrade so I spent a bit.

I bought my CBR400 Hurricane model for $1.5k, could have just kept riding it perfectly fine without spending a cent for few years and then sold but instead I am spending about another $1k replacing all of the parts with the parts that I want, full servicing the engine (including top overhaul) and getting the bike setup the way that I want so I can really enjoy riding it and never have to worry about breaking down! I am keeping track of all of my costs and items replaced, upgraded etc and taking pictures as I go so if we have a meet up I will show you all :)

Only had the bike here for about 1 month so just starting out getting it sorted out. I have CBR400 racebikes back in Australia so a lot of the things I am doing are not NECESSARY but are more about setting the bike up similar to what I am used to and what I like and really trying to improve the bike a bit.

Originally posted by Beavis08@Sep 25 2005, 05:36 PM

so wat type of coolen is better?

Distilled water is the best medium of heat exchange.

However you need certain addictives to further enhance the heat transfer rate and Surface Tension, and of course to reduce Scaling.

To find out more, check out this link

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....lant+applicable

Originally posted by Beavis08@Sep 24 2005, 01:38 PM

I was told that dunlop GPR70 is good but I haven't try, going to change is soon. M1 cannot affort ah

Ya.. tat right.. it rather x also.. btw u noe how much it cost for front tyre Gpr 70

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

Originally posted by tom3694@Sep 24 2005, 05:04 PM

NC 29 front 120/60 rear 150/60

choose the tyre to suit ya style not brand

battlax 014 not suitable wrong speed ratings our ride cant warm it properly

grippy rubbers will run out faster, worn out tyres of course out of shape

929 didnt complaint about wet surfaces why would ours?

its good enough for track with gpr70

Sorry no offence.. doesnt mean 929 dont complain about it and we kept in slience... Evey bikes has different condition and every riders has different styles of riding. if u are saying choose the tyre to suit ya style not brand, am i goin to use all kinds of brand to find the one i suits...

At the beginning we should know which brands and model is suits for singapore road condition. (not Track i tokin) and for long distance riding. From all these tyre models , narrow down to those u find it suitable for ur own style of riding.

But any wae thanks for ur info.. i appreciate it..

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

Originally posted by davidww81@Sep 25 2005, 05:25 PM

try maxima cool-aide.

wher can i get this brand of coolent.

Just use any glycol based coolant they are all much the same and have the required additives to stop corrosion and rust build up in the system.

Mmm... there one question i wan to ask..? how long should we actually warm up our bikes from the last time we ride and park our bike to the next morning we using our bike again?

UIsually i wait til when my bike is warm and can feel the heat at my casket area, then i will start to move off..?

How about u guys?

Usually until it can idle stably without the choke on and then take it easy for the first bit of my ride until the temp gauge comes up to the normal reading.

Normally give it about a minute or so to warm up while I get my gloves and helmet and backpack on and get organised :)

For cold start, I'd move off after one minute (approx. 40°C) and ride it slow to warm up the bike. Higher wear and tear might occur due to insufficient engine oil reaching to all other parts from cold start and hence, riding it slow to warm up the bike is a better option.

Originally posted by il4@Sep 26 2005, 12:37 PM

Distilled water is the best medium of heat exchange.

However you need certain addictives to further enhance the heat transfer rate and Surface Tension, and of course to reduce Scaling.

To find out more, check out this link

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....lant+applicable

Dame u shld have post that ealier, when to buy b bottle of Engine Ice and I did my own flushing and added Engine Ice, although have really test it but after rading it seem like a waste of money. Dame:cry:

http://sg.geocities.com/ericyong08/CBR_1.jpg
Originally posted by honam24@Sep 26 2005, 01:33 PM

Ya.. tat right.. it rather x also.. btw u noe how much it cost for front tyre Gpr 70

i was told its abt $270 for a pair, so u aga aga la

Originally posted by honam24@Sep 26 2005, 05:29 PM

Mmm... there one question i wan to ask..? how long should we actually warm up our bikes from the last time we ride and park our bike to the next morning we using our bike again?

UIsually i wait til when my bike is warm and can feel the heat at my casket area, then i will start to move off..?

How about u guys?

r u a smoker? coz for my its simple, a cigarette time shld be juz nice, but of coz still hv to go slow not to rev too hight till temp goes to normal

wow ... this thread so happening these days :cheer:

Adventure

Getting lost is part of the fun

Aug 2003 - Oct 2004: Kawasaki KRR150

Oct 2004 - Feb 2006: Honda CBR400RRR

Oct 2005 - Jun 2006: Honda Wave R

Nov 2005 - ???: Honda CBR1100XX Super Blackbird

Akan Datang: Suzuki GSX-R600K6

hmmz.. hi there.. i got some problems here.. i touch my front fork , i can feel some oil on the fork .. so issit normal ??? or its time to change my fork seal ????

how much does it cost ???

Originally posted by honam24@Sep 26 2005, 02:41 PM

Sorry no offence.. doesnt mean 929 dont complain about it and we kept in slience... Evey bikes has different condition and every riders has different styles of riding. if u are saying choose the tyre to suit ya style not brand, am i goin to use all kinds of brand to find the one i suits...

At the beginning we should know which brands and model is suits for singapore road condition. (not Track i tokin) and for long distance riding. From all these tyre models , narrow down to those u find it suitable for ur own style of riding.

BT 014 is Z rate tires, which means they're heavier becos they were designed for speeds 240km and above, which also means they have more steel threading inside and that adds unsprung weight to ur 400cc bike which is not the best and also the compound is different since they're suited for 240km/hr and above which would means 600cc and above since they got more torque and bhp..

I suggest u stick to H rate tires which the overall favourite is GPR 70 SP.. M1 might costs more but look at the tire, it's a Z rate tire.. so it costs more, since it's a higher end tire for higher end bikes..

GPR 70 SP can do track and touring..anytime anywhere...

Tested and proven by myself personally.

Originally posted by honam24@Sep 26 2005, 06:29 PM

How about u guys?

Normally I start, secure my tank bag, wear helmet, gloves.. adjust underwear..and then i go off liao.. during the 10 - 15 mins, i usually ride slow and easy..

Originally posted by honam24@Sep 26 2005, 01:41 PM

alamak ya taking the wrong way

1. im refering to 929's hp exert on BT014 rubbers in wet ( level of grip )

2. gpr70 suitable for track was mentioned to highlight high levels of grip ( ya cant

be riding harder on streets than track )

3. ya long distance riding = commuting conflicts with ya ride ( do ya see ferrari

wear 'chap pang lang' brand tyres )

last but not least it doesnt bother me a single bit whether ya lived to see

tomorrow's sun rise but dont kill innocents be it pedestrians or fellow motorists

due to ya 'half bucket' knowledge and attitude strongly revealed in ya speech

there's totally nothing wrong not knowing but dont 'kay kiang'

Benevolence Is Invincible

Originally posted by tom3694@Sep 26 2005, 08:00 PM

alamak ya taking the wrong way

1. im refering to 929's hp exert on BT014 rubbers in wet ( level of grip )

2. gpr70 suitable for track was mentioned to highlight high levels of grip ( ya cant

be riding harder on streets than track )

3. ya long distance riding = commuting conflicts with ya ride ( do ya see ferrari

wear 'chap pang lang' brand tyres )

last but not least it doesnt bother me a single bit whether ya 

due to ya 'half bucket' knowledge and attitude strongly revealed in ya speech

there's totally nothing wrong not knowing but dont 'kay kiang'

haha... i not tat stupid to follow u not to lived to see

tomorrow's sun rise but dont kill innocents be it pedestrians or fellow motorists and also ur weird logic doesnt seem to make any sense to me...

And u tokin about ferrari, OMG!! Wat is it goin to do wit ferrari, y not tokin about aeroplane. I dun give a damn.

Pls read my question and that is which one suitable for myself and the road condition in locally. Sorry if i get wrong cos ur eng 'kaoz'... and the way u write is ***... cant really understand so 'Bo bian' i make a guess myself.

Btw if u think u so 'Kiang' then u should become 'a Tyre Seller' lo.. knowledge good doesnt mean u are damn good lor.. (Pls note) If i know, i wouldnt be in this forum and u arent to be here too..

A Pot calling a kettle black, u dun even know wat coolent for yet u come and lecture me le... wow u r damn NICE guy lo.....

Lastly learn from those ppl like eSPy`56 and Beavis08, juz give ur advice and leave ur own comments for ur self or maybe ppl like u ... quality to become 'a tyre'

seller'

Sorry btw u no need to reply cos i dun need ur advice... 'Lang kiang shou ho, mai kay kiang'

Originally posted by Beavis08@Sep 26 2005, 06:25 PM

r u a smoker? coz for my its simple, a cigarette time shld be juz nice, but of coz still hv to go slow not to rev too hight till temp goes to normal

huh.. i quit smokin le brother.. Mm.. i think i know wat to do le brother.. thank for ur advice.

Originally posted by eSPy`56@Sep 26 2005, 07:30 PM

BT 014 is Z rate tires, which means they're heavier becos they were designed for speeds 240km and above, which also means they have more steel threading inside and that adds unsprung weight to ur 400cc bike which is not the best and also the compound is different since they're suited for 240km/hr and above which would means 600cc and above since they got more torque and bhp..

I suggest u stick to H rate tires which the overall favourite is GPR 70 SP.. M1 might costs more but look at the tire, it's a Z rate tire.. so it costs more, since it's a higher end tire for higher end bikes..

GPR 70 SP can do track and touring..anytime anywhere...

Tested and proven by myself personally.

Mm... ok i think i know wat to get for my front tyre le.. thank guys..

Originally posted by davidww81@Sep 25 2005, 05:25 PM

try maxima cool-aide.

can be bought at motoworld . it cost $15.30. 1 bottle can use for 6 bikes i think

http://i133.photobucket.com/albums/q48/davidww81/gsxr400.jpg

2001 Kawasaki ZX150 FS9884K

2002 Aprilia RS125 FN8800K

2002-03 NSR150 FS7287Y

2003-04 Kawasaki ZX150 FT4246E

2004 ZXR400L8 FS8706Z

2005 Piaggio 125 FL6767Y

2005-06 CBR400RRR FQ3681D

2006-2007 Suzuki GSXR400MSP FK1005B

2006-2008 Wave-S FW4357C

Originally posted by Beavis08@Sep 26 2005, 06:25 PM

Agree! :thumb: a cig finish is juz nice for warm up which is normally 5min for me. But of coz in the morning i juz ride steadily to let my bike warm up better coz my journey is oni the most 20min ride

CBR400[:::::;;;;;>