Originally posted by blueblood@Jan 8 2006, 07:56 PM

so can I say, using the correct technique, I won't require steel braided brakehoses and double H sintered brakepads ?

==========

brake hose n braking tech got no link ma.

==========

if u change the brake hose and brake pad, the braking response will be diff..

if u squeeze too much on the better quanlity brake hose and pad as if u using yr OEM ones, pray hard u not at high speed or high speed cornering..

or u will demo a stoppie for everyone... and something extra too..

==========

err....

i agree with blueblood....

true that brake system and brake tech go hand in hand. but they are entirely different. got no link mah~

perhaps if u using a really gd brake system, u dun require much "advanced" tech. similarly, u need to be really good at braking techniques if u were to use lousy brake pads and disc...

with reference to golf, (if anyone read), tiger woods was complaining that with today's equipment, almost anyone can drive the ball further. and he was lamenting the return of old rules and equipment that will put more challenge in the game, so that those with bad techniques won't be able to drive the ball as far as those who are better at the game.

and on a more far-fetched note, the protagonist in Initial D relies more on technique than technology to win all the big-guns.... ;)

as such, which is why personally, i agree with blueblood that there is no link between the brake system and brake technique. they only go hand in hand...

well, perhaps i'm wrong... but this is how i interpret the discussion so far.... cos... steel braided hoses are there only to make it more convenient as you need not change ya normal OEM brake hoses as frequent as the steel braided ones as they last much longer and are more responsive.

since humans are alive, and the bike is dead, it is natural that techniques are adapted to suit the bike itself. so, different tech go with different bike configuration. so, i feel that there is no such thing as a universal correct or wrong technique that suits all bikes. just have to feel comfortable with yours and know whether to brake early or late for ya bike, or how hard to brake. :thumb:

hmmm.... don't flame me ah~ just my opinion.... :cheeky:

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

Originally posted by alpha82@Jan 9 2006, 06:22 PM

err....

i agree with blueblood....

true that brake system and brake tech go hand in hand. but they are entirely different. got no link mah~

perhaps if u using a really gd brake system, u dun require much "advanced" tech. similarly, u need to be really good at braking techniques if u were to use lousy brake pads and disc...

with reference to golf, (if anyone read), tiger woods was complaining that with today's equipment, almost anyone can drive the ball further. and he was lamenting the return of old rules and equipment that will put more challenge in the game, so that those with bad techniques won't be able to drive the ball as far as those who are better at the game.

and on a more far-fetched note, the protagonist in Initial D relies more on technique than technology to win all the big-guns.... ;)

as such, which is why personally, i agree with blueblood that there is no link between the brake system and brake technique. they only go hand in hand...

well, perhaps i'm wrong... but this is how i interpret the discussion so far.... cos... steel braided hoses are there only to make it more convenient as you need not change ya normal OEM brake hoses as frequent as the steel braided ones as they last much longer and are more responsive.

since humans are alive, and the bike is dead, it is natural that techniques are adapted to suit the bike itself. so, different tech go with different bike configuration. so, i feel that there is no such thing as a universal correct or wrong technique that suits all bikes. just have to feel comfortable with yours and know whether to brake early or late for ya bike, or how hard to brake. :thumb:

hmmm.... don't flame me ah~ just my opinion.... :cheeky:

:cheer: :smile:

Aprilia RS 125

Honda NSR 150SP

Honda CBR 400RRR

Suzuki GSXR 1000K4

KIA Cerato Forte 1.6SX

Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0GT

Yamaha YZF-R6 12

Originally posted by misterbean@Jan 9 2006, 12:18 PM

For carb wash and tuning, look for Ah Hock at Combine Motors ... your bike will get some tender loving care and it will feel ... very different :D

wheres combine motors? think my carb kanan water liao due to this few days rain.

how much is it thanks :cheer:

Aprilia RS 125

Honda NSR 150SP

Honda CBR 400RRR

Suzuki GSXR 1000K4

KIA Cerato Forte 1.6SX

Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0GT

Yamaha YZF-R6 12

Originally posted by Aalex82@Jan 9 2006, 12:11 PM

if u squeeze too much on the better quanlity brake hose and

pad as if u using yr OEM ones, pray hard u not at high speed

or high speed cornering..

or u will demo a stoppie for everyone...

the faster ya go the more ya need the better braking response ( braided hose and

good pads )

in the process of high speed cornering ya suppose to tap lightly to bleed off speed

once squeezed hard the bike will 'stand up' runnin wide ya sure wanna do that in

fast sweeper or bend??

our babyblade weight close to 200kg ( fuel, water etc ) it takes more than

coincidence to have stoppie performed :confused:

Benevolence Is Invincible

Originally posted by alpha82@Jan 9 2006, 06:22 PM

perhaps if u using a really gd brake system, u dun require much "advanced" tech. similarly, u need to be really good at braking techniques if u were to use lousy brake pads and disc.

as such, which is why personally, i agree with blueblood that there is no link between the brake system and brake technique. they only go hand in hand..

steel braided hoses are there only to make it more convenient as you need not change ya normal OEM brake hoses as frequent as the steel braided ones as they last much longer and are more responsive.

how about good brake system + good technique = 10 meters

good brake system + lously technique = 15 meters

lously brake system + lously technique = 20 meters

the bloody taxi jammed brakes infront to pick up passenger which distance do

ya prefer to have :confused:

if my memories served me well Initial D is about sliding not so much on brakes

the character's AE86 is being chassis strengthened with strut bars, engine fine

tuned, uprated brakes, good tyres etc in order to pull of such a feat

contrary when he drove the other ordinary AE86 ended up in 'ka lang ka bok'

manner

oem brake hose need to change every 4 years irregardless of condition

xxx steel braided hoses wont gave life time warranty for nothing and cost less

than 300 bucks surely our lifes worth more than that right o_O

anyway, i'm just voicing my opinion abt technique and brake system. initial D analogy was there to illustrate technique and technology (not brake). when i wrote, it was with regards to "so can I say, using the correct technique, I won't require steel braided brakehoses and double H sintered brakepads?"

anyway, if a taxi really did that, and u jammed brake... i think more likely u'd skid.... :p so... better tyres? hmmm... what tyres you guys using uh!? BT090 seems to skid easy on dry road when u do e-brake~ :(

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

Originally posted by eSPy`56@Jan 8 2006, 10:32 AM

so can I say, using the correct technique, I won't require steel braided brakehoses and double H sintered brakepads ?

haha.. tat question i also dun know how to ask u... it up to u to decide

For me if i riding Class two then perhare i need it... powerful bike better brake pad... better respond..For us Cbr .. think no need la.. my bike also wouldnt fly tat far compare to R1...

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

Originally posted by eSPy`56@Jan 8 2006, 11:34 PM

why no link ? is the brakehose part of your braking system ?

Do u use all of ur braking system when u apply ur brakes ?

ya even how good ur brake pad is.. if ur brake pressure is not right.. u gonna get into trouble.....

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

Originally posted by kuanz@Jan 9 2006, 10:21 AM

Oh... i didn't ask you all to introduce when i saw you all at dam.. which one is you? did you talk to me at the dam that day? i have a friend whose cbr also same paintwork.. i didn't see you at planet that day.. didn't notice what's going on at planet.. :sweat:

o ok.. dun really confirm is u .. but saw a 'BUS' on the fairing..

No juz doin some touch up on planet...

i did tok to u tat time.. u the one who approach me......

Originally posted by shin19@Jan 9 2006, 11:13 AM

Hi guys.. Have some pricing to ask the experince CBR riders here.. :cheeky: I just bought my cbr from a fellow cbr lover here, was so in love with it.. so want to do some servicing and stuffs.. need help from you all as i dont wana get chop... :cry: Eh.. so how much will it cost for:

1) A full servicing? ( What does it include? )

2) Grounding?

3) Hel Brake?

4) 1 headlight? (My headlight cover is cracked )

and which motordiam do you all recommend? thinking of going to planet.

Thx alot in advance... Will appreciate it... :cheer:

Mm.. head light tat time i change a second hand wan.... come with blacket also..cost me 30 bucks...

:thumb: and clear...

SHUFU...

Originally posted by Aalex82@Jan 9 2006, 12:11 PM

if u change the brake hose and brake pad, the braking response will be diff..

if u squeeze too much on the better quanlity brake hose and pad as if u using yr OEM ones, pray hard u not at high speed or high speed cornering..

or u will demo a stoppie for everyone... and something extra too..

haha.!!! stoppie on the expressway...

Never c before... hope u it wouldnt happen...

My friends intro me to buy Daytona rather than Hel.. respond good and cheap

Any comments!!!

Originally posted by misterbean@Jan 9 2006, 12:18 PM

For carb wash and tuning, look for Ah Hock at Combine Motors ... your bike will get some tender loving care and it will feel ... very different :D

Sorri any idea where is conbine moto?

Originally posted by alpha82@Jan 9 2006, 09:13 PM

anyway, i'm just voicing my opinion abt technique and brake system. initial D analogy was there to illustrate technique and technology (not brake). when i wrote, it was with regards to "so can I say, using the correct technique, I won't require steel braided brakehoses and double H sintered brakepads?"

anyway, if a taxi really did that, and u jammed brake... i think more likely u'd skid.... :p so... better tyres? hmmm... what tyres you guys using uh!? BT090 seems to skid easy on dry road when u do e-brake~ :(

haha initial D is all about technology and Drifting manner..

anywae..... it all about safety, wat for risk ur life rather than get one which will free urself from endanger ur life and road user

No hard feelin bro.. juz my comments...

izzit.. i thought Bt090 is the best among battlax version

Dun really noe cos i using Dragon Cosa

Originally posted by honam24@Jan 9 2006, 10:42 PM

For me if i riding Class two then perhare i need it... powerful bike better brake pad... better respond..For us Cbr .. think no need la.. my bike also wouldnt fly tat far compare to R1...

What about unsprung weight ? Less unsprung weight = less force needed to stop.

Originally posted by honam24@Jan 9 2006, 10:44 PM

ya even how good ur brake pad is.. if ur brake pressure is not right.. u gonna get into trouble.....

How do u apply all the finger pressure to your brakes when u're using OEM rubber hoses ? Rubber hoses will lose some of the pressure u applied from ur lever because they expand under pressure.

Unless u tell me ur finger can apply the correct amount of pressure irregardless of the rubber hose expanding.

Originally posted by eSPy`56@Jan 9 2006, 11:50 PM

How do u apply all the finger pressure to your brakes when u're using OEM rubber hoses ? Rubber hoses will lose some of the pressure u applied from ur lever because they expand under pressure.

Unless u tell me ur finger can apply the correct amount of pressure irregardless of the rubber hose expanding.

I using OEM rubber hoses .. nothing seem happen to me til now....

Originally posted by eSPy`56@Jan 9 2006, 11:47 PM

What about unsprung weight ? Less unsprung weight = less force needed to stop.

huh i dun know le.. if u dun mind please explain ur theory....

Originally posted by eSPy`56@Jan 9 2006, 11:50 PM

Does those bike in driving centre also using OEM rubber hose..?

Originally posted by honam24@Jan 10 2006, 04:42 PM

Does those bike in driving centre also using OEM rubber hose..?

First U say "until now nothing happen" , then now u say " driving centres bikes" if driving centre bikes are equipped with SS hoses, are u willing to pay more for your practical lessons ? IMO, to almost everyone is "no" anyway, Driving centre bikes are for learning purposes and not a bike u would ride around everyday or to track.

what I'm saying is, under alot of stress and pressure, the rubber hoses are going to expand and at that point how will u apply ur correct technique ? Cos even if u're going to do that, the hoses will expel certain amount of pressure off because of expanding.

Originally posted by honam24@Jan 10 2006, 04:39 PM

huh i dun know le.. if u dun mind please explain ur theory....

uhh, nevermind. U will probably come out with another new theory of urs.

Originally posted by honam24@Jan 9 2006, 09:42 PM

So in that bold sentence, u mean ur life is cheaper than a R1 rider who would rather invest abit more to keep his body intact??

Try using a pair of rubber hose until it expand over heat and you will understand why rubber sucks big time..And that's the sole reason why i switch to Hel hose and EBC HH pads...

Even sp riders are changing to SS hose..And i dont mean those colourful nut sh*t which cost $40 with installation for cosmetic purpose...

initial D analogy was there to illustrate technique and technology (not brake). when i wrote, it was with regards to "so can I say, using the correct technique, I won't require steel braided brakehoses and double H sintered brakepads?"

anyway, if a taxi really did that, and u jammed brake... i

think more likely u'd skid....

BT090 seems to skid easy on dry road when u do e-brake

sorry my man based on disscusions no offence :smile:

Initial D doesnt exist in real life no one in the right frame of mind would drive in

blazing speed around the down-slope of a mountainous road with a unprepped car

that would be sucidal :sian:

1 mistake ya on your way to meet ya makers or worse end up losing limbs

over the years i seen or heard morons went to devils bend 99 end up crashing

flew over railings ( its ugly sight ) it kind of haunted there as unknown numbers

been killed so avoid it after dark ( i always do )

the track is where ya strut stuff if ya have it

correct technique = rider ( which kind of level is up to individual to improve )

braided hoses and HH pads = tools ( best money can buy off the shelve )

now if ya attentive and appreciate the conditions of road and environment ( what

cars on ya left and right ,front and rear , male and female driver ) maintain safe

distance now the taxi jammed to pick up passenger fish-tailed for ya ride yes but

skidded i dont think so ( wrong technique ya suppose to squeeze hard till the rear

side stepped then let go squeeze again firmly ) with legs grab hard at tanks both

hands straighten

alternatively ya could squeeze hard to bleed off speed then flip to the right side of

taxi to avoid collision at most take out his mirror rather full rear-butted him

as for rubbers try GPR70 SP front 120 rear 150

Originally posted by shin19@Jan 9 2006, 11:13 AM

1) A full servicing? ( What does it include? )

2) Grounding?

3) Hel Brake?

4) 1 headlight? (My headlight cover is cracked )

for full servicing includes - 4 spark plug ( stick with red colour box oem )

engine oil ( try motul or maxima )

oil filter

flushing radiator

bleed of brake fluids

HEl brake hose plus HH pads eliminates flex in hose and reduce braking distance

our babyblades with 60 ponies need it badly

new headlight cost $75 each try change both arboh beri ugly :sian:

( i know some would say aiyah why bother sooner or later upgrade class 2 liao

spend so much for what )

got no respect for ya ride the ride got no respect for ya catch my drift

ps: try going out with a girl with small left tit and right big tit :confused: