Originally posted by blueblood@May 30 2006, 08:14 PM

ur insurance is expensive. which company?

ur interest is also damn high. wat shop ah?

ya For my third party, it only $225... It should be more cheaper (unless urs covered Third party Fire and Thief)

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

Originally posted by NightKid@May 30 2006, 08:37 PM

u've got a pm.. :smile:

yup.. i sent u le.

thank and sorri for all the trouble..

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

Originally posted by NightKid@May 30 2006, 08:47 PM

dunno lehz... i oso hope to noe the reason behind it... but that day i personally saw the mechanic did the carb sycronisation tuning on my bike already... den after tuning when he blow my bike theres really quite an amount of white smoke... hahaa.... or maybe its due to the air intake open to big??

the shop did changed my gear 6 for me cos the teeth abit worn out already, but the main reason causing my gear problem was actually the gear fork... there are 3 forks, in which 1 of the fork was so badly scratched... :giddy:

Smoke a lot cos inproper combustion of fuel...

Originally posted by blueblood@May 30 2006, 06:38 PM

great man. cant wait for it :thumb:

but organiser bike come back liao? :confused:

ops.. sorri i forgot.. We cant go with our important guest. (Shell advance Racer.)

Originally posted by blueblood@May 30 2006, 09:43 PM

is it? i tot his bike in icu? :confused:

maybe he went there using RVF...

Originally posted by NightKid@May 30 2006, 10:31 PM

ya hor... forgot i saw his bike at the mototiam few days ago only... :cheeky:

Which moto tiam is tat huh....

hahaaha... shell advance racer... *chuckle* cute~~~

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

Leave bike not running for a few days, then when u start, u rev your bike sure got white smoke one. isnt?

when the mech juz put back my engine and start my bike up to rev, really got quite alot of white smoke... today when im riding and start up my cold engine no smoke coming out at all... so i think should be fine ba... think problem lies wif my tuning... bike not smooth at all... should going to get a decent tuning done soon...

Originally posted by DeathInc2004@May 30 2006, 07:33 PM

Hi guys. Glad to know that ther are CBR 400 "personal thread". Currently waiting for my TP and I wanna get a CBR too when I pass. As usual, I have been "shopping around" and I found this bike. I was quoted below:

Machine Price - $ 4600/- nett

(FM Plate)

1) GST- Inclusive

2) I.U Unit - Inclusive

3) Roadtax - Inclusive of 6 months

4) COE - 07/2015

5) Insurance - $ 470 for 25 years ( Third Party )

6) Interest - 8 % per annum

7) Minimum downpayment - $ 1000 /-

8) Installment - max up to 36 months

9) Any other payments required - Documentation Fees $ 150 ( Applicable if under HP scheme )

Is this a good or reasonable deal? And what should I look out for/pay attention to should I decide to take the bike?

Any help by future CBR-ians will be fully appreciated.

I got my bike for $4.4k on the road, and its a R model.

No paperwork or admin fees are charge to me.

I've got a 2 mth warranty period from the bike shop.

Got a full servicing from the bike shop.

I remember one of my friend did tell me, if you wanna get a second bike, find out how many owner does the bike had b4.

Hey guys, have got a question about the insurance for the bike...

I was comparing my insurance with 2 of my friends just now. One of them took the insurance from the same insurance company (NTUC) as me, but our premium is different.

I'm going to 23 this year, riding experience 1yr + and a third party with no NCD, my premium was $329

My friend is 24 this year, riding experience (i forgot to ask), third party with 15% NCD, and his premium was $400+.

Izzit because i got the bike from a bike shop, and the insurance company offer discount for the bike shop for insurance, cos my friend got his bike from a seller?

Originally posted by NightKid@May 30 2006, 10:27 PM

wah... jialat liao... my bike emit white smoke...... give out white smoke means wad problem??

heard that white smoke means piston ring wore off or coolant go inside e.o

Aprilia RS 125

Honda NSR 150SP

Honda CBR 400RRR

Suzuki GSXR 1000K4

KIA Cerato Forte 1.6SX

Mitsubishi Lancer EX 2.0GT

Yamaha YZF-R6 12

NightKid:

White smoke is alright if you just start your bike in the morning when its cool. If you notice, most car exhaust will have white smoke in the morning when they are driving in the car park and some even drip water. Thats water vapor in the exhaust header and muffler which turn into steam when your engine warms up in the morning.

But if your bike produce lots of white smoke (usually at high rev even when idling) then thats a sign of worned off piston ring. The piston ring leaks and engine oil rises to the combustion chamber and burns incompletely to turn into white smoke. If serious case, the compression will drop significantly and result in lost of power which u may be experiencing now (or maybe ur is due to clutch pi worn off). Ride for few more weeks and feel it. If it gets more serious for the drop in power especially on upslope and ur rpm is higher for the speed for each gear, then confirm is clutch pi. Piston ring leak is not a big problem. Its a wear and tear, so dont worry. Many people ride with piston ring leaking.

In fact the 17 year old hurricane I rode up to Genting also have piston ring leaking. But its not so serious until the power lost is very significant. But nevertheless, I can feel the compression drop especially when overtaking at high speed from 180km/h accelerating to 200km/h. The power comes half a second slower.

If piston ring leaks is serious, the engine oil burned off will be of significant amount and u will have to always check and top up engine oil frequently like every 2-3 weeks. And if serious case, u will be travelling on engine oil instead of petrol...haha. The hurricane I am riding piston ring is leaking very very slowly only. Only top up 5-10ml engine oil every 4-6 weeks. Actually can dont top up also since its not burning so fast that the engine oil level will drop low until it become too dry inside.

X1R for sale: Fully stock Oct 2010 mileage 20k $6.5k

Originally posted by blueblood@May 31 2006, 08:51 AM

heard that white smoke means piston ring wore off or coolant go inside e.o

To check whether is coolant go inside. When u change engine oil, look at the used engine oil. If u can see shiny or colorful liquid floating on the engine oil, thats the coolant.

To solve this, just change the coolant-engine gasket. Also monitor the cooling system, it is most slightly the heat which cost the break. So check the thermostat, coolant pump, flush coolant.

In some strange case, too much engine oil may cause gasket break also. Too much engine oil cause less air available on top of the engine oil sump and the pressure will become greater when the internal heats up. When there is too little air there, the pressure is too great and the gaskets give way.

X1R for sale: Fully stock Oct 2010 mileage 20k $6.5k

thanks for all those knowledge imparting xiaogary... my bike now doesnt really seem to emit white smoke anymore already... only problem is the power surge when i open throttle seems to come half a sec slower... guess i really have to go get my bike checked again by a reliable mech soon... hopefully its juz some minor tuning problems... :cheeky:

Originally posted by NightKid@May 31 2006, 05:26 AM

when the mech juz put back my engine and start my bike up to rev, really got quite alot of white smoke... today when im riding and start up my cold engine no smoke coming out at all... so i think should be fine ba... think problem lies wif my tuning... bike not smooth at all... should going to get a decent tuning done soon...

think before u pull out that bike , that never do the setting for u lo.. tat y it not tat smooth.

Originally posted by myusha@May 31 2006, 06:01 AM

I got my bike for $4.4k on the road, and its a R model.

No paperwork or admin fees are charge to me.

I've got a 2 mth warranty period from the bike shop.

Got a full servicing from the bike shop.

I remember one of my friend did tell me, if you wanna get a second bike, find out how many owner does the bike had b4.

Usually the bike shop only give one month, but yrs managed to get two months.. Mm.. not bad.

Originally posted by myusha@May 31 2006, 06:10 AM

I was comparing my insurance with 2 of my friends just now. One of them took the insurance from the same insurance company (NTUC) as me, but our premium is different.

I'm going to 23 this year, riding experience 1yr + and a third party with no NCD, my premium was $329

My friend is 24 this year, riding experience (i forgot to ask), third party with 15% NCD, and his premium was $400+.

Izzit because i got the bike from a bike shop, and the insurance company offer discount for the bike shop for insurance, cos my friend got his bike from a seller?

Nope, if u go directly to NTUC insurance company, u get more discount, called direct Discount 5% more.

I. 24, riding experience coming to Six yrs, NCD 20%, plus Loyality 5% plus Direct another 5% more so total 30%, which cost me $225 for third pirty.

For ur friend's case maybe he had claimed the insurance company before, so it slightly higher

Originally posted by Artistic@May 31 2006, 02:55 PM

anyone can recommend places to do tuning? venue ,skill,price? thx in advance :thumb:

U can try SAnfu which is located at kaki bukit ave 1. Shun li industrial park.

I realised the way the wash and tune ur carb was carefully done. The outcome is fantastic. i can feel the difference before and after. The price is also reasonable ,$70..

Originally posted by NightKid@May 31 2006, 04:22 PM

thanks for all those knowledge imparting xiaogary... my bike now doesnt really seem to emit white smoke anymore already... only problem is the power surge when i open throttle seems to come half a sec slower... guess i really have to go get my bike checked again by a reliable mech soon... hopefully its juz some minor tuning problems... :cheeky:

Maybe is the throttle ..

Originally posted by Aalex82@May 31 2006, 03:10 AM

if i nv remember wrongly, planet charge 280 for a coil and gasket..

go hkl...200++ only!!

Originally posted by myusha@May 31 2006, 06:10 AM

yesterday outing was fun....weiqiang make my day!!

haha!!

:smile: :cheeky:

Originally posted by NightKid@May 31 2006, 05:29 AM

alrite... i've got it... will burn it out when i have the time... :smile:

if u burn the photo fast plus pass to me

,i can consider do up your tunning...hee hee

:smile: :thumb: