Is it worth to lane split just to save on ERP and Time ?  

9 members have voted

1. 1. Is it worth to lane split just to save on ERP and Time ?

• Yes
    • No

Hi fellas, good morning to all

A few days back as I was riding to work, queuing up in lanes just like a car, and happen to see a rider lane splitting. As usual, just had a thought, if I were to lane split, i might be able to save on the ERP fees. Next thing I know, the rider hit something and was on the ground. Stopped my bike and helped the rider up, and push his bike to the shoulder. Luckily there wasn't much damage done to the car that he hit, but his bike suffered a bit of damage. When I asked him why was he in a rush, he actually said he was rushing to siam ERP.

Is it actually worth it ? To lane split ? I myself do that sometimes if I know I can make it in time before the gantry starts, but I limit myself to only doing it till I reach the gantry, once over, I will go back in lane and queue with the cars if i have to.

So let's assume the rate @ 7.45am, the timing most people would be on the road.

If i'm not wrong, the ERP rate at 7.45am is $1.50.

1 day = $1.50

1 week = $7.50

1 month = $30

Share your opinions riders.

Ride safe everyone.

2014 - current Kawasaki KLX 125

• Replies 112

TS , u might as well write, is it worth to ride bike if accident happens ?

True, but by not lane splitting, we can minimize the risk of getting into an accident, of course, you can say, by not riding, we can totally avoid an accident, haha.

1st lane - Taxi and gundu drivers who will not give way

Middle of this lane - 135cc Jb riders with mirrors folded in.

2nd lane - Lorry and goods van going at 60kph

3rd lane - Gundu

4th lane - Gundu

5th lane - More gundus

Edited by Hydher

To that person, $1.50 might mean something to him.

You will be surprised that there are still locals around bringing home less than $800 a month.

Well to start your ride with such a though will only make you frustrated and ride dangerously.

1st lane - Taxi and gundu drivers who will not give way

Middle of this lane - 135cc Jb riders with mirrors folded in.

2nd lane - Lorry and goods van going at 60kph

3rd lane - Gundu

4th lane - Gundu

5th lane - More gundus

This made me laugh.

To that person, $1.50 might mean something to him.

You will be surprised that there are still locals around bringing home less than $800 a month.

Well to start your ride with such a though will only make you frustrated and ride dangerously.

After I witness his misfortune, it got me thinking, probably just pay that additional $30 a month to lessen the risk than getting into accident and paying a few hundreds for repair, or worse, paying with our life. Gonan try to kick the habit of lane split, you're right, the frustration about getting to the gantry on time and worrying if you can make it or not does distract a person to a certain extend.

To save $1.50,he'll have to cough up more then $1.50 to pay for the repairs for his bike.And injuries on himself if any.

True,he may have done this for quite some time now.Saving $30/mth. Say he's been doing this for 6 months. 6 X $30=$180. And then you saw him getting into an accident.Do you think $180 is enough to fix the damages on his bike? 6 months of rushing to siam the ERP,but 1 accident is enough.

22 May 2014 - Passed TP (1st attempt)

28 May 2014 - Pulsar 200 NS (FBH2***Y)

To save $1.50,he'll have to cough up more then $1.50 to pay for the repairs for his bike.And injuries on himself if any.

True,he may have done this for quite some time now.Saving $30/mth. Say he's been doing this for 6 months. 6 X $30=$180. And then you saw him getting into an accident.Do you think $180 is enough to fix the damages on his bike? 6 months of rushing to siam the ERP,but 1 accident is enough.

Yep, tried not to lane split today, paid double the erp, stuck in the jam as there was 2 accidents, reach home almost 30 mins late, but no near miss or anything as I was behaving like a car, probably some drivers or riders will think I'm stupid to queue hahaha.

I also wait behind cars while waiting for the traffic lights to turn green.UNLESS there is a really large gap between them,then i'll slowly ride to the front.

Who cares what other people think.Its your safety and life,not theirs.I rather get laughed at for queuing on a bike then regret while lying in the hospital

Edited by kicson

I do not lane split to save ERP. But I do lane split when there is a jam or when cars are moving slowly at 20-30km/hr. When travelling at 90km/hr or so, I think must be out of mind to lane split in my opinion. Most of the accidents are caused due to this I guess.

Ha. im doing the exact same thing you're doing.Lane splitting at slow speed.Easier to control and even if you get into an accident,the injuries wouldn't be as bad as the ones you'll sustain at 90km/hr

I also wait behind cars while waiting for the traffic lights to turn green.UNLESS there is a really large gap between them,then i'll slowly ride to the front.

Who cares what other people think.Its your safety and life,not theirs.I rather get laughed at for queuing on a bike then regret while lying in the hospital

Ha. im doing the exact same thing you're doing.Lane splitting at slow speed.Easier to control and even if you get into an accident,the injuries wouldn't be as bad as the ones you'll sustain at 90km/hr

Got to try that, i'm ok with getting stuck during a jam, but it's so freaking hot, probably gonna start lane split again, just like both of you, lane splitting at slow speed.

TS ride a class 2 under the hot sun , and dun lane spilit in a jam . i wil like to see that lol

Haha, no chance yet, 2 years later, provided i pass 2a and 2 with 1 try, 2b no need hot sun i already pek cek liao.

Previously ERPs are only on expressways but now govt like %^$%#$^% still wanna put ERP on normal roads.

I'm sure there are routes that you can avoid ERP but get more traffic lights and slower moving vehicles. You can even set it on google map/waze.

As for lane splitting I think most does it la. I also lane split with my hazard light on.

Like what our bros say, just pay. Better than paying 100x the amount of repairs, bills, etc.

Previously ERPs are only on expressways but now govt like %^$%#$^% still wanna put ERP on normal roads.

I'm sure there are routes that you can avoid ERP but get more traffic lights and slower moving vehicles. You can even set it on google map/waze.

As for lane splitting I think most does it la. I also lane split with my hazard light on.

Like what our bros say, just pay. Better than paying 100x the amount of repairs, bills, etc.

Have not try to avoid erp so far, did see some alternate routes, but will probably reach the destination a lot later than planned. Lane split and pay erp then defeat the purpose liao haha, the rider lane split to avoid paying.

Think the issue here isn't about lane splitting to save on ERP charges. But rather poor time planning that led to him rushing, thus ending up in an accident.

Bad time planning and management will lead to rushing on the road, doesn't need to be rushing to beat ERP. It could be rushing to sch, to beat the rain, rushing to meet friends etc. Even if he wasn't lane splitting, the fact that he was rushing for something might mean that he would probably have ended up in an accident, lane splitting or not.

Lane splitting is safe if done responsibly. If that rider wasn't rushing, he might have been going 5kmph slower during his filtering, but it could mean being able to spot the hazard, react to it and avoid it completely.

Like some of the rest said, I'd rather be drenched to the bone, 30 min late and a few dollars poorer in ERP/petrol than dead or in hospital.

Think the issue here isn't about lane splitting to save on ERP charges. But rather poor time planning that led to him rushing, thus ending up in an accident.

Bad time planning and management will lead to rushing on the road, doesn't need to be rushing to beat ERP. It could be rushing to sch, to beat the rain, rushing to meet friends etc. Even if he wasn't lane splitting, the fact that he was rushing for something might mean that he would probably have ended up in an accident, lane splitting or not.

Lane splitting is safe if done responsibly. If that rider wasn't rushing, he might have been going 5kmph slower during his filtering, but it could mean being able to spot the hazard, react to it and avoid it completely.

Like some of the rest said, I'd rather be drenched to the bone, 30 min late and a few dollars poorer in ERP/petrol than dead or in hospital.

Nice speech you got there, yep, but on the road, you do see people lane splitting at ridiculous speed, regardless of if he's in a rush or not.

And I have always been early to set off for work, but once in a while, there will be jams here and there that would slow my journey down and kena some erp :p

Nice speech you got there, yep, but on the road, you do see people lane splitting at ridiculous speed, regardless of if he's in a rush or not.

And I have always been early to set off for work, but once in a while, there will be jams here and there that would slow my journey down and kena some erp :p

Perhaps when you have more riding experience OTR you will know why riders really lane split. :rolleyes:

As for me it is to get as far away from the goondoo drivers and to spend lesser time OTR. The more time you are OTR to get from point A to point B the higher your chances of getting in trouble with goondoo drivers. Our roads have an abundance of goondoo drivers rather than considerate and cautious ones. But that is my take on things. Agree or disagree is up to you. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Perhaps when you have more riding experience OTR you will know why riders really lane split. :rolleyes:

As for me it is to get as far away from the goondoo drivers and to spend lesser time OTR. The more time you are OTR to get from point A to point B the higher your chances of getting in trouble with goondoo drivers. Our roads have an abundance of goondoo drivers rather than considerate and cautious ones. But that is my take on things. Agree or disagree is up to you. :cool:

Your life your know. Worth the risk?

Riding a bike is already a risk. The only time I got into an accident was not lane splitting nor speeding but staying in lane. :rolleyes:

I do not know about you but I never want to end up this way. Do you? :cool:

http://s27.postimg.org/8vvcxjhzz/image.jpg

Edited by duo

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Riding a bike is already a risk. The only time I got into an accident was not lane splitting nor speeding and staying in lane. :rolleyes:

I do not know about you but I never want to end up this way. Do you? :cool:

http://s27.postimg.org/8vvcxjhzz/image.jpg

The only time i ever got close to an accident was also like what you said.Not lane splitting nor speeding.

Was riding behind a lorry when suddenly a wooden block appeared from beneath the lorry.Must have been dropped by some other lorry.Cars can drive over them as long as their wheels don't go over the wooden block. I was still wondering what was that when my bike went over the wooden block at around 30km/hr. Wobbled for a little.Had both legs on the ground already.Managed to stable the bike and ride off without falling.Only injuries i got was a 3 cm scratch on my calf from my brake pedals..

Nonetheless,it all comes down to the riding style and a little bit of luck in play.

Nice, never thought of it that way, the more time spent on the road, the more expose you are, i do understand why riders lane split, but lane split to escape paying ERP, 1st time hearing of that, so that's why i created this thread to hear about all of our reviews, but i still like the way you put it, more time on the road, more expose you're.

Like he mention, riding is already a risk, but what we can do is to reduce it, although most of the times are car drivers not checking and doing their ****, but there are chances the accident can by cause by our own, like 1 of the riders above mentioning, having a troubled mind while riding. This thread actually thought me new stuff, new way of thinking, that will help me in future.

The only time i ever got close to an accident was also like what you said.Not lane splitting nor speeding.

Was riding behind a lorry when suddenly a wooden block appeared from beneath the lorry.Must have been dropped by some other lorry.Cars can drive over them as long as their wheels don't go over the wooden block. I was still wondering what was that when my bike went over the wooden block at around 30km/hr. Wobbled for a little.Had both legs on the ground already.Managed to stable the bike and ride off without falling.Only injuries i got was a 3 cm scratch on my calf from my brake pedals..

Nonetheless,it all comes down to the riding style and a little bit of luck in play.

Phew, good to hear that, for me, my first accident, got it during lane split, was lane splitting and this lorry just signaled and lane changed to the right, and all of a sudden, the right lane started to brake, so he braked as well, and i tried to brake, but not enough time to slow down safely, so i squeezed the front brakes, wobbled, and fell. Didn't hit the lorry though, he just drove off, probably didn't even know something happened.