Honda Varadero 125

no offend, but just my 2 cents worth of view

that verado 125 bike sucks

top can only go up to 120

that is wat my fren who is riding this bike tells me,

with that kind of price i rather spent it on a 150cc bike like SP or KRR

or a 400cc or 250cc bike like PGM , CBR etc

well no worried, none taken

When we talk about bike, what quantifys that a bike is 'good' or not?

If its 'top speed = good bike', Then for 2B bike 'Kawa.Kips' is the best bike There is.

I've tried riding my friends Kips, its has Fantastic pickup, but the bike posture ain't so good.. (But this is really preference)

Yep top i can get my bike to go is 120km... (but then again... in sg, how fast can u go?) Most of the time at MAX we can only 'legally' go 100, Even at 110... i get nerveous and keep a lookout for TPs... but if your issue is 'What if your going to malayisa' then well maybe this is not the best bike to get. If you plan to do lots of speeding there...but then again .i dont go beyond 110km...

i agree for 9500, getting SP or KIPS is a better deal (if and only IF your looking and want a sports bike...but i do not want a bike where i 'cant' put a box (i guess u could put a box on kips but it would look awful wont it)

Actually with 9500 can get a very powerful super4 but then again...? If you want to compare this bike with other 200 and above bike then of course abit unfair..

Varadero125 Was Specific-ly design for the NEW Learning Riders. (totally Perfect for me WHos a new 5 month old rider)

My hight is 1.75m and the posture i get on vara125 is great compared ot kips...

the 'power' is perfect for begainners.. like me

the high seat means i get a better look on the road.. the bike is extremely comfortable, and easy handling and virtually no viberations, and the engine is damm quiet!

a Big bike feel for New riders who can get a big bike yet..

its prefect for me.. but what works for me might not work for you..

• Replies 120

no offend, but just my 2 cents worth of view

that verado 125 bike sucks

top can only go up to 120

that is wat my fren who is riding this bike tells me,

with that kind of price i rather spent it on a 150cc bike like SP or KRR

or a 400cc or 250cc bike like PGM , CBR etc

well no worried, none taken

When we talk about bike, what quantifys that a bike is 'good' or not?

If its 'top speed = good bike', Then for 2B bike 'Kawa.Kips' is the best bike There is.

I've tried riding my friends Kips, its has Fantastic pickup, but the bike posture ain't so good.. (But this is really preference)

Yep top i can get my bike to go is 120km... (but then again... in sg, how fast can u go?) Most of the time at MAX we can only 'legally' go 100, Even at 110... i get nerveous and keep a lookout for TPs... but if your issue is 'What if your going to malayisa' then well maybe this is not the best bike to get. If you plan to do lots of speeding there...but then again .i dont go beyond 110km...

i agree for 9500, getting SP or KIPS is a better deal (if and only IF your looking and want a sports bike...but i do not want a bike where i 'cant' put a box (i guess u could put a box on kips but it would look awful wont it)

Actually with 9500 can get a very powerful super4 but then again...? If you want to compare this bike with other 200 and above bike then of course abit unfair..

Varadero125 Was Specific-ly design for the NEW Learning Riders. (totally Perfect for me WHos a new 5 month old rider)

My hight is 1.75m and the posture i get on vara125 is great compared ot kips...

the 'power' is perfect for begainners.. like me

the high seat means i get a better look on the road.. the bike is extremely comfortable, and easy handling and virtually no viberations, and the engine is damm quiet!

a Big bike feel for New riders who can get a big bike yet..

its prefect for me.. but what works for me might not work for you..

yeah fren i agree with you :)

i have tried the bike , its quite and steady thats wat is gd about it

but too bad its not suitable for me kekeke as i like bikes with more power

and the price is a bit ex.

anyway luck ride carefully cheers

TZR 125 - Feb 2002 to Mar 2002

KR 150 - Mar 2002 to Feb 2003

CG 125 - Feb 2003 to Mar 2003

GSXR 400 MSP - Mar 2003 to Jun 2004

R1 2001 - Jun 2004 to Jun 2006

X1 Supreme -Jun 2006 - July 2007

SYM GTS200 - July 2007 - Dec 2008

Toyota Vios MSM mobbed - Mar 2007 - Present

Spark 135 - Dec 2008 - Present

Team Brother Bike

hi guys cool finally found vara riders!!!!!

Anyway anyone know where in can get the undercowl for the vara 125??

Cant seem to find it in sg.

And can the vara be attached with side boxes??

If it can wheres a good place to fix one?

hi guys cool finally found vara riders!!!!!

Anyway anyone know where in can get the undercowl for the vara 125??

Cant seem to find it in sg.

And can the vara be attached with side boxes??

If it can wheres a good place to fix one?

side boxes, if im not mistaken (at motorworld)

under cowl.. cant remember where vtr125 might know..

but its kind of pricy to get in sg ( me and vtr125 got it from UK, or rather vtr125 ordered in from uk..) after postage etc .. it cost each of us $288

he told me thereis a shop in sh selling it for about $320...

if your a poly manufacturing student.. u might be able to make it...

just want to say 'keep up the good work' on keeping the XL125 image ....seems like the bike has gotten lotsa fans ever since 2001...

Hi vt125,

Looks like things are well with what i've been reading...Really miss that bike. very good bike.

well take care and drive safely u guys :cheer: .

Mini-dero out.

2001-2003 > Honda Varadero XL125 (Reliable companion)

2006 - Now > Honda S4 Vtec (Speedy transport)

hey mimi-dero, no problem for me, anytime u missed your bike just give me a ring, you can have it for a fun ride.

So far i've added a tank-bra and the under-cowl, it looks great!

I've been asked by i think 5 or more public riders who stopped beside me at traffic lights about the cc of the bike. know what? when i told them it's 125, some of them got a bit offended that i dont tell the truth....so next time when i encounter this, i'll probably have to lie it's 600cc....hehehe!

Anybody has any good deal on the vara125. Planning to get one but if possible would like to get it from someone who has it.

I am currently riding a scramler dt200. anyway how much for 2nd hand at shops??

http://www.moto-station.com/ttesimages/motodivers/nouveautes2006/BMW_R1200GS_Adventure_acpz.jpg

1998 WR200 FR****M

2000 Hornet 250 FS****S

2007 Gilera SP FS****T

2007 Honda Super 4 Version S FQ****H

2008 Fazer 600S FZ****U

2009 CBR 1100XX Super Blackbird FZ***U

2011 BMW GS 1200 Adventure FBB****H

2013 Gilera VXR 200 FBB****H

Anybody has any good deal on the vara125. Planning to get one but if possible would like to get it from someone who has it.

I am currently riding a scramler dt200. anyway how much for 2nd hand at shops??

whats your budget?

I guess any good deal will be okie by my budget. i dun intend to get from shops or first hand. Also i have to sell mt DT200 first. selling off around 3.2k neg then i have ard 2 k in savings thats 5k ....so depending on the offer i get i will top up. but the OFFER must be GOOD

http://www.moto-station.com/ttesimages/motodivers/nouveautes2006/BMW_R1200GS_Adventure_acpz.jpg

1998 WR200 FR****M

2000 Hornet 250 FS****S

2007 Gilera SP FS****T

2007 Honda Super 4 Version S FQ****H

2008 Fazer 600S FZ****U

2009 CBR 1100XX Super Blackbird FZ***U

2011 BMW GS 1200 Adventure FBB****H

2013 Gilera VXR 200 FBB****H

I guess any good deal will be okie by my budget. i dun intend to get from shops or first hand. Also i have to sell mt DT200 first. selling off around 3.2k neg then i have ard 2 k in savings thats 5k ....so depending on the offer i get i will top up. but the OFFER must be GOOD

5-6k huh.. hmmm maybe can ....

average price range is about 7k... but those damm desperate to sell migth go as low as 6.5k..

for me... thinking about it.. but realisticly... dont think i could let it go for 8k (got mine for 9.5k) and next week my bike's turining 1 year old..

so a 1 year old bike for 8k? no way right...

anyways back to your budget 6k.. hmm...

can try lah.. but i cant let go mine for even 7k.. (lose 2.5k in less then 1 year! aghh) and well the bikes.. no problem, in sg.. it works really fine....

anyways.. good luck.. saw the 7k prices at yahoo auction..

hei guyz anione of u noe where i can varadero 2nd hand..aniwae wats the market price rite now...thnks...

1 year 1 day old blue vara (incl givi matching color box, and hard to find under cowl (ordered form uk) for for 8k..

interested...

1 year 1 day old blue vara (incl givi matching color box, and hard to find under cowl (ordered form uk) for for 8k..

interested...

so finally u're selling u're bike. What's going on?...thought u were one of the few Vara fans (like i was too)... :p

i still am man... i blame this impulse on my first class 2A lesson.. cos after riding (hornet) ..i had urges for speed... but never the less.. im still cool - happy- proud with my vara125... gonna keep it man.. (till i get class 2 then it be AT or the Big Vara for me) but in the mean time.. im just tryin my luck... ;)

hey mini-dero.. sorry to bug u again..

i think its time for me to change air filter.. where can i go for it? any bike shops? is it a normal air filter? or do i need to specify? will they know how to do it?

sorry again to bug you, thanks in advance...

interested...

8k..wah i dunn leh..hard cash man..aniwae y selling yur bike..???

as mentioned above, im not desperately thinking of selling it, would sell if i can get a good deal..

im taking my class 2A now, so suddenly has the urge to get a class 2A ..thinking of s4.. actually.. ;)

but thats just an idea if i can sell the bike..

yeah i know 8 k is alot.. but i got it for 9.5 (after a year sell for 8k) i lose 1.5k... dont think i can go lower then that...

anyways... if your thinking of a vara thats lower then 8k... have u tried looking at yahoo auction.. saw a few going for 7++k.. but of course there older then 1 year old..

as mentioned above, im not desperately thinking of selling it, would sell if i can get a good deal..

im taking my class 2A now, so suddenly has the urge to get a class 2A ..thinking of s4.. actually.. ;)

but thats just an idea if i can sell the bike..

yeah i know 8 k is alot.. but i got it for 9.5 (after a year sell for 8k) i lose 1.5k... dont think i can go lower then that...

anyways... if your thinking of a vara thats lower then 8k... have u tried looking at yahoo auction.. saw a few going for 7++k.. but of course there older then 1 year old..

Losing 1.5K for 1 year is nothing. When I sold my S4, it was only 7 months old and I lost 3K. Have you tried and see what is the value of your bike at motordiam? Check it out and see what kind of price they are willing to pay for it.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

-------------------> So Little Time

-----------------------------> It's A Vmax Thing.

i still am man... i blame this impulse on my first class 2A lesson.. cos after riding (hornet) ..i had urges for speed... but never the less.. im still cool - happy- proud with my vara125... gonna keep it man.. (till i get class 2 then it be AT or the Big Vara for me) but in the mean time.. im just tryin my luck... ;)

hey mini-dero.. sorry to bug u again..

i think its time for me to change air filter.. where can i go for it? any bike shops? is it a normal air filter? or do i need to specify? will they know how to do it?

sorry again to bug you, thanks in advance...

well mate,

i guess it's a standard air filter, coz usually i get them cleaned every month..didin't need to change it (coz cleaning it regularly will be good enough unless it's very dirty and degrades the air intake)...that air filter lasted me quite a while even till i sold my bike...it ran very good w/o problems, so why change something that's not faulty. I wasn't sure bout the type of filter they use (probably can check the manual) coz mostly i go to Boon Siew to service..as they know my bike upside down (after providing them experience on my type of bike!).. :lol:

(make sure u leave just a little bit of petrol in the tank, or else u guys are gonna suffer removing the tank to access the filter) - very tricky.

if u want u can go to Boon Siew ask ask them to do it...they'll know how to (if that tall skinny specy chinese mechanic still there - not sure of his name- ask him...)

well no worries.

JV

Losing 1.5K for 1 year is nothing. When I sold my S4, it was only 7 months old and I lost 3K. Have you tried and see what is the value of your bike at motordiam? Check it out and see what kind of price they are willing to pay for it.

From,

OMD

hey OMD.. i got bad vibes from motor shops lah.. i notice if i dont come with a chinese friend.. the'll either ignore me or ill get screwed or ripped off..

but its a good idea .. i have to get a friend to follow..

but then again.. as i mention.. im not desperately thinking of letting it go..

considering..... actually considering an S4.. wonder if theres a S4 rider ... who wants to down to a vara125.. hmmm..

cos s4 riders (whos married with kids esp..) need the money for their kids and home.. and dont have the budget for their s4 maintanence.. and they will sell off their s4 for a RXZ..

hmmmm.....

if u want u can go to Boon Siew ask ask them to do it...

you know.. thats a pretty good idea.... i was thinking of going back to MAH.. but those buggers.. well forget it..

cos i think after 1year there is some servicing that they will need to do right?

when i go to bike shop and say i need a full servicing they are me.. *what u want to do?*

i said servicing.. they say.. servicing is to change engine oil and spark plug..

den the rest of the stuff no need to check huh?

or do they even know how to check?

so boon siew;.ok.. but wonder how much it will cost.. hmm...

hey OMD.. i got bad vibes from motor shops lah.. i notice if i dont come with a chinese friend.. the'll either ignore me or ill get screwed or ripped off..

but its a good idea .. i have to get a friend to follow..

but then again.. as i mention.. im not desperately thinking of letting it go..

considering..... actually considering an S4.. wonder if theres a S4 rider ... who wants to down to a vara125.. hmmm..

cos s4 riders (whos married with kids esp..) need the money for their kids and home.. and dont have the budget for their s4 maintanence.. and they will sell off their s4 for a RXZ..

hmmmm.....

The idea to go to the motordiam is to give you a rough idea of the market value of your bike. They will qoute you some figures ( which can be ridiculous ) and hope that you fall for it. They will have to take in used bikes at really low prices and then mark it up for the next buyer.

Use the motordiam's price as a guide and then try and look for a private deal. You'll be surprised at how fast and easy it is to sell your bike via the Internet. I have to add that the private deals can be a little troublesome with all the paperworks.

As for your aspiration to ride a S4, bear in mind the bike is a cheap bike to maintain as far as servicing or spares is concerned. The problem is with the insurance. The insurance will make you sweat!!!

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

you know.. thats a pretty good idea.... i was thinking of going back to MAH.. but those buggers.. well forget it..

cos i think after 1year there is some servicing that they will need to do right?

when i go to bike shop and say i need a full servicing they are me.. *what u want to do?*

i said servicing.. they say.. servicing is to change engine oil and spark plug..

den the rest of the stuff no need to check huh?

or do they even know how to check?

so boon siew;.ok.. but wonder how much it will cost.. hmm...

For peace of mind, but at a substantial cost, go to the agent ( in this case Boon Siew ) for your servicing. They are more systematic and thorough as compared to the regular workshops/motordiams.

Normal servicing in a motordiam would entail engine oil, oil filter and spark plugs replacement only. Unless instructed by you, that is as far as they will go. Boon Siew, on the otherhand, has a checklist of what needs to be changed, inspected or adjusted, depending on the mileage when you come in for servicing.

Hope that helps.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

As for your aspiration to ride a S4, bear in mind the bike is a cheap bike to maintain as far as servicing or spares is concerned. The problem is with the insurance. The insurance will make you sweat!!!

really? i was having a talk with this ex- S4 rider who sold off his S4 bec (as what he quoted .. high cost of maintanence as comapred to rxz..)

ahh but i forgot about insurance.. i remember seeing that NTUC dont spuuport S4 anymore..

so im wondering how much approx. is S4 insurance?

really? i was having a talk with this ex- S4 rider who sold off his S4 bec (as what he quoted .. high cost of maintanence as comapred to rxz..)

ahh but i forgot about insurance.. i remember seeing that NTUC dont spuuport S4 anymore..

so im wondering how much approx. is S4 insurance?

First and foremost, the bigger the bike, the higher the operating cost will be. You cannot compare the running cost of a RXZ with that of a S4, it is not representative. Just the fuel alone, how much for a full tank for both the bikes and how far can they travel?

I once owned a bike who's speedometer cable alone cost $65. Always have this in mind, the more exotic, stylo, exclusive or trick you bike is, the more expensive it becomes. An example, Wave 125 is a lot cheaper to own than an Aprillia 125. Why? Aprillia incorporates some of the racing technology into it's bike, which translate again to high cost. Wave 125 is just a commuter bike, who's strong selling point are economical and low running cost. You don't see that in an Aprillia ad.........ever!!!

I have been riding long enough and owned enough bikes to realise that it does not matter what bike you own, it is how deep your pockets are, that will determine how "happy" you are with the bike.

For the S4 insurance, Income will not insure them because of high rate of claim. Other insurers are asking between $600 to $800 for TPFT.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power