4 spark plugs, coolant, oil filter, higher insurance, higher rd tax, fatter tyres (if need to change) .....

Anymore?

how much is the road tax and how more for the insurance?..

but changing of soark plug or engine oil is not as often as 2B bikes right? me not sure. jus my assumption.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
  • Replies 7.7k

For 400cc bikes, rd tax is $70 for 6 mths but from 1 Sep 2007, rd tax reduced by 8%. Not sure abt insurance.

Servicing, change of plugs n EO should be the same as for Pulsar lah bro, i.e. after every 5 000 km, 10 000 km and 2 000 (or 2 500) km respectively.

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif

I downgraded from a VER S to pulsar.

S4 u got to consider the petrol which is quite a killer if u swear by JB petrol like me, u have to go in 4-5 times a month to top up. now pulsar only 2 times. save me my sleeps n the exhaust fumes in the jam.

Plugs $5 same as pulsar plugs but 4pcs.

EO and oil filter EO 5k km and OF 10K km.

Coolant, Advisable to flush 6 months once.

Sprocket and chain is $180-250 1 set.

Tires cheapest is $200 per set.

Servicing of brake calipers 2 front 1 rear. (the brake disc is very prone to warp if the calipers are not serviced regularly due to excessive heat build up)

Wheel bearings advisable to change every time u change tires.

Try not to get COE ending or COE renewed S4, try the newer plates like Vtec2 above. Older S4 tend to have coolant prob pump will be likely to leak, radiator crack so on.

S4 is a hot bike in JB... ez to get stolen...

Vtec1,2,3 no reserve cork. only Ver S , Project Big 1, Ver R got reserve cork.

Best of all compared to pulsar, S4 is a risk to service in JB although pple have done that at particular shops only... Pulsar, alot of stuff, chain, sprocket, tires can get in JB.

Its up to u to consider.

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

Bro Goof....And especially for older bikes u dunno wats going to give way and it might cost a bomb...for example my previous bike the coil decide to burnt beyond DNA recognition and it cost me $350 to replace....S4 ones i heard is ard $200++......Bawak memang sedap tapi kalau dah sakit..... :faint: :giddy:

:gun: ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ :bouncefire:
I downgraded from a VER S to pulsar.

S4 u got to consider the petrol which is quite a killer if u swear by JB petrol like me, u have to go in 4-5 times a month to top up. now pulsar only 2 times. save me my sleeps n the exhaust fumes in the jam.

Plugs $5 same as pulsar plugs but 4pcs.

EO and oil filter EO 5k km and OF 10K km.

Coolant, Advisable to flush 6 months once.

Sprocket and chain is $180-250 1 set.

Tires cheapest is $200 per set.

Servicing of brake calipers 2 front 1 rear. (the brake disc is very prone to warp if the calipers are not serviced regularly due to excessive heat build up)

Wheel bearings advisable to change every time u change tires.

Try not to get COE ending or COE renewed S4, try the newer plates like Vtec2 above. Older S4 tend to have coolant prob pump will be likely to leak, radiator crack so on.

S4 is a hot bike in JB... ez to get stolen...

Vtec1,2,3 no reserve cork. only Ver S , Project Big 1, Ver R got reserve cork.

Best of all compared to pulsar, S4 is a risk to service in JB although pple have done that at particular shops only... Pulsar, alot of stuff, chain, sprocket, tires can get in JB.

Its up to u to consider.

very very good advice. thanks bro....

i did a quick homework and studies.. i agree with you. and stick to my pulsar.. soon also me and me wife gonna get a car.. starting a family liao.. so my pulsar jus transport to and fro , to work.

cos i ask my fren same answerr also. advice me to get Spec2 and above.. i tot those version S like selling 2-3k plus can grab.. thats why its good to ask ppl around before u decide in something that is big. no question is stoopid hor..

so i guess this pulsar gonna stic with me for long..

once my baby is born than can start continue my project on my bike. heeee

Bro Goof....And especially for older bikes u dunno wats going to give way and it might cost a bomb...for example my previous bike the coil decide to burnt beyond DNA recognition and it cost me $350 to replace....S4 ones i heard is ard $200++......Bawak memang sedap tapi kalau dah sakit..... :faint: :giddy:

yea agree with you too bro.

I agree wif u. Stick to ur pulsar(although i find the workmanship 6/10 but still super economical) let ur wife get a license or if she already has one that's great... u can jolly well pay for the car for her to drive and u can carry on wif ur other wife hahahahaha.

oh ya. 1 more thing the new UG3 rear sprocket is same as RXZ rear 4 holes only.

Those pple using UG3, pls try not to allow lots of water to enter the speedo area, worst, dun use waterjets when washing bike.... i got 1 uncle working wif me oso riding UG3 he oso got the siaosiao speedo prob after went for a cheapo bike wash in JB where they jetted it with water...once the water dries up ... if it does slowing the prob should be gone.

Im riding UG3...anyone here have already change the lousy rusty turning screw like oil tank allens and others to stainless steel ones? Im planning to do so soon.

Life Is Never Fair.

I agree wif u. Stick to ur pulsar(although i find the workmanship 6/10 but still super economical) let ur wife get a license or if she already has one that's great... u can jolly well pay for the car for her to drive and u can carry on wif ur other wife hahahahaha.

oh ya. 1 more thing the new UG3 rear sprocket is same as RXZ rear 4 holes only.

Those pple using UG3, pls try not to allow lots of water to enter the speedo area, worst, dun use waterjets when washing bike.... i got 1 uncle working wif me oso riding UG3 he oso got the siaosiao speedo prob after went for a cheapo bike wash in JB where they jetted it with water...once the water dries up ... if it does slowing the prob should be gone.

Im riding UG3...anyone here have already change the lousy rusty turning screw like oil tank allens and others to stainless steel ones? Im planning to do so soon.

my wife pass liao.. but getting a car only after our baby is born. one at the time.. anyway hor.. remember, bajaj pulsar is a male not a female.. so cannot say wife... more like buddy hor.. heee

wah lucky lah those ride the UG3.. like that dun have to worry of getting expensive sprocket from universal. can get from JB liao..

so far for me i change front sprocket (rxz) and the rear must get from Universal.. 'mah fun' sey

bo pianz la.

hahahaha ya pulsar is a male.

Life Is Never Fair.

Latest update on Bajaj Pulsar 200 DTS-Fi - i just called UMPL, the launch is only in December, that's what they said.

Rainy days try not to order pizza/kfc/macdonalds.

Bro Lancified and I are going to JB motortiam this Sunday at 10pm. Install K&N filter and replace cracked chainguard-cum-rear hugger for me; change chain to DID for Lancified. If anyone wanna tag along, u're most welcome. Maybe can turn this into mini-gathering :cheeky:

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif

sunday at 10pm difficult liao. most ppl got work tomorrow..

me and my wife going tomorrow noon. need to top up, change spark plugs and engine oil. hee

Which are the shops that you all go to when u go jb?

Any good shops to recommend?

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

sunday at 10pm difficult liao. most ppl got work tomorrow..

Ya I myself prefer tonite or tom nite. But no choice lah but to fit into Lancified's schedule .....

Which are the shops that you all go to when u go jb?

Any good shops to recommend?

Bapok Lane at Jalan Tun Abdul Razak. Whole stretch of motor shops. Take ur pick. The 1 we're going to is SH Motorcycles Enterprise. Wanna tag along?

hi all. may i know what is the difference between a silver and black engine? are pulsars carb or efi?

Bajaj Pulsar Versions

2001 (not available in SG)

1st Pulsar model. Silver engine chassis; spoke rims; single spark plug; round headlamp dome; short wheelbase; no DTSi & ExhausTEC technology.

2003 (1st Pulsar model introduced in SG)

Silver engine chassis; spoke rims; dual spark plugs (still 1 cylinder); new headlamp assembly; longer wheelbase; with DTSi but not ExhausTEC technology; twin horns; tripmeter.

Same as 2003 model but with black engine chassis; alloy sports rims; gas-filled Nitrox rear shock absorbers; pilot lamps. A later variant of this model came with engine kill switch.

I have a pamphlet showing a picture of a Pulsar with the same features as the 2005 model but with silver engine chassis, silver exhaust and silver alloy sports rims. I've never seen this model on SG roads so I assume this is an earlier variant of the 2005 model that wasn't introduced in SG.

End 2006

Headlamp encased in black casing; turn signal lights feature clear lens glass with amber bulb; self-cancelling turn indicator switch; LCD screen which offers digital read-out of key vehicle data like speed, fuel balance, trip distance; back lit switches; LED twin-stripe tail light unit; sharper body side panels.

Early 2007 (Not available in SG yet)

200cc; tubeless tyres; split seats, split rail grabs; tank cowl; oil cooler; no kick lever (only electric start); no chain cover. Already gotten a bad name in India for several suspension fork failures.

Note: All of the above are carb models.

Mid - End 2007?

220cc. Same as 200cc model but comes with fuel injection, longer wheelbase, rear disc brake, projection headlight, head cowl like Honda CB400 Super Bol D'Or.

me jus got back from JB.. when there alone.. did my spark plug and engine oil change.

Bapok Lane at Jalan Tun Abdul Razak. Whole stretch of motor shops. Take ur pick. The 1 we're going to is SH Motorcycles Enterprise. Wanna tag along?

Thanks Bro,

Will wait till my warranty expire then if got time wil tag along when you guys go over..:cheeky:

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

Installed the K&N filter last nite. My feedback is similar to those who installed it earlier.

Pick-up - :thumb:

Sound - louder, like scrambler, but higher bass, not higher pitch. Obvious when u throttle in neutral gear or accelerate from 0 km/h, not so noticeable at cruising speed cos my mind is on the next pt below.

Feel - bike feels so damn light it just cuts thru the wind that it kinda scares me actually. At my normal cruising speed of 80 km/h, the ride was much smoother than b4 (no draggy feeling; engine doesn't sound so stressed). But then, my bike has always felt smoother when riding at nite or in cold weather than during the day (cos engine is air-cooled?). Will see whether any diff when I ride to Pasir Ris (not Pasir Gudang :cheeky: ) later today in the searing afternoon heat.

RPM - no difference (80 km/h @ 6.5K rpm, 85 km/h @ 7K rpm)

Speed - hmmm can't comment much here cos I must be 1 of the slowest Pulsar rider on SG roads. However, got a feeling no diff lah. Speedometer kinda stuck at abt 78 km/h. Gotta throttle more to reach 80-85 km/h. I guess this is due to the carb not tuned to best setting to get optimal fuel-air ratio.

Photos - sori Goof, unable to take any cos cam was sent for servicing (I thought only bikes need to be serviced! :cheeky: ) Will try to take some when cam is back.

Installation - quite straightforward lah. Remove whole air box assembly, remove stock air filter & tube, cut bigger hole in air box to accomodate the K&N filter, put back air box, connect K&N filter to carb, close air box. That's it.

Things to do next:

- ride with pillion to see whether any improvement in pick-up cos my Pulsar's pick-up (even with Power Abuser) when with pillion really sux! Hmmm, perhaps it's the biker n not the bike? :cheeky:

- change jet to size 125 as recommended by Lancified during next carb washing + tuning after that

neat info.. thanks bro...

me still waiting patiently for 'my' filter. heee...

how much the shop charge you for installing your filter, bro?

RM20.

But I was disappointed with the installation of the replacement rear hugger-chainguard combo lah. If u remember, for my bike, the chainguard part needs to be cut to accomodate the left rear shocks cos if not, the left side of the hugger will touch the left side of my fatter-than-stock rear tyre.

Instead of installing the new hugger 1st & then drawing lines on the hugger by 'tracing' the left rear shocks, the malay fella who did it just took a look at my old hugger, then estimated the size and the angle of slant for the part to be cut, then proceeded with the cutting.

When installing, the angle of slant of the cut part was too much forward and didn't align with the left rear shocks. Not a problem for the back part of the cut part cos can cut some more. But how to undo the front part of the cut part?!

So now I'm left with a hole on the chainguard that's clearly visible just in front of the left rear shocks. It's an eyesore man!

If u remember, I mentioned that SH's workmanship isn't as good as Hou Heng's. Next time I change hugger, I'll fix it at Hou Heng even tho they charge more and even if they dun have stock and I have buy it from SH 1st.

sorry to hear that bro..

as for me i let the cina DO.. THE BOSS.. THE melayu NOT REALLY THAT GOOD LAH.

BUT ME, WHEN I GO THERE THE BOSS WILL ENTERTAIN ME..hee

actuallly u being the customer u can reject one or ask for lesser price. its not your fault mah..

that day when i come down to bapok lane, the SH shop was close to i did my spark plug change and engine oil at 'your' shop. heee

No choice lah cos when I arrived, the chinese fella was already working on another bike. So he asked the malay fella to tend to my bike. But it was the chinese fella lah who installed the K&N filter for me. But after that, he didn't test ride my bike to do the tuning. He just throttle the bike at neutral gear, listen to the engine sound and turn the screw. Ceh .....

Back in SG, I prefer to go to Universal head office in Bt Merah Lane 2 rather than the Bajaj Service Ctr in Lane 3. The mechs at the older wkshop seem to give better service, particularly one called Ah Seng. When he serviced my bike the last time, he even spray-painted my rusty muffler FOC. Also test-rode my bike to check everything's ok b4 handing the bike back to me. The 1 mech who's stationed at Universal's showroom in Alexandra Rd is also gd. I wonder if we can ask for our preferred mech to tend to our bike, just like when u ask for ur preferred hairdresser to do up ur hair.

Oh btw, those of u who r worried abt spare parts, relax. Went to the service ctr just now to replace the rubber strap that holds the batt in place. Saw the storeroom, just a little from the outside, but could see that it was well-stocked with spare parts that were neatly stored on shelves.

And u'll be issued with a handwritten receipt no matter how little u spent. For me, $2.50 for the batt rubber strap and $4 for signal light lens previously.

Eh btw, watever happened to the other Pulsar riders who used to be active in here ah? This thread seems dead with only 2 of us posting. YO ALEX! So bz ah? Looks like no more 3rd DIY session?