mean 1500???

2200k?

2002-2003 aprillia rs125

2003-2008 Honda SP

2005-2006 Yahama 125z

2006-2006 Yahama R1 2001

2006-2011 Suzuki Gxsr1000 K6

2007-2007 Aprillia RS250

2008-2011 Suzuki Gxsr1000 K8

2011-2013 aprillia RSV4

2011-now ktm 525sm

2013-now husquvana 510 sm

• Replies 1.2k

Guest quizesilver

comment...

all fog light are yellow in colour. therefore to have the light throw to the front u need yellow light. the white light will give a chio effect but dun throw well. juz fyi. so it is not the hid lousy juz that uses the wrong kelvin.

if u wan HID to penatrate fog, u got to use a yellow (meaning lower rated HID color temp, 2500K) light.

cmon, all street lamps are yellow in color.

Originally posted by hmm_@May 26 2006, 07:27 PM

zod damn power...super knowledgeable...surpassed paiseh liao...

siao.. all along he is zhai leh. :thumb: :thumb:

Originally posted by jonse@May 26 2006, 09:11 PM

mean 1500???

2200k?

$3500 will do the trick

Originally posted by jonse@May 26 2006, 09:11 PM

mean 1500???

2200k?

Halogen filaments naturally produce a color of 2300K to 4000K. Anything bluer requires the use of light-dimming color filters.

HID produces a natural color of 4100K to 6000K. Anything bluer requires the use of light-dimming color filters.

Therefore, any halogen/HID you see on sale which are rated out of this range, are fitted with colour filters. This reduces the light intensity.

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg

U also got to have a properly design collimator (i.e. reflector or optical lens) to match whatever type of light source u apply.

without proper collimator built-in, even u have a lot a lot of lumen, u will only have a lot of light firing & bouncing in un-managed direction making your supposingly fog-light into undesirable all angle flood-beam, which won't help in any "foggy" situation.

Originally posted by maxipower@May 26 2006, 09:32 PM

U also got to have a properly design collimator (i.e. reflector or optical lens) to match whatever type of light source u apply.

without proper collimator built-in, even u have a lot a lot of lumen, u will only have a lot of light firing & bouncing in un-managed direction making your supposingly fog-light into undesirable all angle flood-beam, which won't help in any "foggy" situation.

i agree

Originally posted by quizesilver+May 26 2006, 09:12 PM-->
QUOTE (quizesilver @ May 26 2006, 09:12 PM)
comment...

all fog light are yellow in colour. therefore to have the light throw to the front u need yellow light. the white light will give a chio effect but dun throw well. juz fyi. so it is not the hid lousy juz that uses the wrong kelvin.[/b]

Originally posted by paiseh@May 26 2006, 09:25 PM

if u wan HID to penatrate fog, u got to use a yellow (meaning lower rated HID color temp, 2500K) light.

Does yellow light really penetrate better than blue light?

First, I will give the reason why everyone believes yellow light penetrates better than blue light. Then, I will say why this reason is flawed.

Fog is made up of water droplets. When light shines through water droplets, the light is dispersed. Different wavelengths(colors) of visible light scatter off the fog droplets differently. This dispersion effect can be best seen using a prism.

http://btc.montana.edu/messenger/instruments/prism.gif

Dispersion angle is indirectly proportional to the wavelength of the light. The greater the wavelength, the lesser the dispersion angle. In the white light spectrum, red has the greatest wavelength while violet has the shortest. Therefore as you can see, the dispersion of red light is the least while that of violet is the greatest.

So to choose a colour that can penetrates fog best, we have to select one with least dispersion angle. Here is another thing to consider: our eyes are not equally sensitive to all colors. It turns out that we are most sensitive to yellow and green light. So, our best compromise between sensitivity for our eyes and a long wavelength for least scattering is yellow light.

This is why most fog lighting systems use yellow light. But the above reason, is flawed.

Fog droplets are, on average, smaller than cloud droplets, but they still are huge compared with the wavelengths of visible light. Thus scattering of such light by fog is essentially wavelength independent. Unfortunately, many people learn Rayleigh's scattering law and then assume that it applies to everything. They did not learn that this law is limited to scatterers small compared with the wavelength and at wavelengths far from strong absorption.

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg

for fog-light, due to the size of the reflector is much more smaller than the main headlight, collimation of light (proper focusing) tends to be much more tedious...

Originally posted by Demon@May 26 2006, 12:17 PM

HID has it's downside. I was driving in Cameron Highlands in Nov 05, at night in heavy fog, with HID, I saw nothing because the fog reflected all the lights back, quite similar to seeing a white wall. I had to depend on my fog lights (HID Off). Fortunately I was proceeding down hill, using the edge of the hill as a guide and slowly made it to Ringlet town.

I have been using HIDs for the last 10 years or so - never once did I hv a visibility problem similar to yours " a white wall of white lights" . I hv drove thru fog & veri heavy rain during my sale-days in Malaysia. The HID lights are smilar to light sabre cutting thru fogs of Genting & Cameron Highlands. Maybe That day U met the ultimate FOG. Seems like u do travel alot - wan to try my lower kelvin HID bulb rated 4300 kelvin (yellow) ?? :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

i wass jus thinking......

my sp got 2 lights right??

both put HID , what will happen ???

super bright lor, like ZOD. one of these days come to dam take a look at a yellow yellow dirty fellow's rvf haf a look.

but i can tell u its abit troublesome to fix HID on ur bike. if u dun mind the time n money spent

Originally posted by wait4me@May 27 2006, 01:31 PM

my sp got 2 lights right??

both put HID , what will happen ???

Alamak ............ :slapforehead: :slapforehead: :slapforehead: :slapforehead:

Pls install 1 set HID ..........enough ... leow ... :pray: :pray:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

lol. so u wan HID to power up wat? :lol:

i tink 1 is enough.