Originally posted by Speedpass@Mar 15 2006, 11:27 PM

My father in law juz gave me a BMB sound system . Though 2nd hand , i think its a very high end item rite ? :confused:

It is indeed a professional equipment for karaok! If u can fine tune the set up, it can make a very good home theater system! Speakers types, can be stand-mount or wall mount. In any case if you want to let go, i might have someone in mind..hahaha...if not a 8-inch active subwoofer will immediately bring movies to life :thumb:

• Replies 51

Originally posted by ellamcoy@Mar 16 2006, 07:41 PM

It is indeed a professional equipment for karaok! If u can fine tune the set up, it can make a very good home theater system! Speakers types, can be stand-mount or wall mount. In any case if you want to let go, i might have someone in mind..hahaha...if not a 8-inch active subwoofer will immediately bring movies to life :thumb:

Given by my father in law , how can i dare sell away ? Btw , the power consumption high anot ?

Originally posted by Speedpass@Mar 18 2006, 01:31 PM

Given by my father in law , how can i dare sell away ? Btw , the power consumption high anot ?

Ya, mi would not even dare think of tat idea, if it a gift from the in-laws...hahahaha... Dun worry about the power usuage, quite low lah. U can consider adding a active sub-woofer to the setup. It had been proven to be extremely good for playback, singing and esp movie. Try to budget between 800-1.5k for a one time investment on the sub. Good kick ass sub is simply not about low frequency noise :thumb:

Originally posted by ellamcoy@Mar 18 2006, 08:43 PM

Ya, mi would not even dare think of tat idea, if it a gift from the in-laws...hahahaha... Dun worry about the power usuage, quite low lah. U can consider adding a active sub-woofer to the setup. It had been proven to be extremely good for playback, singing and esp movie. Try to budget between 800-1.5k for a one time investment on the sub. Good kick ass sub is simply not about low frequency noise :thumb:

I think woofer have liao . Think total got 6 speakers , incld 2 big ones . :giddy:

Originally posted by Speedpass@Mar 19 2006, 05:23 AM

I think woofer have liao . Think total got 6 speakers , incld 2 big ones . :giddy:

I see. Must be a complete setup. A pair of front spk(left and right channel), a pair of surround spk(left and right channel rear), a center speaker plus a sub, total six! Best, no need to spend additional money. Juz invest on new DVDs titles :thumb:

i dont fancy high end hifi but i am in mid level home theater system.

anyway, i have since stop spending on the systems for 5 years liao.

imagine this, even the cables can suck yr blardy saving acc dry... :smile:

facebook: Fotolightbox Photography

Originally posted by ellamcoy@Mar 19 2006, 10:09 AM

I see. Must be a complete setup. A pair of front spk(left and right channel), a pair of surround spk(left and right channel rear), a center speaker plus a sub, total six! Best, no need to spend additional money. Juz invest on new DVDs titles :thumb:

Buy friendly ones ah ? :cheeky:

Originally posted by ellamcoy@Mar 15 2006, 11:52 AM

Ok, Denon make one of those good CD player in the market. Usually the player consist of a "Transport" the disc drive(a mechcanical component), it is a package with the lazer pick up. Another section (electronic) that is vital to its operation is the sampler, also known as the decoder which process the data from the disc. A decoder's function is to break down Digital data and convert into an Analog output to the amplifiers. Before the analog stage, there is actually a micro-controller which handles the error, as to speak it is an error correction devices.

With some understanding in the construction, i will like to suggest a few point u might want to try out.

Some Cd maufacter, not to say which album or record company, had not done a very gd job in their quality control. If there is no problem with other Cds then the problem is quite clear cut.

Or, if your player is placed near a speaker or sub-woofer, the unwanted vibration from these unit can upset the smooth transition of the data pickup.

Another possiblities is that the player is placed near (top or below) of the power amplifiers which emit lots of heat, thus causing the chips within to operate out of its designated temp range.

Do try out this few tips, good luck :thumb:

thanks for the tips! :thumb:

Originally posted by scud@Mar 19 2006, 12:22 PM

i dont fancy high end hifi but i am in mid level home theater system.

anyway, i have since stop spending on the systems for 5 years liao.

imagine this, even the cables can suck yr blardy saving acc dry... :smile:

Totally agreed. Transparent or MIT class, need to sell off my ducati to buy the speaker cable! Wat is your setup like? More for home theater or audio? :cheeky:

Originally posted by ellamcoy@Mar 19 2006, 08:03 PM

Totally agreed. Transparent or MIT class, need to sell off my ducati to buy the speaker cable! Wat is your setup like? More for home theater or audio? :cheeky:

mine not as high end with cables such as Transparent or MIT lar... :giddy:

but i remembered i paid (5 yrs ago) as much as my canon professional dslr cost now. now my HTs serving me well from musics to movies for my leisurely activities.

now when i'm looking back, i find kinda silly of me to spend few $K for such an underutilised system that cant generate any income apart from giving you the satisfaction when u needed it most in the cosy air-conditioned-sound proof room.

BUT definately, owning a HT or a reputable high end hi-fi surely be able to give satisfaction that cant be described by words. upon hearing the clarity and the 'crispy' sound, one will be 'drowned' in his own world.

facebook: Fotolightbox Photography

Originally posted by ellamcoy@Mar 19 2006, 08:05 PM

Speedpass u mean buy which friendly one? the Dvds or system?

DVDs lah , system where got friendly one . :cheeky:

A brand new set of home entertainment speaker systems. It comprises 2 units Floor Standing Front speakers, 2 units Rear speaker and 1 unit Centre speaker.

Specifications:

Brand: Carlson Audio (Made in USA)

2 units of Floor Standing Loudspeaker (2 way X 6 inch)

Model No: CA-6300F

Impedance: 8 ohm

Rated Input: 150 W

Maximum Output 180 W

Sensitivity: 85 dB

2 units Rear Speaker and 1 unit of Centre Speaker

Model No: CA-6300CS

Impedance: 8 ohm

Rated Input: 50 W

Maximum Output 80 W

Sensitivity: 88 dB

Reserve price is $300.00. Highest offer above $300.00 wins the auction. Viewing can be arranged at Bishan.

Interested party please PM me. Thanks!

:thumb: :bounce: :thumb: :bounce: :thumb: :bounce:

The more you work, the more money you have.

The more money you have, the more you spend.

The more you spend, the less money you have.

The less money you have, the more you work.

Originally posted by scud@Mar 19 2006, 09:12 PM

mine not as high end with cables such as Transparent or MIT lar... :giddy:

but i remembered i paid (5 yrs ago) as much as my canon professional dslr cost now. now my HTs serving me well from musics to movies for my leisurely activities.

now when i'm looking back, i find kinda silly of me to spend few $K for such an underutilised system that cant generate any income apart from giving you the satisfaction when u needed it most in the cosy air-conditioned-sound proof room.

BUT definately, owning a HT or a reputable high end hi-fi surely be able to give satisfaction that cant be described by words. upon hearing the clarity and the 'crispy' sound, one will be 'drowned' in his own world.

Hahaha...one things about electronics, once buy liao, dun look back, else very cake sim. Especially when u want to trade in, it is like begging other to take in ya belove set :cry:

any affordable sets which produces nice warm sounds for old music..

i kinda enjoy the "un-clean" and antique feel to music..

too crisp and clear is a no-no for me

looking more towards female vocals and jass , classical.. around that line..

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a387/gabriel06/Rxk2_edit.jpg

danger is no stranger to a lonely ranger

  gabriel06 said:
any affordable sets which produces nice warm sounds for old music..

i kinda enjoy the "un-clean" and antique feel to music..

too crisp and clear is a no-no for me

looking more towards female vocals and jass , classical.. around that line..

Oh yes there is plenty of options for your liking. It is a retro

trend to go back to records and turntable. It produces very

harmonic output with some static noise but the overall effect

is very pleasing.

If you already have a wide collection of CDs, i will recommend that

you may wish to consider tube amp instead.

hmm this is a nice thread :D what system you got there yourself? care to share?? I own a tiny weeny cinema system in my room.. :angel:

  jB said:
hmm this is a nice thread :D what system you got there yourself? care to share?? I own a tiny weeny cinema system in my room.. :angel:

That is pretty cool to have a cinema system setup in ya room!

Was my dream once upon a time during my secondary school days!

Working two part time to save up...hahaha.

Today i built my own system focusing more on speaker department.

Used to build solid state and tube amp during poly days, unfortunately

was appointed another aviation project for my final year.

My latest project is a two-tower (floor to ceiling) speaker module. Utilizing

13 speaker driver on each speaker (total 26 driver). Some from the famous

B&W (England) Kelvar finish other from Pyle Pro, Rodex and Ultimate-titanium

formula for lower frequency. Had invested about 26k in total over the years.

Bad point is that, i require at least 4 power amp with hi-current output

to make this beast sing.

  ellamcoy said:

to make this beast sing.

sounds good ! how do u diy a tube amp? any good 2nd hand stores around?

might be too much of a hassle to custom cut my speakers etc..

  gabriel06 said:
sounds good ! how do u diy a tube amp? any good 2nd hand stores around?

might be too much of a hassle to custom cut my speakers etc..

Oh there is actually lots of second hand dealer in Singapore. In Adelphi at

City Hall, basement 1 i recall there is a few. Options available for your first

tube amp, you may wish to get a used china made between 35w-55w. Very

dependent on your need, e,g, vocals, jazz (usually for slower pacing music).

Produces very refine harmonic compared to solid state.

You have to decide how much you are willing to invest. Range as low as

$500Sgd to NASA grade $50,000Sgd.

  ellamcoy said:

i see thanks so much.. will i get ripped off if i know nuts about these stuff? something like an ang moh going to penisular plaza to buy electronics haha..

i think i wont invet much because of space limitation..

wat set up do u suggest i should be looking at?

1 tube amp plus 2 desk top sized speakers?

1 tube amp plus 2 standing speakers?

1 tube amp plus 4 desk top sized speakers?

  ellamcoy said:

to make this beast sing.

its kinda of my dream too. I had to spend some time here and there sourcing for items to go with my speakers,amp,tv,room :D because a HDB room for a teen and his dream just ain't big enough.. I don't think I spent as much as an adult but well its good enough to make an adult who enters my room to go "WOW" :angel: I did upload a picture of my old system setup some time ago somewhere. :cheeky:

ellamcoy said:

if he can't DIY, wants low budget and saves space, I'd just recommend him to get akira or with a better budget, Pioneer. What say you?

gabriel06 said:
i see thanks so much.. will i get ripped off if i know nuts about these stuff? something like an ang moh going to penisular plaza to buy electronics haha..

i think i wont invet much because of space limitation..

wat set up do u suggest i should be looking at?

1 tube amp plus 2 desk top sized speakers?

1 tube amp plus 2 standing speakers?

1 tube amp plus 4 desk top sized speakers?

depends on your budget dude, usually first timers need to pay school fees :cool:

for a new timer like me, 5x 250w speakers + 1 external sub + 1 normal household amp is not enough after some time :p

didnt knw that there is some audio discussion in the bike forums too. I am interested in hifi stuff, in fact i like it so much that i started diying some simple stuff.

Talking abt tube amp, i know there is a cheap tube amp at Larry Hifi at People's park basement that is meant to use with multi media speakers, those with high db. Do check out, if u wanna try tube sound.. ellamcoy do u diy ur stuff as well.

Breaking the Entanglement...

The light at the end of the tunnel is not a train!