Recently, i received a letter from the traffic police that i got summon for beating red light. Here's the story, it was around 2330hrs and i was on the way home from work. Then i was waiting for the traffic light to be on my favour. But waited it for around 5-10mins and it does not even change at all. I've been going that route and it was not always fine(Sometimes happend to me but lucky there was a car waiting so the traffic turns to our favour). Therefore i think a sensor is not detecting my bike or something. So i decided to move off as it was a quiet street, no traffic at all. By chance when i made a move, a police car was there and they summon me by my no. plate. So i just received the letter with SHOCK! I am still under probation, and i got 12 demerit points for this. Will my license get revoked? I want to appeal on this issue but a friend say that it may not work. What do you guys think?

• Replies 10

Popular Days

Alamak,

I don't know whether to laugh or pity you.

The sensor is on the ground dude. Some bikes are too light to set the pressure going. I've encountered this before and I dismounted from my bike and went to press the button for the pedestrian crossing. Problem solved.

In your case, you have no points left. You can try to appeal under the circumstances that you thought the lights were dead, the hour was late and there was no traffic. (If you want more drama, say you saw something white in your rear view mirror)

Meaning from now on, you will be Riding Miss Daisy.... No more bad boy or careless antics.

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

haha, but the thing is, im sure the police saw the traffic light was fine. But really wasnt my luck. And does that mean i wont get revoke YET? yeah, lil miss daisy i will be. gosh!

12pt no revoke, but till next yr+few days of ur summon, no more pt or else revoke.

u can appeal, but i guess the tp was already there n witnessed the whole scene. ur 5-10min might be only 1-2min, wrong sense of time from person to person. try to think of a valid excuse, the ghost thing might work, or u could say "nature's call", cannot tahan, and u observed all safety precautions before proceeding. :goodluck:

Accident can happen anytime, anywhere.

However ask yourself, do you want to fall at 120km/h or 60km/h?

Probation kena 12 points you left with 0. Ride safely and be more alert. One more offence and your licence kan tong. :goodluck:

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

it wasnt tp, it was an NPC patrol car, they summon me without notice, suddenly 2weeks from the incident, i got the letter. it was really longer than usually i waited at the EXACT same traffic light.

so my DIPS will be back to normal after my probation period or after a year of the summon?

it wasnt tp, it was an NPC patrol car, they summon me without notice, suddenly 2weeks from the incident, i got the letter. it was really longer than usually i waited at the EXACT same traffic light.

so my DIPS will be back to normal after my probation period or after a year of the summon?

A year after the summons.

For further clarification, this is extracted from the SPF website.

"Where the suspension period lasts a year or longer, the motorist will have his licence revoked and will have to re-sit and pass the tests in order to be allowed to drive again.

A new driver's licence will be revoked upon accumulation of 13 or more demerit points within a period of 12 months from the date of the grant of the licence.

A person shall not be allowed to take a test of competence to drive any class of vehicle

(a) during the period of suspension of a licence, whether for the same or for a different class of vehicle held by him;

(b) during the period for which he has been disqualified from holding or obtaining a licence, whether for the same or for a different class of vehicle; or

© within the period of one year from the date of the revocation of a licence, whether for the same or for a different class of vehicle held by him.

A motorist who maintains a 12-month free of offences with demerit points from the date of last offence, will have all his previous points cancelled from his record. Those who maintain a 24-month period free of offences from the date of expiry of the last suspension, which carry demerit points, will also have all previous suspensions cancelled from their records."

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

they just record n fw ur info to tp, so it takes longer.

1 yr + few days from date of summon.

pls note it's NOT 1 yr after u pass. ride safe & :goodluck:

quote from above post:

"A motorist who maintains a 12-month free of offences with demerit points from the date of last offence, will have all his previous points cancelled from his record."

after 1yr from summon, u only got 12pt, 2yr, 24pt.

u reminded me of my incident with tp, it was about 4am, i exit from pie but further up i hv to u-turn, 1st junction, no right turn allowed. i wanted to take a shortcut, so i cut thru the pavement. just as i turn, i spotted this tp resting the other side. i immed switch engine off, get off bike. tp approach, i gave a lame excuse i was very tired n in front of him pretend to sleep. he keep insisting that i was deliberate and say wanted to fine me for parking on pavement. i continue pretend to doze off. after he checked all my docs, he let me off, asking if i wanted to push accross, of course i say i go do the u turn.

i see. Well thanks guys for the great help! Its much greatly appreciated! I'll send an appeal and if fate allows my demerit pts to be waived, then im so thankful, if not, just my luck and ill be riding like lil miss daisy. Thanks again!

let u prepare 1st, it's unlikely pt be waived, more on fine reduction. if u really lucky, maybe give u 3pt or so back, but rare. just take it as a lesson learnt, in future be more careful, but who knows, it may save ur life 1 day. ;)