Hi i be getting a 2nd hand bike but that bike have no IU and can i transfer my current bike IU over? If yes what are the procedure to go about doing it? And hw much will it cost?

thanks alot

you deserve better from me, i can be better, i will be better!

• Replies 11

If you want to save the hassle....just do up the wiring on your 'new' bike with the IU...you can use it immediately.

As long as your IU/Cashcard got no problem going thru the gentry, you will be safe.

erm but the problem is its register under my old bike.. then i selling my old bike, the buyer agree for me to take the iu away

you deserve better from me, i can be better, i will be better!

Hi mikes................ If u wanna use ur Old Bike's IU into ur new bike it can only happen when u scrap off the old bike. U can't just do it like that. If u want.... u can buy a second hand IU from any workshop which is about 70-80. If i were u i get a new one whic is 5 yrs warranty.

any updates?

true? transfer only for scrap bike?

i sold my bike to shop. thinking of keeping the IU for future use. possible?

1. do i need to deregister it? or it's auto-deregister when the new owner register his new IU?

u can only use IU unit froma deregistered bike...which means from a bike which has been scraped.. cos if lets sae u take d IU from bike A and d new owner of bike A wana fix IU..he will have to report it as stolen or lost den only he can fix a new one. :smile:

Originally posted by pyro13@Sep 18 2006, 08:37 AM

u can only use IU unit froma deregistered bike...which means from a bike which has been scraped.. cos if lets sae u take d IU from bike A and d new owner of bike A wana fix IU..he will have to report it as stolen or lost den only he can fix a new one. :smile:

Yeap.. and just to add on, after a bike has been scrapped, the IU needs to be registered to the new bike within 6 mths or the IU is as good as junk. Registration of 2nd hand IU to bike is around $16 if im not wrong. Hope this helps... cheers

De@th is Cert@in, Life is Not. Live life, ride s@fely.

2003 - Aprilia Extrema (FN649J) scrapped

2005 - TZM 150 (FP398Y) sold Dec '06

2005 - SP 150 (FT3783B) sold Oct '06

2006 - Wave S 125 (FU9094M) sold Jan '07

2006 - Aprilia RS250 (FP1807C) sold Nov '07

2006 - Hyper Vtec (FR6993D) sold Dec '07

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

still must pay for registration meh?? i tot u go bike shop they can do tat for u for free.. but wat will hapeen if u nv register then just use.. will the erp system go haywire..

Originally posted by pyro13@Sep 24 2006, 08:57 AM

still must pay for registration meh?? i tot u go bike shop they can do tat for u for free.. but wat will hapeen if u nv register then just use.. will the erp system go haywire..

Yeap, still must pay. If you dont register the IU under ur bike, u can still use it. Try it and update me what happens if your get caught:cheeky:

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000

do not attempt to jus re wire onto ur new bike without any authorisation

if i dun rem wrongly the fine is 2k or something

the 16 bucks is not so much of a de registration but a inspection fee as well, ur suppose to rewire onto ur new bike and NOT cross any gantry n ride to the inspection centre to get it inspected, after which they will update LTA on ur new iu number

remember to call back LTA to check to make sure it does goes into the system b4 u throw ur iu inspection cert away, this is to prevrent problems to urself incase theres a mis com between inspection centre and LTA

u can try ah chong at 67474740 at planet motors, their 2nd hand iu is going ard 40bucks

http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r239/utopian355/ABCD0006-smallcopy.jpg

40 bux.. tats cheap!!! u rewire confirm kena summon like hell!!!

where is planet motors located??

2008 - CBR 150

2011 - GSXR K9 1000