Woooot !!! Yipeeee !!! My tua soi ee will be out sometime next week but my GTS is here to stay ....

ARCHIVED: TX500/CB550F/CB750K4/CB750F2/ZR750/CB750F/GSR600/ZG1000/ST1100/GPZ400/

CB1/Silverwing/GL1500SE/GL1500SEW/GL1800A1/GL1800A2/GL1800A4/FJR1300ABS/TMax

ACTIVE: GL1800A12 & SYM200

Assumption is the mother of all fu@kup

• Replies 3.4k

Thank you for the responses on the 300 km servicing. Think I shall stick with Mah for the moment cos I think during the first 3 servicing, the labor charges are waived. Will consider using AC Motors after that. Cheers!

My GTS gave me another fright just now whilst on the way home from work !!! While riding along Loyang, notice a red light icon appeared. Didn't have my specs so could only read OIL. WTF! RED spells danger and dun tell me the engine is burning off the engine oil. Make a detour and rode very S...L...O...W...L...Y to Mah Pte. Ah Chew was there to attend to my predicament. He look at me and said "No problem" just push the reset button and the light will go off.

Morale of this story: Make sure you read owner's manual

ARCHIVED: TX500/CB550F/CB750K4/CB750F2/ZR750/CB750F/GSR600/ZG1000/ST1100/GPZ400/

My GTS gave me another fright just now whilst on the way home from work !!! While riding along Loyang, notice a red light icon appeared. Didn't have my specs so could only read OIL. WTF! RED spells danger and dun tell me the engine is burning off the engine oil. Make a detour and rode very S...L...O...W...L...Y to Mah Pte. Ah Chew was there to attend to my predicament. He look at me and said "No problem" just push the reset button and the light will go off.

Morale of this story: Make sure you read owner's manual

What is that red light?

What causes it to come on?

Why come on during riding?

If it is just reset, then it should not be red.

If it is red then is important.

If I am not mistaken, it comes on every 1000 km to remind the owner to change the engine oil.

What is that red light?

What causes it to come on?

Why come on during riding?

If it is just reset, then it should not be red.

If it is red then is important.

Actually the icon (oil changed) will light up once the mileage clocked 3000km I think. On the Sym, all the icon is in red.

If I am not mistaken, it comes on every 1000 km to remind the owner to change the engine oil.

where is the reset button?

On the GTS there are 3 button on the left. The one at the top.

I supposed the Old batch GTS 200 does not have this type of function.

Correct me if I am wrong.

5 Oct 2005 - Jun 2007(SP) FS6059X

18 Jun 2007 - 26 Nov 2007 -> CBR400, L model problematic FJ532*S

26 Nov 2007 - 12 Nov 2011 -> TA200, FV2X2G

12 Nov 2011 - 12 Nov 2012 -> SYM GTS200, FZ99*0D

29 Nov 2012 - 13 July 2015 -> KIA Rio HB 1.4M, SFY*

13 Jul 2015 - 28 Apr 2018 -> Kia Cerato V2 SKT*

28 Apr 2018 till current -> Hyundai Elentra S_trim SLZ*

Hi yeosh, I just buy a SYM joyride Evo 200i today, will only get my bike on wed... I saw your post that you got the same bike, care to share how is the bike? The good and bad about the bike?

Not really into the tech aspects of bikes. Just bought the bike to enjoy riding -- got the idea after watching the film Larry Crowne. Used to own a Vespa years ago, but wasn't quite pleased with it because it gave me quite a lot of problems. Noticed that the technology has improved much since then. The CVT feature makes the bike very easy to ride. And the Joyride 200i Evo even has electronic fuel injection!

So far, performance wise, I have no complaints. I don't bother to check the fuel consumption cos it's so much cheaper to run than my car anyways -- less than $15 gives a full tank of grade 92 petrol. I feel most comfortable when the bike is cruising between 70 to 80 km/hr. Above that, the vibration becomes rather pronounced, or maybe cos one begins to really feel the wind resistance. But I have taken the bike to 100 km/hr during its initial run-in -- I am following the recommendations of a certain MotoMan whose advice about running in of bike engines contradicts the manual, but it makes good sense to me.

The flat floor panel is a feature I appreciate very much. And the storage space is ample particularly if you have also installed a box behind.

Overall, I am very pleased with the bike though of cos it is still early days yet as my odometer has just passed the 300 km mark. Will be servicing my bike at Mah on Monday.

I was mistaken on this one. FJ is correct. The light will come on every 3000 km or so -- to remind us of the need for an oil change.

Oops... I was right after all. This is what the manual says: "The oil indicator will be on every 1,000 km, to warn the user to check (change) engine oil. Every 1,000 km when the oil indicator is on, press OIL button for above 2 seconds to put it out."

thanks yeokh!! btw what is your head light colour and what is the colour of the clear plastic at the meter there? cause i bought my bike as 2nd hand and my light is orange and the clear plastic is yellow.... the person who sell me the bike sat it original but when i see the net it white.... Hmmmmm~

Colour of headlight? Yellow, I should think. Don't really notice. My headlights are left ON all the time. And in the daytime, I also switch on the high beam. The colour doesn't really matter to me, so long as I am visible to others on the road.

As for the plastic on the meter, it is clear -- that is to say, colorlessly transparent.

anyone selling gts200?just sold my bike..urgently looking for one...contact me at 97771495..thanks

Bro, check the garage sale. There one gts 200 selling. Not easy to get one from private sellers.

Go check up the shop if u happened to, u will be shocked with the quoted price!

May try Nan wah located at Ang mo kio industrial park 1. Find out the price from him!

Anything can let me know.

5 Oct 2005 - Jun 2007(SP) FS6059X

18 Jun 2007 - 26 Nov 2007 -> CBR400, L model problematic FJ532*S

26 Nov 2007 - 12 Nov 2011 -> TA200, FV2X2G

12 Nov 2011 - 12 Nov 2012 -> SYM GTS200, FZ99*0D

29 Nov 2012 - 13 July 2015 -> KIA Rio HB 1.4M, SFY*

13 Jul 2015 - 28 Apr 2018 -> Kia Cerato V2 SKT*

28 Apr 2018 till current -> Hyundai Elentra S_trim SLZ*

Colour of headlight? Yellow, I should think. Don't really notice. My headlights are left ON all the time. And in the daytime, I also switch on the high beam. The colour doesn't really matter to me, so long as I am visible to others on the road.

As for the plastic on the meter, it is clear -- that is to say, colorlessly transparent.

Thumbs Up for riding bright!!!

http://motorcyclebikenews.com/sym-gts-125i-and-300i-new-sporty-look.hmtl

The new GTS125/300 2012 is wicked sia! I love the tail-light design

Sym is started to make more good looking scoot :)

uppss for SYM :thumb:

I like! Looks like a T Max from Taiwan :) Will check with Mah Pte when this shipment is in!

Don't know whether it is the same with other Sym bikes. But on the Joyride 200i Evo, there is a red switch on the right handlebar. The switch occurpies the position where the hazard lights switch is supposed to be. But it is not the hazard lights switch -- instead, if the switch is in one position, the engine will not start. Someone flicked the switch to this position, and at first, I thought there was something wrong with my bike. It's strange that the manual doesn't say anything about this. Comments, anyone?

That is engine cut. Give u quick access to cut off engine.

http://images.quizesilver.multiply.com/image/8/photos/19/500x500/1/Picture3.jpg?et=pp72A3vHiyWV%2B1gmEDuh4g&nmid=137248738
That is engine cut. Give u quick access to cut off engine.

The manual says this: The main switch in the〝 ON 〞 position, cuts according to this switch, four directions lantern festivals dodge extinguish do move, also can simultaneously dodge on the display board direction indicating lamp extinguishes does moves. If stops the vehicle has when the transportation frequent dangerous position or the vehicle the breakdown, may use the dangerous police to show the switch.

Probably means this switch has four positions -- two for the engine stop function, and the other two for the hazard lights. Will try out and find out for myself soon.