Meanwhile on the other side of the globe, Jan arrived on page 22....pffffff.... 43 to go!:p

So far I've read many many messages about oil-viscosity, and Kymco's advise, yeah Kymco advise to use SAE 5W-50, but in the same time onto the 'Owners Manual' Kymco showing us a nicely full chart, that showing us also the corresponding weather temperature conditions

And if you ask me and if you take look to that owners manual you don't need SAE 5W-50 in a hot country like Singapore!

I guess, SAE 5W-50 belong more for example to Nordic country's which have temperatures below zero, or even my own country where it's also freezing in wintertime and you can go ice-skating on the canals.

Here's my screen shot from the Owners manual:

http://freeimagehosting.nl/pics/9cdfbc6ac601fb451584803c2e54b6f0.jpg

I move on to page 22/23

Kind regards,

Jan :thumb:

Edited by J@n

Dr.Pulley / Spy / Cardo / Garmin-Zumo / Agility City 16" / Xciting 400i ABS

'Kymco Tourclub Holland'

• Replies 6.1k

@J@n

Hi J@n, welcome to this forum and feel free to post and share anything :thumb:

I'm preferring the higher SAE50 not so much the W(winter) but the better higher temperature protection and vibration insulation.

Intending to go SAE60. Running lower like the SAE40 "might" give lower fuel consumption and vibration than 50.

I'm running my gear oil with 75W140 cause "i feel" the 90 are not doing well. Now having wheezing sound when slowing down ha ha.

Will drain to check again and see if it turns grey.

@kongfu

I'm using AXA provided by Motorsport, wonder which insurance to take next. 1st party or 3rd with fire and theft?

if the difference is abit more $$$. can consider 1st party. cos scooter bodyworks is quite ex.

for my age 32 the difference is only about $100

1st party 400+

TPFT $300 +

additional rider under my dad's xciting 300

at least if touch wood accident can claim the total cost of repair

Yup yup, thanks for the advise. Drop 1 time just to respray already $280 :p

Can't imagine if have to renew fairing O.O

Yup yup, thanks for the advise. Drop 1 time just to respray already $280 :p

Can't imagine if have to renew fairing O.O

Er..I beg to differ a little. No doubt will still go for 1st party whenever possible, but don't forget about the excess that you have to pay to claim which is always around 500 or so.

Hence, most of the time even kena also fork out own poacket $$ cos repair price/part price not higher than excess at all.

Just my 2 cents

Mine is comprehensive 1st party insurance. Excess $300. NTUC will only insure me....

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Anybody knows when the stupid Bajaj advert will go away?? Hais. Hate to have to double click to clear the advert....

What about comprehensive 3 party fire n theft....

The only difference is you can't claim if you skid means in the event of an accident you musn't be in fault otherwise you can't claim for your own repair lor...correct me if I'm wrong

Anybody knows when the stupid Bajaj advert will go away?? Hais. Hate to have to double click to clear the advert....

Wa young man relax la lol...without this advertisers, how are they gonna maintain this site for us to discuss things here lol..

definition from general insurance association website

Comprehensive policy

Usually associated with motor insurance, a comprehensive policy covers repair or replacement of your vehicle if it is damaged or lost as a result of theft, accident, vandalism or weather-related damage. It also covers injury and repair or replacement costs of other vehicles and property that are accidentally damaged by your vehicle. Comprehensive cover is generally more expensive than third party cover alone.

Third party policy

Usually associated with motor insurance, third party policies provide cover for injury and damage caused by a person's vehicle to someone else's vehicle or property. Third party insurance is generally the cheapest kind of motor insurance, and is generally taken out by someone with a car of relatively low value to protect them from having to pay for damage their vehicle might do to a more expensive vehicle.

Third party, fire and theft

This is designed to cover injury and damage caused by a person's vehicle to someone else's vehicle or property. It also covers a person's vehicle if it is stolen or damaged by fire.

What about comprehensive 3 party fire n theft....

There is no comprehensive 3rd party. Only 3rd party. What it means is the insurance only covers cost to a 3rd party (i.e. anyone else's vehicle/property) in the event of an accident. Fire and theft refers to compensation in the event of a vehicular fire or theft.

Insurance is a great business - a group of people contributing to this pool of fund. The insurance company hopes nobody will claim from this fund. But in any case, if the insurance company realizes the fund is running out, just happily increase the premiums of contributions lor.

But of course, I'm sure they have their own ways in keeping out fraudsters - one such way is the excess. So small damages, will still be out of our own pockets. Only damages above excess will be claimable.

Er..I beg to differ a little. No doubt will still go for 1st party whenever possible, but don't forget about the excess that you have to pay to claim which is always around 500 or so.

Hence, most of the time even kena also fork out own poacket $$ cos repair price/part price not higher than excess at all.

Just my 2 cents

Aiyah! Forgot about the excess.

to all DT300i owners,

anyone of you here experience power lack in btw 4-5k rpm during pick up?

Not sure about the rpm but for me i found out that it only occurs between 40km/h-60km/h.

Once my scoot hit 40km/h (mild upslope or picking up) the scoot will feel like jerky/nopower/rpm drop.

Once the speed reach 60km/h and above the symptoms will disappeared.

If this is the problem you are talking about then i guess i got it too. I tried explaining to MS tech but the usual response is tuning, riding style, clutch, spark plug and the best response goes to "others don't have this problem leh." I give up, just ride loh. Seems Taiwan also facing the same problem. Change to malossi also the same. The Spanish have replace their ECU to the older model and it seems to solve the problem. You may want to check with Mr Herbert and try the old ECU with tuning and resetting.

Not sure about the rpm but for me i found out that it only occurs between 40km/h-60km/h.

Once my scoot hit 40km/h (mild upslope or picking up) the scoot will feel like jerky/nopower/rpm drop.

If this is the problem you are talking about then i guess i got it too. I tried explaining to MS tech but the usual response is tuning, riding style, clutch, spark plug and the best response goes to "others don't have this problem leh." I give up, just ride loh. Seems Taiwan also facing the same problem. Change to malossi also the same. The Spanish have replace their ECU to the older model and it seems to solve the problem. You may want to check with Mr Herbert and try the old ECU with tuning and resetting.

bro i get this kind of reply from them also all the time. Maybe its time we go together and voice our concern over the reliability of this brand. So far i also experience higher fuel consumption. And more weird noise coming from the electronics. Also, my signal timing is a bit inconsistent. Not sure if u have the same problem but my signal light blinks slower when moving and faster if i stop. Tried explaining to MS but they say all units are like that le. my friend 125 dont get such problem.

DT really that bad? Actually I suspect Xciting might hv the problem too. I guess I need to throttle in hard enuf to know the diff since I throttle very lightly as the bike is still running in.

im not so sure if DT is bad because i have not try other scooters. I feel the basic should be right for a bike at this current state of technology. How can signal light timing different and u say that it is normal? and also, why is there a drop in RPM when we power up on slope? when there is a problem the basic thing they should do is to investigate and give an answer. not just assuming its our riding style. i think its not right la.

If I were you, I'll go down to MS ask them to ride the scoot themselves to experience the problem I experience. If they still insist nothing is wrong with the bike, I really got nothing to say liao.

Oh ya! My signal light also has irregular ticking times - It ticks faster when I slow down. And recently, my scoot rpm from 7000rpm (peak power rpm for DT125), will drop to 6000 rpm, so momentarily, there's a loss in power. But my scoot 16,700km mileage liao. You all still below 10,000km right??

My fuel reserve light (yellow on the tachometer) lit up today. Confirm when it lights up, you're only left with 0.5L/ 500ml of fuel. Instead of refueling at the Shell kiosk on the way back from JB, I fueled at the Shell just after Woodlands Checkpoint. Hehe.

DT125i fuel consumption dropped to 29km/L. So 12.5L I can only cover 360km.

My fuel reserve light (yellow on the tachometer) lit up today. Confirm when it lights up, you're only left with 0.5L/ 500ml of fuel. Instead of refueling at the Shell kiosk on the way back from JB, I fueled at the Shell just after Woodlands Checkpoint. Hehe.

DT125i fuel consumption dropped to 29km/L. So 12.5L I can only cover 360km.

I think as long as can achieve 29 consider gd liao la

Haha. I'm not complaining bro. But pls note, when the yellow fuel light is on, that means you only have 0.5L left. And by then, the fuel gauge will not show anything - no bar/ fuel symbol on the digital readout. Hehe.

But better don't play play lah. Just go pump when the last bar starts blinking.