u mean kymco bikes/scooters must be serviced by MS?

not much garage have belts n rollers for kymco?

MS is a distributor for KYMCO we stock the spare parts for maintenance. You can service your scooter at any workshop and they know where to obtain the spare parts. Nowadays no workshop want to stock spare parts.

• Replies 6.1k

Huh?? Lawsuit ahh?? Well, if Herbert bothered to return my call, I wouldn't need to waste time moving my fingers typing all these experience that I've been through.

All the best to yr Kymco owners. Hope your dont have to experience what I been through.

Kindly be informed that I'm the manager of the company and not a sales person. To take in your scooter is by our sales person. They have to evaluate the condition and whether to take in or not is depend on them. You have contacted me and I have sincerely told you to contact our sales person Vincent Law. He informed you that due to the DT200i launch we have sold 30+ units and 30+ units sold 27 units of old bike coming in (trade-in) and advice you to post in SBF and get a better duel. You have to understand our situation as we have limited space and we have to clear some bikes before taking in. Without understanding our problem you accuse us of not helping you.

I have been riding DT300I for more than a year and now i find the bike pretty smooth while traveling below 100km/h. Fuel consumption on my riding style is about 27km/l on an average. Good pick up as well. This bike has got great understorage and together with a box, u really can go for your weekend market shopping.

Now here comes the not so good side of the bike. Firstly is the resale value, it really sucks. One way to counter that is to get a second hand? Next is that the bike has plenty of nitty gritty problems here and there like funny squeaky sound coming from inside the clutch to uneven power delivery at certain torque to nuts coming off resulting in exhaust cover hanging one side down and often scratching the tarmac. Now the worst technical problem with the bike is the steering cone which gave me problem at 7k mileage.

As for after sales service, one word, despaired. Which is the reason why all these problems still persist and i just had to live with it. This are my personal feel and i hope it does not affect your decision to get Kymco.

Dear Wee Keong, we understand you frustration the problem of moving off with jerk is due to the clutch and KY used FCC clutch from Japan. The same problem for Suzuki Burgman 400. KY had make effort to change to a better clutch and currently we have sample for testing. If you want to try out please give me a call. For steering cone you scooter coming to one year and we have change a new set under warranty for you totally FOC including labor and kindly be informed that the steering cone is from NTN Japan. Our after sales service for clutch that you complaint, we service for you a few time and we don't even charge you. My customer service even extend to you when you battery is flat and I come all the way to your house to change the battery without charging a single cents.

Erh, by right COE should be factored into the used price as well.

You'd realize that Motorsports pockets almost $4k for each Downtown they sell.

OMV = $2.6k. Inclusive of all other registration fees and taxes + OMV = $3.7k

Machine Price = $7.8k.

Pocket = $4.1k..... That's heck a lot of money that one will throw down the drain buying a new DT200i.

Or it must be Singaporeans are really rich to throw $4.1k away just like that.....

You are very childish, go and do your homework, did you add-in the 12% import duty, 15% ARF and 7%GST onto OMV???

Metzeler FeelFree -> Google out JR Pte Ltd. Call them up see if got stock.

Heidenau -> PM Brembo. So far I use Heidenau, it's pretty good! Still not as confident in the wet as Metzeler that said.

Pirelli/ Michellin only for emergency.... Lasting, but average grip even in the dry (forget about wet weather performance. Be prepared to go real slow)

Heidenau - I just spoke to Bro John. He won't have stock until maybe Mar. :(

Metzeler - Stock coming in only end Feb. :(

Has anybody tried the Michelin pure SC? Can someone share its performance? Appreciate any feedback. :)

You are very childish, go and do your homework, did you add-in the 12% import duty, 15% ARF and 7%GST onto OMV???

Hi Mr Herbert. Finally you come in and address the issue. Yes. I have factored in government taxes.

OMV DT125i: $2.2k

Taxes (34% of OMV = $748). Want me to add IU?? $150. License Plate?? $25. Registration Fee?? $140. Half year road Tax: $32. 2L petrol: $5.

Total: $3300.

Machine Price@$6600. Therefore profit $3300. Nvm, you doing business, not charity. I give it to you.

Oh ya. That time I asked you if Silver was coming in, you only say got Titanium color, Silver not coming in. 1-2 months after my dad took delivery of the scoot, Silver came in. Nvm, Titanium is a good color; Color of dust. Very easy to maintain. I also give it to you.

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

I was happy with my DT125i also, please don't get me wrong with all my previous postings.

However, I'm really not happy with the aftersales attitude the boss gave me. He didn't even want to take in my scoot be it trade-in or sell it back to Motorsports!!!

And I still can't come to terms that Motorsports is the agent and distributor of Kymco scoots, without having other shops take a parcel in the business, unlike most other brands of motorcycles except Harley Davidson. Even BMW also got other bike shops to help promote their bikes.

This resulted in high markups for every Kymco scoot thanks to low competition/ low sales numbers (thus profit is higher per scoot VS huge sales numbers thus lower profit per scoot).

Since Motorsports ain't interested in doing my business, why should I bother??

Peace bros!!! (This is something that I really have to share with those who intend to get a brand new Kymco scoot especially).

You are not happy with the aftersales attitude the boss because he did not take in your scooter?? Kindly note that we do not have any contract or agreement that we have to take in the bike we sold.

We have no other dealers helping to sell KY is that all this while we do not have a proper Class 2B bike to sell in our market. Now that we have DT200i we are recruiting dealers. For Harley and BMW do you think the bike is from distributor?? Many are from parallel importer.

Heidenau - I just spoke to Bro John. He won't have stock until maybe Mar. :(

Metzeler - Stock coming in only end Feb. :(

Has anybody tried the Michelin pure SC? Can someone share its performance? Appreciate any feedback. :)

I almost wanted to get Michelin Power Pure SC from Malossi. However, he didn't have stock for Downtown size (which also shares with Silverwing scooter). Thank goodness, I was fortunate enough to have Brembo save me the last set of Heidenau.

Thanks for finding out about the waiting time for Metzeler and Heidenau. Appreciate your research. Haha.

Kindly be informed that I'm the manager of the company and not a sales person. To take in your scooter is by our sales person. They have to evaluate the condition and whether to take in or not is depend on them. You have contacted me and I have sincerely told you to contact our sales person Vincent Law. He informed you that due to the DT200i launch we have sold 30+ units and 30+ units sold 27 units of old bike coming in (trade-in) and advice you to post in SBF and get a better duel. You have to understand our situation as we have limited space and we have to clear some bikes before taking in. Without understanding our problem you accuse us of not helping you.

Sorry hor. That time I called you is because Ah Lau asked me to call you. He even offered a trade-in of his Silverwing for my Downtown 125i. I was very touched with his loyalty, and his word of advice. I can see your showroom at MacPherson and Ubi workshop is packed.

When I called you, you ask me ask Ah Lau. Fine, I can understand at times, this kind of miscommunication is inevitable.

But hor, I don't remember Ah Lau telling me about how good DT200i sales were. I would like to congratulate you if I had known better. Seriously, I'm really proud, especially since the last few weeks, to see an increased presence of Downtown on our roads!!! Why didn't you tell me about DT200i sales then?? If such words came from you, I wouldn't need to post such discouraging details on this renowned bike forum. You know how sucky it felt riding Downtown pretty much alone on the roads?? Feels like I'm a lone ranger.

You should have returned my call and explain all these things to me. I had no qualms about Downtown 125i. I have joined an organized trip to KL, which was an eye-opener to me. When I told strangers and friends who were curious about my scoot, that my scoot was 125cc only and made it to KL within 4hrs (including lunch break and numerous petrol stops), they were all astonished.

*ps: I've since sold my scoot as you know. Being registered in June 2011, it's less than 2 years old. If the 2nd owner of my Downtown 125i go your showroom requesting a change for the steering cone, would you be gracious enough to provide it at a special discount rate??

I can't understand when someone wanted to sell their bike they don't think of depreciation. Try to own a car and you will know what is a depreciation. There is market value for Car as there is Parf value and COE rebat when you scrap the car but there is no market value for motorcycle as they do not have Parf value.

Motorcycle market value is determind by individual and there is no standard value. The bike is your the offer is our, if you agreed you sell if you don't find some way.

Nowaday, we have to take in bike even much lower because of "Lemon Law" which we need to give warranty 6 month for use bike.

We are in business we are talking about profit to substain our business. Currently we see post regarding MS charging higher service charge. We have no choice as rental is going up levy is increase to S$ 500 plus per worker and you know that most of the mechanic are Malaysian.

Sorry hor. That time I called you is because Ah Lau asked me to call you. He even offered a trade-in of his Silverwing for my Downtown 125i. I was very touched with his loyalty, and his word of advice. I can see your showroom at MacPherson and Ubi workshop is packed.

When I called you, you ask me ask Ah Lau. Fine, I can understand at times, this kind of miscommunication is inevitable.

But hor, I don't remember Ah Lau telling me about how good DT200i sales were. I would like to congratulate you if I had known better. Seriously, I'm really proud, especially since the last few weeks, to see an increased presence of Downtown on our roads!!! Why didn't you tell me about DT200i sales then?? If such words came from you, I wouldn't need to post such discouraging details on this renowned bike forum. You know how sucky it felt riding Downtown pretty much alone on the roads?? Feels like I'm a lone ranger.

You should have returned my call and explain all these things to me. I had no qualms about Downtown 125i. I have joined an organized trip to KL, which was an eye-opener to me. When I told strangers and friends who were curious about my scoot, that my scoot was 125cc only and made it to KL within 4hrs (including lunch break and numerous petrol stops), they were all astonished.

*ps: I've since sold my scoot as you know. Being registered in June 2011, it's less than 2 years old. If the 2nd owner of my Downtown 125i go your showroom requesting a change for the steering cone, would you be gracious enough to provide it at a special discount rate??

I will see into it ask him to contact me maybe i will give him a free steering cone set and he just need to pay for the labir.

Hi Mr Herbert. Finally you come in and address the issue. Yes. I have factored in government taxes.

OMV DT125i: $2.2k

Taxes (34% of OMV = $748). Want me to add IU?? $150. License Plate?? $25. Registration Fee?? $140. Half year road Tax: $32. 2L petrol: $5.

Total: $3300.

Machine Price@$6600. Therefore profit $3300. Nvm, you doing business, not charity. I give it to you.

Oh ya. That time I asked you if Silver was coming in, you only say got Titanium color, Silver not coming in. 1-2 months after my dad took delivery of the scoot, Silver came in. Nvm, Titanium is a good color; Color of dust. Very easy to maintain. I also give it to you.

I'm not interested in your calculation and I can assure you we don't make so much profit as what you have stated. There is some other charging which I'm not convenience to elaborate.

Even with the profit above, do you think is profitable?? You need a showroom, a workshop, a warehouse, 2 clerk, 5 mechanic and one manager.

As regard to color, it always depend on the manufacture. What they give us what we take.

Hi guys... just wanna share a lobang.... I wanted to make a duplicate key for my xciting and realised that it wasn't so easy to find someone who could do it.. I finally managed to get one done. The shop or rather stall is outside Sim lim tower the auntie charges 3 bucks.. if cannot open then no charge.. hope this have been of help to your guys.

Kindly be informed that we do sell original plain key for duplication.

I will see into it ask him to contact me maybe i will give him a free steering cone set and he just need to pay for the labir.

Yes, boss. I've asked the 2nd owner to contact you when he's available. Thank you for your immediate response. Really appreciate it. This kind of concern a fellow rider's safety =D

I'm not interested in your calculation and I can assure you we don't make so much profit as what you have stated. There is some other charging which I'm not convenience to elaborate.

Even with the profit above, do you think is profitable?? You need a showroom, a workshop, a warehouse, 2 clerk, 5 mechanic and one manager.

As regard to color, it always depend on the manufacture. What they give us what we take.

Yes boss, that's why I said you doing business, not charity in my previous post.

It will be great in future to let Kymco customers know the color availability and to give them the option to wait or take whatever colors are available. If it were me, I would be willing to put down a deposit and wait for the color to arrive. No worries / hurries one.

Now that we are communicating well (again), and that I feel assuring (as with all other Kymco owners / riders out there about the improvements that are to come with regards to more bike shops carrying the Kymco brand), I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Kymco brand to others and to my friends / relatives.

With the upcoming Xciting 400Ri, I'd like to wish Motorsports all-the-best for the sales in the new Snake Year. (Don't forget to bring in the yellow color please. Haha).

Anyone done full service for dt300i?

The belt seen rather expensive. $269.

Roller $40, u shoe never ask.labour $30

We have complaint to KY before regarding the belt is expensive and their reply is that KY use the higher quality belt from Mitsuboshi of Japan. There is nylon belt, fiber belt and kelver belt. KY want us to choose which type of belt we want for the new bike and we requested the kelver belt that can last longer. So if you want a after market belt we do have cost S$ 100 and we can't provide you information of the mileage the belt can last and any power lost.

KY wanted to be "THE BEST OF THE BEST" this is their slogan and do you think they want to fix cheap parts into the scooter they produce???

KY use Kehin (JaPAN) fuel injection system for the 200 to 500 cc and synerjet (USA) for small capacity and Nikki (Japan) for 700cc.

They use nylon belt for 200 cc below except DT200i and kelver for 300-500 cc.

All this are expensive when replace but reliable.

Now everyone know that the 600 and 650 one of the reputated brand is using OEM engine from KY do you think KY product is inferior??

Yes KYMCO products is not cheap due to the investment in plant and technology.

The above is for your info

actually from my past experince on PIaggio...belt will not snap just like that...... on wearing out you ill feel higher RPM to move off....higher rpm to maintian spped.... it is like the cluth no engaging fully.... no engineer worth his salt will design and allow belt to snap off just like that.....imagine the amount of internal damage done if it does

The belt will snap depend on what kind of material when producing.

For KY scooter design if the belt snap it will break free and will not damage other parts. For other models I have no comment.

We have complaint to KY before regarding the belt is expensive and their reply is that KY use the higher quality belt from Mitsuboshi of Japan. There is nylon belt, fiber belt and kelver belt. KY want us to choose which type of belt we want for the new bike and we requested the kelver belt that can last longer. So if you want a after market belt we do have cost S$ 100 and we can't provide you information of the mileage the belt can last and any power lost.

KY wanted to be "THE BEST OF THE BEST" this is their slogan and do you think they want to fix cheap parts into the scooter they produce???

KY use Kehin (JaPAN) fuel injection system for the 200 to 500 cc and synerjet (USA) for small capacity and Nikki (Japan) for 700cc.

They use nylon belt for 200 cc below except DT200i and kelver for 300-500 cc.

All this are expensive when replace but reliable.

Now everyone know that the 600 and 650 one of the reputated brand is using OEM engine from KY do you think KY product is inferior??

Yes KYMCO products is not cheap due to the investment in plant and technology.

The above is for your info

Just to clarify, fiber belt = carbon fiber belt right?? I believe it was just introduced into the industry. It's still a really expensive material. Any idea how long it'll last and how much??

Wow! It is indeed more costly than the usual scoots for servicing.

You feel that the servicing for DT300i is expensive, have you check on other brands in the same category??

DT use kelver belt, 8 roller and 3 u shoe.

Let me know if you have done it. Tks

Lol. On what basis does MotorSports justify the increase in cost??

Check with Government regarding the foreign worker levy, check the rental and check the wages.

All our mechanic is Malaysian, no Singaporean wanted to take up the job.

Our showroom rental shoot up 35%, and we have to move out end of March to Ubi 3006 Ubi Road 1 #01-350.

Do we justify our increase to substain our business to service our customers???

All these is part of doing business leh. This is Singapore. Business is not charity. It's a war out there. So your showroom at MacPherson will shift to 3006 Ubi, while your workshop at Ubi remains right?? Or 2-into-1???

We know that many DT125i customers is not happy about the new DT200i was launch.

We have trade-in 4 use DT125i for DT200i.

Let me clarify one thing, DT200i was launch in 2011 with a capacity of 205 cc. We are not able to bring in cos is under Class 2A license.

We have no choice as to bring in DT125i for our market as we do not have new model for Class 2B.

In end of 2011 KY management re-shuffler and one of R&D head was posted to take care of SEAsia market and we will under him.

After serval meeting with him, he had decided to request the management to produce a pure 200 for Singapore market.

Therefore DT200i is born.

All these is part of doing business leh. This is Singapore. Business is not charity. It's a war out there. So your showroom at MacPherson will shift to 3006 Ubi, while your workshop at Ubi remains right?? Or 2-into-1???

Showroom at Blk 3006 workshop still the same at Blk 3007.