• Replies 6.1k

Aftermarket fitting should solve the problem...... Haha!

I am crossing my firgers this will solve the problem, running out of ideas...

If it works I will get my DT a set of shiny new Pirelli tyre as a reward

Well, my 5000km service will be up in a few more weeks.

I'm thinking of OWS oil rather than Motul. What do u guys think?

Do I have to buy from somewhere or can just ask Motorsports to order?

And the servicing interval is still 5000km even though fully synthetic oil is used?

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Well, my 5000km service will be up in a few more weeks.

I'm thinking of OWS oil rather than Motul. What do u guys think?

Do I have to buy from somewhere or can just ask Motorsports to order?

And the servicing interval is still 5000km even though fully synthetic oil is used?

I've change to full synthetic at my 2000km even though they said should do it at 5000km.

"They said should listen to them as they are the manufacturer", so I told them "Why is the problem still persistent

if the manufacturer is always right" (For the clutch system)

Anyway. I would recommend you change your oil every 3500km for fully synthetic.

Maybe you wanna try Moty's? Anyway, I might try the Motul 300V the next rd.

Never tried the OWS before, however it is well advertised....lol

On paper it seems quite good, but I believe one must use the product to decide

for him/herself.

Strange enough, the Moty's EO on my bike seems to have "taken effect" in that my engine

now have quieten down considerably.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

I've change to full synthetic at my 2000km even though they said should do it at 5000km.

"They said should listen to them as they are the manufacturer", so I told them "Why is the problem still persistent

if the manufacturer is always right" (For the clutch system)

Anyway. I would recommend you change your oil every 3500km for fully synthetic.

Maybe you wanna try Moty's? Anyway, I might try the Motul 300V the next rd.

Never tried the OWS before, however it is well advertised....lol

On paper it seems quite good, but I believe one must use the product to decide

for him/herself.

Strange enough, the Moty's EO on my bike seems to have "taken effect" in that my engine

now have quieten down considerably.

Unique Motorsport has both Motul and OWS. It costs $33 and $23 respectively..... Haha!

But shouldn't fully synthetic have longer servicing interval?

I dont like to send my scooter down for frequent service.... Haha!

If you think synthetic should have longer service interval, try triple R approved for Lotus cars, or Schnell Ultimate II now selling for $22.90 for 4l made in Germany. See you dare to change at 5000km. Super cheap synthetics @ giant.

Ha ha I ask the same question before. Why car can last 10000km and bikes only 5000km and car use 4liters average and 4 cylinder and bike only 1 cylinder shouldn't it last longer?

The answer someone told me is because scooter run at very high rpm(~ 5000rpm) as compare to cars about 2000rpm.

Ha ha I ask the same question before. Why car can last 10000km and bikes only 5000km and car use 4liters average and 4 cylinder and bike only 1 cylinder shouldn't it last longer?

The answer someone told me is because scooter run at very high rpm(~ 5000rpm) as compare to cars about 2000rpm.

Actually, here in Singapore, the car servicing centre are all kiasu lah. For car, shouldn't have problems running at 20,000km intervals one. They just want the business.

Cars in europe and USA, have their servicing intervals at 40,000 or 60,000km intervals. Yes, their weather is much cooler, so the engine don't have to work as hard to be cooled or to run efficiently, but from 40,000km interval down to 10,000km interval? Lol!

As for bike, well, what your said is true. But still.....

Why don't I put it this way.

You put in synthetic oil, you can feel the difference almost immediately. Some good oil takes longer to feel better. Take it at the point when you feel that the scooter is getting the goodness from the oil. How to tell? It starts easier, engine is smoother when you throttle it it feels lighter. Unless you are using lousy oil or didn't change oil for a long time you can't feel it ha ha :p

Anyway my experience is, when I start the scoot, when i rev the scoot if it all feels like not the usual, I will try and change the oil ASAP. I was using carrefour Mobil 0w40 and after only 2000km starting becomes not smooth in the morning and the engine is not as smooth, a bit rough. That's how I tell from my old scooter ha ha.

Actually, here in Singapore, the car servicing centre are all kiasu lah. For car, shouldn't have problems running at 20,000km intervals one. They just want the business.

Cars in europe and USA, have their servicing intervals at 40,000 or 60,000km intervals. Yes, their weather is much cooler, so the engine don't have to work as hard to be cooled or to run efficiently, but from 40,000km interval down to 10,000km interval? Lol!

Wow! 40000km to 60000km that's bloody fantastic. Even Amoils extended synthetics recommend up to 20000miles only.

Hope you did not confuse it with transmission oil.

Nissan CVT gear box oil(NS-2)can last up to 120000km

Wow! 40000km to 60000km that's bloody fantastic. Even Amoils extended synthetics recommend up to 20000miles only.

Hope you did not confuse it with transmission oil.

Nissan CVT gear box oil(NS-2)can last up to 120000km

Yes. Confirm countries in Europe and USA have oil change intervals of 40,000-60,000km [convert it to miles which they use there].

Well, ain't fully synthetic oils better than normal synthetic oil?

Yes. Confirm countries in Europe and USA have oil change intervals of 40,000-60,000km [convert it to miles which they use there].

Well, ain't fully synthetic oils better than normal synthetic oil?

Huh? Normal Synthetics? You mean Semi Synthetics? Semi synthetics are actually mineral oil with additives. I read somewhere that oil company use the word semi-SYNTHETIC to con consumer into paying more for mineral oil. Only fully syn are synthetics. Semi-syn are not considered synthetics although it has added synthetic additives and use the word semi syn. That i think is the loop hole. They are not wrong in calling it synthetic as semi-syn got add synthetic additive what hor :p

Lol! Thx for the info.... Well, my next change of oil will definitely be fully synthetic. Will probably try OWS first....

Eager to see if there's noticeable change in the 125cc performance and engine rpm speed, compared to present.

May i know why you chose OWS. It's not popular in the first place no? What is the viscosity of the oil eg 5W50?

It was on display.... Anyways, in Singapore not many engine oil products leah....

If I'm not wrong, it should be 5W10-40?? Don't rmb seeing a 5W-50.... Haha

It was on display.... Anyways, in Singapore not many engine oil products leah....

If I'm not wrong, it should be 5W10-40?? Don't rmb seeing a 5W-50.... Haha

Redline, Royal Purple, Amsoil, Motul, Repsol, Fuchs, Mobil, Esso, Shell, Havoline, SPC, Castrol, Malossi, Maxima, Greddy, Idemitsu, Agip and a lot more not so popular ones or rare. Quite a lot leh.

@topgearalwaysrock

How's your Metz

Do you know there is a run-in for your tire?

There is a coating on the exterior to protect the tire for storage.

Not that you will go play cornering, the coating may cause the tire to be slippery.

Since you say the tire very good and grippy, should be ok.

Edited by parotae
@topgearalwaysrock

How's your Metz

Do you know there is a run-in for your tire?

There is a coating on the exterior to protect the tire for storage.

Not that you will go play cornering, the coating may cause the tire to be slippery.

Since you say the tire very good and grippy, should be ok.

Yeap. But even though there's a supposed coating, the grip is already much much better than the Maxxis liao.

I was thinking how come the learner bike while I was still learning, the tires then weren't slippery/ had lack of grip....

now, I'm really glad the grip is back!

Actually EO changing is almost similar to your tyres changing experience IMO.

Just because you have a better set of tyres, doesn't mean you can take longer to change.

In your case, you change the tyres away because you don't like the grip. Same thing with the EO, you may not like the way your engine react to it or vice versal.

Externally, you can judge from your tyre's thread to determine whether it is ready for change. But most of us

would normally wait for the tyre to start losing its grip before doing so. I have to admit, I'm one of them.

But with EO, you can't really "see". Though we think we can feel it, the damage might have already been done.

In that by the time you change your EO (not the 1st few time), suddenly you will "feel" that the engine no longers

run like before. Then your fuel economy will be affected, gasket leaking, louder engine noise....etc Or you might

need a "thicker" EO to make it run smoother again.

I believe when your EO has broken down, it will also take longer for the EO to run thru the engine during the cold start in the morning.

It is good to establish a regular maintenance interval according to your riding style as each of our riding style differs.

And of course our preferences in maintaining the bike.

Bikes ridden:

89-YamahaLC125, 91-SuzukiRG125, 92-HondaCBR400J , 94-YamahaVirago400, 94-SuzukiGSXR400R, 94-YamahaTZR125, 94-HondaCBR400NFireblade, 96-HondaSteed400,

97-AprilaExtrema125, 97-HondaCBR400LFireblade ,98-HondaShadow400, 00-HondaCB400VTEC1, 01HondaSteed400, 05-PiaggioX9180, 07-HondaSilverwing400, 11-KymcoDowntown300

2014-Majesty 400 2015-Silverwing SW-GT400 2017-Yamaha Tmax530

What were ur first tell tale signs of a failed clutch/ variator?

I heard a slight weezing sound from my scooter this morning.... But it went off after the engine had warmed up....