Originally posted by manhunt@Oct 25 2005, 08:24 PM

btw saw a thread by junior83 selling his rear shock at $100.... condition looks quite gd but wondering y he selling it if it is still woking fine? unless he oso change to 600 rear shock?? :confused:

hey guys mine is just a spare one...tension finish liao but sring still got long way to go..the 1 im using now is still in good condition so wat 4 change rite...selling 4 100 bucks...can view 1st if anybody wants it...pm me lor

• Replies 48.6k

• Aalex82

• fx110

• honam24

• RYAN KEITH SMITH

Originally posted by il4@Oct 26 2005, 09:23 AM

Damper is for really bad headshakes. for highspeed stability, really depends on your suspension set up, may i check whats your laden sag for the front and rear?

hmmm.... for the rear tink is the max liao which my mech claims, for the front hav no idea leh. hw u check? I push forward my bike got no rebound at all.

CBR400[:::::;;;;;>

Originally posted by Aalex82@Oct 26 2005, 02:57 AM

wat il4 mean for headshake is when u go highspeed, yr handlebar tend to turn left and rite...

damper is there for u to control those rite and left disturbance...

if u feel yr bike unstable, u need to check yr shock...

the power cut in cbr is there to tell u that the bike handling power is the lowest at that speed, anymore than that power cut speed mean quite dangerous le...

oh no no my handle bar don shake la, i juz wan to double secure. riding posture is important as well wen u travelling at high speed. I juz wan double secure for me & my bike tats all. If u guys find tat it not the least neccessary den tink i giv it a miss lor. juz tot tat damper is an important secure for the bike wen travelling high speed juz like having gd brake hose.

Don't waste money on a damper, its not necessary and not the answer to the problem you are having. Being a little unstable in cross winds has more to do with the fact that it is a very small light bike and with a small light rider is even more noticable.

I used to ride a CBR250 for a while in Australia and would literally be leaning sideways just to go straight from the cross wind in some sections, nothing a damper would ever do anything about though.

Originally posted by manhunt@Oct 26 2005, 10:07 AM

hmmm.... for the rear tink is the max liao which my mech claims, for the front hav no idea leh. hw u check? I push forward my bike got no rebound at all.

no rebound? that sounds very dangerous.

anyway save up the money for ur next bike lah... from the way i see u always hang out with mark, u'r probably gonna get a cl2 bike next yr. then u'll wished u had saved it up for your next bike instead.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11573/happyhalloween.jpg
Originally posted by tealeaf@Oct 26 2005, 12:28 PM

no rebound? that sounds very dangerous.

anyway save up the money for ur next bike lah... from the way i see u always hang out with mark, u'r probably gonna get a cl2 bike next yr. then u'll wished u had saved it up for your next bike instead.

haha den need ur technical guidance liao lor, u la..nvr teach me hw to set leh... cl2 bike will hav to wait another 2 yrs la. Y u all keep saying I will change bike? keke

Btw, we goin ipoh comin wkend, wana join us?

Originally posted by il4@Oct 26 2005, 05:18 PM

go get your laden sag set properly. 60kg dun require you to have the rear preload crank to the max.

well since tat case will drop the idea of gettin a damper, so wat is the best and proper setting for me? Thx.. gona to learn something new again :cheeky:

Originally posted by Zer0@Oct 25 2005, 11:29 AM

Got my new front brake discs from the US last week so will put them on my CBR soon as well. $115 for a set, good stuff :)

where u get it?can tell me? interested to get 4 myself too. u frm greybike?

Originally posted by manhunt@Oct 25 2005, 08:24 PM

btw saw a thread by junior83 selling his rear shock at $100.... condition looks quite gd but wondering y he selling it if it is still woking fine? unless he oso change to 600 rear shock?? :confused:

Reason? Totaly new feeling with a new shock , guranteed.

Mine is new set to . Got itn exchange for FOC for the screw up fork they sold me.

Originally posted by tzmm@Oct 26 2005, 06:53 PM

where u get it?can tell me? interested to get 4 myself too. u frm greybike?

Most ppl just buy the brake disc without measuring the thickness left.

For R model min thickness is 3.5MM. ans check for surface flatness using a dial gauge.

I did major n minor checks for my Thai ride soon.

things like

Voltage check - 12.8v ok

Rectifier check- 12.8v, ohm , continuity etc-

Fuel pump- fine

Fuel filter- replaced

Fuel hose- ok

Coolant flush

Brake bleeding

Starter motor check- ok

Tires

brakes

suspension, forks

stering cone, wheel cones

chain n sprockets - new

and found that

- exhaust got minor leakage, replace with new gasket .

- mirror slanted- replace with new miror stay

anymore to add in?

Hope my second ride to Thai with this babe and my babe would be smooth..:cheer:

This would be my last ride with a CBR400 RRR virgin .

PS: can recomend me a mechanic who know depth abt electrical stuff , my regular mech dont even know how to check fuelpump, starter rotor etc, need to check myself ....

Originally posted by henRRy@Oct 26 2005, 07:26 PM

I did major n minor checks for my Thai ride soon.

things like

Voltage check - 12.8v ok

Rectifier check- 12.8v, ohm , continuity etc-

Fuel pump- fine

Fuel filter- replaced

Fuel hose- ok

Coolant flush

Brake bleeding

Starter motor check- ok

Tires

brakes

suspension, forks

stering cone, wheel cones

chain n sprockets - new

and found that

- exhaust got minor leakage, replace with new gasket .

- mirror slanted- replace with new miror stay

anymore to add in?

Hope my second ride to Thai with this babe would be smooth..:cheer:

PS: can recomend me a mechanic who know depth abt electrical stuff , my regular mech dont even know how to check fuelpump, starter rotor etc, need to check myself ....

How about the rider? Any checks done?

:D :D :D

Dun forget to bring you logcard, road tax and insurance along. You may like to bring along one set of tire repair kit, air pump as well. Also, ensure that the dual zips along your bags are secured to one side (not middle). Bring along a small bottle of chain lube if possible. Spare bulbs as well... Some standard sizes tools for CBR might help a great deal for any breakdowns.

Cheers and have a safe journey!

Originally posted by Lmodel@Oct 26 2005, 07:33 PM

How about the rider? Any checks done?

:D :D :D

Dun forget to bring you logcard, road tax and insurance along. You may like to bring along one set of tire repair kit, air pump as well. Also, ensure that the dual zips along your bags are secured to one side (not middle). Bring along a small bottle of chain lube if possible. Spare bulbs as well... Some standard sizes tools for CBR might help a great deal for any breakdowns.

Cheers and have a safe journey!

Rider? oh yes.

Log card , passport , ic, blabla, CC all copied and laminated into a book for 999 use.

Tire repair kit, mini pump, spare bulbs, fuses, brake and clutch levers, chain oils, tire gauge ,spark plug , volt, oem toolkit all standbyed. thanks for remiding .

dual zips along your bags are secured to one side (not middle).'???

u mean Sport Side Panniers? Oh well the new series of Rjays bag is ver impressive, its hard , zip with locks , the lock is very nice na cute. built in to the zip itself. .

anymore?

ANYONE CAN BORROW ME THE OEM TOOLKIT FOR ONE WEEK PLS PM ME!

i need it coz some of my tools are not complted like C spannera , Sprk Plug remover etc.

Originally posted by il4@Oct 26 2005, 06:26 PM

if your front and rear is working properly, you can start from 35mm front and 30mm rear rider sag. This is the starting point.

ok point noted... Thx pal :thumb:

Originally posted by henRRy@Oct 26 2005, 07:30 PM

oh ya,

Tire chaging to Metz Sportec M1. 120-150. :cheer:

per pair? or back only?or front only? :confused:

July 04 - June 05: Krr 150

Sept 05 - Apr 07: CBR400RRR

Apr 07 - Apr 10: R1

June 10 - July 11: X1

Mar 11 - ???: 1198

Originally posted by henRRy@Oct 26 2005, 07:44 PM

u mean Sport Side Panniers? Oh well the new series of Rjays bag is ver impressive, its hard , zip with locks , the lock is very nice na cute. built in to the zip itself. .

hey, u got any pics of these? tot of getting one... :smile:

July 04 - June 05: Krr 150

Sept 05 - Apr 07: CBR400RRR

Apr 07 - Apr 10: R1

June 10 - July 11: X1

Mar 11 - ???: 1198