I am a Singaporean with driving license and I will live in Johor for the next 2-3 years. Like to buy a bike or motorped there for short trips to malls and makan.

Any local rules and regulation on owning bike?

Need to get a Malaysian license?

• Replies 5

Meaning, you don't have a motorcycle licence?

Don't risk it. I just got stopped by JPJ (M'sian LTA) two days back. They checked my licence to see if I am qualified to ride my class of bike.

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

RM50? My friend just kena driving without displaying his roadtax?!?! Damage: RM300 WTF??? The roadtax for Singapore use oso kena...:faint:

Sorry to say, this was bull on the malaysian tp side. They just need to get kopi money, somehow, ANYHOW.

Got once, they told me my headlight not bright enough for malaysian legislation and fine 200rm, pay now or go to police station. I said "Ok sir, go police station, my father lawyer we can settle it legally." He let me off.

They really scum worse then criminals there.

Good nature and honesty is often rewarded

Cheaters and liars are often compounded

karma watches, and remembers

in malaysia, you need to know how to sweet talk a little bit. also don't display a lot of bravado. this way you can either get away with anything, or you can get out of anything with small kopi money, even with rm20...sometimes less. of course if you have an expensive drive/ride then please fork out rm50 cos it is a lot easier. but if you drive/ride something more conventional, you can certainly part with less.

also, if you can blend in with the crowd usually they won't even disturb you much. stand out too much sure kenna at some point lah.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg