Cagiva Planet

dui news. the other day ride halfway throttle cable snapped. ARGH!!!!!!!!!! @!#^% anyone know if any throttle cable i buy from LAB can fit, or muz specifically be for cagiva bikes? URGENT sio.. needa fix it.. no transport v hard to live.

• Replies 1.2k

Originally posted by jonathan543@Oct 9 2005, 06:32 PM

juz viewed my friend's 2nd hand ktm200. power is awesome, though i din try his bike, under hard acceleration the front wheels lifted up easily! damn power but undergeared. he claimed on gear 5 or 6 doing 90 nia.. on big knobbies i think his bike consume alot more petrol unless on thinner knobbies or motard wheelset.

any bros wanna meet up ard lab area tomorrow eve? me going down to biketech21 to submit papers & to acc my friend to extract his broken off key from his handlebar lock.... most prob ard 3pm heh... do drop me a sms if ur coming... 91452560... :thumb:

hey jon, now that u have a brand new unrestricted arrow can, try dropping the clutch at high revs in first gear... the planet has more than enough power to lift the front wheels... hehe... i cant seem to hold it long enough to do a wheelie though! The clutch plates are quite sturdy, so dont have to worry too much abt burning them off...

And the acceleration quite scary at high revs isnt it?!? I wonder how bigger bikes will feel on spore roads!!@ I cant go to LAB at 3pm bro... not on weekdays atleast...

Instead lets do a trip to the scrapyard... by this week, anyone free during lunch or mebbe this saturday, or is the scrapyard open in the evenings? Follow up with a meet@ marina bay next weekend, yea?

sorry Ron, not sure... mebbe u can call ur mech and ask or racewerks @62732203.

hahaa... still yet to get used to the bike's new handling... ven wad u mean by dropping the clutch on the 1st gear under high rev? u mean on the 2nd and kick down to the 1st on full throttle? or rev the engine high then throw the clutch on the 1st?

next weekend meet sounds cool but i work nite shift on sat eve... but sunday morning free whole day heheh....

and juz saw a p plated fy plate aprillia truneo at my place eh... quite chio from the front but wit the head fairing from the side view looks kinda strange. and noticed it actually have some fairing hugging the main frame... not like ours naked... :thumb: but very nice & stylo!

]

how much can this FQ plate cagiva planet fetch? COE left 3 years, road tax just renewed.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Depends on the condition of the bike and what mods the previous owner has... usually between 1.5k-3k....

Ven... can you briefly explain the procedure of getting your speedo from ebay.... cos i thinking of ordering the polini big bore kit... its 165cc kit... but i'm not sure how everything goes....

Originally posted by angelus_conceicao@Oct 12 2005, 03:40 AM

Depends on the condition of the bike and what mods the previous owner has... usually between 1.5k-3k....

Ven... can you briefly explain the procedure of getting your speedo from ebay.... cos i thinking of ordering the polini big bore kit... its 165cc kit... but i'm not sure how everything goes....

hi angelus, i would suggest reading up on the net abt the big bore kits. koz i read it somewhere these kits are meant for racing & they dun lasts very long for domestic use. so plenty of reviews about the piston getting seized or wore out pretty fast.

i think if through proper channels very hard to get approval from lta as stock planet components might not take the stress of extra horse power. heheh if u really installed the kit update us on the performance okies? :bouncefire: then you'll have a really nice weekend chiong bike liao!

hi rongx, they dun inspect ur speedo. but at least muz have one la... spoilt or not they dun bother one... they juz check ur exhaust noise & emission levels, all ur lights & brakes. relatively ez to pass de, as long as they're stock :cheeky:

]

I noticed someone was asking if there were any FS or later Planets for sale.

I will be putting up my Planet (FS, Yr 2000) for sale sometime in early-mid Nov as I would most likely be going overseas for work. The bike is low mileage, about 18,000+ kms to date and all the parts are stock (as far as I know), except for the battery and tyres. Asking price would probably start around $3K or slightly more and will be negotiable.

I will be posting more details when I have confirmed my plans. In the meantime, please do not email me as I will not be able to reply due to work commitments but do keep an eye out for more info! :cheer:

Originally posted by angelus_conceicao@Oct 12 2005, 03:40 AM

Its quite straighforward... the toughest part is to search right so that you can find enough results (try EU, UK etc). Once you bid and win (ebay has a very useful feature where you can enter your maximum bid and ebay will automatically bid for you upto this value), wait for an online bill from your seller where he wil factor in shipping costs as well. Then pay thro Paypal or other methods and once he recieves the payments (2-3 days) he will ship the stuff which can take upto 2 weeks to arrive!! done!

If the seller does not ship outside Europe, you can request him to do so and enquire the shippping costs before hand, as they can be quite high. Good luck bro, do let us know if you are goin ahead with it :)

hmm wads wrong wit planet? it looks big & nice, plus a pretty rare sight on road ma hahaa....

the oni downside i find is it drinks fuel like siao... everytime the fuel guage lits up ard 130+km... phew!:help:

plus the sounds of its engine doesn't really suit the bike... ppl would expect a deep growl of a bigger 4stroke. instead, it sounds like a honda cub heheh. :thumb:

]

I totally agree with jon, I got my planet because it's so uncommon.

Can I check with you guys where you service your bikes?

I bring my planet to First Motor at Ubi. I feel that the service there is pretty okay but I have heard others complain about it.

1st motor is reliable to me. ah seng dont give discounts though.. at least to me he dont, but as long as he does good work, pay abit more wont kill.

me go racewerks... koz nearer to my place... plus can get 2nd hand parts from scrape yard heheh... btw who's black planet plate no 747(i think)? saw a fr plate black planet there today... had it's cdi shorted... :giddy:

]

where is racewerks?

but I think I'll stick to 1st then... the mechs recognize me and are quite nice. You're right about the no discounts though.

I'll probably bring my bike in sometime this week. Walao, last weekend the rain was damn jialat and my planet fell over... broke the front foot rest and left mirror. The clutch lever and gear shift a bit bent also but still can ride

rw is located in bukit merah... where all the bikes shop are located, like albert's, hkl, etc. its somewhere opp queensway shopping center.

wow bro rocket, the impact quite big huh? even broke the front foot rest! can ask ur bikeshop to ask from scrap yard lor... should be cheaper... :goodluck:

]

Originally posted by jonathan543@Oct 24 2005, 11:28 PM

rw is located in bukit merah... where all the bikes shop are located, like albert's, hkl, etc. its somewhere opp queensway shopping center.

wow bro rocket, the impact quite big huh? even broke the front foot rest! can ask ur bikeshop to ask from scrap yard lor... should be cheaper... :goodluck:

Jon, thanks for the tip... hope the damage is not too much. :weep:

btw, just curious: how often do you service your planet, and how often you ask the shop to clean your valve and carb, etc...

my planet's oni been with me for 2months plus... juz done 5000km & changed gearbox oil. then found out the coolant was slowly leaking into the oil. think every 3000km muz change the oil liao. gotta save up for the seals & stuff liao... haiz... hopefully can save up enough to spray the whole bike & wheels & the exhaust stomach. started to rust liao.

i would be posting pics of the pilot lights on the belly pan & lights on the bicycle digi speedo which i diyed soon. if anyone's interested i can guide u guys along. and found out dat my old speedo can oni give max reading of 118km/h nia. changed to a new cateye velo5, entry level speedo with very basic functions for $30 oni! can give readings up to 299km/h!

woohoo! loot 2nd link this weekend to see how fast can planet goes! :cheer:

]

close up of how the speedo looks like after being lit up. blue led had a bad contrast than white led. but it looks cool in the night! this speedo is my 2yr old bicycle speedo. bought the newer one which had a much better visibility display under the blue light, although the digits are slightly smaller than this old one. oh and some of the blue light was cast on the speedo too(notice the planet's speedo), in the night looks pretty good too, almost like a blue background with lit up red details heheh.

]

the pilot lights on the bellypan. i've soldered 3 leds instead of the original 1 led. 2facing front & 1 facing back. angle can be changed by tilting them. u can either blind the front & create a neon like effect on the ground wit the rear led, or vice versa.

]

side view of my bike. in the night the blue light will be more visible on the ground. infact the pilot lights on the belly pan will illuminate the fork & the front wheels too if it's dark enough heheh. now thinking wad colour led to use for the blinking alarm led heehee....

]