Hi ashenZ,

Feedback from some ST siao saying that Mutol and castrol not that gd. As for which wan good it up to individual.

As for gear oil any brands will do.

As for cost not sure

• Replies 6.6k

Originally posted by shebiker67@May 25 2004, 03:03 AM

Nope I don't cos I rarely ride without my jacket... Thus, no one knew I'm a female[/size7]... :smile:

:lol: cuz u r with FF helmet all the time. :D

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

haiz....

i guess it's time to get my thermostat checked out again.....

went JB to "pa-you" during midnight, got stuck for awhile at the JB checkpoint while coming out. my temp actually went to 3/4 mark :giddy:

the fan usually kicks in at 1/4.... but then, this is the first time it happens. the problem is. my bike "short short" one. everytime i encountered some problem, bring it to my mechanic, it mysteriously recovered by itself :sian: so most of the time, my mechanic couldn't troubleshoot what's happening :sweat:

hi kobane,

with top box

- no load = bike perform 60% than usual.

- touring load = bike perform 20% than usual, especially wide turnings, bike tents to auto 'kup' & front steering is lighter. not so adviceable for STrr riders..

simon,

what's this 60% and 20% you talking about? and what's STrr riders?

anyone change the signal light to on whenever switch on the head light?

How much it cost? Motorshop charge me $30 buck for wiring for both signal light. Find it too ex. any shop to recommend? Price?

normen11,

i'm not sure what price my mechanic does it, but he has been doing these mods to a lot of STs, namely :

1) hazard lights

2) thermostat switches (cooling fan to kick in at 1/4 mark instead of original 3/4)

3) that mod you mentioned (for pan euro models)

4) headlight on/off (for US models, to reduce high startin current during start up)

5) voltmeter (for non TP models)

6) alarms (optional)

7) yada yada yada....

too many, cant remember all... i have most of the above mentioned mods, less item (3), coz mine "lao jarbo" US model :cheeky:

Drink. Ride. Bloody Idiot.

RedSTer #5025

Originally posted by kobane@May 25 2004, 11:17 AM

haiz....

went JB to "pa-you" during midnight, got stuck for awhile at the JB checkpoint while coming out. my temp actually went to 3/4 mark :giddy:

the fan usually kicks in at 1/4.... but then, this is the first time it happens. the problem is. my bike "short short" one. everytime i encountered some problem, bring it to my mechanic, it mysteriously recovered by itself :sian: so most of the time, my mechanic couldn't troubleshoot what's happening :sweat:

simon,

normen11,

i'm not sure what price my mechanic does it, but he has been doing these mods to a lot of STs, namely :

1) hazard lights

2) thermostat switches (cooling fan to kick in at 1/4 mark instead of original 3/4)

4) headlight on/off (for US models, to reduce high startin current during start up)

6) alarms (optional)

7) yada yada yada....

too many, cant remember all... i have most of the above mentioned mods, less item (3), coz mine "lao jarbo" US model :cheeky:

Hi Guys!!! wats up man....heheheheh anyway, i am back from the marking of 600 scripts ALL ESSAYS !!!! Wah lau!!!

Have been reading your posts about the starting of the fan at the marks. If one hasnt modifed the thermostat for the bike to come on at 1/4 then, the original stock bike will start the fan at 3/4 temp........

However, if you have changed the thermostat, and the fan comes on at 3/4 then there is something wrong already, and it could be this.......there is not enough water in the radiator.......as the water level is low, the thermostat cannot be activated and the temp cannot activate the fan until it is very hot......as the thermostat might not be immersed in the water. This is due to a couple of reasons. The cheaper reason is, there is a leak in the pipes surrounding or leading to and from the radiator and this cost something like 20 per pipe to change..............the other reason is the water pump is damaged.....and this cost something like 700 to change......the least probable reason but still possible is the thermostat being damaged.......this cost 25 to change........

So better be careful, better check the pipes first.....but must open up the radiator cap to check the water level, if there is no water at the top of the radiator hole, then fill it up until it reaches the brim, then see how much water you poured in, please take note of the beginning amount. The reason is that if the bike overheats, there is a BIG BIG problem......happened to me before.....first the clutch oils and whatever oils would degrade and then there would be precipitation of the oil and it would have the sandy feeling within the oil, this would cause unnecessary friction and then you guessed it.....it would be a gonner sooner then you know it.....how to know if bike overheats and affects the oil.....the clutch pump and the oil doesnt flow through and the worst case scenario is when engage 1st gear, even with clutch lever pulled in, the bike shoots forward......wah!!! i tell you!!! hehehehehe dun play play ok? this is what i can offer so far, maybe with more info, we can know more and diagnose your bikes problem.....see you all around soon......

Sorry for long essay.....hope it helps....

how much does 1 of the headlight bulb cost huh ? i think 1 of mine is blown but dunno whether worth to go all the way down to the shop where i bought mine to get it replaced, since it is under warranty....

Originally posted by BoonHean@May 25 2004, 03:39 PM

how much does 1 of the headlight bulb cost huh ? i think 1 of mine is blown but dunno whether worth to go all the way down to the shop where i bought mine to get it replaced, since it is under warranty....

hi BoonHean,

after market halogen buld ranger from Sgd8-80(1 or pair) 55W-60 or 100W-110, 'chiong' xenom or...... for installation of those after market bulb u will need to detach(break it) the retaining lever from both side of the ring before it could be fitted into our headlight's housing.

BUT original stock from honda is Sgd70++ (1 only) 45W-50 only from Boon Siew. so costly cuz of they r the only 1 this wattage range 45W-50 :sian:

a car accessory shop at Sunshine Plaza(bencoolen) 'chew hup thai', look for Lilian. she last sold me at only Sgd12(pair) 110W-130 white light halogen buld. she has also many other different wattage ranger but dont have 45W-50.. :mad:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@May 25 2004, 03:49 PM

hi BoonHean,

after market halogen buld ranger from Sgd8-80(1 or pair) 55W-60 or 100W-110, 'chiong' xenom or...... for installation of those after market bulb u will need to detach(break it) the retaining lever from both side of the ring before it could be fitted into our headlight's housing.

BUT original stock from honda is Sgd70++ (1 only) 45W-50 only from Boon Siew. so costly cuz of they r the only 1 this wattage range 45W-50 :sian:

a car accessory shop at Sunshine Plaza(bencoolen) 'chew hup thai', look for Lilian. she last sold me at only Sgd12(pair) 110W-130 white light halogen buld. she has also many other different wattage ranger but dont have 45W-50.. :mad:

thanks simon... wow, i din know that a bulb is so expensive... mine is those white ones, you can see 2 blue bulbs when it is on... are these bulbs allowed ? can pass inspection ? since it is so expensive... i think i'll get it change using the warranty....

tomorrow not working so thinking of getting my bike service... dunno whether to go to Gopa as recommended by some of the bros here... or go Sanfu where it is near to Asphoon which i'm going....:confused:

Originally posted by BoonHean@May 25 2004, 04:42 PM

thanks simon... wow, i din know that a bulb is so expensive... mine is those white ones, you can see 2 blue bulbs when it is on... are these bulbs allowed ? can pass inspection ? since it is so expensive... i think i'll get it change using the warranty....

tomorrow not working so thinking of getting my bike service... dunno whether to go to Gopa as recommended by some of the bros here... or go Sanfu where it is near to Asphoon which i'm going....:confused:

BoonHean,

the original wattage 45W-50 price is a killer, after market's will do & it's much brighter. till now, i still cant figure out y honda selected this range of wattage.. :confused:

ur blown halogen is from after market, try to have Asphoon to replace it to save $$. some defective syntoms r happening to ur charging. tell them to check ur charging if it's at between healthy level of 13..-14.., rectifier(regulator) & battery.

it's ur decision, perhaps u get some feedback from new ST1100 owners like ashenZ & Normen11 to compare who has better experience & oriented from their after service.

Simon Soh

Originally posted by kobane@May 25 2004, 11:17 AM

haiz....

simon,

normen11,

1) hazard lights

6) alarms (optional)

7) yada yada yada....

where is the motor shop? Can check for me the price for that?

Normally you guy changed the signal light to alway on by adding extra light bulb in the signal casing or change the whole signal head connector to something like S4, one light bulb but two function (signal light with light, when signal on, it will bling normal)

Hi Guy,

anyone putting back box? Saw two metal bar below the base plate of the box. Why must put that two metal bar? also where can get it and whats the cost?

If you wanna race with me,

you sure win cos i dont race, i ride

ST1100 - Singapore Team 1100

Ride Like Heaven

mi got box.. comez wif the bike... come the outing to find out more lohh~~ cya tmrw guyz~~

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Normen11,

the base plate need to have a bracket for support.

it's to 'short' a wire from main wire harness to the signal light for the effect u r looking for at a fee of Sgd30 by the 'famous' 500. think twice for this procedure in a long run.

Simon Soh

Guest shebiker67
Originally posted by Simon Soh@May 25 2004, 09:34 AM

:lol: cuz u r with FF helmet all the time. :D

Because I'm not taking any chances on the road. Just as simple as that. If want to ride a bike, ride safe & defensively and wear correctly. Anyone who is a biker, decide yrself.

hey guys: i've been to heaps of bike shops but i reckon for maybe a bit more money gopa is e best mec for st1100 simply coz he rides one himself(so one look and he knows your probelms)and his a very after service guys, like he takes my bile for a spin after he fix or service it just to get a better feel. i don't know?anybody reckon there's a better mec for a cheaper deal pls let me know ok?thanks heaps......

Like to ask whether any of the riders here use fork brace and after market rear shock? Been searching high and low for it but still cant find. I heard there is this market air shock for ST. Anyone knows whats the price and where to get? Thanks for the help....

Hi RoastRoys,

For ST fork brace I did try to find it in web site. Only in US there have it. It cost 100 over US dollar plus shipment will come around 200+ to 300 SGD. I just find for fun, not intend to fix 1.

For stock rear shock u can buy from FJT. Price wise not that sure.

Hi guys...I'm new here..Just passed my Class 2 and now looking to buy a ST1100 soon.What the current market price for this bike according to the year?Is this bike still in production?Are there new one?Which one is better between ST1100 and ST1300.Hope I get a positive reply.Thanks anyway.

cooljam!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3236/3130718106_8d9c7d2c62.jpg?v=0

Well ST1100 i think stop production already, as for st1300 what i heard from ppl riding say not bad la. Cant give u much detail abt it. From what i know is lighter and pannier box also smaller.

Market value wise quite high. Sad to say i might need to sell mine...:weep:

Originally posted by cooljam@May 27 2004, 12:02 PM

Hi guys...I'm new here..Just passed my Class 2 and now looking to buy a ST1100 soon.What the current market price for this bike according to the year?Is this bike still in production?Are there new one?Which one is better between ST1100 and ST1300.Hope I get a positive reply.Thanks anyway.

hi cooljam,

try to read earlier postings, u could be able to find some answer for inquirys.

brand new ST1100s r still available at Mah Pte Ltd, 02' is the last batch of production.

between STX1300 & ST1100, it will depend entirely on how u gonna use the bike. work ur budget right before committing.

Simon Soh

Originally posted by RoastRoys@May 27 2004, 12:23 PM

Well ST1100 i think stop production already, as for st1300 what i heard from ppl riding say not bad la. Cant give u much detail abt it. From what i know is lighter and pannier box also smaller.

Market value wise quite high. Sad to say i might need to sell mine...:weep:

Sell your's :confused:

wat bike u selling :confused:

greetings to PearlSt for his patience in dealing with the LTA transaction with me. He was a true gentleman - prompt response to communications, fast transaction despite being held up by his :mad: bike shop.

the bottom line is : its not just the money, the LTA red tape is a pain in the butt. haha so buy a license plate only if you REALLY like it so that it is worth the trouble.

anybody wanna know how to transfer plate? ha ha we all became expert.

btw any meetup on sat or sun nite?

Simon Soh when the diy session?can i join pretty please? would love to see the innards of an st11.

Originally posted by Simon Soh@May 26 2004, 12:20 AM

Normen11,

the base plate need to have a bracket for support.

it's to 'short' a wire from main wire harness to the signal light for the effect u r looking for at a fee of Sgd30 by the 'famous' 500. think twice for this procedure in a long run.

Hi Simon,

where to get the bracket at low cost for the base plate.

Ah boy shop quote $95 buck for original and &75 plus for chiong stuff.

Any other lobang? Or anyone intend to sell your?

If you wanna race with me,

you sure win cos i dont race, i ride

ST1100 - Singapore Team 1100

Ride Like Heaven

Originally posted by Normen11@May 28 2004, 12:20 AM

Hi Simon,

where to get the bracket at low cost for the base plate.

Ah boy shop quote $95 buck for original and &75 plus for chiong stuff.

Any other lobang? Or anyone intend to sell your?

hi Normen11,

u seen my rear box's bracket, it was fabricated from my hearing impared fren out of good will when he has his done after we tested it. it was simple work, he got some length of discarted square cast iron, fabricate it according to desired shape & dimension, simple spray paint on it & done...!

it may look ackward & 'cheap', but very2 reliable of bracket compare to other expensive made to order bracket. no plm for pillion to lead against it during ride.

another fren made it with another idea easily with aluminium alloy mixed square C metal, took the correct dimension required & lend some tools help from industrial place to have it drilled/saw to his requirement & done. no sweat.

i still have the remainder he gave me, let me know if u dont mind to have it. fyi, it wont rust & much stronger piece of bracket than mine.. :D

Simon Soh

Yo Normen11,

Those bracket for the base plate are 1 and only 1 in Singapore.... copyright :confused: unless u can diy another 1 same as thier's...

or u can have a look tang1982 bracket, he get it done at seng kwang...price :confused: think 100+