Originally posted by ashenZ@Jun 14 2004, 10:49 PM

anyone intersted in getting a voltmeter fixed?????/ tink not a bad notion... anyone fix it up before can share any comments??

i bought the auto-guage voltmeter from the last MO, going to fix up soon when i go and change my timing belt and coolant pump, let u c when its done in the subsequent outings :)

btw, u guys have any experience riding a ST to a shopping centre carpark ? till now since i got my bike have not visit any yet, worried that the gap at the barrier is too narror to go through..... any carparks that is blacklisted as no no for a ST ? i find riding to ST to crowded area like orchard damm headache... park at those narror slots keep worrying of neighbouring bikes scratch the box... by the time i find a good slot the engine also heat up so much and i sweat like hell liao haahaa...

• Replies 6.6k

Gonna get my dream ST1100 soon.It's a blue metallic with an FS plate.Just bought the insurance from NTUC for 3rd Party Fire and Theft(2nd party?) at $512.Isn't it a bit steep don't you think?

Hope to get some feedback from you guys.Maybe we'll meet in the future and get some tips on the maintenance of this bike.Thanks in advance.:thumb:

cooljam!

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3236/3130718106_8d9c7d2c62.jpg?v=0

Originally posted by cooljam@Jun 15 2004, 03:07 PM

Gonna get my dream ST1100 soon.It's a blue metallic with an FS plate.Just bought the insurance from NTUC for 3rd Party Fire and Theft(2nd party?) at $512.Isn't it a bit steep don't you think?

Hope to get some feedback from you guys.Maybe we'll meet in the future and get some tips on the maintenance of this bike.Thanks in advance.:thumb:

$512 is the amount without NCD. I just renew mine at $390, which is at 20%NCD and 5% loyalty. Where did your NCD go? you can transfer your NCD from your previous Insurance company , if you are unaware of it.

"20%NCD and 5% loyalty"

Hmmmm...maybe I'll check with them again.But too bad I already bought the insurance though...Anyway where do you guys always meet...I know i should read previous post....:sorry:

cooljam!

hey guys ... paiseh i MIA for a while...

sorry :offtopic:

go to Beyond the Screen > Honda ST1100 Outing ...tread

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Harley Davidson Hugger883

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

sorry guys....

forget about my last posting...( forum a bit slow)

Tomorrow 16-06-2004

will be a meet up for all ST siao and wannabes

Time : 8pm onward

Activities : 1. Discussion on 3 nATION cHARITY rIDE (KRABI)

2. aFTER THAT mAYBE JB makan session and top up

Those dont want to go JB can OTOT

3. maybe propose on some Polo Shirt issue

Sorry

:offtopic: :offtopic: :offtopic:

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Harley Davidson Hugger883

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

Originally posted by BoonHean@Jun 15 2004, 02:28 PM

i bought the auto-guage voltmeter from the last MO, going to fix up soon when i go and change my timing belt and coolant pump, let u c when its done in the subsequent outings :)

btw, u guys have any experience riding a ST to a shopping centre carpark ? till now since i got my bike have not visit any yet, worried that the gap at the barrier is too narror to go through..... any carparks that is blacklisted as no no for a ST ? i find riding to ST to crowded area like orchard damm headache... park at those narror slots keep worrying of neighbouring bikes scratch the box... by the time i find a good slot the engine also heat up so much and i sweat like hell liao haahaa...

go shopping centres now worries... juz keep to the left.... dun be like mi..... backside itchy... dat time go right lane..... barrier too long... cun pass tru...... have to use one hand push it up... but hit moi pillion... hehehheee~

so keep to left entry can liaozz.....

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by BoonHean@Jun 15 2004, 02:28 PM

hi BoonHean,

avoid crowded bike parking area, ur chances of getting ur bike scratched r greater. do a bit of walking, it's worth it trust me.. :smile:

park near pillars or walls & avoid car turning direction..

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Jun 16 2004, 02:56 AM

hi BoonHean,

avoid crowded bike parking area, ur chances of getting ur bike scratched r greater. do a bit of walking, it's worth it trust me.. :smile:

park near pillars or walls & avoid car turning direction..

That's very true....avoid the crowded places like the multi-storey carpark behind Far East Shopping centre....very very crowded...always....

:help: :help: :help:

Update of ST siao member,

Summary

List of ST Owners in SBF

Please update contact number or PM to PearlST.

1) Simon Soh

2) SpEr

3) Alan

4) shebiker67

5) Panclanrider

6) coolman aka Kenneth Lee

7) shadowman

8) Leki

9) ev

10)YongSheng

11)amen23

12)BaoBao

13)niterider929

14)firenze07

15)PearlST

16)Bruise Lee

17)Dive-N-Ride

18)mySTic4256

19)kobane

20)tang1982

21)MrLau

22)BoonHean

23)Normen11

24)ashenZ

25)Shun Quan

26) Bluesea01

27) Eddiew

28) pennywise

29) Secludere

30) cooljam

Welcome On Board Our Little Group

kindly add ur nick/name if u like to be part of a little group of ST1100 owner in SBF.no obligation.

cooljam!

woo hoo~~~ we eat 30 riders liaozzzz~~! seems like lotsa pple catching the ST Fab lateli~~

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Guest Eddiew

Simon,

thanks for putting your magical hands on my ST.

Bought the manifold components from FJT - (Norman, its easier to enter from Serangoon Road than Desker Road.)

Let me know when your next DIY session.

Do you have an easier way to change the headlight bulbs for the ST.

Website http://www.st1100.org says to take out windscreen, take out dashboard blah blah blah - 2 hours job for novice.

On the same street (Rowell Road) there is a lightbulb wholesaler for motorcars and bikes. But to buy my light must show them a sample - how to buy when it takes 2 hours to remove the bulb ?

Simon, can you help?

EddieW

Originally posted by Eddiew@Jun 18 2004, 04:23 PM

Simon,

Bought the manifold components from FJT - (Norman, its easier to enter from Serangoon Road than Desker Road.)

Website http://www.st1100.org says to take out windscreen, take out dashboard blah blah blah - 2 hours job for novice.

On the same street (Rowell Road) there is a lightbulb wholesaler for motorcars and bikes. But to buy my light must show them a sample - how to buy when it takes 2 hours to remove the bulb ?

Simon, can you help?

EddieW

hi Eddiew,

it's only a few minutes change the halogen bulds, i will should u how during the next DIY outing. it's the technic, no need to remove more than 2 screws.. :smile:

after market halogen bulbs cost between Sgd15.00-Sgd40 a pair depending on the watt range. a car accessory shop at Sunshine Plaza, 91 Bencoolen St, #01-01 well stock for most accessories suitable for bikes. look for Lilian or Tony, they r very customer oriented.

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Eddiew@Jun 18 2004, 04:23 PM

Simon,

Simon, can you help?

EddieW

need to take out so many things? :confused:

my mechanic just reach from underneath (from in front) then can change the headlight liao mah.....

this site still got some hiccups here and there leh... go next page or previous page a few times and then my pc tells me it cant find the site liao haha.... :cheeky:

sad story.. went JB last week to top up after work (around 0045h). jam damn ridiculous. 1 malaysian bike die die want to squeeze into my lane, his kup-kia fairing got caught by the reflector on my pannier, then demanded me to pay him :sian: how unreasonable can they be. but me ask him go fly kite :sweat: they left, but then some kind soul (local singaporeans) walked over to me, say that his indian friend (those malaysians were 2 indians btw) overheard them sayin that they had taken down my number, and will be waitin for me inside, advised me to U-turn. :nono: did as told to avoid trouble... heh.

anyway... still back to my previous question... who wants to buy my original uncut key?? :help:

Drink. Ride. Bloody Idiot.

RedSTer #5025

Guest Eddiew
Originally posted by Simon Soh@Jun 18 2004, 06:22 PM

hi Eddiew,

it's only a few minutes change the halogen bulds, i will should u how during the next DIY outing. it's the technic, no need to remove more than 2 screws.. :smile:

after market halogen bulbs cost between Sgd15.00-Sgd40 a pair depending on the watt range. a car accessory shop at Sunshine Plaza, 91 Bencoolen St, #01-01 well stock for most accessories suitable for bikes. look for Lilian or Tony, they r very customer oriented.

Simon,

which bulb do you recommend?

55/55 watts H4 bulb or higher wattage 80/110watts

Want to go down on Sat afternoon.

Originally posted by Eddiew@Jun 18 2004, 09:20 PM

Simon,

which bulb do you recommend?

55/55 watts H4 bulb or higher wattage 80/110watts

Want to go down on Sat afternoon.

hi Eddiew,

something between 50-55W will do, too high watt might drain too much current from battery.

it's the normal halogen bulb cars r using.. :smile:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Jun 18 2004, 10:08 PM

it's the normal halogen bulb cars r using.. :smile:

but what i read ... the ST stock bulb is different from the normal headlight bulb ?

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by MrLau@Jun 18 2004, 10:31 PM

but what i read ... the ST stock bulb is different from the normal headlight bulb ?

yes, it's the watt different.

it's 60/55W for PE model & 45/45W for US model, only agent is distributing it at Sgd70/pcs if i could remember, it's not economical compared to after market bulbs :sian:

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Jun 18 2004, 11:41 PM

yes, it's the watt different.

it should be 45-55W i think, no one is selling here except agent. it's cost about Sgd70/pcs. so after market bulbs r more economical... :smile:

hmm... not only the wattage .... how about the mouting ?

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by MrLau@Jun 18 2004, 11:43 PM

hmm... not only the wattage .... how about the mouting ?

the bulb seating is different, must modify it to be fitted in nicely.

i will show u guys how to change it for Eddiew next week.

Simon Soh

Hi guys...

Check with u all. Does your STs have any "loose metal" sound when u r warming up the bike?

I hear it too sometimes when rpm at ard 2400 at gear 3

I dun hear it when rpm less than that during travelling

Am i supposed to hear that during run-in??

??

Originally posted by Secludere@Jun 21 2004, 01:55 AM

Hi guys...

Check with u all. Does your STs have any "loose metal" sound when u r warming up the bike?

I hear it too sometimes when rpm at ard 2400 at gear 3

I dun hear it when rpm less than that during travelling

Am i supposed to hear that during run-in??

??

it's the time belt retaining plate sound, almost all ST1100s has it, nothing to be alarm.. :smile:

Simon Soh

hahhahaa same as mi.. over sensitive... juz tke it as it has lotsa weird sounds and ignore dem hehhee~ workz for mi..

amen n simon... heard frm others u guyz kena kup ur ST up n down twisties of cameron... muz teach mi ehh.... mi smell exhaust all the way up n down..... dem difficult to control.. pick up not enuf to over take cars the short dist and brakes not enuf to break in time.....

juz my tots..... muz learn frm the lao jiaoz....

saw 3 STs up fraser hill also.. they did wot i tot quite impossiblee~! hmmzz....

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Where is the lao jiao....:confused: no new or old bird here.... :cheeky:

all ppl here share what they know :cheer: as for cornering, ST are not good at it coz of the weight. Take it slow and easy, me also smell smoke when on my way up and down from cameron.... where are go fast wan unless u wan to go downhill fast the others by direct drop... (touch wood) :cheeky: and for breaking need longer distance due to the weight too.... u can try by tipping brake....

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Jun 21 2004, 02:23 AM

it's the time belt retaining plate sound, almost all ST1100s has it, nothing to be alarm.. :smile:

Thanks! i feel better now...

Got worried as i didnt hear it for the past 2 weeks... Now ears prick up when i hrd it...

Yah, feel like i overly sensitive... hahaha