I'm planning to ride from Singapore to Thailand over the Chinese new year. Currently I will be doing the trip alone on my 1000cc sports bike.

Ive herd a few bad stories and wondered if anyone could offer some advise. Especially going through Malaysia and South Thailand, are there dangers I should be aware of?

I'm also interested to know routes/roads I should include on my trip and places that would be cool to visit.

Thanks in advance.

Steve

• Replies 14

Basically is where u intend to ride up to? How long is your trip. U prefer to tour more in malaysia or thailand.. And u prefer the costal route in malaysia or the NSHW..

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

My first idea was to ride to Phuket. I have 5-7 days to get there and back.

So far I'm thinking of heading round the Genting Highlands. Maybe stay one night in the Casino but only if the roads are good in the highlands, otherwise I would opt to take the coastal roads. What cities would be best to Visit? What are the best tourist spots to visit? Is there any interesting nightlife or sightseeing out of Kuala Lumpur? What cities/towns should I defiantly avoid because of crime of violence? (if any)

If Malaysia does not seam an interesting place to ride I could take the fast road through and once in Thailand visit Krabi, then head to the North of Thailand and spend 4 days riding there?

Any advise would be much appreciated.

Steve

I would recommand to tour slowly in thailand instead (safer and cheaper ). Nightlife in phuket should be a BIG draw for u if u are a party animal. But being in krabi and phuket is almost the same thing. Both are about the same. (about 100km apart from each other). Costal roads from malaysia to thailand will bring u thru the trouble southern thailand. Risk is there but so are the nice places to see..

Thanks for the advise. So if you recommend spending more leisure time in Thailand, should I just blast through the North South Highway and get across the boarder in one day? Or do the coastal road with one night/evening in Kuala Lumpur? I guess I'm asking if the coastal road is worth the ride:)

Steve

coastal rd is nice if u plan to stay at air papan, kuantan,trengannu etc.. you'll pass by small town n further up some nice scenic rd along e beach.but most of e time e rd is 2 way only.1 up 1 down..unlike nsh all you c is mountain n RnR ....but if u heading for thailand i think nsh straight to sadao n so on..have a safe trip bro:thumb:

Edited by minefield14
http://Chttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/%5CDocuments%20and%20Settings%5CFazli%5CMy%20Documents%5CCIMG3767.JPG

Bro, to LAOs and Cambodia on a 125cc mai la.. Damn scary u know.. We repeat last year ride again this Nov dec la.. =)

bro hw r u??when is our nxt trip??:cheeky:..hope u can join dis may up notrh again..:cheers:

actually was thinking e same also..dis nov n dec..some more got kawa gtr going..but i tink can lah bro going on kup..but a bit slow lah..so far 2b bikes got 6..n will take a bit more days.

http://Chttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/%5CDocuments%20and%20Settings%5CFazli%5CMy%20Documents%5CCIMG3767.JPG

So how? Repeat again this year?? I wan to go to the bike week again.. See if your faces appear in their mag.. :)

actually was thinking e same also..dis nov n dec..some more got kawa gtr going..but i tink can lah bro going on kup..but a bit slow lah..so far 2b bikes got 6..n will take a bit more days.

I'm planning to ride from Singapore to Thailand over the Chinese new year. Currently I will be doing the trip alone on my 1000cc sports bike.

Ive herd a few bad stories and wondered if anyone could offer some advise. Especially going through Malaysia and South Thailand, are there dangers I should be aware of?

I'm also interested to know routes/roads I should include on my trip and places that would be cool to visit.

Thanks in advance.

Steve

Hi bro, i am also planning to go up to Thailand on CNY. Destination Koh Samui, Phuket, Krabi, Hatyai, Cameron Highlands, Ipoh, Genting Highlands. You keen to go together? I know Koh Samui and Phuket well.

wahh bro go may den nov again.....cannot tahan lahh..can consider mahh dis trip..got 4 classs 2 going..