wat so special about the 22.50 plugs?

• Replies 3.6k

Originally posted by limpeiwah@Dec 1 2004, 04:35 PM

wat so special about the 22.50 plugs?

They are the specific plugs recommended by Honda (stated in user/service manual) for use in VFR800 vtec.

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg

for that price can't u guys use denso iridiums? @ 16+ each

aiyah limpeiwah everyone likes to use wat they like can liao rite ;) like me i using denso iridium i also dun push to everyone 2 use rite ;) yah hamsterz juz saw Zen ydae at Tanjong Pagar sian he also goin sell his bike liao. None if u wan test out windshield i got 2, 1 is Zero Gravity Double Bubble n will be collecting my sport touring shield next week. if u dun make 1 number plate then i lend u both the shields to let u test out when i push in my bike 2 alex place :thumb:

Originally posted by none@Dec 1 2004, 04:22 PM

Not sure if any of you guys have the VFR800 vtec service manual, but I just manage to download mine after 5 hours!

Some interesting points to note:

spark plugs: 25k inspect clean replace if necessary, 51.2k change.

valve clearance: 256k to inspect and clean

engine oil: 10k,128k,256k change

air filter: 192k interval change

If go by their recommendations, I will save a lot on maintenance but not sure if bike can be still ridden by then.

PS: the pdf file is 209mb and 639 pages.

hey I might have the same manual as yours. Maybe I bring it out 1 day when we meet up to get the shield, to compare if it is the same. Got it from a nice viffer owner when he sold his bike. Its like a bloody encyclopedia!! @ thick ones and i have to bind them separately.

I havent gone through them yet. If it really is I will be glad! But ai will be doing my plugs and air filter soon though.

Ride hard & safe...

Anyone knows where to get those trim clips used to secure the fairing for VFR?

Broke one yesterday when accidentally stepped on it. :sian:

http://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign7.jpghttp://home.pacific.net.sg/~none/sign8.jpg
Originally posted by none@Dec 10 2004, 08:41 AM

Anyone knows where to get those trim clips used to secure the fairing for VFR?

Broke one yesterday when accidentally stepped on it. :sian:

this is not very readily available in bike shops. You can try FJT or ever success or boon siew to get them. Possibility is you might need to order and wait.

FJT 63925928

Eversuccess 62925909

boon siew 63399002 / 63399224

hope these helps

Ride hard & safe...

aiyah limpeiwah everyone likes to use wat they like can liao rite

yah lor. true mah. not our money mah. :)

A friend try out my bike at low speed in the carpark lately. He commended that at low RPMs 2-3k bike was hesitating.

Well I wasn't too experience and on road I did not feel the low response until I tried out riding at low speed in the carpark today. Seems that he was right.

Made some searches and this is what I found from one of the VFR forums.

If you see what I am describing, there is a certian throttle amount at certian RPMs where this bike will surge and slack in and surge and slack. It is not dangerous but it is noticable and most so at low RPM but will do it in any gear. My turbo car does not do this sort of thing. The boost and fuel air mix will be considered by the ECU and the engine will act right at any rev. What I am really hoping is if I get the Power Commander and maybe open the airbox snorkle this transition can be smoothed out.

Any of you guys had this problem?

:smile: Koma & i knew of this long time ago...... :smile:
Originally posted by none@Dec 11 2004, 08:45 PM

A friend try out my bike at low speed in the carpark lately. He commended that at low RPMs 2-3k bike was hesitating.

Well I wasn't too experience and on road I did not feel the low response until I tried out riding at low speed in the carpark today. Seems that he was right.

Made some searches and this is what I found from one of the VFR forums.

If you see what I am describing, there is a certian throttle amount at certian RPMs where this bike will surge and slack in and surge and slack. It is not dangerous but it is noticable and most so at low RPM but will do it in any gear. My turbo car does not do this sort of thing. The boost and fuel air mix will be considered by the ECU and the engine will act right at any rev. What I am really hoping is if I get the Power Commander and maybe open the airbox snorkle this transition can be smoothed out.

Any of you guys had this problem?

reason why the VFR has this "catchy" problem is due to the 2 sensors which feedbacks to the ECU to form and an closed loop system. How do they work?

Bascially, our Viffers has 2 O2 sensors in our exhaust downpipes (somewhere just before the cat converter). These sensors picks up the exhaust mixture composition, and feedbacks to the ECU, the "brain" will tell then the EFI to supply an optimal stociometric air/fuel ratio (and thus, called a closed loop) This applies for rpm below 3K

After 3k, it will just run in an open loop. This is why the bike feel jerky, hesitating, catchy at below 3K rpm. From the UK guys, they reckon that this is just to pass emmission laws. You can remove this "function" by disconnecting the O2 sensors so that it will run the open loop all the while. But then your EFI light will light up. The alternative is to get the O2 eliminators (a dummy plug) to trick the unit that that the sensors are there and thus eliminate the EFI light from lighting.

Hope these helps

Ride hard & safe...

Any of ya guyz frm the VFR group riding a re-sprayed F*8899* VFR???

hehhehee.. nice design.. mixture of off-white and red..... saw it at west mall today.... :lovestruck:

cud luk better if itz pearl white or plain white instead to mix with the red though..

seems he never handle lock the bike n park so darn close to a car although there is so much space.... suicidal intend......

Originally posted by HamsterZ@Dec 12 2004, 04:14 AM

reason why the VFR has this "catchy" problem is due to the 2 sensors which feedbacks to the ECU to form and an closed loop system. How do they work?

Bascially, our Viffers has 2 O2 sensors in our exhaust downpipes (somewhere just before the cat converter). These sensors picks up the exhaust mixture composition, and feedbacks to the ECU, the "brain" will tell then the EFI to supply an optimal stociometric air/fuel ratio (and thus, called a closed loop) This applies for rpm below 3K

After 3k, it will just run in an open loop. This is why the bike feel jerky, hesitating, catchy at below 3K rpm. From the UK guys, they reckon that this is just to pass emmission laws. You can remove this "function" by disconnecting the O2 sensors so that it will run the open loop all the while. But then your EFI light will light up. The alternative is to get the O2 eliminators (a dummy plug) to trick the unit that that the sensors are there and thus eliminate the EFI light from lighting.

Hope these helps

Cool, thanks for the info, this relieves a piece of stone from my mind :smile:

Now the PC3 and O2 eliminator look increasing attractive.

yah none, me n cheeko knoe tis problem long ago liao. i wan 2 order the o2 eliminators locally frm motorsales bout $80. if u guys confirm wan i go dwn tok 2 my gd fren workin there c how much he charging me if i buy like say 4-5 pairs ;) (eg. me,cheeko,hamsterz, none :p) plugging out the o2 sensors r bout the onli way of getting rid of the snatchy throttle below 3000-3500rpm.if u dun mind can take out the o2 sensors n covering them up n plastic n c the efi light on all the way lor ;) oh yah none alex place hav the trim clips juz TAKE frm him can liao n need pay him juz buy him kopi 1 whole box he also gibe u :p i juz changed to EBC HH front brake pads that day n they r great, better than the stock 1s but the stock 1s r really quite gd liao.maybe u guys can grab 2 pairs frm the MO of ebc brake pads now at $45 a pair its really a steal. im goin 2 get a extra set 2 keep. so guys if interested in the O2 eliminators juz call me k ;)

Hi guys, just got my VFR. Opened the underseat saw that the model says VFR800A2. Does the A2 mean that the bike is produced in year 02 or is it just the model is '02 but could have been manufactured in '03 or '04.

How abt the operating temp? Does it go as high as 107 deg Celsius? And what temp does the fan turn on?

Oct 2001-- NSR 150SP

Apr 2003-- CB 250FX

Dec 2004 to Dec 2011 -- VFR 800A2

Originally posted by koma@Dec 12 2004, 06:46 PM

yah none, me n cheeko knoe tis problem long ago liao. i wan 2 order the o2 eliminators locally frm motorsales bout $80. if u guys confirm wan i go dwn tok 2 my gd fren workin there c how much he charging me if i buy like say 4-5 pairs ;) (eg. me,cheeko,hamsterz, none :p) plugging out the o2 sensors r bout the onli way of getting rid of the snatchy throttle below 3000-3500rpm.if u dun mind can take out the o2 sensors n covering them up n plastic n c the efi light on all the way lor ;) oh yah none alex place hav the trim clips juz TAKE frm him can liao n need pay him juz buy him kopi 1 whole box he also gibe u :p i juz changed to EBC HH front brake pads that day n they r great, better than the stock 1s but the stock 1s r really quite gd liao.maybe u guys can grab 2 pairs frm the MO of ebc brake pads now at $45 a pair its really a steal. im goin 2 get a extra set 2 keep. so guys if interested in the O2 eliminators juz call me k ;)

Koma, read that using the o2 eliminators alone without PC3 is not recommended.

Maybe try out disconnecting the o2 sensors first?

They are located near the radiators right?

See below:

The reason for the O2 sensors is that the fueling is modified by the signal to take into account things like the K&N filter and other mods.

If you mod the bike, the airflow is altered. The only way for the fueling to know to cope is either by trhe different MAP reading at full throttle or by the O2 sensors at part throttle openings.

By taking off the O2 signal, by fitting the eliminators, you will alter the fueling. By making mods such as filtration and exhaust, without a gas analysizing dyno setup and PC3, you run the risk of the fueling becoming too lean or rich at certain points.

Dynojet sell O2 eliminators to enable the PC3 to make deliberate fueling changes to the bike without the PGM-Fi detecting the changes and compensating by altering the fueling so setting off a tug-o-war betwee nthe two devices and probably burning out your catalyst.

By fitting the O2 eliminators on their own, you're just asking for trouble. By doing it in conjunction with a freer flowing air filter, you're asking to run lean and therefore hotter.

Remember to tell your dealer you've done this when you let him repair the bike for misfiring, poor running and bad fuel consumption. That way the warranty can be dispensed with and he can bill you direct for the repair work of new cylinder heads, valves, etc.

Can you guess I'm trying to tell you not to fit the O2 eliminators unless you have a PC3 calibrated and fitted as well?

Originally posted by Maverick77@Dec 12 2004, 07:22 PM

Hi guys, just got my VFR. Opened the underseat saw that the model says VFR800A2. Does the A2 mean that the bike is produced in year 02 or is it just the model is '02 but could have been manufactured in '03 or '04.

How abt the operating temp? Does it go as high as 107 deg Celsius? And what temp does the fan turn on?

For my bike, temperature no more than 105 deg in city riding and jam in CTE tunnels.

75-85 deg on highway. I am using water wetter.

Think the fan turns on approximate 103 deg.

:smile: Welcome, but 1st of all u have to buy this toy if u got a vfr. I myself got a black one!

http://i4.ebayimg.com/01/i/02/37/da/98_1_b.JPG :p

Originally posted by cheekozer600@Dec 12 2004, 08:02 PM

:smile: Welcome, but 1st of all u have to buy this toy if u got a vfr. I myself got a black one!

How did u manage to find such a toy?

How much is it? And which shop sells it?

Mine is a red... If the toy is not too expensive, I dun mind at all...:smile:

Oct 2001-- NSR 150SP

Apr 2003-- CB 250FX

VFR800 = model

A = ABS

02 = year 02 model.. need not mean it is manufactured in 02.

Operating temp that I had encountered

70 deg (lowest so far cold weather)

80 ~ 85 deg (normal cruising temp, night)

86~95 deg (normal cruising temp, day)

100 ~ 105 deg (traffic jam)

fan turns on at 105deg, shuts down at 95 deg.

temp never went past 105 deg no matter how bad the jam was. Suprising thing is once the vehicle started moving in the jam (20~30kmh it actually dropped to 100 deg pretty fast.

This bike is hot, yet the rider doesn't feel it while riding of in a jam (but try touching the frame, then you'll appreciate its design towards rider comfort)

In a nutshell, its hot yet comes with a good cooing system!

hope these helps...

(congrats... great to have another viffer owner...):p

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by Maverick77@Dec 12 2004, 09:28 PM

How did u manage to find such a toy?

How much is it? And which shop sells it?

Mine is a red... If the toy is not too expensive, I dun mind at all...:smile:

I got my self 2! hehehe. Price varies from abt $9 to $12. Koma and me got it from lucky plaza, level 2. This china looking lady sells clothes and quite a number of bike miniature models

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by gwen@Dec 12 2004, 06:19 PM

Any of ya guyz frm the VFR group riding a re-sprayed F*8899* VFR???

hehhehee.. nice design.. mixture of off-white and red..... saw it at west mall today.... :lovestruck:

cud luk better if itz pearl white or plain white instead to mix with the red though..

seems he never handle lock the bike n park so darn close to a car although there is so much space.... suicidal intend......

Nope he is not from this forum. but a pretty nice guy. Got the "tube bra" from him though...

Ride hard & safe...

Originally posted by cheekozer600@Dec 12 2004, 08:02 PM

You also got one huh?

I got myself a VFR, Haya and R1 heehee

2 more issues to chk on:

1. Does the bike vibrate hard when you accelerate(from abt 2k to 5 or 6k) by opening the throttle hard. I dun have much exp with big bikes but somehow the bike seems to "rock" when I try to rev up. Wonder is it cos of its V set up.

2. Does it have a coolant reserve? If yes, where can I find it? Perhaps u guys can enlighten me as to where can I find an English manual...

The temp thing I'll try again cos it's jus feedback when my bro rode the bike last week. I only had a chance to ride it this morning cos of my overseas trip.

However, thanks a lot for all the info provided and the help provided when I was trying to get the bike. You guys are just great.

Oct 2001-- NSR 150SP

Apr 2003-- CB 250FX

Originally posted by Maverick77@Dec 13 2004, 11:16 AM

2 more issues to chk on:

1. Does the bike vibrate hard when you accelerate(from abt 2k to 5 or 6k) by opening the throttle hard. I dun have much exp with big bikes but somehow the bike seems to "rock" when I try to rev up. Wonder is it cos of its V set up.

2. Does it have a coolant reserve? If yes, where can I find it? Perhaps u guys can enlighten me as to where can I find an English manual...

The temp thing I'll try again cos it's jus feedback when my bro rode the bike last week. I only had a chance to ride it this morning cos of my overseas trip.

However, thanks a lot for all the info provided and the help provided when I was trying to get the bike. You guys are just great.

Welcome to da club!!!:sweat:

Life is Short...... Ride Hard!!!

http://www.intertanko.com/tankerfacts/sizes/images/t11.jpg