Hi Bro SW76,

There is no such thing as profit in owning a vehicle.

Take my example:

My X8 cost $8.5K and COE is 10 years.

That works out to $850 per year if I use it for 10 years.

If I decided to sell it after 2 years, most probably it can fetch me $6K, which means that the depreciation is $2.5K in 2 years = $1.25K per year.

Hence, the earlier u sell your bike, the more u lose.

Very seldom, people will use the bike for 10 years of course.

Hence, the ideal $850 depreciation per year is not so realistic at all.

We can meet up and exchange some pointers if u dun mind.

• Replies 45

any vehicle can be ridden or driven for many many years if you maintain it properly.

you mentioned that bikes don't last long, I'm afraid you're so very wrong.

there are the harleys that are a good decade old, some close to 20yrs old.

there are the Goldwings that bear the original FL FM plate, well more than 10yrs old. and mind you those bikes made it up to Thailand and back, without even losing so much as a bolt.

then there are the Super4 Version S (very common on the road) and project big... these bikes are also close to 10yrs old... I've seen some of these very well maintained.

I've seen Cars that are way newer than my bike breakdown on expressways.

a car does not last even 2yrs if you do not maintain it.

a female friend of mine could drive with a empty radiator tank. which results in overheating and a cracked radiator. mind you it was quite a new Lexus...

if your bike or car breakdown, its not mechanical fault, most likely most of the time is human fault. spare parts are all available and replaceable. when a certain part is worn out, just need to get it replaced without much delay and your vehicle is very good to go.

those jialat bikes or cars you see on the road, do not bother to replace or fix their vehicles.

keep delaying one thing after another, and in the end if you have to get it done all at once... its called an overhaul hahaha! all the problems accumulated over the years...

its possible to make a profit in riding or driving in fact..

most cases are when its a vintage bike or car..

like some wine, the older the more value it has..

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a387/gabriel06/Rxk2_edit.jpg

danger is no stranger to a lonely ranger

Originally posted by gabriel06@Dec 28 2006, 03:39 AM

very rare, not common tho....

but possible

Originally posted by gabriel06@Dec 28 2006, 03:39 AM

can we really make a profit owning vintage bikes or cars after much has been spent on maintenance?

i love dividends.

Originally posted by onefour02@Dec 28 2006, 01:39 PM

can we really make a profit owning vintage bikes or cars after much has been spent on maintenance?

how much u spend on maintaince depends on so many factors like

1) previous condition

2) your usage ( normally for vintage cars they are not daily cars )

3) your luck

so yeah it possible to profit from it.. provided u have good contacts for replacement of vintage parts and stuff.. but if your looking at vintage stuff for money i think u can forget abt it... and its more passion driven :) cos sometimes u might need to wait months for your parts to arrive..

and ofcourse u need someone who appreciate the vehicle to offer u a good price. and thats when u can profit..

one good example of a vintage seller making it a biz is http://www.autobahn.com.sg/index.php

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a387/gabriel06/Rxk2_edit.jpg

danger is no stranger to a lonely ranger

Originally posted by onefour02@Dec 28 2006, 01:39 PM

Can make profit. Pizza hut or Macdonalds delivery. LOL!

But yea, need to really maintain. My old bike, I service like only twice in a year. Everytime go to the shop pay so much, end of the day when I sold it it was falling apart, was practically a give away. Could have fetched twice the amount i got for.

My friend's FL Skipper, he takes pretty good care of it, doesn't need to do much repairs except the normal serving and all, still going strong. But of course he doesn't "whack" it and go at 120kph and weaving in and out of traffic la, just normal riding to work and back.

Another friend's NSR, hes been traveling at high speeds most of the time, must do a lot of serving. I think his engine gonna go soon.

So I guess besides maintenance, how you ride your bike also plays a part.

w y x m m

Oh yes, brudder plasticsblackspecs is very right. How our riding style indirectly affects the bike condition and frequency of maintenance needed. To some extent, the bike itself is a factor also.

E.g.

I own a cruiser like wave or phantom or shadow. How fast can I go at top speed? Do i dare to go over humps at high speeds considering the bike’s hard suspensions? How high can i open throttle and tilt on corners? I will be courting my own death if I try these, knowing the capabilities of my bike.

Then again, if I am riding a S4 III, then ah… story will be different.

I have enormous respect for S4’s torque, handling and stability. But still, for old man like me, I think I will prefer “comfort” bikes like X8/X9, Burgman, Silver Wing types. Maybe 10 years ago, bring me a S4 anytime man.

ya, you know last time my bike, even though it's not in a very good condition but I never "rev" the engine or any thing like that. Seldom travel at 100kph also. The most also 80 or 90 for highway. But when a seller viewed the bike, he go went full throttle on my bike and still can tell me I every time rev and never take care of my bike. I half heart pain see my bike's engine and pipes being blown to the max and half angry at him for telling me I anyhow ride. Ya la, I don't service often, but I don't push my engine also what. Basket man. Anyway, that's just a story la. hahaha. Now learning a lot from SBF on how to take care of bikes. Last time damn newb, dunno anything, also ask around bugging people. So some of you guys lighten up ah, people dunno things, irritated or pissed of also answer tactically la. This is a fun place to discuss things.

w y x m m

Guest czh2002sg
Originally posted by Dino Bravo@Dec 28 2006, 03:16 AM

a female friend of mine could drive with a empty radiator tank. which results in overheating and a cracked radiator. mind you it was quite a new Lexus...

Wa.. Champion. I kowtow to her. Best dun sit her car for long trips anywhere north of Singapore, wait end up at the road side call for :help:

Guest czh2002sg
Originally posted by SW76@Dec 28 2006, 04:46 PM

But still, for old man like me, I think I will prefer “comfort” bikes like X8/X9, Burgman, Silver Wing types. Maybe 10 years ago, bring me a S4 anytime man.

Haha.. You're never too old for a ride SV76. Age is a matter of mind over body :smile: I'm also aiming for s4 soon. Has anyone seen people put side box plus rear box and wind shield for s4? Like tourer look. I only saw once, pretty rare sight. Haiz, bought NSR a bit the wrong choice ah. No place to put riding jacket, dun dare hang full face at shopping centre, want to put box also look like sh*t. But its a good bike la, given me many many happy memories riding around :smile:

try not to think of the times under the flyover can liao :cheeky:

One of my friends joked that for S4 bikers, they should fix up the side and rear boxes, add a windshield, re-spray whole of bike white and add a dummy siren for wayang. Then wear white oso like PAP like that – ride on the road no matter what Evos/Fairlady or Harley/GoldWing they driving or riding, they sure siam u give u go first one haha. Wonder what will the real TP say if he see such a PAP biker on the road huh.

Guest czh2002sg

heh... actually if really respray white and add side box (dun need dummy siren), other motorists on the road will take a second glance leh. Does that improve your visibility? Haha... Stop on emergency lane to change rain coat also not need scared kenna bang, everyone will slow down, thought its TP speed trap :smile:

for a more look alike TP/ROV bike... get the yamaha diversion 900....

thats the excact same bike they are using... just need to get the front windshield they using thats all. 2 aluminium boxes at the sides will do.

But there’s no legal law so far saying we cannot “impersonate” TP’s by dressing or vehicle on the road right? Scar-li bike and biker all white riding on road, real TP see liao, bei song, signal to side of road and say “Siao-a, impersonating TP on the road warrants you a $200 fine with 12 demerit points…” Like this I go bang walls liao haha.

Spray ur S4 white..add side box and dummy sirens..and ur bike dont look like TP's bike..but more like SCDF Hazmat Provost Unit...:thumb:

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

SCDF oso can lah. People see it liao think the rider going on a mission or something haha.

Happy New Year to all the brudders here man.

And if wan to drink, drink smartly - expect roadblocks all over the island huh.

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

------------------------------------------------------------------

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy