sian.. me 1 week nv ride bike liaox.. the last time i ride is my prac 5.. now waiting for RTT on 7th July.. then can apply PDL... think 2 weeks cant ride bike.. skills rust liao~

<span style=\'color:white\'>A Good Road Safety Education Lasts A Lifetime

sHaNy<span style=\'color:indigo\'>UaN

• Replies 39.2k

• Wildcat

• jhawk2820

• bobo_rider

• fleaz

Originally posted by sHaNyUaN@Jul 2 2005, 10:22 AM

sian.. me 1 week nv ride bike liaox.. the last time i ride is my prac 5.. now waiting for RTT on 7th July.. then can apply PDL... think 2 weeks cant ride bike.. skills rust liao~

Shanyuan, go take 1 RC anytime these few weeks b4 your RTT or while waiting for your RTT results lor.

Eng advised me on this, coz when I passed my Lesson 5 dat time he walked by and I was so happy, I went up and told him about it - show him my result slip since he was helping me b4 dat. :cheeky:

He told me to go for 1 RC if possible b4 Lesson 6, ask the RC instructor to teach you U-turn in the circuit to prepare for Lesson 6. It's quite helpful, although my U-turn buay zhai in the circuit, later on Lesson 6 I only took 1 time to pass! So do go for 1 RC lor, den your skills will sharpen up again and won't rust so much! Haha... :cheeky:

YOU CAN BE REALISTIC...YOU CAN BE TOLERANT...AND YOU CAN BE FLEXIBLE.

BUT IF YOU CANNOT LIVE YOUR LIFE THE WAY YOU WANT IT TO BE, THEN WHAT

MEANING IS THERE LEFT IN LIFE?

I love my æµ·é¸­ä¸æ€ - a Honda Mini-Falcon 凖 .

http://www.geocities.com/Tokyo/Dojo/1083/cat.gif

http://www.psi.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/images/wheelybike.gif

Originally posted by @Wildcat@Jul 2 2005, 10:42 AM

Shanyuan, go take 1 RC anytime these few weeks b4 your RTT or while waiting for your RTT results lor.

Eng advised me on this, coz when I passed my Lesson 5 dat time he walked by and I was so happy, I went up and told him about it - show him my result slip since he was helping me b4 dat. :cheeky:

He told me to go for 1 RC if possible b4 Lesson 6, ask the RC instructor to teach you U-turn in the circuit to prepare for Lesson 6. It's quite helpful, although my U-turn buay zhai in the circuit, later on Lesson 6 I only took 1 time to pass! So do go for 1 RC lor, den your skills will sharpen up again and won't rust so much! Haha... :cheeky:

Wildcat what lesson are u at now?

Visor Down , Full Throttle

Originally posted by angel22@Jul 2 2005, 01:27 AM

Just abit disappointed... i mean every course was ok but i fell down at crank course. I admit i was abit nervous about trying to do better because got 6 eyes watching u ... when so many pple watching u sure get nervous...Thurs I still went for RC but my crank course had no problem leh...

Actually my weakest area is figure 8 lah... i always take 11+ secs then get points from there. I even mounted kerb at figure 8 during the warm up... Then its crank course. I kick up to 2nd gear and the bike starts wobbing when i go to figure 8 and i am scared it will stall :giddy:

Narrow plank and e brake no prob.. pylon slalom always just make it in time(abit "dangerous" lah since its always 5 + secs..)

i think this is common sense but i still gotta say it. don't get nervous, pretend you're just doing your RC. when you can reach that state of mind, you're bound to perform well.

Since you know that you're weak at figure 8, during RC, attack figure 8. practice it more until you can do it well enough. eyepoint extremely important, you go towards where you're looking at, usually.

pylon slalom 5 seconds dangerous? i think that's about the time i take to clear pylon slalom as well. as long as you make the minimum, the tester will pass you. they won't give you points just because you're close to exceeding the 6 seconds.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Originally posted by fleaz@Jul 2 2005, 10:58 PM

i think this is common sense but i still gotta say it. don't get nervous, pretend you're just doing your RC. when you can reach that state of mind, you're bound to perform well.

Since you know that you're weak at figure 8, during RC, attack figure 8. practice it more until you can do it well enough. eyepoint extremely important, you go towards where you're looking at, usually.

pylon slalom 5 seconds dangerous? i think that's about the time i take to clear pylon slalom as well. as long as you make the minimum, the tester will pass you. they won't give you points just because you're close to exceeding the 6 seconds.

Thanks fleaz!

I've got another lesson 5 tmr afternoon. I'll try to relax and ride like in RC.

If I pass then I'll go for a few more RC, if don't then I'll do figure 8 and crank course for the RC I book.

I meant 5 secs + abit dangeous for pylon slalom because slightly slower and I'll be over 6 secs. :smile:

Can i ask for Figure 8 , do u kick up to 2nd gear when u reach the yellow line or even before u enter the small path leading to the figure 8? :confused: My bike wobbles when i kick up to 2nd at the yellow line there.

Originally posted by angel22@Jul 2 2005, 11:03 PM

I meant 5 secs + abit dangeous for pylon slalom because slightly slower and I'll be over 6 secs. :smile:

Can i ask for Figure 8 , do u kick up to 2nd gear when u reach the yellow line or even before u enter the small path leading to the figure 8? :confused: My bike wobbles when i kick up to 2nd at the yellow line there.

Hey no problem. Everyone been through the 2b route.

My advice would be don't think too much about your timing. Just do your best, of course, if your timing lousy then must improve lah. But don't think too much of the timing, if you know what i mean.

For figure 8, enter the small path first then kick to 2nd gear. You have to accelerate enough else your bike will wobble, of course not too much also. Remember to release clutch slowly.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Originally posted by fleaz@Jul 2 2005, 11:10 PM

Hey no problem. Everyone been through the 2b route.

My advice would be don't think too much about your timing. Just do your best, of course, if your timing lousy then must improve lah. But don't think too much of the timing, if you know what i mean.

For figure 8, enter the small path first then kick to 2nd gear. You have to accelerate enough else your bike will wobble, of course not too much also. Remember to release clutch slowly.

i using this method also when go into the fig 8.

so i got ample time to grag the bike with 1st gear to travel the L path before the dotted line.

kick to 2nd gear a sec before passing the dotted line and the engine would not rattle for not enough power..

after passing the dotted line, off your signal and perform as usual.

due to enough graging distance, when kick to 2nd gear, the bike will travel smoothly. remember do not to throw your clutch.

some learner biker too "gan chiong" to change to 2nd gear at the bend before another short distance before the dotted line causing the bike to rattle due to under power. when that happen, they open the trottle higher to compensate the power loss.

and due to the sudden power jerk from the bike. usually the bike will lost control easily.

A second of precaution is an hour of safety. It never hurts to ask.

䏿‡‚å°±è¦é—®ï¼Œé—®æ˜¯ä¸ç”¨é’±çš„!

"Life is Neither Fair or Just"

Originally posted by angel22@Jul 2 2005, 12:22 PM

Wildcat what lesson are u at now?

angel22, i'm waiting for TP now. TP this coming Tuesday morning. Hope I pass! =)

Good luck for your Lesson 5 tmrw! I having RR also tmrw morn first session..dun think i'll see you tho, but all the best!

Guys, my crank course and figure 8 always kick up gear before the bend coz after turning like no time to kick up. Bike wobbles a little sometimes. Instructor tried to change my method in one of the RCs to kicking up after the turn but I guess i'm used to doing it my way so when i tried to change it wobbled even more. Ah well....hope for the best, too late to change now :cheeky:

Originally posted by jhawk2820@Jul 2 2005, 11:31 PM

i using this method also when go into the fig 8.

so i got ample time to grag the bike with 1st gear to travel the L path before the dotted line.

kick to 2nd gear a sec before passing the dotted line and the engine would not rattle for not enough power..

after passing the dotted line, off your signal and perform as usual.

due to enough graging distance, when kick to 2nd gear, the bike will travel smoothly. remember do not to throw your clutch.

some learner biker too "gan chiong" to change to 2nd gear at the bend before another short distance before the dotted line causing the bike to rattle due to under power. when that happen, they open the trottle higher to compensate the power loss.

and due to the sudden power jerk from the bike. usually the bike will lost control easily.

thanks again for helping me out!

Can i just confirm ... after u kick to 2nd gear before the yellow line, as u release clutch u turn the throttle slightly ?

Sometimes i wonder how i passed my lesson 2... :giddy:

Originally posted by @Wildcat@Jul 2 2005, 11:46 PM

angel22, i'm waiting for TP now. TP this coming Tuesday morning. Hope I pass! =)

Good luck for your Lesson 5 tmrw! I having RR also tmrw morn first session..dun think i'll see you tho, but all the best!

Guys, my crank course and figure 8 always kick up gear before the bend coz after turning like no time to kick up. Bike wobbles a little sometimes. Instructor tried to change my method in one of the RCs to kicking up after the turn but I guess i'm used to doing it my way so when i tried to change it wobbled even more. Ah well....hope for the best, too late to change now :cheeky:

Thanks for the advice u have given!

Good luck & Hurry up pass on tues so u can offer me more advice !! Heehee!

Originally posted by angel22@Jul 3 2005, 12:22 AM

thanks again for helping me out!

Can i just confirm ... after u kick to 2nd gear before the yellow line, as u release clutch u turn the throttle slightly ?

Sometimes i wonder how i passed my lesson 2... :giddy:

ya, that is how i did it.

the distance is definately long enough for draging your 1st gear.

maybe its also depend how you handle the bike at the turning corner before the dotted line.

what i do is have a bigger turning angle at the corner rather than acute angle.

having an acute turning angle will cause you to bend sharply at the turning and you might feel that your front wheel like going to mount kerb after the bend and you started to be more "kan chong" to bend your bike more causing wasting of travel distance to control the bike.

hope you understand what i mean and it will help you.

for you question, the ans is yes. open the throttle slowly.

practice a few more round, you will build up your confidence and go faster.

Originally posted by @Wildcat@Jul 2 2005, 11:46 PM

hope to heard your good news on tuesday.. :cheer:

and wish me luck on 07 jul. :sweat:

Originally posted by angel22@Jul 3 2005, 12:39 AM

Thanks for the advice u have given!

Good luck & Hurry up pass on tues so u can offer me more advice !! Heehee!

you dont need to worry too much.

with lots of practice, you can make its 1. :cheer:

i pass my prac 5 in first attempt and got only 2 demerit point.

guess what, i took 3 times to pass my pract 8. the 1st 2 time fail because of imm failure due to out of course. :sian:

i sometimes wondering why i can do it in prac 5 and why cant in pract 8. :confused:

maybe lack in practice. :cheeky:

so saying i nag a lot is it?

YES!!!! No lah, of course not. If the advice is good, and to say it over and over again, is not nagging.

my saying: CORRECT practice makes perfect

Good way of saying it!!! Excellent!!! :thumb:

can i just confirm that when u enter the crank course at the yellow line, u kick up to 2nd gear then just open throttle abit right?

This is my method of clearing the crank course as taught by 1 instructor during my learning days. But bear in mind that it might not be applicable or comfortable to others, but it certainly worked for me.

1) move off and make sure you get the correct speed ie, not too slow or too fast.

2) there are 2 areas where you can change to 2nd gear. before entering the

course, or after entering the course. i will only change gear after entering the course. why i do that is because i'm able to regulate my speed at clutch control if happens that my initial moving off is too slow or fast.

3) after changing gear, DO NOT OPEN THROTTLE! just release the clutch slowly. the bike won't jerk if you're at the right speed before changing gear. believe me. i was lucky i got that instructor who taught us this during our lesson, coz it seems that many learners are either not aware of this or not taught at all.

4) open the throttle when the bike is coming up to the straight. try to open up more, dun worry about it being too fast. you can always tap your rear break before you exit out. have confidence. that's one major thing the instructor and tester wants to see from you.

You can try this during one of your revisions. See if you're confortable with it. Good Luck!!!

yo fleaz...

u pk liao worz.... i so long nv come in le... keke..

i still not pk yet... no bike :sian:

Class 3 since Aug'03

Class 2B since Nov'04

Phantom TA200 Dec'05 - June'08

@Wildcat Jiayou! :goodluck: Hope to hear your good news!

angel22 Jiayou! :cheer: happy riding!

Ah min, your avartar rocks! :lovestruck:

turnip :sleep:

BSR :BACK SIDE RIDERS

we live in the back

ride at the back

Count your blessings ;-)

Nov05 : Vespa GT200

this week is TP week. strive for your license!!

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/1.jpg

http://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/avatar7556_0.gifhttp://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/avatar7556_0.gifhttp://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/avatar7556_0.gifhttp://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/avatar7556_0.gifhttp://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/avatar7556_0.gifhttp://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/avatar7556_0.gifhttp://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/avatar7556_0.gifhttp://i12.photobucket.com/albums/a236/eviansg/avatar7556_0.gif

What haryann says is correct. For crank course, after you kick to gear 2, slowly release the clutch and let the bike roll smoothly around the 1st bend of the crank. Only start to throttle as your bike is straightening out. Make sure you rev and pick up enough speed in gear 1 to get enough acceleration to get to gear 2. :goodluck:

http://pinkash.com/dillon3.jpg

Dillon Daimein - BMW R1200GS

Dirty Harry - KTM 200

Goodbye Vince Black

Thanks MaraJade!

1 more thing to take note for both crank and fig 8 course. DO NOT FOLLOW THE SHAPE OF THE COURSE! This is what I mean when I said that.

Crank course

The shape of the course is made up of right angles. Do not ride your bike in right angles. At the first 2 turns, most trainees will bank in, try to straighten the bike a little, then bank in again towards the long straight. Why they do that is probably because they're afraid the tyres will strike the curb. The correct way is to do a gradual u-turn and straighten the bike ONLY when you're at the long straight.

Fig 8

The shape of the course is made up left and right almost circular bends. Do not ride your bike in the exact shape of the bends. After the 3rd quarter of the 1st roundabout, straighten your bike and open up the throttle. Carry on ride straight until you reach the 1st quarter of the 2nd roundabout. Only then you start to bank. The trail of your bike should like an S shape with the diagonal part looking more like a sharp \.

Understand?? :giddy:

It'll be more clearer with pics, diagrams and of course demo rides.

Originally posted by haryann@Jul 3 2005, 02:15 PM

Thanks MaraJade!

1 more thing to take note for both crank and fig 8 course. DO NOT FOLLOW THE SHAPE OF THE COURSE! This is what I mean when I said that.

Crank course

The shape of the course is made up of right angles. Do not ride your bike in right angles. At the first 2 turns, most trainees will bank in, try to straighten the bike a little, then bank in again towards the long straight. Why they do that is probably because they're afraid the tyres will strike the curb. The correct way is to do a gradual u-turn and straighten the bike ONLY when you're at the long straight.

Fig 8

The shape of the course is made up left and right almost circular bends. Do not ride your bike in the exact shape of the bends. After the 3rd quarter of the 1st roundabout, straighten your bike and open up the throttle. Carry on ride straight until you reach the 1st quarter of the 2nd roundabout. Only then you start to bank. The trail of your bike should like an S shape with the diagonal part looking more like a sharp \.

Understand?? :giddy:

It'll be more clearer with pics, diagrams and of course demo rides.

Wow! This is great stuff! Just in time for refreshing my memory. I have been stuck in lesson 3 for 5 attempts and not sure if I could do the figure 8 & crank course when I do pillion riding in lesson 4. :giddy: I read somewhere that some trainees feel that pillion helps in doing these courses coz of the weight & balancing. izzit true??? :confused:

turnip :sleep:

BSR :BACK SIDE RIDERS

we live in the back

ride at the back

Count your blessings ;-)

Nov05 : Vespa GT200

Originally posted by jhawk2820@Jul 3 2005, 03:12 AM

ya, that is how i did it.

the distance is definately long enough for draging your 1st gear.

maybe its also depend how you handle the bike at the turning corner before the dotted line.

what i do is have a bigger turning angle at the corner rather than acute angle.

having an acute turning angle will cause you to bend sharply at the turning and you might feel that your front wheel like going to mount kerb after the bend and you started to be more "kan chong" to bend your bike more causing wasting of travel distance to control the bike.

hope you understand what i mean and it will help you.

for you question, the ans is yes. open the throttle slowly.

practice a few more round, you will build up your confidence and go faster.

Guess what! I finally passed my Lesson 5 after 4 attempts!! :cheer: lol... very happy so must share my joy after all the advice u guys and ladies gave.

My figure 8 was 11.05 secs go got deducted 4 pts :giddy: but its an improvement from 12.58 secs from my previous lesson 5. The other 6 pts was for things like wobbling when moving off and stopping.

But anyway thanks so much fleaz, jhawk2820 and Wildcat for all the advices !!

Originally posted by angel22@Jul 3 2005, 09:06 PM

Guess what! I finally passed my Lesson 5 after 4 attempts!! :cheer: lol... very happy so must share my joy after all the advice u guys and ladies gave.

My figure 8 was 11.05 secs go got deducted 4 pts :giddy: but its an improvement from 12.58 secs from my previous lesson 5. The other 6 pts was for things like wobbling when moving off and stopping.

Hope its help you all the way till you getting your licence.

if got any problem, juz state out here. i believe out bro and sis will definately help you.

good luck in every practical you taking. :cheer:

Originally posted by angel22@Jul 3 2005, 09:06 PM

My figure 8 was 11.05 secs go got deducted 4 pts :giddy:  but its an improvement from 12.58 secs from my previous lesson 5. The other 6 pts was for things like wobbling when moving off and stopping.

Haha wah guys, post so much while I was away...dunno who to reply to also hehe :sweat:

First thing - congratulations to angel22, finally passed Lesson 5! Hehe you must be very happy! Ready to go out on the road? Hehe....remb 1st lesson is@night, den while doing all the PDL stuff (haha tis one a lot of running here and there...can get some of the others to share wif u), can do what i advised shanyuan...book 1 RC and practise U-turn - may help in Lesson 6! (But no guarantees will definitely let u pass Lesson 6 once only lah..but who knows? =)

TP approaching liaoz in 2 days....I'm starting to get nervous a bit..My bdae coming too! Day after TP hehe....if I pass - it's the best bdae present ever! :cheeky:

Was also@SSDC today - just to share with u guys:

MY DAY@SSDC

Today first session went for RR, met same instructor again..Vince Loh...dunno why whenever I took Sunday morn first session RR always meet him. Coz 3 out of my 4 RRs on Sunday den always see him lor...tink he see my face also very familiar liaoz :sweat: Quite nice guy...give very useful tips..nxt time you all RR take on Sunday mebbe will bump into him hehe...

Today supposed to be last practise liaoz...but dunno when doing circuit practise during RR, my courses all buay zhai lehz..

Only slope can make it...

crank course wobble wobble.....

figure 8 wobble wobble....

emergency brake bike skidding and fish-tailing...ground super wet.....

plank i thought ok count till 6 seconds come down the instructor at plank timing me say " 6 seconds exactly." Then he frowned " Cannot like that. Must at least 6.01 seconds den can." :faint:

Pylon so-so....dun seem to bank properly.

Finish already damn sianz even one of the instructors saw me taking off helmet ask me...." Oei why your hands shaking like that ah.." den I say "Reallie meh? Must be tired lah.."

Road seems ok....power ranger Vince say "not bad (dunno why today their uniform seems reallie like power rangers to me sia)....see TP dat day got luck or not"...

But later he scared me when he gave me back my book and I stoning on the benches there drinking water, den he asked, " So today your last practise? Or still got one more?" I nearly choked on my water....coz i was wondering whether to do another RC coz dunno why quite worried abt my circuit courses. So i told him," Aiyah supposed to be last one leh...but dunno if shld do another one?" Haha...den he walked away smiling lorz, saying "Up to u lor.."

KN....end up coz of that I went over to book another session.....1030 all full liaoz sia...in the end book 240pm one! Den went home and came back again.... (angel22, during my 240pm RC got so many lesson 5 students...I was wondering whether you were among them hehe but din noe how u looked like so can only wish u all the best in my mind hehe.....were u there?)

So whole Sunday burnt doing revision :giddy: I also burnt literally by the afternoon sun liaoz....den dunno why today all the instructors see me....all smiling away.....coz they tis week see me like 4 times liaoz....tink they all noe also i going for TP....

Crank course the power ranger Chiau smiling at me (they all waiting there for lesson 5 people)...coz he saw me on Friday RC when he taking lesson 2 den I asked him questions...

Emergency brake my super zhai plank instructor sitting there when i skidded in front of him " Oei kakak, skidding liaoz u noe?!" I think he's wondering why he passed me at lesson 3 hehe...muz be a disappointment to him..lucky later din skid.

@plank....saw same instructor timing me earlier in the morning....tink his expression is like..."wah u again" that kind....but he juz stand there in his sunglasses timing me again...."6.38seconds.......7 seconds......8 seconds....6.72 seconds". =) Yay!

But pylon knocked down a cone....haha aiyah dun care.....stop@ pedestrian crossing for power ranger azlani....who again smile@me? He took me @ first RC after TP...and I showed him my TP sheet...ask him how to improve sia....den best(!) later passed by power ranger Vince Loh teaching lesson 1 people....haha......smile@me again!

Haha.....paiseh...so long-winded...juz felt like sharing wif u guys abt my Sunday...most of it spent@SSDC! No more revision liaoz! Hopefully it will be enough for me on Tuesday! Hope not too nervous on dat day...now getting jitters...but mebbe i'll feel very calm on dat day coz nervousness is all felt these few days already hehe.....

Guys all the advice on crank course, figure 8 - all very relevant for lesson 2 (and onwards) pple and also for me! Even though supposed to be ready for TP but today also...trying my best to perfect everything and I find it quite useful to read through, although each person may ride differently, some basic principles still the same....now no longer can practise physically...just can read your words and ride the bike in the courses in my brain when I sleep tonight! *smilez*

Thanks turnip, Ah Min, angel22, jhawk2820, eviansg for the well-wishes....hope to carry your luck wif me on TP day and bring gd news and den pass on the luck to jhawk2820 and the others all taking on Thursday! :thumb:

Originally posted by haryann@Jul 3 2005, 10:44 AM

so saying i nag a lot is it?

YES!!!! No lah, of course not. If the advice is good, and to say it over and over again, is not nagging.

my saying: CORRECT practice makes perfect

Good way of saying it!!! Excellent!!! :thumb:

Haha.....fleaz and haryann.....think I first mentioned practising correctly as a way to improve (*see my post!*) in the earlier part of this thread...find it very funny to hear you guys repeating it again in different ways! Of course I did not invent this "saying" or "principle" and it's good dat many of us all recognize it as an important part of learning biking! And also learning other things of course. =)

Wow! This is great stuff! Just in time for refreshing my memory. I have been stuck in lesson 3 for 5 attempts and not sure if I could do the figure 8 & crank course when I do pillion riding in lesson 4.  I read somewhere that some trainees feel that pillion helps in doing these courses coz of the weight & balancing. izzit true??? 

turnip 

Pilloning is hard I feel. (But may not be hard for everyone - my opinion only) If you can do courses well with a pillon you are :thumb: The extra weight of another person makes the bike hard to turn and you need extra distance to brake and more braking power as well as more acceleration to move. More on dat when you guys get to Lesson 4 :cheeky:

:cheer: everyone! Ah Min and turnip :cheer: for lesson 3!

Time to :sleep: after a long day spent riding...cya guys =)