• Replies 16.2k

Originally posted by Kenny@May 10, 2007 11:18 pm

Mersing is good as ever. Went over there last weekend via Kluang for a recce and also catch fishes along the Kluang highway...corners will be much more enjoyable with better suspensions man...

Talking about suspension, I find that the stock set up is rather soft, I'm particularly not use to the dipping of the front while braking. I'm thinking of changing my front springs to Wilbers at M.Technik. Has anyone tried this before?

Don't want to change to someting that's too hard and loose the comfort .

As for the rear, will a change in just the spring help improve the cornering?

Been thinking about letting go of my bike for a while now and I think it's about time. Havn't had much time for riding lately after the arrival of my son and investing in a car.

Anyways, pls let me know if anyone interested - I can be contacted on my hp at 81189789.

2002 reg black XLV1000 V2

Accessories List:

Touratech handle bar raiser

Touratech handle bar bracket

Black tank cover

BMW grips

Heavy stainless steel handlebar balancers

"Thai Corbin seat"

Technoflex front progressive springs

Technoflex rear shock

Touratech base plate (engine protection)

Leo Vince SBK exhaust , LTA approved

KNN Air filter

Hepco & Becker Rear rack & 40L Junior Panniers

Givi 45L Top case with rack

Asking around 12.5k (neg) - if you are interested let me know and we'll arrange a viewing.

Now riding: Honda Varadero XL1000V2

Previous bikes: Honda SuperFour Vtec Spec I - Yamaha LC125

bagahera>> congrat to ur new born son...U Mia for so long. Just remind me the fun we have during our Hatyai Trip. Where r u guys...miss u guys.

http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/9374/p1010827hs4.jpg

http://img519.imageshack.us/img519/6773/p1010823tc3.jpg

http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/1641/picture28ah7.jpg

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

Originally posted by Axis@May 11, 2007 08:10 am

Talking about suspension, I find that the stock set up is rather soft, I'm particularly not use to the dipping of the front while braking. I'm thinking of changing my front springs to Wilbers at M.Technik. Has anyone tried this before?

Don't want to change to someting that's too hard and loose the comfort .

As for the rear, will a change in just the spring help improve the cornering?

yes..it's very soft. Im changing the front at Mtechniks as well..if u can wait, will let u know after a few rides after i got it.

Not sure abt the springs. believe ur talking abt the hyperpro springs at motoworld?U can try it though and let us know..kekeke..

Baga..congrats on little fred!

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Originally posted by Kenny@May 11, 2007 06:37 pm

yes..it's very soft. Im changing the front at Mtechniks as well..if u can wait, will let u know after a few rides after i got it.

Not sure abt the springs. believe ur talking abt the hyperpro springs at motoworld?U can try it though and let us know..kekeke..

Baga..congrats on little fred!

Hi Kenny, Thanks! Will wait for your feedback on the front springs. The damping of the front fork can also be changed with the viscosity of the oil used. Please make a note of which you use. If I remember correctly the SAE 7.5 is recommended for the Vara.

I think Chan too has the rear springs, I'm still toying with the idea.

Congrats Bagahera!

Thanks guys... hope to make it for one of the teh tarik sessions one of these days if they are still 'on'... but nowadays not much time to spare after work and the little one.

Anyway, here's a shot of "little Fred", his name is Axel - coming to 5 months old already.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/194/459840342_220a11f519.jpg

Now riding: Honda Varadero XL1000V2

Previous bikes: Honda SuperFour Vtec Spec I - Yamaha LC125

Hi Guys, Would like to have a Kopi Session with all ex / lao jiao / new / future / non Vara riders. Sorry for short notice but hope you can try to make it. Let me know. Thanks!

Thursday 17th May

7.30pm

Adams Corner? Please let me know if there are other preferences.:thumb:

Originally posted by Axis@May 15, 2007 07:03 pm

Hi Kenny, have you done the change yet? How is it? Thanks!

Nope..not yet...still awaiting since 9th April...

just gotta be patient...:)

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

axis>> hey thr bro...

jus fyi. im with wilbers on my rear suspension. the whole set of it. come to realise its been more than 2 yrs im on it. been to a few far trips n its still doin great. n furthermore its serciveable by chan.. price wise if its jus d springs, if im able recall, its abt 300++ if u get the whole set, arnd 800.

n im using ohlins non progressive springs on the forks. hard but its jus nice for the weight. wilbers i think is progressive, but definitely not as soft as originals. price i think 180+..

hope this helps..

kenny>> the tyres r super great. much better than tourance cos u'll feel its very fulling all rounder. can corner even lower.. kekeke not sure abt sliperriness. i think all tyres r slippery la, come to think abt it..

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj105/dickrid/Picture2362.jpg
Originally posted by riddick@May 17, 2007 05:51 am

axis>> hey thr bro...

jus fyi. im with wilbers on my rear suspension. the whole set of it. come to realise its been more than 2 yrs im on it. been to a few far trips n its still doin great. n furthermore its serciveable by chan.. price wise if its jus d springs, if im able recall, its abt 300++ if u get the whole set, arnd 800.

n im using ohlins non progressive springs on the forks. hard but its jus nice for the weight. wilbers i think is progressive, but definitely not as soft as originals. price i think 180+..

hope this helps..

kenny>> the tyres r super great. much better than tourance cos u'll feel its very fulling all rounder. can corner even lower.. kekeke not sure abt sliperriness. i think all tyres r slippery la, come to think abt it..

Riddick>> Thanks for the update. I will consider getting the rear too, but for the time being I will go for the Wilbers front. Don't like the head dipping so much on braking. Wilbers website shows that the springs for Varas are non progressive, I think it will be better to stop the dipping.

BTW, what brake pads would you recommend?

Originally posted by Axis@May 15, 2007 10:18 pm

Hi Guys, Would like to have a Kopi Session with all ex / lao jiao / new / future / non Vara riders. Sorry for short notice but hope you can try to make it. Let me know. Thanks!

Thursday 17th May

7.30pm

Adams Corner? Please let me know if there are other preferences.:thumb:

Hi Bros! Not a single reply. Guess we will call it off. Thanks.

axis>> brake pads... im using gold fren. buy from fjt.. cheap cheap @ 15/pair. but... can last arnd 6 months or more la... depends on usage.. but its a good brake pads..

i pmed u my contacts, anything jus call la k..

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj105/dickrid/Picture2362.jpg

Axis

bro, hope you have enjoyed the trip...especially the long & twisty Route 50 from Jemaluang to Ayer Hitam...raining somemore...ha ha..bike got freaking dirty after reaching Ayer Keroh..

anyway, was issued a speeding ticket on the way back(they said speed cam)...anyone knows where to appeal/see the photo? cos funny part was they caught me at Pedas Linggi whereas the furthest i went was Ayer Keroh...corrupted sia their TP....obviously want kopi $$$..knn

P5310008.jpg

P5310023.jpg

P5310020.jpg

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif

chrislayer>> jUST wait for the police to issue u the fine...My last trip ride also happen to one of my friends, kenna stop by the police n claim that they speed 140km/hr (if i'm not wrong)...but the best part is my friend told the police that his bike's speedometer only 120km/hr. How can they speed 140km/hr. Obviously they just want some Kopi Money as what u mention

Axis>> ICT ....so no time to arrange for meet up..hope u enjoy the ride with chrislayer...

YZF>> Yo bro..how r u....any trip ride again. Maybe time to get u another big bike to continue ur adventure ride.

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

chrislayer>> jUST wait for the police to issue u the fine...My last trip ride also happen to one of my friends, kenna stop by the police n claim that they speed 140km/hr (if i'm not wrong)...but the best part is my friend told the police that his bike's speedometer only 120km/hr. How can they speed 140km/hr. Obviously they just want some Kopi Money as what u mention

Axis>> ICT ....so no time to arrange for meet up..hope u enjoy the ride with chrislayer...

YZF>> Yo bro..how r u....any trip ride again. Maybe time to get u another big bike to continue ur adventure ride.

u wanna get me a bike?? :lovestruck:

Axis

bro, hope you have enjoyed the trip...especially the long & twisty Route 50 from Jemaluang to Ayer Hitam...raining somemore...ha ha..bike got freaking dirty after reaching Ayer Keroh..

anyway, was issued a speeding ticket on the way back(they said speed cam)...anyone knows where to appeal/see the photo? cos funny part was they caught me at Pedas Linggi whereas the furthest i went was Ayer Keroh...corrupted sia their TP....obviously want kopi $$$..knn

Hi Chris. I sure did enjoy the ride very much, especially with all the twisties. Had a hard time washing my bike yesterday.

Like that also can ah? Did they issue you a ticket on the spot? I better go check if I kena any ticket man! Thanks!