• Replies 16.2k

Last nite was a gd meetup...:thumb:

am worried that with the heavy downpour on going.. everybody will not wan to carry on...but to my surprise:bouncefire: everybody very sporting...:thumb: :thumb:

last nite was a small little explore tru kampong n living places of malaysia immigration workers in darkness suffering coldness....:cheeky:

nice to meet up with bochap n AT( 60km/hr's pengyu ):thumb:

next time in i die die wan to have the ice kacang:sian: :sian: hehehe

V1KINGS

Originally posted by Pro Dero@Dec 11 2004, 11:03 AM

Yo bro can anyone enlighten abt these bike pro n cons? cuz i got other frens who got class 2 dun wanna settle for speed demon rides, but i aint got much info :p

1. varadero carb 1000 : high fuel consumption, high end speed power, suspension bad, fuel pump prob...etc?

2. v-strom 1000 : raw low end n mid range power, unstable at max speed, light weight at 199kg dry...etc?

3. gs 1150 : shaft driven, fully computerised engine, very ex n branded...etc...?

4. tdm...i dunno much abt it?

5. v-strom 650 : less power than the 1k, much lighter...etc...?

7. bmw f650 dakar : chain driven, not very gd like elws said....etc...?

:box:

High fuel consumption depends on how obedient ur right hand is.. this bike would be fun to pull away at traffic junction. If u ride it properly, occasionaly right hand over mind, I think the consumption is reasonable. The EFI version should give a more decent mileage per full tank. Suspension is bad is a truth, really soft . So need to change to aftermarket, especially the front springs.. And fuel pump problem is normal wear and tear problem in my views.

Other than that , I think its a really fun bike to ride in . With alot of wind protection during high speed riding as the generous helpings of fairing helped in blocking most of the wind.. The rider & pillion comfort is 5* .

So far , my dero had accompanied me for 2yr plus of happy rides. Never regretted it since .

errr the rest , i know nutz about it ...hahhahhaaaaa

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

elws did wif his beamer wif a 40 litre i if recall correctly corner deeper n deeper den how come cant go up only realsing his beautiful boxer engine dragging on the road ...ouch...had to buang oredi...hehehe!

HaHa. Bro a case of mis-judge will nvr happen again cos i dun play corner liao slow n easy rider. Dun ma lu me mah. :sweat:

To those who have just got their Vara. Do you really need the side panniers??? If most of the time travelling alone a 45 litre top box will be good enough. I very much want to fix a top box n leave my side panniers at hm too bad my seat cannot accomodate a top box. Just too bad for me. Think twice man. Singapore traffic everywhere JAM and parking space so small very inconvenient. Hope u guys give a real thought abt it.

60km/h - the decision lies in u whether to do a bike shop n pay alot or let me do it for u. Very cheap a dinner treat will do...

Yo bro can anyone enlighten abt these bike pro n cons? cuz i got other frens who got class 2 dun wanna settle for speed demon rides, but i aint got much info :p

1. varadero carb 1000 : high fuel consumption, high end speed power, suspension bad, fuel pump prob...etc?

2. v-strom 1000 : raw low end n mid range power, unstable at max speed, light weight at 199kg dry...etc?

3. gs 1150 : shaft driven, fully computerised engine, very ex n branded...etc...?

4. tdm...i dunno much abt it?

5. v-strom 650 : less power than the 1k, much lighter...etc...?

7. bmw f650 dakar : chain driven, not very gd like elws said....etc...?

:box:

None of the above.

KTM 950 :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Just love it but need to change the bloody ass killer seat.

Will provide info for u on all the bike n character. Got a magazine reviewing these few bikes.

ewls i not malu u lah but it the truth n ya gotta guts to tell me...hehehe! but now everyone know:p i oso did stupid stuff too, mild traffic jam at kaki bukit corner here n there squeeze in between cars at high speed suddenly some stupid ###### nvr signal but juz come out of the lane me chasin after my gixxer 6 fren hit her ass from behind, smash her bumper, tail lites, i flew 2 car away to the right, my baby dero to left climb over the pavement den hit the floor.....no rain day light some more....passerby come pick up my bike n me like bodoh but sustain no a single scratch on myself except my bike....:cry:

if u can do fix up i wanna try ya service den can treat out one...hehehe!

varas thanks for ya insight btw ya know dat guy kiss from vfr so called best bike on the planet when both r honda...duh...hehehe

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Originally posted by elws@Dec 11 2004, 05:03 PM

None of the above.

KTM 950 :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Just love it but need to change the bloody ass killer seat.

Will provide info for u on all the bike n character. Got a magazine reviewing these few bikes.

KTM 950 >> Fix appointment with your doctor for piles removal operation when u return from a long trip. also quoted from a reknown magazine hahahahahaa :goodluck:

But I got a greek classmate riding this bike , and he agrees. But he also say , he is too young to worry about comfort... maybe I am old liao .. kekeek

time to look for Goldwing :cheeky: :smile:

anyway 60km/h >> let him do it, make it worthwhile., ask elws to throw in a coolent change . He professional liao .. kekeke

pro dero>> Life's too short to bother about such things. Just enjoy while we can ..:thumb:

VAR-A

V1KINGS

Originally posted by elws@Dec 11 2004, 04:57 PM

To those who have just got their Vara. Do you really need the side panniers??? If most of the time travelling alone a 45 litre top box will be good enough. I very much want to fix a top box n leave my side panniers at hm too bad my seat cannot accomodate a top box. Just too bad for me. Think twice man. Singapore traffic everywhere JAM and parking space so small very inconvenient. Hope u guys give a real thought abt it.

60km/h - the decision lies in u whether to do a bike shop n pay alot or let me do it for u. Very cheap a dinner treat will do...

Brother,

Hahaha...I can treat you anytime if u want. Thanks for your help. I went to the bike shop today and the mechanic has sprayed my crash bar for free and back to good condition. As for the other portion, I think I'll remain as it is. To remind me that don't be too happy whenever I see you. Haha... until my side stand never put properly then fell. :sweat:

Overall, nice to meet everyone of you yesterday. It was quite fun although my underwear wet wet.

I've learned alot during the trip to Pendas.

01. Must get a good rain coat for myself.

02. Always make sure that side stand is properly put down.

03. Zippo bag to protect your passport or become "salted vegetable".

LIVE TO RIDE - RIDE TO LIVE

Gilera Nexus 300ie:box:

My Ex-lovers :

Honda Fit 1.3A

Honda Varadero XL1000V

Honda Steed 400

Honda Fireblade 400

Honda Steed 400

60km/h sorry i didnt know ya bike fell, but i tink its best ya get used to ya bike like ya new wife, corner here n there, but dun do like elws did wif his beamer wif a 40 litre i if recall correctly corner deeper n deeper den how come cant go up only realsing his beautiful boxer engine dragging on the road ...ouch...had to buang oredi...hehehe!

get a water proof jacket, pants, shoe den ERS come in buy the side box btw the givi bracket cuz $280 PL model but den wingrack $300 plus, the box need some more money liao...hehehe!

Dude>>> I never buang lah...I just never put my side stand properly and end up no appetitte.

Thanks for your advise. :smile:

My Ex-lovers :

Honda Fit 1.3A

Honda Varadero XL1000V

Honda Steed 400

Honda Fireblade 400

Honda Steed 400

Originally posted by Varas@Dec 11 2004, 09:43 PM

anyway 60km/h >> let him do it, make it worthwhile., ask elws to throw in a coolent change . He professional liao .. kekeke

My Ex-lovers :

Honda Fit 1.3A

Honda Varadero XL1000V

Honda Steed 400

Honda Fireblade 400

Honda Steed 400

Elws>> Hmm... just now saw a orange KTM950 when im dwn at Mtech...damme cool man...devastating bike...

but saw two Translap...think its a newer model type...the head fairing n the signal looks like vara125....nice..:thumb:

Saw the new halfcap helmet form MHR that u bot.......not bad looking lay....tot of getting 1 oso(matt black type) jus wanna be diff...(lots of ppl wearing ram2 type of helmet liao):cheeky:

as for side panniers...well...can put more things if u always longbang gf or friends(spare helmet n raincoat) 45litres top box can hold only 2X helmet n 1 set raincoat... so up to u 60km/hr...

V1KINGS

Originally posted by smicerboy@Dec 11 2004, 11:12 PM

Elws>> Hmm... just now saw a orange KTM950 when im dwn at Mtech...damme cool man...devastating bike...

but saw two Translap...think its a newer model type...the head fairing n the signal looks like vara125....nice..:thumb:

Saw the new halfcap helmet form MHR that u bot.......not bad looking lay....tot of getting 1 oso(matt black type) jus wanna be diff...(lots of ppl wearing ram2 type of helmet liao):cheeky:

as for side panniers...well...can put more things if u always longbang gf or friends(spare helmet n raincoat) 45litres top box can hold only 2X helmet n 1 set raincoat... so up to u 60km/hr...

smicerboy>>> Your last roger out.

My Ex-lovers :

Honda Fit 1.3A

Honda Varadero XL1000V

Honda Steed 400

Honda Fireblade 400

Honda Steed 400

60km/h>> i would prefer u to have a jacket..keke..It's better for the bike to be damaged than the body..

to the rest of the guys..great to see many pple moving into the trunk roads for supper in such conditions..

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Originally posted by Kenny@Dec 12 2004, 01:07 AM

60km/h>> i would prefer u to have a jacket..keke..It's better for the bike to be damaged than the body..

to the rest of the guys..great to see many pple moving into the trunk roads for supper in such conditions..

Yeah....Any recommendation on the brands? Clover? AXO? etc....?

My budget is tight leh about $300-$350. Then hor no size for me leh....haha

Let say I buy :

a touring jacket - $350

a touring pant - $350

a pair of touring shoe - $250

a pair of touring gloves - $50

Wah lao... total = $1000 leh brother. :giddy: *Fainted*

Btw, any suggestion on rain coat ar? OGK or Arai or ....AXO etc....

My Ex-lovers :

Honda Fit 1.3A

Honda Varadero XL1000V

Honda Steed 400

Honda Fireblade 400

Honda Steed 400

wow.......

its not cheap to get touring stuffz :giddy: :giddy:

hmm....

y not get waterproof touring jacket and pant

den no need to get extra set :confused:

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

Originally posted by smicerboy@Dec 2 2004, 09:01 PM

Honda Varadero XL1000V Members List

1. smicerboy

2. Lucifer

3. bagahera

4. Varas

5. AfrikaTwin

6. Don didie

7. Dough76

8. Riddick

9. Ami (not in forum)

10. Edward (not in forum)

11. Bobo (not in forum)

12. SimplyBoChap (New)

13. 60km/h - (New)

14. Elws

15. Trex (new)

hope it will grow bigger n bigger.....:thumb:

Wow.. Gangster huh??? Grow bigger.. Wahaha

60km/h>> getting full touring gear is certainly not cheap. But its a 1 time thingy. I paid over 1k for my whole suit.. but in the long run , would still stand to benefit from it. Its heart pain once and thats it.. unless really wanna change to a different suit every season, then its a different story. But normally , 1 would last for years. Mine was with me for 2 yrs plus liao.

pingster>> Usually touring suit already got waterproof membrane built within. So its waterproof, windproof also . Unless getting mesh type, which got no waterproofing at all. Some brands do have combinations , mesh type but got another detachable waterproof inner layer which the rider could removed when travelling in hot climate. And put it back on when it rains.

And almost all touring suit comes with armour. Shoulders, elbows , some with back plate. As for pants , hips area, knee caps.

VAR-A

V1KINGS

Originally posted by pingster@Dec 12 2004, 01:32 AM

wow.......

its not cheap to get touring stuffz :giddy: :giddy:

hmm....

y not get waterproof touring jacket and pant

den no need to get extra set :confused:

pingster dude>>> Touring suits are very hot u know, best to wear when you are travelling at high speed during touring. :thumb:

My Ex-lovers :

Honda Fit 1.3A

Honda Varadero XL1000V

Honda Steed 400

Honda Fireblade 400

Honda Steed 400

Originally posted by Varas@Dec 12 2004, 04:11 AM

60km/h>> getting full touring gear is certainly not cheap. But its a 1 time thingy. I paid over 1k for my whole suit.. but in the long run , would still stand to benefit from it. Its heart pain once and thats it.. unless really wanna change to a different suit every season, then its a different story. But normally , 1 would last for years. Mine was with me for 2 yrs plus liao.

Varas>>> What u hv said is true. I agreed with you. I'll buy them one by one if one shot ar.....heart pain again.

Thanks for your sharing and advise. :smile:

My Ex-lovers :

Honda Fit 1.3A

Honda Varadero XL1000V

Honda Steed 400

Honda Fireblade 400

Honda Steed 400

Originally posted by Caesar77@Dec 12 2004, 02:44 AM

Wow.. Gangster huh??? Grow bigger.. Wahaha

no lah....no gangster lah.... if it is then that was 10 yrs ago man.....

paiseh lay....did i miss yr name out?? n my main purpose is to unite all varadero in singapore...:thumb:

60km/hr>> bro...get RSTAICHI drymaster...think now motoworld out of stock...its the best rainsuit man..:thumb: price oso best=$120:sian: u wont feel hot inside cause its breathable... Arai n OGK is damme hot n it dont seems original to me....(just my opinion):cheeky:

I got my touring top at $380, boots $200, pants $160 n gloves $75 so all in = $815 So its abt there...(1000+) i got cheaper pants cause i feel short trip i wont get to wear it... so up to u again 60km/hr....but now tot of getting better boots..hehehe:cheeky:

V1KINGS

Originally posted by smicerboy@Dec 12 2004, 10:59 AM

60km/hr>> bro...get RSTAICHI drymaster...think now motoworld out of stock...its the best rainsuit man..:thumb: price oso best=$120:sian: u wont feel hot inside cause its breathable... Arai n OGK is damme hot n it dont seems original to me....(just my opinion):cheeky:

Agree with Smicerboy...Checked out the RS Taichi Drymaster and it is very good. Also it is very light too. It was last selling for $80 a month back which would have resulted in why it is sold out. The Arai and OGK really look and feel fake. Well then again it all depends on your budget too.

Pingster>> If you're interested in riding jackets you can ask me. I have checked out almost all the places that sell touring jackets in Singapore. My advice to you is to know what you want to use it for, touring/daily/both, and your budget. Fitting of the jacket is also very important. I am going to be buying a jacket in the week to come.

Born to be Wild : Steppenwolf (1968)

1. Varadero Carb 1000 : high fuel consumption - AGREE, high end speed power - AGREE, suspension bad - FOR STOCK, fuel pump prob - SO FAR SO GD, gd mid range power. Overall reliable bike but please go for EFI model. Ground clearance a bit low though.

2. V-Strom 1000 - raw low end n mid range power, unstable at max speed as what u mention but nvr ride the bike before but very gd comment from a few V-Strom Rider. Overall reliable bike but very rough engine.

3. BMW 1150 GS - shaft driven, fully computerised engine - DISAGREE, very ex n branded - DISAGREE. Can get this bike at a very gd price since R1200GS is out. Very smooth engine but lack of the pulling factor - Torque.Very gd handling bike. A few minor problem need to take note. Another thing to take note BMW = Bring More Worries.

4. TDM 900 - Now abt $15k + or - Good bike but low ground clearance. For those who r small in size should consider this bike much more easier to handle.

5. V-Strom 650 - Dun even consider.

6. BMW F650GS Dakar : chain driven, Single Cylinder high wear n tear but gd torque. For my height need to tip toe. Quite high the bike. Bike is light gd for off-road.

Only the V-Strom I nvr rode before, the rest have rode it before so can give comment. If want something more reliable and cheap go for Jap bikes but if u r looking for something more interesting. Y not take a look at KTM 950. All the bike mention above is running on sports rim except BMW which is easily substain to warp when go hard on off road n frequent up n down curbs. Spoke rim tends to take the stress off.

More info can be found at "www.advrider.com" those ANG MO really give their comment on all the above mention bike gds n bads, pros n cons.

But most importantly consider the pocket n if one is able to handle the bike. All this giant monster is damm heavy. There is no so call the best or the worst bike. Look at all our Varas Bro. Fuel consumption no worries just ride. In the end one have to be comfortable with the bike even the bike may cost more. As long as u luv it wat does it matter.

Just my 2 cents worth......hope it is of some help to u. :goodluck: in choosing the dream bike.

Originally posted by smicerboy@Dec 12 2004, 10:59 AM

no lah....no gangster lah.... if it is then that was 10 yrs ago man.....

paiseh lay....did i miss yr name out?? n my main purpose is to unite all varadero in singapore...:thumb:

I got my touring top at $380, boots $200, pants $160 n gloves $75 so all in = $815 So its abt there...(1000+) i got cheaper pants cause i feel short trip i wont get to wear it... so up to u again 60km/hr....but now tot of getting better boots..hehehe:cheeky:

Brother>>>Thanks for your opinion and advise. I went to Regina today and there is a new OGK rain coat - blue in colour, cost $120. Not very nice. In fact, the one Kenny bought is nicer and cost $80 now. Offer leh....Hehe...

Btw hor, anyone wanna go drink teh tarik(giant size cup) tonight?

My Ex-lovers :

Honda Fit 1.3A

Honda Varadero XL1000V

Honda Steed 400

Honda Fireblade 400

Honda Steed 400