Hello,

I am struggling between the 2 scooter. The maxsym is newly introduced while XEvo has been around for quite sometime.

Can anyone provide a personal experience on them?

How about SYM versus Piaggio interm of maintenance & parts?

• Replies 9

both also good. cost i think ang moh scooter will be higher. according to my colleague whom ride piaggio 400 whom just change to kymco xciting 300 but he every 3-4 yrs change bike since the he is rich due to CPF withdraw (55 yrs old). i nearly bought his piaggio 400.

Both is good bike :D

Only thing is that Piaggio EVO400 is the headlight is one-eye jack type (Only Running light one side, the other is high beam) --> Whic i dont really like

While the Maxsym is Projector type (Which look cool and futuristic) and has cool Audi look alike led DRL

Just my opinion on the looks la..but the performance and servicing is all about the same coz it 400cc single cylinder :D

http://www3.picturepush.com/photo/a/14045926/640/14045926.jpg

I rode both the Piaggio and Gilera before (small cc)

And currently owned a Taiwanese Kymco Downtown 300.

Seriously what you need to look at is what do you want or need.

Comfort

Ride height

Parts

Resale value

Value for money

Reliabilty

Looks

Maintainence

After sales

Road tac

Insurance

Touring

City riding

Performance

Noise

Vibration

Storage

Availability

Budget

From there you narrow your search

Hope it helps

Piaggio to me are very simple to maintain if you know it's temperament.

The 4t skipper I owned gave me trouble free ride except for 2X rectifier change.

Runner is a pain in my A** 1week old new bike petrol tank leak. Then leak again after change. So I plaster the reserve tank with silicone thick thick. Then after that petrol hose after years hardened and cracked and have to ride all the way home with petrol leaking out. The as the scoot grew older, water pump failed then termostat stuck close than head gasket blow then radiator leak. But that is 8 years old and only 60,000km. But that is runner 180 lah. Piaggio Ive heard X9 horror stories. But with proper maintainece should be ok.

I rode both the Piaggio and Gilera before (small cc)

And currently owned a Taiwanese Kymco Downtown 300.

Seriously what you need to look at is what do you want or need.

Comfort

Ride height

Parts

Resale value

Value for money

Reliabilty

Looks

Maintainence

After sales

Road tac

Insurance

Touring

City riding

Performance

Noise

Vibration

Storage

Availability

Budget

From there you narrow your search

Hope it helps

Piaggio to me are very simple to maintain if you know it's temperament.

The 4t skipper I owned gave me trouble free ride except for 2X rectifier change.

Runner is a pain in my A** 1week old new bike petrol tank leak. Then leak again after change. So I plaster the reserve tank with silicone thick thick. Then after that petrol hose after years hardened and cracked and have to ride all the way home with petrol leaking out. The as the scoot grew older, water pump failed then termostat stuck close than head gasket blow then radiator leak. But that is 8 years old and only 60,000km. But that is runner 180 lah. Piaggio Ive heard X9 horror stories. But with proper maintainece should be ok.

wahh your runner so terok sia..yep i heard bout X9 horror stories too..scaryy..

my carpark there got X9 left to rot..the carpark floor full of eo and coolant..i wonder what happen..

http://www3.picturepush.com/photo/a/14045926/640/14045926.jpg

I was in a dilemma like you when shopping for the 2A scooter. Xevo 400 was one of the contender. It's has a very large storage space and a full class 2A cc. Fully stretch legs, parts easily available. Looks better than most Piaggio scoot. Same engine layout, design so practically any bike shop that do scooter should have no problems repairing it. But I have enough of Italians so I wanted to try a Japanese or Taiwanese. Since Kymco has been quite popular even oversea and with good reviews decided to give it a try.

I opted Kymco Downtown 300 because of

Storage

Power

Performance

Reliability

After sales support

Outlook

Comfortable pillion seat for my other half

Swappable parts between different Kymco models

Budget range

Fuel consumption

Edited by parotae

thank you for all the comments guys. I heard from some other topics saying that Piaggio is usually unreliable, easy to have problem, parts are expensive and short lifetime... A bit scared though. Anyone got any idea about such comments?

Does anyone riding a SYM around? how is it quality and reliability?

This is what i'm looking for, sorted by priority:

Value for money

Reliabilty

Parts - easy to find, cheap to replace, exchangable with other models

Storage - rain jacket, 2 helmets is a must or 1 helmet and 1 handbag

Maintainence - can do maintenance in any shop, not just the distro

Ride height - I'm only 1m67 tall

City riding - I have never ride out of Singapore before

Looks - just not so bulky, dumb design

Budget - less than $13k, with instalment

Things are not so important:

Comfort - well, I think all maxi would be almost the same

Resale value - when I decide to resale is the time I got a lot money to upgrade

Performance - dun want to risk my life, otherwise I should go for CBR or something similar

Availability - I know where I can get all these bikes

So how to compare between the XEVO and the Maxsym according to the list above?

No experience with sym but judging from the sym thread it seems it's quite popular and no negative report so far as in members curse and swear ha ha..

I shall attempt to answer some of your question until somebody comes along and input a more accurate answer.

Value for money - you bet it is. Some even mention that SYM means save your money or should it be saves you money.

Reliability ?

Parts - some says very cheap

Storage - one say very disappointed. But can actually fit 2 helmet(from pictues)

Maintainence ? Should be no problems as there are a few maxi scooter workshop other than distro

Ride height - confirmed no problems because got cut away at floor board for standing and it seems low. I tried with full stand on and mind you I can still touch the ground. I am 1.68

City ? Fuel consumption should be good as low rpm machine. Lower rpm lower noise lower heart rate more relax less likely to race :p

Looks - so nice already

Budget - bargain here there should be just nice. Now road show 1 year free installement. 1 year road tax

How aout Kymco downtown 300i ? Ha ha ;)

maxsym still new.. very hard to judge. but gts 200 also got bad stories..

i rode x9 for about 2 years.. old bikes, but so far, so good as long as whatever wear and tear, or spoilt, just change.

well, of course, it blows a big hole sometimes, few hundreds to change this change that.. but other than that, overall okay.. yes, the part quite ex, but x9 more powerful than gts200 easily.. can hit more than 120 easily for old bike, but my friend new gts200 max 120..

in simple, be prepared that both bikes not are quite high maintenance.. may be scooter part is like that ex??