SIM (Singapore Institute of Management)

Originally posted by R.C@Sep 28 2005, 08:18 AM

wah... RVF really very high maintenance sia... :giddy:

Actually besides the spark plug that cost more, the other maintenance cost about the same. :sweat:

April 2004 - June 2005 : Honda NSR150SP

June 2005 - August 2006 : Honda RVF400 NC35

August 2006 - Present : Yamaha YZF-R1

• Replies 10.1k

• ZLord

• GER_on_Bike

• R.C

• Audrian

wah... RVF really very high maintenance sia...

well all bike is resonable, like actually knn does not require to change except chem wash.. jetting / clearence check normally abt 40k...

well engine oil, filter,plug, air filter is min requirement. major is 40-50k dyno, clearence,time chain,clutchetc...

spocket n chain lub required n then tighten or change when required...

well so there is not much...

there is a saying if min maint is not done, u can't spare not to part wit $$$...

but safety is the more concern issue....:bouncefire:

e.g. shock ohlin shock nr 1k but penske(i think shld be pell this way hor) 3 way 2k... so all depend on individual...

so good luck...

hope that there can be an outing soon be for monsoon hit us...:sian:

Originally posted by ZLord@Sep 28 2005, 12:57 PM

Actually besides the spark plug that cost more, the other maintenance cost about the same. :sweat:

your air filter 58.. my air filter 30... haha.. but its not a good comparison... adrian, S4 air filter how much?

Originally posted by ZLord@Sep 28 2005, 01:17 AM

Just tested at 2nd link, the jerkiness is very minimal now, i can feel a great improvement in the smoothness of power. My current rectifier is not the original rvf rectifier, its actually a sp rectifier. No wonder my bike feels underpowered at top end. But no money change now :weep:

haha.. i oso no money to change alot of things... I would most prob change my brake pads, rear tyre, chain and sprocket on my next visit which would most probably cost me a bomb again... :giddy:

Originally posted by alpha82@Sep 27 2005, 03:55 PM

Adrian:

haa, true.

but i don't trust the mechs there...

they might be down-to-earth, but they also "ai mai ai mai" one. i definitely won't trust them with my bike if i'm to leave it there overnight...

furthermore, the mechs there can give u a totally different price from what ah bee tells u. things there are cheap if u buy and diy. otherwise, they will jack up the price attributing it to quality workmanship. *chuckle*

if it didn't happen to you, then i must say you're lucky man...

hmm.. okay.. will be more cautious next time then.. actually, oredi heard abt their bad reputation liao, and wanted to be wary, but kept having calls and sms.. aiyo. all at the wrong time, when they were adjusting the jets and changing parts.. damn.

nevermind la. lucky all seems beri well now.. yeah. i hate to leave a bike there overnight too.. but overall, i think so far so good la. perhaps like u say, i'm lucky. heh.. :cheeky:

Love doesnt require that two people look at each other, but that they look together in the same direction. - Antoine de Saint Exupery

Originally posted by ZLord@Sep 27 2005, 06:08 PM

so how much did you pay in total? :confused:

220 lor. actually 230, but RC helped me "eh, he oso student leh.." haha.. powerful sentence..

but i find quite okay leh. a lot of things changed.. and the tensioner is OEM so, should be reliable la, regardless made from where..

then the rest r wear and tear and the parts r cheaper compared to elsewhere plus their servicing for carb is $20 bucks lesser than elsewhere. Not onli tat, i watched them clean, it's very well done.. This guy Ah Meng, he cleaned and balanced the carbs for me.. beri well done. I'm satisfied with the results.. Now very smooth sia, even my dear and my bro oso commented on it.. :thumb:

Love doesnt require that two people look at each other, but that they look together in the same direction. - Antoine de Saint Exupery

Originally posted by ZLord@Sep 27 2005, 06:10 PM

i think they want us to go back again, so maybe they do well, but for subsequent visits i think they will not be as consistent liao

then it's time to jump! :thumb:

Originally posted by SaintDuDu@Sep 27 2005, 06:19 PM

now can hit 299km/h liao lor... must wait for mi liao... :bow: :bow:

it's still a 400cc superfour la.. :sweat:

Originally posted by R.C@Sep 27 2005, 10:10 PM

chey!!!! :sweat:

damn funnie sia!

Originally posted by R.C@Sep 27 2005, 10:14 PM

eh... actually i didn't say anything about you being a student leh... i just told him that you first time so got ang bao get right? :cheeky:

maybe you can use the student excuse the next time round bah...

anyway, what they say should be quite logical lah... but everytime i go there, that ah bee will surely flame ah boy and other bike shops one... darn funny lah... :cheeky:

aiya! tat means if u said i'm student i should have gotten even lesser? damn..

quite logical ma. onli worry is whether they do their stuff well.. from wat i see and watch over, looks correct la. wat i've always wanted to do but don't noe how to do, i see them doing it. so it's okay la. parts oso didn't reuse, all new ones. checked component list, some r one of the cheapest ard. so it's quite good, our experience there.. but doing up our bikes there together quite fun.. can see wat happen here and there on our various bikes.. haha..

Originally posted by R.C@Sep 27 2005, 10:29 PM

is there any improvement after changing the air filter?

yeah, zlord, haven't heard any comments on the filter yet leh.. how's it going? so u will trust them wif full service, like me? haha..

yeah, like rc said. I'm happy too, wif the price and even tho the workmanship is not the best (but to me i find one of the best liao, maybe cos haven't seen much..), at least they do it properly and comprehensively .. and tat's good liao. Some ppl can't even be bothered to open the tank when changing sparkplugs.. Prices are all relative to each other one ma and hkl is one of the cheapest liao. Other than their tok cok, which is reallie a lot, but quite logical sometimes.. So why not, right?

Originally posted by R.C@Sep 27 2005, 10:33 PM

299km/h is an understatement.... :sweat:

:faint: wa lau.. how come my reputation become worse than hkl..

Originally posted by chrispy@Sep 28 2005, 12:44 AM

pardon my ignorance.. but WTH is jet fluid?

izzit turbo charged fluid like NOS like that, pump into your carbs then your bike can fly like jet ar..

no la. i asked him ma, wat is this jet fluid u're charging me.. at first he said something in chinese i don't get it, then i look blur.. so he referred me to this ah meng, which is better at explaining.. he said, there's a part in the carb when u change the CCT, u need to open up the carb, so might as well wash if haven't and then balance the carb. somewhere between this CCT and the carb there's this chamber containing the jet fluid. I saw this chamber open up and a lot of fluid flowed out when he disassembled the part near the CCT. So i suppose it's tat. As it has been 3 yrs liao and since changing the CCT, they said need to change so might as well change.. I suppose it's a chamber where the CCT operates in a hydraulic environment? like gears in gear oil so when replacing the gear, u need to take out the oil so might as well change oil tat concept? i'm still not too sure but i suppose it's required during a CCT change, to replace a used fluid since it's going to come out anyway..

Originally posted by chrispy@Sep 28 2005, 12:46 AM

only 1 esther nia..

1 onli meh? o_O

Originally posted by chrispy@Sep 28 2005, 12:51 AM

yoshi, ohlins, brembos, michelins..

(non of the above)

then wat la? aiyo..

seriously don't noe michelin tyres r reallie tat fantastic or not.. there's this michelin macadams 100x going for $290 front and back 120/60, 160/60. it's a touring, allround tyre.. but then.. was wondering if a mich low end tyre is actually lousier than a bridgestones high end? hmm.. questions questions..

Originally posted by ZLord@Sep 28 2005, 01:17 AM

Just tested at 2nd link, the jerkiness is very minimal now, i can feel a great improvement in the smoothness of power. My current rectifier is not the original rvf rectifier, its actually a sp rectifier. No wonder my bike feels underpowered at top end. But no money change now :weep:

:giddy: :mad: how come sp sia.. prev owner never do properly..

Originally posted by R.C@Sep 29 2005, 12:17 AM

your air filter 58.. my air filter 30... haha.. but its not a good comparison... adrian, S4 air filter how much?

mine knn one. 70 bucks lifetime usage..

i still think rvf maintanence expensive leh.. even the basic maintanence as in change of wear-n-tear parts oredi quite siong.. but rvf is like tat la.. much more demanding for specific quality and most of the time, more expensive parts. afterall it was from the 750 v4 version rite?

Originally posted by R.C@Sep 29 2005, 12:23 AM

haha.. i oso no money to change alot of things... I would most prob change my brake pads, rear tyre, chain and sprocket on my next visit which would most probably cost me a bomb again... :giddy:

i calculate for u first la. haha..

brake pads x2 = 18 x 2 = 36

rear tyre (estimate) = 120

chain n sprocket = 180

TOTAL (b4 svc charge) = 336

:giddy: :faint:

but all wear and tear stuff so it's bo pian..

Okay, everybody's itching so let's have an outing? Let's gather and see who can make it on the various dates first la, hopefully all can make it on any dates, else we will have to make adjustments liao lor.

Next week at nite, makan at Perling/Kulai/GP Town/elsewhere? (take ur pick):

Friday (7/10)

Saturday (8/10)

Both days oso can (7/10 or 8/10)

1. Audrian + Ger_on_Bike - vote GP Town's Tian Tian Lai Seafood!

Okay~! Let's have some fun~! :cheer:

i might be going up to malacca with my smu biker friends on either 8/10 Sat, 13/10 Thur or 14/10 Fri. They will be getting new biekrs from smu to join them too.

it will be a one day affair. if u guys want, why not join us in the malacca trip? it'll be quite an experience for you guys, since most of you have not been further than... err... kulai?

we'll leave early in the morning and back by night. purpose there is to eaht the rice ball chicken rice, yam dessert, and to shop around at makhota mall. thats all. but itinerary might change if anyone have good ideas. =)

how about that? of course, the average travelling speed will be around 120-140km/hr. not too fast, not too slow. (even phantom can reach this speed one loh... even RXZ made it there and back. a friend's wave made it to thailand and back too. so don't use bike as an excuse. *ahem* haha! *wink*)

btw, for those who have not, do add me on msn: [email protected]

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

Originally posted by Audrian@Sep 29 2005, 10:36 AM

no la. i asked him ma, wat is this jet fluid u're charging me.. at first he said something in chinese i don't get it, then i look blur.. so he referred me to this ah meng, which is better at explaining.. he said, there's a part in the carb when u change the CCT, u need to open up the carb, so might as well wash if haven't and then balance the carb. somewhere between this CCT and the carb there's this chamber containing the jet fluid. I saw this chamber open up and a lot of fluid flowed out when he disassembled the part near the CCT. So i suppose it's tat. As it has been 3 yrs liao and since changing the CCT, they said need to change so might as well change.. I suppose it's a chamber where the CCT operates in a hydraulic environment? like gears in gear oil so when replacing the gear, u need to take out the oil so might as well change oil tat concept? i'm still not too sure but i suppose it's required during a CCT change, to replace a used fluid since it's going to come out anyway..

thought CCT also lube by engine oil? :p

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y281/Saintdudu/desaru%20080706/allbikes2.jpg

U cAn SpEeD .... bUt CaN u StOp In TiMe??

"SpeEd On BrOtHeR, HELL AiNt FULL

PoWeR iS nOtHiNg WiThOuT cOnTrOl

Originally posted by alpha82@Sep 29 2005, 11:48 AM

i might be going up to malacca with my smu biker friends on either 8/10, 14/10 or 15/10. They will be getting new biekrs from smu to join them too.

it will be a one day affair. if u guys want, why not join us in the malacca trip? it'll be quite an experience for you guys, since most of you have not been further than... err... kulai?

we'll leave early in the morning and back by night. purpose there is to eaht the rice ball chicken rice, yam dessert, and to shop around at makhota mall. thats all. but itinerary might change if anyone have good ideas. =)

how about that? of course, the average travelling speed will be around 120-140km/hr. not too fast, not too slow. (even phantom can reach this speed one loh... even RXZ made it there and back. a friend's wave made it to thailand and back too. so don't use bike as an excuse. *ahem* haha! *wink*)

btw, for those who have not, do add me on msn: [email protected]

i never step further than Kulai... pls kindly guide :p

dudu:

sure or not!? u've never been further than kulai!???

i don't believe man! i thought u're the only one who have been further than that...

anyway, my friends have been to malacca, KL, cameroon. some even went up to hatyai. but the thing is, this is the 1st time they are organising. so a bit newbie here...

the date have not been confirmed. so i'll keep u guys updated.

so, dudubird, u interested?

030803 - 240806 CBR400RR FL211*U

010906 - 301207 2005 YZF-R6 FY98*8M

120115 - 161015 2006 FZ600N. FBA828**

161015 - ?????? 2006 VFR800A. FBE81**

Originally posted by alpha82@Sep 29 2005, 11:42 PM

dudu:

sure or not!? u've never been further than kulai!???

i don't believe man! i thought u're the only one who have been further than that...

anyway, my friends have been to malacca, KL, cameroon. some even went up to hatyai. but the thing is, this is the 1st time they are organising. so a bit newbie here...

the date have not been confirmed. so i'll keep u guys updated.

so, dudubird, u interested?

lack of onli one thing.... $$.. lol

i short distance traveller... long distance .. my back breaks :giddy:

Okay, everybody's itching so let's have an outing? Let's gather and see who can make it on the various dates first la, hopefully all can make it on any dates, else we will have to make adjustments liao lor.

Next week at nite, makan at Perling/Kulai/GP Town/elsewhere? (take ur pick):

Friday (7/10)

Saturday (8/10)

Both days oso can (7/10 or 8/10)

1. Audrian + Ger_on_Bike - vote GP Town's Tian Tian Lai Seafood!

2. ZLord + eLmO - Everywhere is :thumb:

April 2004 - June 2005 : Honda NSR150SP

June 2005 - August 2006 : Honda RVF400 NC35

August 2006 - Present : Yamaha YZF-R1