oh that will be great, thx valkaholic. what will the cost be? spary directly on the open wound? and let it dry?

Spray directly via the tire valve lah. The can is highly pressurized & the each can shd able to inflate the whole tire & to ride the bike soon after for few minutes (forgot how many, but written at the can) for the chemical distribution. Then go the the pertrol station to buy me kopi :cheeky:

I means go to the station soon after & get the tire back in to the proper pressure :angel:

http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh238/The_One_Biker/SBF-siggy.jpg?t=1228649487
  • Replies 57

Sure, the shop which does the labour works is Tai Hin Enterprise (Blk 4, No. 104 Kallang Avenue, Tel: 62947997). The tire shop for patching is just opposite Tai Hin, called Ban Huat (I hope it's correct spelling). Anyway, there's only 1 tire & battery shop there. However, do note that you may have to wait at Ban Huat if there are other vehicular customers around because he is a 1-person show and will give priority to his car/van customers. What to do as those customers are his bread and butter, so we motorcyclists can only wait and get second priority. Also, both shops are closed on Sundays.

Alternatively, you can also do at Eng Wah Tire & Battery at Blk 5, Lorong 8 Toa Payoh Industrial Park. They charge S$10 per internal patch. They can direct you to a motor shop nearby for the dismantling of the wheel, but it will cost S$25 for this job. So, overall, it's more expensive at Toa Payoh. As usual, both shops are also closed on Sundays.

By the way, if your worm repair is not leaking, there's no need to redo again with the internal patch method for the same puncture. The internal patch method is also no guarantee that it will not leak again, except that it has much better durability than the worm method if done correctly.

Thanks alot man great info there. Will head down there soon if need be. :thumb:

Looking at it (for others reading-in), isn't it wiser to carry the 'koyok' and squeeze it under the seat? The packing is very small really. Once u need to patch, just bring it to the bike shop & ask them to do the repair. I am sure it's a no sweat job to them. The 'koyok' can be bought at Daiso for only $2. Or any bicycle shop sure got them. :thumb:

But I saw that the koyok and glue used by the tire shop today is different in quality from those DAISO ones. I think their quality is of the heavier duty type because the DAISO ones are more suitable for bicycle inner tubes, which I also use for my carbon fibre bicycle. Also, you'll need to bring a course sandpaper along and must pre-do the sanding well. Otherwise, the repair job may fail (I had a few failed experiences myself with my bicycle inner tube repair sometimes and eventually have to change a new inner tube altogether). At the tire shop, they have the correct grade of sanding stones and using pneumatic tools, which is easier and neater.

Also, all bike shops will only remove and re-install the wheel for you. They don't want to take the responsibility for the internal patching, unless you are doing the normal worm type repair. The failure rate of internal patch repair is higher if without good experience.

Edited by Winners

Dig thread!!! Revive!

How to repair tire punchet/bochor/puncture..... Sports rim only!

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs506.ash1/29910_10150180763440113_874490112_12481737_2506774_n.jpg

Daaaaaamn....... not again; don't you hate it when this happens?

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-sjc1/hs546.snc3/29910_10150180763450113_874490112_12481738_2776299_n.jpg

Remove the embedded object with a pair of pliers.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-sjc1/hs546.snc3/29910_10150180763455113_874490112_12481739_1681248_n.jpg

STEP NOT SHOWN: Use the tire repair kit driller to "drill" the punctured area to clean up and widen the hole...

Then use the "sewing needle" tool, thread a piece of "worm thingy" thru and apply rubber glue solution around the portion of the worm in contact with the tire.

Picture shows the "sewing needle" ready to go in... have to exert alot of force here... DO NOT TWIST THE NEEDLE TOOL! Just keep pushing and pushing until the thing goes in, or you give up... whichever is sooner.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-sjc1/hs526.snc3/29910_10150180763465113_874490112_12481740_765199_n.jpg

There you go... perseverance!! Now let it seat for 10-20 seconds to let the glue bond.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs506.ash1/29910_10150180763480113_874490112_12481741_413685_n.jpg

Remove; pull out the "sewing needle" tool in one swift motion.... and for christ's sakes... DO NOT TWIST THE DAMN THING!! Or your worm will come out together with the needle.

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-sjc1/hs546.snc3/29910_10150180763485113_874490112_12481742_1010725_n.jpg

Trim off excess worm thing with a handy pair of garden scissors.... and there you have it!! Pump air, check no leaks from the nipple... (the pump air nipple la what you all thinking?) if still leaking then must go motorshop... the nipple no good already.

Tools used: Tire repair kit ($3.90 from mustafa) Garden scissors ($2 from the hardware shop further down from Lim ah boy), Pliers (Given by a friend).

And yes, for those who are observant... my tire punctured twice already.. and i helped someone else patch his tire that's why left 2 "worms" only....

hi guys, got a nail in my tyre which i only use for 1800km only.. any shops motorshops at east area using the patch method instead of worm? kakibukit area?

try ubi road 1 row of motorbike workshops.

i've done the internal patch method at K&T. two patches for $20+, didn leak, and after two weeks of riding, the patch from outside worn so smoothly it was impossible to spot the patch again. like never punctured in the first place.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

try ubi road 1 row of motorbike workshops.

i've done the internal patch method at K&T. two patches for $20+, didn leak, and after two weeks of riding, the patch from outside worn so smoothly it was impossible to spot the patch again. like never punctured in the first place.

thnks bro, went there jux now.. greatwork.. recommended to others who has the same issue..