Guest 60KMH

My friend told me Super 4 from V-Tec 1 onwards had power-cut. So it means that I only can travel 180KM/hr to the max?

Then he told me the power cut can do away with it. He say must buy Power-boaster or something like that.

1) Where to find this power boaster? How much is that?

2) Will it fail inspection?

3) What is the max speed if there is no power-cut?

• Replies 48

Guest 60KMH
Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Apr 17 2005, 09:24 PM

Red REV

huh? what red rev ? :confused:

Guest enHANZed

actually got use meh ? if im not wrong max torque is 12.5k RPM ...max RPM is 13k ....that 0.5k means alot to you ? unless ur'e into racing than ok lor ..

learn to shift juz at the max torque juz before the power cut comes in ...no need external stuff to aid you...

Max power at 11000rpm. Learn to shift at that point like initial D hachi roku.....

180km/h S4 just dont have the road holding at that point....At the spd only touch and go....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@Apr 17 2005, 10:46 PM

Max power at 11000rpm. Learn to shift at that point like initial D hachi roku.....

180km/h S4 just dont have the road holding at that point....At the spd only touch and go....

hmm... been trying to find answer for this ... if max power at 11k rpm, then wats 12k or 13k for ?? anyone can provide some info ??

Guest enHANZed

i suppose its the same with the SP meter....got until 240km/hr for wat ?

Originally posted by Turbo08@Apr 17 2005, 11:02 PM

hmm... been trying to find answer for this ... if max power at 11k rpm, then wats 12k or 13k for ?? anyone can provide some info ??

Max power dont really develop at red line. But it doesnt mean the engine cannot rev beyond max power just that power is falling at that point. Like max torque only at 9000rpm or so for S4.

After which torque are falling then toward max power after which there no much point reving past unless u wanna heard the sound of high rpm cos power and torque are falling sharply.

ANd red line is danger. Like S4 can rev till 13k rpm but doesnt mean max power have to develop there.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Guest motofreak

From what i know, most of singapore bikes sold here comes PRE-Restricted. This is done so by various manufacturers to meet our local standards. This restrictions are done with various ways lah. Some are pre programmed in the CDI. Thats y that RED REV thingy is put there to eliminate restrictions. Some and installed at the speedometer and this circuit prevents the bike from goin over a certain range example 180km/h cut for S4. Restrictions in the carburator and also exhaust. Thats y u c aprillia bikes with those MILO CANS. These bikes if fitted with cobra pipes or arrow pipe would be mini devils on the roads.

Originally posted by motofreak@Apr 18 2005, 02:43 AM

From what i know, most of singapore bikes sold here comes PRE-Restricted. This is done so by various manufacturers to meet our local standards. This restrictions are done with various ways lah. Some are pre programmed in the CDI. Thats y that RED REV thingy is put there to eliminate restrictions. Some and installed at the speedometer and this circuit prevents the bike from goin over a certain range example 180km/h cut for S4. Restrictions in the carburator and also exhaust. Thats y u c aprillia bikes with those MILO CANS. These bikes if fitted with cobra pipes or arrow pipe would be mini devils on the roads.

There are 2 kind in this case.

For S4 is more of spd limiter.

For aprillia case is more like a power restriction.

But I dont think S4 have any power restriction? Do they?

Originally posted by hachi@Apr 18 2005, 02:50 AM

There are 2 kind in this case.

For S4 is more of spd limiter.

For aprillia case is more like a power restriction.

But I dont think S4 have any power restriction? Do they?

Got power restriction..... from japan.:mad:

Originally posted by enHANZed@Apr 18 2005, 03:43 AM

what power restiction ?

Newer 400cc jap bikes hav a 53hp restriction.

Notice the big HP diff between 400cc and 600cc.

So how to unrestrict them?

CDI?

Exhaust?

But RVF is 59bhp correct?

Or 53 as well?

Originally posted by hachi@Apr 18 2005, 03:48 AM

NOTE: Japanese companies have had sort of a "Gentlemen's agreement with each other and the gahment to "limit" the maximum horse power per given engine size. For example, All the listings for 750cc bikes show 77 HP. This is for a standard GSXR and the GSXR-SP, the YZFR and YZF-SP, The ZXR750 and the ZXR750R and the NR and the RC45. The 400s are held to the 59hp (now 53) barrier weather you are talking VFR/RVF, CBR-RR, NSR, GSXR, RGV, TZR YZF etc. It seems kind of funny that they ALL make Exactly the same max HP. Of course Torque values would be different at least between 2-stroke and 4-stroke models.

RVF

Specs at a glance: Max. H.P.: 53 HP @ 12,500rpm Torque: 3.7kg-m / 10,000rpm Size: 1985mm(D) x 685mm(W) x 1065mm(H) Wheelbase: 1335mm Dry weight: 165kg Front wheel:120/60R-17 54H Rear wheel: 150/60R-17 67H Price: 780,000yen ($9,176 - USD)

Above taken from http://www.motorcyclelane.com/history.html

As said, HP would depend on yr of production as the max figure changed from 59 to 53

unrestricting them would be exhuast and carb but most importantly the cdi module. They do hav "unrestricted" version in jap.

Interesting!

Do S4 have this things.

Exhaust, carbs and CDI do cost a bomb even unrestrict to 59bhp if S4 really have it.

IF 400cc held to 59bhp then there is more protential.

But I believe red rev is speed limiter remover.

Originally posted by hachi@Apr 18 2005, 03:57 AM

Interesting!

Do S4 have this things.

Exhaust, carbs and CDI do cost a bomb even unrestrict to 59bhp if S4 really have it.

IF 400cc held to 59bhp then there is more protential.

But I believe red rev is speed limiter remover.

i saw thru the net of pple having success of bumping the HP up to 60++HP. Oh and they changed the cam as well. Not a s4 though. Results quite similar to the unrestricted gsxr400. Dun think its worth the effort unless u race the bike.

Yes, red rev was claimed to remove the speed restriction

I mean if there is something that fit onto our bike for a few hundred dollars that unrestrict 53bhp barrier then I guess is the top item for modifcation.

But change exhaust, carbs and CDI for few k, nah I rather change bike....Cheaper.....

High speed cam change the valve lift during high rpm and develop more power but low speed they sucks.......CAnnot idle well as well and need tons of $$$$....

Originally posted by hachi@Apr 18 2005, 04:04 AM

I mean if there is something that fit onto our bike for a few hundred dollars that unrestrict 53bhp barrier then I guess is the top item for modifcation.

But change exhaust, carbs and CDI for few k, nah I rather change bike....Cheaper.....

yeah... precisely.... rather change bike :lol:

If riding spec 2 and above add a bit get a 929 will blow out of any Sh*t of any modified S4....

So I think after KNN air filter not many things to change to justify the performace to price ratio....

Guest 60KMH

How much is this RED-REV cost? Where can I buy it?

During my trip to Thailand, got this Uncle riding a V-tec 1. He managed to keep on par with all those "black bird"s and Class 2 bikes. He told me he had the restrictor removed, do some grounding wiring, damper etc. His bike might cost a bomb. He even had an alarm for that...cool.

He told me his average speed was 180-190 KM/hr. He said his bike still can go faster.

Originally posted by 60KMH@Apr 18 2005, 07:45 AM

During my trip to Thailand, got this Uncle riding a V-tec 1. He managed to keep on par with all those "black bird"s and Class 2 bikes. He told me he had the restrictor removed, do some grounding wiring, damper etc. His bike might cost a bomb. He even had an alarm for that...cool.

He told me his average speed was 180-190 KM/hr. He said his bike still can go faster.

take it wif a pinch of salt my fren.... if a s4 can keep on par wif class 2 bikes, then 600cc owners can throw away their bikes :cheeky: did u actually c tat uncle following the class 2 bikes or izzit those class 2 bikes waiting for tat uncle :confused:

so did he actually say wats his top speed ??

Originally posted by enHANZed@Apr 17 2005, 11:16 PM

i suppose its the same with the SP meter....got until 240km/hr for wat ?

guess u didnt hav a chance to experience a fast sp b4... :sweat: