The best combination is a SG passport with an Australian PR. After been to many places, the Singapore passport is the best . . . .everywhere no need visa . . . HUAT a !!!

Is that what you have? SG passport and aussie PR?

Most 1st world countries don't need visa most places and Sg is considered 1st world.

Many Singaporeans are now dual SG/AU citizens.

• Replies 47

need some advice for those who have been in aussie for a period of time.

Issit advisable for would be students to get a bike in australia? considering the student have to foot tution fees, food and lodging, will working part time in australia be able to cover some of these expenses and also the maintaince of a bike for daily transportation or would a 2nd hand car be more economical?

You must convince that that you took lessons and test in AU to get the licence to convert to class 2 in Singapore.

If your licence date on your aussie licence is at least 2 years and you have been away for as long, i think can convert.

Hmm so it's technically possible to take 2b in Sg.

Go to Aus and convert to full 'R' Aus license.

Stay there for 2 years at least.

If you wish, come back to Sg for a holiday and convert to 2b/2a/2.

Doubt the Sg authorities would know whether you got the 'R' license by conversion or by taking the Aus test.

Sounds good to me.

"Is that what you have? SG passport and aussie PR?

Most 1st world countries don't need visa most places and Sg is considered 1st world.

Many Singaporeans are now dual SG/AU citizens."

The most important ones that most countries citizen need to apply for visa and SG passport no need is USA & China, these 2 are worth its weight in gold !!!

Singapore does not recgognise dual citizenship, so no one (theorectically) can be citizen in Aus & SGP. Aus recognises it so maybe can have aus & . . say US . And yes, i hold sgp passport and aus PR.

"Issit advisable for would be students to get a bike in australia? considering the student have to foot tution fees, food and lodging, will working part time in australia be able to cover some of these expenses and also the maintaince of a bike for daily transportation or would a 2nd hand car be more economical?"

Get a car is finacially permitted. the running cost is not cheap, and if you need to go to a workshop to service like oil change etc, its very very ex there, think double of singapore. i think running cost would be comparable for bieks & cars except for maintenance & fuel which obviously bike sure cheaper lah.

Like mentioned, get a 2b licence here, go there immediately convert, sure can one (state of victoria, the rest i dunno). then when u r back, convince them, beg, borrow steal and cry and they will let you convert. but hor, this one no gaurantee hor. but i do know of people who have done it before, but all are professionals people working in aus for more than 2 yrs and pay taxes there.

Singapore does not recgognise dual citizenship, so no one (theorectically) can be citizen in Aus & SGP. Aus recognises it so maybe can have aus & . . say US . And yes, i hold sgp passport and aus PR.

Same here, got Singapore citizenship and Aus PR. Thing is a colleague told me she knows of 2 ppl who wanted to give up their Singapore citizenship to get Australian citizenship, the Singapore government sent them a letter telling them not to give up Singapore citizenship but keep their cpf money with Singapore gov. So looks like as long as you don't withdraw your CPF savings, they close two eyes with the dual citizenship.

"

"Issit advisable for would be students to get a bike in australia? considering the student have to foot tution fees, food and lodging, will working part time in australia be able to cover some of these expenses and also the maintaince of a bike for daily transportation or would a 2nd hand car be more economical?"

Get a car is finacially permitted. the running cost is not cheap, and if you need to go to a workshop to service like oil change etc, its very very ex there, think double of singapore. i think running cost would be comparable for bieks & cars except for maintenance & fuel which obviously bike sure cheaper lah.

Like mentioned, get a 2b licence here, go there immediately convert, sure can one (state of victoria, the rest i dunno). then when u r back, convince them, beg, borrow steal and cry and they will let you convert. but hor, this one no gaurantee hor. but i do know of people who have done it before, but all are professionals people working in aus for more than 2 yrs and pay taxes there.

Just back from perth, the double conversion trick is well known to the aunties at the test centres and also at TP. They already know of this double conversion rule. Perth (Western Australia) has a 2 class system, one for bikes under 250cc and the other is for all bikes. Having a Class 2A myself i went over to convert to the all bikes class.

When i came back after ten months (6mths is the basic requirement) i tried to get the open class converted to a class 2. To my dismay, the auntie was already wise to my tricks and this was confirmed with a call to TP.

Cost of a second hand small bike is almost the cost of a second hand car. If u choose a car u will still have heater in winter and aircon in summer. Of course the consumption would be cheaper for bikes.

2 Cents worth.

http://www.cheapolata.com/

Coupon Review site by Cheapos for Cheapos ;]]]

Just back from perth, the double conversion trick is well known to the aunties at the test centres and also at TP. They already know of this double conversion rule. Perth (Western Australia) has a 2 class system, one for bikes under 250cc and the other is for all bikes. Having a Class 2A myself i went over to convert to the all bikes class.

When i came back after ten months (6mths is the basic requirement) i tried to get the open class converted to a class 2. To my dismay, the auntie was already wise to my tricks and this was confirmed with a call to TP.

Cost of a second hand small bike is almost the cost of a second hand car. If u choose a car u will still have heater in winter and aircon in summer. Of course the consumption would be cheaper for bikes.

2 Cents worth.

I believe you have to have had the Australian license for 2 years before they would even consider converting you to Class 2. Makes sense considering those in Sg have to wait 2 years to embark on Class 2.

In Australia, a full motorcycle license means no restrictions on cc. The so-called 250cc limit applies to the learner license not the full license. So a class 2B Singapore license, not considered a provisional license by any means, would convert to a full motorcycle license in Australia.

If I'm not mistaken, bikes are more for recreation rather than transport in Australia. Best to start off with a car...

another query,

do australia has some stupid PSB sticker rule on their helmet?

as i intend to bring over my own helmet.

is winter riding in Sydney or Melbourne bearable?

or do people even ride during those period?

another is parking charges... how much does it cost?

65c one full day? :cheeky:

or we can park anywhere along the pavement like we do in sg? :angel:

another query,

There are, but i have never heard of people getting caught for any helmet infringement. I assume they are very relax there.

Yes, people do ride in winter in Melbourme. Get proper rider jacket & gloves. I once rode about 10km to work with my normal sportsbike gloves and I could not even feel my hand after the ride, i guess it froze totally!!! get the winter gloves, thick and warn, you'll be warn as toast.

another is parking charges... how much does it cost?

65c one full day? :cheeky:

or we can park anywhere along the pavement like we do in sg?

In melbourne, bikes are allowed to park on the pavement, its allowed by law.

you`ve mentioned you owned many bikes and stay in victoria,

share soem info please? :/

har? simi info you want? ask lor, if i can help sure help one . . .

Thank you :)

Just need some info on the riding habits and culture in Australia:

another is parking charges...

how much does it cost? 65c one full day?

Thank you :)

Just need some info on the riding habits and culture in Australia:

another is parking charges...

how much does it cost? 65c one full day?

He already answered in above post. Gotta to learn to read 'between the lines' quite literally.

Howdee

See my posting about motorbike license in NSW...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?p=3402136#post3402136

Can I convert a class 2b license to an Australian riding license?

According to what I read, Singapore license holders don't need to take any tests to convert their license but with the 3 motorcycle license categories in Singapore as compared to only 1 in Australia, it gets rather confusing.

Has anyone done this?

There's actually no need to convert your license as long as you are not a PR or citizen. Singaporean class 2/2A/2B & 3 are recognised in most states there. For me, I became PR so no choice gotta convert, got the C & full R from my class 3 & 2A. Must remember to bring your Singapore license along.

However, its good to get the Australian license as it also works as an official photo ID (something like our NRIC).

As the others have stated, QLD, WA, NSW, ACT and NT all have their own sets of rules.

I am familiar with only NSW.

For this state, you will require a letter from TP Spore stating when you got your licence. If it has been more than 1 yr, you can got to RTA in NSW and register for a theory test, pass it then book a practical. Pass the practical and I believe you can ride on a 250cc or less for 12 mths. After that, you can ride any CC bike.

Suggest you call or go personally to the local RTA office and confirm that you can drive/ride using S'pore license in that state. Anyway, think I remember there's a part in the application form for no. of years riding. If your 2B/2A license is attained few years back, they may just give you the full R license. I got mine by filling in riding experience >10 years coz passed in early 90s mah :cool:

Issit advisable for would be students to get a bike in australia? considering the student have to foot tution fees, food and lodging, will working part time in australia be able to cover some of these expenses and also the maintaince of a bike for daily transportation or would a 2nd hand car be more economical?

Get a car is finacially permitted. the running cost is not cheap, and if you need to go to a workshop to service like oil change etc, its very very ex there, think double of singapore. i think running cost would be comparable for bikes & cars except for maintenance & fuel which obviously bike sure cheaper lah.

Personally, I would recommend a 2nd hand car as it's a lot safer, comfortable (ac in summer, heater in winter) and pretty much affordable. e.g. I drove a Hyundai Sonata 2.0L for A$4+K and then a Toyota Corolla 1.8L for A$8.5K... used but in very good condition. Some friends drove Hyundai Accent 1.3L for just $2+K. Bikes are not cheap in Australia and don't think you can find small cheap bikes like what is available in Singapore.

Parking in most places is free except city areas, town centres and of course in the Uni. Parking at home (roadside) and most shopping centres (1st 2 to 3 hrs) are also free.

Maintenance is not cheap at the workshop though but I usually DIY, unless repairs that I can't do. e.g. standard servicing to change EO & spark plugs costs about A$170 at K-Mart Auto but DIY costs

Our records are in the system. I went to NSW with 2A, got my full R but still gotta take class 2 test when I came back. But if you can prove that you rode big bikes and have taken courses, then maybe there's a chance.

may all be well and happy

Our records are in the system. I went to NSW with 2A, got my full R but still gotta take class 2 test when I came back. But if you can prove that you rode big bikes and have taken courses, then maybe there's a chance.

What if you got your riding license in Australia and then come back to Singapore to convert? So there's no record of any motorcycle license in the Singapore system. Do you know of anyone who got their motorcycle license in Australia?

I have a relative who came back about 2 years ago with a Australia riding license but was only able to convert to 2B here.

He didn't take any 2B lessons in SG before.

I have a relative who came back about 2 years ago with a Australia riding license but was only able to convert to 2B here.

He didn't take any 2B lessons in SG before.

I know at least 5 Australian (i knowthem personally so its not hearsay) who came here for work and converted to a full class 2 licence.

I also personally know at least 2 Singapore coming back here with a previously 2A licece gotten in SGP, and converted into full class 2 licence from a "R" licence in Aust.

I know at least 5 Australian (i knowthem personally so its not hearsay) who came here for work and converted to a full class 2 licence.

I also personally know at least 2 Singapore coming back here with a previously 2A licece gotten in SGP, and converted into full class 2 licence from a "R" licence in Aust.

Wonder how they did it, when so many others failed.

i agree its more comfortable to drive then to ride, but i would be away for close to 5years. I wish to continue riding, and of course when i return to sg, i could get a bigger bike, as i have only class2b here.

but for safety, i had the impression that they have a better driving/riding culture than in singapore, hence it should be safer to ride there.

anyway i have another question on helmets, issit cheaper to get one in australia or its cheaper to get one back in sg?

ETA: i forgot to ask, whats needed to own a bike in australia? Road tax, insurance, anything else? and when is a good period (summer winter spring autumm?) to ride?

another query >.

What bikes would you people recommend me?

I had passed my 2b this year, i had several years of driving experiences, been driving since i passed, hence why i took so long to get my 2b.

Anyway i am hooked on riding, rode a aprilia rs125, so have not experienced a highier cc bike, was thinking of getting a "class 2a" bike before i upgrade again when i am more comfortable with a bigger bike.

So i need advise, if i should just jump straight to a "class 2" bike or should i get a bike like cbr250 to ride for leisure, whilst i gain some riding experience on a bigger cc bike, or should i get a "class2" bike and ride on?

Some additonal info, i would be there for studies (up to 5 years), so yes i prefer something which is of a cheaper maintance, and i prefer sportsbike, any information of keeping a bike and maintaining it would be of welcome as well as reccommendation of bikes too :)

Thanks in advance !

Am Aus citizen applying for Sing PR in 2 years....and am currently in QLD.

For starters, bike over car is a no brainer. When it comes to initial purchase price and running costs (fuel is mega expensive and getting worse by the week) a 250cc racer (trusty Honda CBR 250 RR) would be ideal for someone with your riding credentials.

Riding on Aus roads is beutiful compared to Sing in terms of space between traffic and locations to go riding. Heaps of riding groups to join up with as well, and are always happy to help any new rider on the Aussie roads (we look after our own (riders)).

After riding a 250 for about a year, upgrade to something like a 600cc.

Any time of year is good to ride, especialy in Victoria where there is a variable climate regardless of the season. Also helmet may be better bought in Aus, as we don't have the restrictions on style as in Sing.

Minimum insurance is CTP (compulsory third party) which is included in your registration fees and covers only the personal injury you cause (does not cover either parties vehicle damage or your own injury). Comprehensive insurance (full coverage of all damage and injury) is pretty cheap for a 250.

Either way, good luck bro. Riding in Aus is like nothing else (that I have experienced)

I just got back from Tas OZ. think i got off the most, with military 2b conversion to full oz bike lic. been riding a r1 for a year now. my first bike is a R1!!!!! a fantasy for all singaporean. steep learning curve!!! i am reading mixed results from this lic conversion and i am planning to do the same after another 2 years there. wat are me chances with no 2b record what so ever.

ride safe , ride free