• Replies 21

U r talking abt 2 diff things bro. KNN filter is like wat it said. Its an aftermarket high flow air filter. An airbox is where u put ur air filter.

http://img285.imageshack.us/img285/9274/saniboyburn0ui.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/saniboy/Ride/style.jpg
any1 know wats the difference?

what will be affected and which will be better?

I think, Air box is much more efficient in term of filtering dust plus keeping ur carb sound more quiet.

Sumtimes u buy an after market carb, ur original air box wont fit, this is when k&n filter come in handy. Cuz k&n filter hv many sizes and shapes.

Note tht, sumtimes, when u using a "bigger" carb, u cant use ur original air box becoz the amount of air flow wont b enogh for the "big" carb. SO this is when u use k&n filter. k&n filter is not like air box which has too many sponge+filter inside the air filter...

At least tht is wut i think :cheeky:

U r talking abt 2 diff things bro. KNN filter is like wat it said. Its an aftermarket high flow air filter. An airbox is where u put ur air filter.

I think, Air box is much more efficient in term of filtering dust plus keeping ur carb sound more quiet.

Sumtimes u buy an after market carb, ur original air box wont fit, this is when k&n filter come in handy. Cuz k&n filter hv many sizes and shapes.

Note tht, sumtimes, when u using a "bigger" carb, u cant use ur original air box becoz the amount of air flow wont b enogh for the "big" carb. SO this is when u use k&n filter. k&n filter is not like air box which has too many sponge+filter inside the air filter...

At least tht is wut i think :cheeky:

oh. very blur. coz my biketiam say my k&n filter is onli gd for high speed but not low speed. then fuel comsumption will also be higher than air box. he recommend air box to mi. and also he said my bike sometime difficult to start is bcoz of this problem. dunno true anot. thats y im asking this. thanks for ur help.

BLur? eheh... mayb becoz of my lousy english . btw, are refering to this type of k&n filter :

http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/4166/3802201331eo5.jpg

HM i think im sure wut im talkin about. ERm if u using high performance bike but using air box = semput ahaks. owh btw, if im not mistaken, k&n filter should b cheaper den air box. Cuz air box is BIG... not to mention got even better constructed air filter.

Long time ago, i've decided to change my carb into a bigger 1 into my standard cub. And after modified the air box i sumhow manage to install the original air box into the carb. BUT sadly, it dint go well. Becoz using original air box for such "big" carb = not enogh air . SO i ended up using 1 of those k&n filter. After tht, problem solve. But.. k&n filter cant "hide" the carb awwfull sound as good as air box. Later on, becoz afraid of da rodblok, change bak to the original carb lolx..:giddy:

i DUnno bout installing such k&n filter could increase FC. How did tht happend? . And about ur bike hv sum difficulty to start becoz using k&N filter, im not sure. But neva heard of such thing. But u cloud try opening the k&n filter and try to start ur bike again. See if any diffrance.

If still not sure, mayb its recomended to wait for other's opinion :cheeky:

(heh sorry for my lousy english)

like wat saniboy say,e filter is at e entrance of e air box..usually we change e filter,very seldom e air box..in fact i never heard of pple change air box,but pple mod e air box got ah

Never give the devil a ride..cos he will always want to drive

like wat saniboy say,e filter is at e entrance of e air box..usually we change e filter,very seldom e air box..in fact i never heard of pple change air box,but pple mod e air box got ah

Yah...( unlike me.. i dun change the filter... juzz wash it.. untill its worn out ahaha )

I think the box function is onli to "hide" the carb awwfull sound i guesss...

BLur? eheh... mayb becoz of my lousy english . btw, are refering to this type of k&n filter :

http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/4166/3802201331eo5.jpg

HM i think im sure wut im talkin about. ERm if u using high performance bike but using air box = semput ahaks. owh btw, if im not mistaken, k&n filter should b cheaper den air box. Cuz air box is BIG... not to mention got even better constructed air filter.

Long time ago, i've decided to change my carb into a bigger 1 into my standard cub. And after modified the air box i sumhow manage to install the original air box into the carb. BUT sadly, it dint go well. Becoz using original air box for such "big" carb = not enogh air . SO i ended up using 1 of those k&n filter. After tht, problem solve. But.. k&n filter cant "hide" the carb awwfull sound as good as air box. Later on, becoz afraid of da rodblok, change bak to the original carb lolx..:giddy:

i DUnno bout installing such k&n filter could increase FC. How did tht happend? . And about ur bike hv sum difficulty to start becoz using k&N filter, im not sure. But neva heard of such thing. But u cloud try opening the k&n filter and try to start ur bike again. See if any diffrance.

If still not sure, mayb its recomended to wait for other's opinion :cheeky:

(heh sorry for my lousy english)

no la. not ur english poor. is bcoz i cannot understand the difference.

actually i riding a honda SP. so also not quite sure if the technician is correct

but i think if i leave it this way shd be alrite also rite? coz he onli say airbox is better when travelling low speed and air filter will be better at higher speed.

issit. dunno ley the technician say ask mi to find airbox better.....

Yah...( unlike me.. i dun change the filter... juzz wash it.. untill its worn out ahaha )

I think the box function is onli to "hide" the carb awwfull sound i guesss...

thanks for u guys the info. really grateful

i've been using air filter for a while but its posh racing, not K&N. and i gotta say, its performs well. especially those sporty sound from it.

powerloss, well i don't know about you. but if you put air filter to your car, yeah, slightly powerloss surfer on certain rpms mostly on low revs. it is because the intake piping cause it, as you can't just put it anywhere. the shorter the piping, the better. but that, would cost powerloss, not gain horsepower. it is because it sucks hot air from engine bay. that's why the piping come in handy to put the air filter somewhere it can really suck the cold air. that's explain powerloss on lower revs but gains on high revs.

bike's totally different. like mine, yamaha rxz. i just take off the airbox and put the air filter rightly at the caburator without any single piping. its really loud intake sound making, and no powerloss has been occur...except, when the rain's come. haha.

since it's air filter, it won't be able to be a water-filter short of. it managed to suck up, trust me. and that's not good especially when cars passing beside you and the water splash to you. seriously, i've been through it. i have to keep up the full throttle to let the engine running. not good if you're on highway and still a long way for a stop.

but one day, i get creative. i made the piping by myself using house vacuum hose. the rain's problem totally gone, but if you're smart, you'll notice sure there's powerloss suffered. yap. i don't seems to recall but, i think i lost the higher revs.

Speed records :

Car - 250KMPH Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 7

Bike - 200KMPH Yamaha TZM

yeah, forgot one thing. to clean up your air filter, just dip it into petrol, let it for 1 hour or more, let it dry and spray wd40 on the inner side. done.

depends on your riding, i prefer to clean it after its totally 'black' or once in 3 month.

Speed records :

i've been using air filter for a while but its posh racing, not K&N. and i gotta say, its performs well. especially those sporty sound from it.

powerloss, well i don't know about you. but if you put air filter to your car, yeah, slightly powerloss surfer on certain rpms mostly on low revs. it is because the intake piping cause it, as you can't just put it anywhere. the shorter the piping, the better. but that, would cost powerloss, not gain horsepower. it is because it sucks hot air from engine bay. that's why the piping come in handy to put the air filter somewhere it can really suck the cold air. that's explain powerloss on lower revs but gains on high revs.

bike's totally different. like mine, yamaha rxz. i just take off the airbox and put the air filter rightly at the caburator without any single piping. its really loud intake sound making, and no powerloss has been occur...except, when the rain's come. haha.

since it's air filter, it won't be able to be a water-filter short of. it managed to suck up, trust me. and that's not good especially when cars passing beside you and the water splash to you. seriously, i've been through it. i have to keep up the full throttle to let the engine running. not good if you're on highway and still a long way for a stop.

but one day, i get creative. i made the piping by myself using house vacuum hose. the rain's problem totally gone, but if you're smart, you'll notice sure there's powerloss suffered. yap. i don't seems to recall but, i think i lost the higher revs.

yeah, forgot one thing. to clean up your air filter, just dip it into petrol, let it for 1 hour or more, let it dry and spray wd40 on the inner side. done.

depends on your riding, i prefer to clean it after its totally 'black' or once in 3 month.

wah. im a newbie and im riding nsr150. i dun really understand how u do the piping. no idea :giddy:

u know how to detach it then clean it ar? how u dip it in petrol? from?

i just asked my mechanic about a kind of sound after starting my engine and he say its bcoz of my filter. do u experience it?

hi loyjwe. actually, the piping just made from house vacuum hose, you know for everyday cleaning. i attached the caburator, and route it under my seat (that where the air filter goes) so the water can't come in.

i used the vacuum hose, you know we don't need to bend it like a metal pipe. easier but yeah, kinda weird.

just pour some petrol in some small box, like a bottle cut into two, but make sure your filter able to dip in.

yap. air filter does make that kinda intake sound. if you want to make the sound disappear, just using the stock airbox. bigger air filter would do the same, but well, its 'big'.

Speed records :

hi loyjwe. actually, the piping just made from house vacuum hose, you know for everyday cleaning. i attached the caburator, and route it under my seat (that where the air filter goes) so the water can't come in.

i used the vacuum hose, you know we don't need to bend it like a metal pipe. easier but yeah, kinda weird.

just pour some petrol in some small box, like a bottle cut into two, but make sure your filter able to dip in.

yap. air filter does make that kinda intake sound. if you want to make the sound disappear, just using the stock airbox. bigger air filter would do the same, but well, its 'big'.

oh. i know wat piping u talking about i mean i wont know how to route the thing from the carburator to the air filter or wat. meaning i wont know how to insert the things coz i dunnno the stuffs inside yet.

the air filter easy to detach? i also dunno how...

very grateful for ur detail info.thanks

Unlike the original air filter, the K&N filter allows for more airflow. More airflow means you are going to run leaner if you do not do anything to the jettings of your carb, if you are going to fit the type shown. That one is a directly mounted to the carb inlet, totally bypassing the airfilter box.

The air filter box serves as a sound muffler, to muffle out the sound of the intake roar during wide open throttle (WOT) conditions.

It is pointless to put on an aftermarket race filter and yet make use of the original air box as the opening is too restrictive for the air flow. The openings must be increased either by drilling more holes or cutting, to allow the filter to function efficiently.

Increased airlfow would be too much for the stock main jets to handle... you will be running too lean resulting in backfiring when throttle is closed at high speeds especially during downshifting.

And it is detrimental to the air filter filtration fibres to use petrol as a cleaning agent. The fibres will deteriorate and WD40 is not a filter oil. Get the proper K&N cleaning and lubricating kit for the filter. You already spend so much getting a K&N filter... why destroy it using Ah Seng motodiam methods of cleaning??

To fully utilise the advantage of an aftermarket air filter, the airbox opening has to be made bigger and the pilot and main jets replaced with slightly bigger ones or the main jet needle has to raised.

Needless to say, your consumption will go up along with the power.

Unlike the original air filter, the K&N filter allows for more airflow. More airflow means you are going to run leaner if you do not do anything to the jettings of your carb, if you are going to fit the type shown. That one is a directly mounted to the carb inlet, totally bypassing the airfilter box.

The air filter box serves as a sound muffler, to muffle out the sound of the intake roar during wide open throttle (WOT) conditions.

It is pointless to put on an aftermarket race filter and yet make use of the original air box as the opening is too restrictive for the air flow. The openings must be increased either by drilling more holes or cutting, to allow the filter to function efficiently.

Increased airlfow would be too much for the stock main jets to handle... you will be running too lean resulting in backfiring when throttle is closed at high speeds especially during downshifting.

And it is detrimental to the air filter filtration fibres to use petrol as a cleaning agent. The fibres will deteriorate and WD40 is not a filter oil. Get the proper K&N cleaning and lubricating kit for the filter. You already spend so much getting a K&N filter... why destroy it using Ah Seng motodiam methods of cleaning??

To fully utilise the advantage of an aftermarket air filter, the airbox opening has to be made bigger and the pilot and main jets replaced with slightly bigger ones or the main jet needle has to raised.

wah. tats extremely chim. sorry but it is too chim for mi le.

anyway really thanks for ur advice.

exactly :thumb:

Never give the devil a ride..cos he will always want to drive

i read some where that air filter has lesser power at low speed and more power at high speed when compared to the airbox...

simply because, the air box intake is further away from the engine, thus the air is colder, ie more dense. while an air filter gets alot of hot air, ie less dense because is mounted juz after the carb, which is very close to the engine...

when the air is more dense, it has more oxygen therefore, more *power*.

the above only applies at slow speed where the airflow is limited...

but when travelling at high speeds, the air filter has more *power*, because it has higher flow rate and the air is cold...

thats what i read anyway.. something like that.. i dunno where is the article..

bro.. check this webbie..

http://z13.invisionfree.com/NSR150SP/index.php?act=idx

Alot of experienced SP riders in there..

Asking them might be a better choice..

ok thanks. will view it

i read some where that air filter has lesser power at low speed and more power at high speed when compared to the airbox...

simply because, the air box intake is further away from the engine, thus the air is colder, ie more dense. while an air filter gets alot of hot air, ie less dense because is mounted juz after the carb, which is very close to the engine...

when the air is more dense, it has more oxygen therefore, more *power*.

the above only applies at slow speed where the airflow is limited...

but when travelling at high speeds, the air filter has more *power*, because it has higher flow rate and the air is cold...

thats what i read anyway.. something like that.. i dunno where is the article..

this way i get more understand. haha

thanks alot bros

totally agree...

the aftermarket airfilter allows more intake into the carb compression provided your carbs pinjets are set correct such as mainjet n pilot..

in other words..you want to use aftmkt airfilter...better change your jetting...

or simply use a KNN filter with a racing carb...

the benefits...i have been riding for 4 years...the biggest problem with small bikes always has something to do with the carb..why cause it deteriotes over time...for the 1st time i havent sent my bike for servicing for 4month...thats long...and before the longest i went without servicing was 2 n half month...by then got problem lioa...alot of bobok...

i used the fake airfilter before...good...but not for long...it rust...

this dirty air will choke out 2stroke carb...same with the stock airfilter which you must change filter regularly...

get a KNN airfilter.. you need more info...PM me...

ANGELZ INC for info click on arrow^

http://extreme-art.nl/images/SKULL-ON-FIRE2.gif

And needless to say, there are complete idiots riding around without airfilters.

They think the sound of the air rushing into the carb is cool and they also feel like the engine response is quick. If only they knew that the carb and the engine is sucking in road crap and dirt leading to breakdowns.

I knew of a guy who got into an accident coz he was riding around without an air filter on the carb. A big black beetle (those you find flying around at night) jammed itself in the slide when he was whacking away at full bore.

Needless to say when he came towards a corner in the road.. the throttle slide would not close and neither the engine rpms would come down.

The rest is history.

Wah a big bleetle jammed it self in the slide...

dufus...

ya lor..some of the idiots use the air box but...

the filter was taken out...WTF...imagine a small lizard lay its eggs in the and they hatch... just like the mediaval times...get the head cut off in a execution...except the slide is the executioner....

ANGELZ INC for info click on arrow^

http://extreme-art.nl/images/SKULL-ON-FIRE2.gif