Originally posted by hachi@Jun 25 2005, 12:22 AM

There was little to be gained by using higher power bulbs in a given reflector/lense setup. The reason is that when you increase the light power output you do not alter the beam's pattern because the pattern is determined by the geometry of the reflector and the optics of the lense.

Most HID articles are written by car drivers so they don't actually state one of the advantages of HID that bikers enjoy. It doesn't matter whether you aim the lens correctly etc., the one big plus for bikers is increased visibility, especially in the day.

Since I had HID installed, Cars notice me a lot more often, especially in the daytime, and even more so at night. Even a badly focused lens at night just casts so much light that drivers become aware of you....

• Replies 72

It seem like in ur case u have badly adjust HID setup. So if u dislike motorists high beam from behind, I guess u become one of them. Because there are only a few bikes comes with projector lamp, like 04-05 R1,k4 G6,G7 and RS 125 and 250. This is the few I can think of.

As far as I can see many bikers complained about white light are brighter cos most blind them throught the mirrors from behind.

In this case I can tell a cheaper alternative is to high beam all the way, even in the day...same result...

Dont feel offerened, is just my point of view.

Simple test, go and look at those cars comes with factory fitted HID,like BMWs 7 series, S class, EVo 7-8 and WRX Sti.....etc.. Have u even wonder why all uses projector lamp if a H4 or H1 modified setup can do the job just as well......

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Originally posted by hachi@Jun 25 2005, 12:40 AM

It seem like in ur case u have badly adjust HID setup. So if u dislike motorists high beam from behind, I guess u become one of them. Because there are only a few bikes comes with projector lamp, like 04-05 R1,k4 G6,G7 and RS 125 and 250. This is the few I can think of.

As far as I can see many bikers complained about white light are brighter cos most blind them throught the mirrors from behind.

In this case I can tell a cheaper alternative is to high beam all the way, even in the day...same result...

Dont feel offerened, is just my point of view.

Simple test, go and look at those cars comes with factory fitted HID,like BMWs 7 series, S class, EVo 7-8 and WRX Sti.....etc.. Have u even wonder why all uses projector lamp if a H4 or H1 modified setup can do the job just as well......

nope

I drive a car. And that makes me notice badly projected headlights. AND it is a safety feature, even if drivers don't like it. Cause when my rear view mirror is blinded, I am sure as hell not going to make any crazy moves. I am acutely aware that "something" is behind me and I don't know what the hell that is. In that sense the rider has turned his bike into an unknown something which could well be a "car". This increases the rider's safety. Whether that is worth a little 'inconsideration' or not is up to the rider. It also makes the driver alert, cause an irritated driver is not sleeping/chatting/engrossed in music.

:smile: :smile: :smile:

My bike's HID is focused

hmm, so many valid arguments for and against the use of high power lights...

anyway, hey racerbike, can ask if u saw any philips diamond vision at mustafa? or u found only those platinum white bulbs (btw are they philips bulbs)? Thanx.

if dun have diamond vision i guess fleaz and i no need waste time go liao...

mito also got~ hee~ i loved them~

Originally posted by calyban@Jun 25 2005, 06:03 PM

hmm, so many valid arguments for and against the use of high power lights...

anyway, hey racerbike, can ask if u saw any philips diamond vision at mustafa? or u found only those platinum white bulbs (btw are they philips bulbs)? Thanx.

if dun have diamond vision i guess fleaz and i no need waste time go liao...

I never saw any philips bulb over at the car section. Those car bulb got platium white. But those lousy brand lah. Don't know if the flouresent lamp section have or not...

Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at an Elingsh uinervtisy, it deosn't mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer is at the rghit pclae. The rset can be a toatl mses and you can sitll raed it wouthit porbelm. Tihs is bcuseae we do not raed ervey lteter by it slef but the wrod as a wlohe

http://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=683685

Read about it. These guys took trouble to convert it to projected lamp in order to use HID. Look at the light throw. Whether bikes or cars are same...

If u thinking of fitting HID in ur non projector setup...Then learn to like those people who high beamed, lousy aimed light blinding u from behind, cos u r joining them very soon.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

It all comes down to what you want from your HIDs. There are 2 goals to having lights; vision and visibility. And Hachi is right, you don't need HIDs to do this; you could just turn on your highbeam, or more extreme, rewire your lights to take 100W halogens. Confirm you will cast enough light. The only difference HID plays is that it draws less power.

Rider's Vision. Light throw for your own sake is not really useful in Singapore; our street lights are pretty much adequate, you could even ride without your lights on and be safe (this is assuming no other vehicles). This is not like some places in malaysia where if you turn off your headlights you can't see anything.

Visibility This is the reason why the police wants us to turn on our lights in the daytime (obviously there is enough light for visibility). The purpose of this is to let other road users be aware of your presence, and it can be done with lights, or light reflective strips (like the 3M diamond strip). This can be categorised further into 2 categories

a) Passive Visibility: Have your lights on, and the drive/rider in front will be able to see you if he bothers to check his mirror/blind spot. Regular lights, and reflective strips fall into this category. Pro: Considerate. Cons: If he doesn't check his mirror/blindspot, he's still not aware of your presence.

b) Active Visibility: Have a light so bright that it screams your presense. Like it or not, the other road users know you are there. You can choose to highbeam permanently, fix HIDs, or modify your lights to take a higher wattage bulb. Pro: they know you are there. Cons: inconsiderate.

There is no "right or wrong" in this matter. Only legal or illegal (which is not the same thing). If someone tells me they are doing something to protect themselves, then its their decision to make.

Note: its actually better to have misfocused lights if you're going for active visibility; or focused lights that have been adjusted to shine at mirror/ rear windscreen level. A properly adjusted HID will easily flood the entire compartment of a car just by bouncing off the rear view mirror; the driver DEFINITELY will know somebody's there.

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Iron Butt Association#23842

Originally posted by scooterer@Jun 28 2005, 12:42 PM

Note: its actually better to have misfocused lights if you're going for active visibility; or focused lights that have been adjusted to shine at mirror/ rear windscreen level. A properly adjusted HID will easily flood the entire compartment of a car just by bouncing off the rear view mirror; the driver DEFINITELY will know somebody's there.

Yes, thats very fine, until you get blinded in a poorly lit road by idiots on the opposite side with misaimed headlights or retrofitted HID kits.

Its very dangerous, as you can't see anything infront of you. i've experienced this several times already.

Originally posted by nE0@Jun 28 2005, 08:08 PM

Yes, thats very fine, until you get blinded in a poorly lit road by idiots on the opposite side with misaimed headlights or retrofitted HID kits.

Its very dangerous, as you can't see anything infront of you. i've experienced this several times already.

Precisely. And if you were to crash, how would you take the rider/driver who is on the other side of the road to account? Its pretty much impossible.

That is the world view of a rider who has decided to take the "active visibility" route. He's gaining at other people's expense, so in his mind, their loss is justified by the safety that he has gained. He's probably a person who has one too many taxis swerve into his path and given him a near-death experience, and decided that enough is enough. And after all, if the biking community were such goody goody considerate rule followers, none of us would be splitting lanes too.

Again, choose your lighting after gaining the knowledge, and select the correct lights depending on how you percieve the world.

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

If eveyone fitted HID and riding and driving with all those HID shining on ur mirror, u cant even check mirrors. Lucky not everyone thinks like u.

In order to be safe there also things defensive riding and keeping out of others blind spot.

This is to eduacted other riders and drivers if they happened to be around and just hope, we willbe seeing less of this on the rd and riding or driving a better experience.

Originally posted by hachi@Jun 29 2005, 11:29 AM

If eveyone fitted HID and riding and driving with all those HID shining on ur mirror, u cant even check mirrors. Lucky not everyone thinks like u.

In order to be safe there also things defensive riding and keeping out of others blind spot.

This is to eduacted other riders and drivers if they happened to be around and just hope, we willbe seeing less of this on the rd and riding or driving a better experience.

First of all, not everybody thinks like me, and they never will, so lets leave that out of the discussion. If everybody thought like Ghandi there would be no wars too.

Second, the lights on my bike are at the level you want them to be. Just because I say something is possible doesn't mean I do it. Differentiate the reasoning from the person. I support gays but I'm not one.

Third, as I have stated, not riding in a car's blind spot only works IF THEY CHECK THEIR BLIND SPOT; how many car drivers you know check their blind spot? Defensive riding can only get you that far, when taxi drivers and other inconsiderate road users in METAL CARS threaten our lives, it is natural for some riders to think of ACTIVE DEFENSE against bodily harm.

Last, I'm educating other riders and drivers too; I'm letting them know that there is an additional option for keeping themselves alive. Whether they choose to take the option or not is up to them. And if it saves one person's life, then he or she will think its worth it.

By the way, "right" and "wrong" don't mean much in SBF. Some people here think doing wheelies is great, other think its wrong, some people think going 200+ km/h on the NSH is normal, others think its dangerous. Some people think cars on the rightmost lane should give way to speeding vehicles, others think they should not.

Your view is different from mine, but in the end, each has its own valid points. "right" and "wrong" will be determined by each rider on his/her own and they will act accordingly.

here's how it looks like on a 12R

still looking around for one to fit my CBR .....

HID is illegal period.

however i've not heard of anyone getting caught for HID upgrades before! =)

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:TU8QDjA-Of9VgM:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/e/e2/That_%2770s_Show_logo.png
Originally posted by seancxm@April 17, 2007 08:10 am

HID is illegal period.

My fren just got caught by ROV for HID..... :sian:

haha.... so anyone know the fine for 1st time offender and repeat offender? :sweat:

Originally posted by RevX@April 17, 2007 06:11 pm

My fren just got caught by ROV for HID..... :sian:

haha.... so anyone know the fine for 1st time offender and repeat offender? :sweat:

maybe u can check with ur friend and let us noe :smile:

quite curious myself

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:TU8QDjA-Of9VgM:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/e/e2/That_%2770s_Show_logo.png
Originally posted by seancxm@April 17, 2007 08:10 am

HID is illegal period.

HID system are not illegal - using HIDs in a Halogen lamp casing is illegal. It is prefectly legal if U hv the complete HID system plus HID lamp casing... eg projector lamp casing are HID compliant, so they are legal ..........

HP: 93891138 :angel:

Originally posted by limbat@April 18, 2007 09:48 pm

HID system are not illegal - using HIDs in a Halogen lamp casing is illegal. It is prefectly legal if U hv the complete HID system plus HID lamp casing... eg projector lamp casing are HID compliant, so they are legal ..........

Hi Limbat mind telling me again the total cost of converting my Vara125 headlight to the HID system and where to install it.

Originally posted by limbat@April 18, 2007 09:48 pm

Does that apply to both cars and bikes? or is it different regulation for bikes and cars?

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/modifications_and_vehoffences/modification_guide/hid_headlamps.om_article_heading.486967682b496e74656e736974792b4469736368617267652b2532384849442532392b486561646c616d7073.TextRender.gif

The use of HID headlamps/whiter headlamp bulbs is a technological trend in the automotive industry. The Land Transport Authority (LTA) has allowed HID headlamps to be fitted on vehicles because such headlamps have been used worldwide and they are purpose-built by vehicle manufacturers to ensure that they are safe. Like other headlamps, HID headlamps must comply with the relevant safety standards and be properly installed and aligned.

HID headlamps are more energy efficient and can improve the visibility of drivers as compared with standard halogen lamps. A motorist using a HID lamp system is able to see up to 100 metres to the front of the vehicle, compared to about 58 metres with standard halogen lighting.

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/0.gif http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/modifications_and_vehoffences/modification_guide/hid_headlamps.MainPar.0025.Image.gif http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/0.gif With the increasing trend on the use of HID headlamps, there has been feedback from motorists that such headlamps are brighter and tend to cause glare. In an attempt to reduce the propensity of glare caused by HID headlamps to other road users, some vehicle manufacturers have incorporated an auto-levelling feature, which automatically adjusts the headlamp angle and direction based on road and driving conditions.

With effect from 1 January 2010, LTA will require all newly registered vehicles, except motorcycles, fitted with HID headlamps to be equipped with an auto-levelling feature.

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/modifications_and_vehoffences/modification_guide/hid_headlamps.html

BUT

Head lamps

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/modifications_and_vehoffences/modification_guide/modification_not_allowed.MainPar.0037.Image.gif (e.g. aftermarket High Intensity Discharge (HID) lamp kits, high wattage bulbs, etc.)

Vehicles should only be fitted with factory fitted HID lamps as they are designed to meet internationally recognised standards. Aftermarket HID lamp kits retrofitted into existing headlamps may cause unwanted glare when used. Therefore, installation of these kits are not allowed.

Replacement bulbs must be of a design recommended by the vehicle manufacturer. Using a higher wattage bulb may increase the risk of fire because of a greater current being drawn to power these lamps. Therefore, these types of bulbs are not allowed.

For more information on HID Headlamps, please refer to the FAQs.

http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/modifications_and_vehoffences/modification_guide/modification_not_allowed.html#MainPar_0036

So now what? Approved or not approved?

Anyone to confirm?

Edited by ahduck

http://i601.photobucket.com/albums/tt96/douglas_yeo/Misc/ServerBZ.jpg

Bike parts sale -> http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/373436-WTS-CBR-600-Parts