Originally posted by outwaged@Mar 4 2006, 05:12 PM

adding on, if your bike drops to the left because it suddenly feels too heavy right after stopping, it probably means your handlebar is turned slightly to the left when you're coming to a stop.

also, in case your instructors haven't already mentioned it, an easier way to make sure you don't close throttle too early is to make sure your meter/gauges touch the white line when you glance down before closing throttle. glance hor, not stare. :p theory is that by the time your hand reacts, the front tyre would have already touched the white line.

have a few questions to ask.. :help:

what do u mean by suddenly feels too heavy right after stopping, u mean if i brake too hard the bike will become heavier + the handlebar will turn slightly to the left.. :confused:

and also one of the possible reason that cause the bike to drop is it bcos i grip the tank to tight.. :confused:

:sorry: for asking stupid questions, as i wish to get more knowledge on the e-brake.. :cheeky:

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3179/3115872006_7510edd168.jpg?v=0
  • Replies 22.3k

Originally posted by outwaged@Mar 4 2006, 05:12 PM

i agree it can be fun, but not to those queuing in the hot sun behind :sweat:

haha, better not to wait too long. once i see stun man on the plank, i'll join him/her once his/her bike is halfway thru the plank.

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11337/tri_daytona675.jpg

counting down again to the final class of license..

riding.. freedom.. it comes together..

i crashed out doing e-brake sp. you will alwayz learn the most when u try the bike to the limits. sch so safe somemore.. at most get some bruises and cuts.

First time i crashed: The bike stop completely liaoz, put my foot down, slipped and pengzzzz :lol:

second time i crashed: tried 40+ km/h, braked too hard, skid but the bike still straight but one of the front wheel lock le. Almost gonna stop liao and last min lose balance and fell..

Surprisingly, both times i wasn't pinned under the bike. somehow got auto body response or wat.. surely come out one.

Originally posted by hart@Mar 5 2006, 05:35 AM

i crashed out doing e-brake sp. you will alwayz learn the most when u try the bike to the limits. sch so safe somemore.. at most get some bruises and cuts.

First time i crashed: The bike stop completely liaoz, put my foot down, slipped and pengzzzz :lol:

second time i crashed: tried 40+ km/h, braked too hard, skid but the bike still straight but one of the front wheel lock le. Almost gonna stop liao and last min lose balance and fell..

Surprisingly, both times i wasn't pinned under the bike. somehow got auto body response or wat.. surely come out one.

u very heng hor & i'm so suay... dun noe how to react at all when bike skidded.. :cheeky:

u can still stop within the limit at 40 - 50 km/h, u may say tat it's foolish to try, but hey, who says u'll be doing e-brake at 30km/h out on the road? i just took the decision into my own hands and had lots of fun during sp :lol:

brake quickly but still in a gradual manner.

2a will be different, the braking power of the 2 discs of s4 is great. even if u brake a lot also very steady one. i've never stopped past the white line (and alwayz kana screw by instructor, they claimed tat we need to wayang a bit, if not tester will say our speed not enuf or brake to early :mad: )

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 5 2006, 05:39 AM

u very heng hor & i'm so suay... dun noe how to react at all when bike skidded.. :cheeky:

important thing is tat u must remain in control.

even if u skid in actually test, as long as u stop in time and didn't fall at all.. they just give u the "wrong e-brake technique" pts.

front wheel skid, but as long as u r upright and heading straight, it's easy to control. Rear wheel skid must counter steer, but no space for u to do tat and u'll have to continue moving to stop the whole problem, better not brake too hard for rear.

Originally posted by hart@Mar 5 2006, 05:43 AM

better not brake too hard for rear.

actually i always concentrate on my front brake.. so nvr notice whether did i press the rear brake :confused:.. maybe i did press the rear brake cos nvr been pinalize by the instructor before abt this.. :cheeky:

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 5 2006, 04:07 AM

have a few questions to ask.. :help:

what do u mean by suddenly feels too heavy right after stopping, u mean if i brake too hard the bike will become heavier + the handlebar will turn slightly to the left.. :confused:

and also one of the possible reason that cause the bike to drop is it bcos i grip the tank to tight.. :confused:

:sorry: for asking stupid questions, as i wish to get more knowledge on the e-brake.. :cheeky:

I think he means that when u brake too hard right. the wheels will lock and skid. And it is hard to keep the bike straight when the bike is skiding.

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 5 2006, 05:39 AM

All these comes with experience de. :smile: u would get it next time.

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 5 2006, 03:39 AM

orh ok, good to hear that.. :sweat: thought u just hurt yourself recently.. :cheeky:

neh.... heeheh that was like some 4 yrs ago loh... ehhe

Originally posted by hart@Mar 5 2006, 05:40 AM

u can still stop within the limit at 40 - 50 km/h, u may say tat it's foolish to try, but hey, who says u'll be doing e-brake at 30km/h out on the road? i just took the decision into my own hands and had lots of fun during sp :lol:

brake quickly but still in a gradual manner.

2a will be different, the braking power of the 2 discs of s4 is great. even if u brake a lot also very steady one. i've never stopped past the white line (and alwayz kana screw by instructor, they claimed tat we need to wayang a bit, if not tester will say our speed not enuf or brake to early :mad: )

eh... actually true... i panicked during 2a ebrake... i braked so hard that i can stop before the red line... then the instructor say i speed not enough lah... (ming ming see the speedo is there liao :|) say i close throttle too fast lah... etc etc.. so i wayang and slowly stop instead... then stop between the red and yellow line... finally i passed....:giddy: :mad:

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159+Mar 5 2006, 04:07 AM-->
QUOTE (EeYoRe_159 @ Mar 5 2006, 04:07 AM)

have a few questions to ask..

what do u mean by suddenly feels too heavy right after stopping, u mean if i brake too hard the bike will become heavier + the handlebar will turn slightly to the left..

and also one of the possible reason that cause the bike to drop is it bcos i grip the tank to tight..

:sorry: for asking stupid questions, as i wish to get more knowledge on the e-brake.. :cheeky:[/b]

i mean that if you manage to keep the handlebar completely even (bike going straight forward only), there won't be problems keeping the bike upright when it comes to a complete stop.

however, i used to have this subconcious tendency to turn the handlebar slightly to the left when the bike is almost stopped so i could be sure it leaned to the left when it stops and not to the right (cuz right foot down first = immediate failure). is this what you're doing too?

during e-brake especially, that puts a lot more weight on my left leg. and i kept forgetting that it was a 100+kg bike, not a 10kg bicycle.

i'm not sure about gripping the tank too tight. but i think that as long as you're sure it's an even force on both sides, it's probably not the cause of the falling.

they're not stupid questions lah. not sure if my explanation makes sense tho. maybe someone else can confirm?

paiseh. v long winded. last time english paper always fail summary :sweat:

Originally posted by hart@Mar 5 2006, 05:29 AM

haha, better not to wait too long. once i see stun man on the plank, i'll join him/her once his/her bike is halfway thru the plank.

hehe. once i blurblur went up plank when a 2A SP (i think) was on it. he just pulled in the clutch and cheekily blew exhaust fumes my way :cheeky:

Originally posted by kahhwee@Mar 5 2006, 10:42 AM

I think he means that when u brake too hard right. the wheels will lock and skid. And it is hard to keep the bike straight when the bike is skiding.

orh ok.. thanks for the explanation.. :sweat:

Originally posted by kahhwee@Mar 5 2006, 10:43 AM

All these comes with experience de. :smile: u would get it next time.

haha.. dun noe need to wait how long.. :faint: maybe till everyone pass liao & i'm still struck there.. :cry:

Originally posted by BiBi@Mar 5 2006, 11:05 AM

neh.... heeheh that was like some 4 yrs ago loh... ehhe

wow.. that's very long ago liao.. :sweat:

Originally posted by outwaged@Mar 5 2006, 12:38 PM

i mean that if you manage to keep the handlebar completely even (bike going straight forward only), there won't be problems keeping the bike upright when it comes to a complete stop.

however, i used to have this subconcious tendency to turn the handlebar slightly to the left when the bike is almost stopped so i could be sure it leaned to the left when it stops and not to the right (cuz right foot down first = immediate failure). is this what you're doing too?

during e-brake especially, that puts a lot more weight on my left leg. and i kept forgetting that it was a 100+kg bike, not a 10kg bicycle.

i'm not sure about gripping the tank too tight. but i think that as long as you're sure it's an even force on both sides, it's probably not the cause of the falling.

they're not stupid questions lah. not sure if my explanation makes sense tho. maybe someone else can confirm?

err.. can't really rem'ber which leg come down first.. :confused: why i can't rem'ber is bcos when the bike drop first thing i will be thinking where's my leg, is it underneath the bike.. :sweat: think both legs oso encounter bike dropped before..

As for gripping of tank, a friend of mine told me that try not to grip the tank too tight or dun grip the tank at all.. I ask him why and he reply me when we press on the rear brake, he realise that our right leg will slightly leave a gap away from the tank.. so once our right leg leave the tank.. right side will be more heavier so that why the bike will drop.. i've no idea whether is it true but on Thursday will try not to grip the tank or just slightly touch the tank only.. :sweat:

i believe in using the waist to help balancing. coz u see ar.. when the bike going to skid or lean to any side, 1st part to feel that is ur waist liao ma..

I'm using this technique for e-brake that time.

1) When meter covers white line, close throttle. Covers both brakes. 90% on front and 10% on the rear. (Best is if the rear brake totally seem like it's not working at all. Mean when u press rear brake the braking effect not so strong. can ask instrictor help u adjust loose 1 if too tight.)

2) The second the bike coming to stop, clutch in and put ya left leg down. i mean at the same time do both the thing la.. (just like u cover both brakes) shouldn't have a problem if able to master the technique.

Note: When taking the practical, DO NOT rush in and jam the brakes hard. try different braking pressure and methods until u find 1 u are comfortable with. Do not fear going over the red line during the first few tries. it's the process of learning and practicing. Anyway, :goodluck: to ya next practical jie jie :smile:

かたつばさのてんし

ありがとうかみ

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 4 2006, 03:38 AM

me is on next thursday.. lesson 7..

hey, wish u :goodluck: dun be like me.. :weep:

Thanks! Actually, I'm also very scared. :weep:

"In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer."

Albert Camus

French existentialist author & philosopher (1913 - 1960)

04.09.06 *d@y i got my LicenSe *

09.10.06 *d@y i got my Y125Z *

10.03.07 *d@y my Y125Z is goin' for inspection and passed the inspection*

When did I pass my 2nd and 3rd inspection?

Originally posted by outwaged@Mar 5 2006, 12:38 PM

hehe. once i blurblur went up plank when a 2A SP (i think) was on it. he just pulled in the clutch and cheekily blew exhaust fumes my way :cheeky:

but then blowing the throttle helps to balance.. u might feel weird.. but maybe he blow liao then clutch out slightly.. the bike will immediately balance again for the next moment..

Originally posted by BiBi@Mar 5 2006, 11:09 AM

eh... actually true... i panicked during 2a ebrake... i braked so hard that i can stop before the red line... then the instructor say i speed not enough lah... (ming ming see the speedo is there liao :|) say i close throttle too fast lah... etc etc.. so i wayang and slowly stop instead... then stop between the red and yellow line... finally i passed....:giddy: :mad:

standard lah.. confirm must wayang one... hai~

hope i'll remember when my time for class 2 comes..

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159@Mar 5 2006, 05:50 AM

actually i always concentrate on my front brake.. so nvr notice whether did i press the rear brake :confused:.. maybe i did press the rear brake cos nvr been pinalize by the instructor before abt this.. :cheeky:

for 2b bike, they got fix a set of lights in front and the instructors can tell 2 things:

1. if u have achieved the speed required. (green light)

2. if u have used rear brake. (red light)

Originally posted by Roadwiniac@Mar 5 2006, 01:25 PM

i believe in using the waist to help balancing. coz u see ar.. when the bike going to skid or lean to any side, 1st part to feel that is ur waist liao ma..

I'm using this technique for e-brake that time.

1) When meter covers white line, close throttle. Covers both brakes. 90% on front and 10% on the rear. (Best is if the rear brake totally seem like it's not working at all. Mean when u press rear brake the braking effect not so strong. can ask instrictor help u adjust loose 1 if too tight.)

2) The second the bike coming to stop, clutch in and put ya left leg down. i mean at the same time do both the thing la.. (just like u cover both brakes) shouldn't have a problem if able to master the technique.

Note: When taking the practical, DO NOT rush in and jam the brakes hard. try different braking pressure and methods until u find 1 u are comfortable with. Do not fear going over the red line during the first few tries. it's the process of learning and practicing. Anyway, :goodluck: to ya next practical jie jie :smile:

thanks hor, didi.. will try hard & pray hard..:cheeky:

Originally posted by hart@Mar 5 2006, 08:55 PM

for 2b bike, they got fix a set of lights in front and the instructors can tell 2 things:

1. if u have achieved the speed required. (green light)

2. if u have used rear brake. (red light)

didn't know abt the lights things.. only know blue light is for front brake.. now i know liao.. :sweat:

Originally posted by EeYoRe_159+Mar 5 2006, 01:09 PM-->
QUOTE (EeYoRe_159 @ Mar 5 2006, 01:09 PM)
err.. can't really rem'ber which leg come down first.. :confused: why i can't rem'ber is bcos when the bike drop first thing i will be thinking where's my leg, is it underneath the bike.. :sweat: think both legs oso encounter bike dropped before..

As for gripping of tank, a friend of mine told me that try not to grip the tank too tight or dun grip the tank at all.. I ask him why and he reply me when we press on the rear brake, he realise that our right leg will slightly leave a gap away from the tank.. so once our right leg leave the tank.. right side will be more heavier so that why the bike will drop.. i've no idea whether is it true but on Thursday will try not to grip the tank or just slightly touch the tank only.. :sweat:[/b]

hmm, i'm not really aware about whether or not i'm gripping the tank. bad... that's probably why even now sometimes i feel the bike leaning to the right at e-brake :sian: will take note next time, thanks!

Originally posted by outwaged@Mar 5 2006, 10:11 PM

hmm, i'm not really aware about whether or not i'm gripping the tank. bad... that's probably why even now sometimes i feel the bike leaning to the right at e-brake :sian: will take note next time, thanks!

is just an information from my friend.. so not sure abt this too.. :confused: will oso try to figure out on my next lesson in e-brake.. hopefully what he said is right.. :cheeky: