I will be sending my bike for servicing next week.. wondering what engine oil need to be use... Heard from one of the guys to use maxima oil... but what grade and where to buy especially...

• Replies 7.7k

So sad to hear that u guys have some mishaps. The rain don't go well with the stock tyres :cry:

Invest in better tyres and a crash bar. To save some cash, install the tyres front and back at LAB. it costs $140-160 depending on ur bargaining power. after installation by LAB's workshop, ride SLOWLY to universal for a checkup (chain, air pressure, brakes). I got a BT39ss set for $140 at LAB after some bargaining

Crash bar I think can install at universal or you can save more by going to JB "AGL". If you need help going there, you can ask any of the pulsar guys and tag along.

Once this 2 is installed, you can start training yourself

:cheeky: riding in singapore is very dangerous as our brakes are not as efficient as cars. try not to follow directly behind a car; instead keep slightly left or right. In the event that the car jam brake, do the right thing, brake! then siam! smashing the car's side mirrors is way better than kissing their taillights! haha

When I got my license when I was 18, i got into 4 or 5 accidents within 1 yr. 1 was a major accident when clog up serangoon rd. I broke dunno how many bones and almost got my neck cut off by my windscreen by a few cm. Since then, i'm accident-free. :smile:

Take care guys! Riding is fun but life is precious. I lost a friend who was hit by a car. He was only 24 and left behind a newly wed wife and a very young infant. :cry:

Be aware! anticipate, anticipate and anticipate somemore! :smile:

ORD LOH!!!

Originally posted by Kamal_0109@March 04, 2007 11:15 am

Anybody got any idea how much universal motor charged for installing crashbar? any good place to installed the crash bar?

Universal selling at $20 plus with GST.I installed mine there:smile:

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg

i think universal also like to anyhow quote prices for spare parts...like crash bar i installed twice @ $30..so guys please take note.. =)

Originally posted by Kamal_0109@March 04, 2007 11:14 am

I will be sending my bike for servicing next week.. wondering what engine oil need to be use... Heard from one of the guys to use maxima oil... but what grade and where to buy especially...

bro will this be your first service?

my advice is for u to use mineral oil during the running period where u change your engine oil often. once u've been thru 2-3 service than u can change to a better grade expensive engine oil..

jus my 5 cents worth

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
Originally posted by Kamal_0109@March 04, 2007 11:14 am

I mentioned that I use Maxima, but wat EO u use is up to u. Just make sure the grade is _ _ W50 (eg 10W50, 15W50, 20W50 etc). Ignore the number that comes b4 the 'W' (winter) which is for cold climates so not relevant to us in hot n humid Sg.

The Maxima EO that I use is Maxum4 Extra 15W50 fully-syn. If I go to Universal for servicing, I buy d Maxima EO 1st from:

RaceWerks

Blk 1005 Bukit Merah Lane 2 (same lane as d old Universal wkshop, further in)

#01-24 S159761

Tel: 62732203

then go to Universal wkshop for servicing n EO change. For just EO change, I just do it at RaceWerks.

U can refer to the link below for other shops that sell Maxima products (call 1st to check whether they have the stuff that u want).

Shops carrying Maxima Products

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif
Originally posted by GoofRider@March 04, 2007 10:09 pm

my advice is for u to use mineral oil during the running period where u change your engine oil often. once u've been thru 2-3 service than u can change to a better grade expensive engine oil..

Yes, that's wat some bikers do. They use mineral oil 1st b4 progressing to semi-syn and subsequently fully-syn.

http://www.motoworld.com.sg/products/1423/small.jpg?rand=31854229 http://unleashthebeast.wikispaces.com/file/view/Monster_Energy.gif/259657964/Monster_Energy.gif

anyone know if the bajaj 200cc will be as fuel economy as the 180 version?

http://i38.tinypic.com/2610xz6.jpg

T r i u m p h S t r e e t T r i p l e

Originally posted by QuaXum@March 05, 2007 11:49 pm

anyone know if the bajaj 200cc will be as fuel economy as the 180 version?

yes it will.. infact the bajaj 220CC has the same fuel saving as our current bajaj 180CC. but than must wait quite a while lah.. i think they will try to finish this batch of third gen bajaj pulsar than they bring in the 200CC.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
Originally posted by MERCENARY@March 04, 2007 12:46 pm

Universal selling at $20 plus with GST.I installed mine there:smile:

so cheap ? mine is $30 plus include GST.. still got keep the Receipt :mad:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

I have check with universal recently. They said the 200cc version will only come in around late November. Hope this helps.

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

Originally posted by GoofRider@March 06, 2007 08:50 am

yes it will.. infact the bajaj 220CC has the same fuel saving as our current bajaj 180CC. but than must wait quite a while lah.. i think they will try to finish this batch of third gen bajaj pulsar than they bring in the 200CC.

ahh... can't wait to get the 200cc version. looks so cool! :smile:

Originally posted by joajas@March 06, 2007 11:37 am

I have check with universal recently. They said the 200cc version will only come in around late November. Hope this helps.

thanks for the clarification.:cheer:

Just wondering whether the 200cc will be as problematic as the 180cc UGIII, particularly the electronics :giddy:

200CC ones i heard is coolant cooled one not air cooled izit?

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

Originally posted by lindavw@March 06, 2007 05:57 pm

200CC ones i heard is coolant cooled one not air cooled izit?

As quoted from Bajaj Auto official website.

The new Pulsar has many firsts to its credit. It comes equipped with an Oil cooler, which helps control engine oil temperatures at sustained high speeds and rpms, thus ensuring more stable engine oil viscosity. The 200cc DTS-i engine generates 18 Ps of raw pulsating power to provide riding excitement to performance hungry bikers. This makes the Pulsar 200 the most sporty and stylish powerhouse on two wheels to pace the Indian roads.

Hope that clears your doubt :cheer:

Originally posted by Roadrunner71@March 06, 2007 04:59 pm

Just wondering whether the 200cc will be as problematic as the 180cc UGIII, particularly the electronics :giddy:

is the ug3 really very problematic?

Originally posted by GoofRider@February 26, 2007 02:13 pm

anyone here know how much Petronas petrol cost per litre? wanna try out lah.. but i dun know where is the nearest one at causeway..

actually the nearest petronas is actually quite far... ahah but u can go there if u go to ah gua lane.

Originally posted by Z^^kia@March 06, 2007 09:09 am

so cheap ? mine is $30 plus include GST.. still got keep the Receipt :mad:

Nop:sorry:

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg

hi..fellow bajaj riders.. i'm a newly crown rider.. & member of this fourm..

ridding the 180cc bajaj pulsar.. bought lately last week.. @ universal.. price tag $4.2k... w/o insurance.. just finish run in few days..& change the tyres too.. so far as many mention the fuel is very economical..

very good for road rounding around singapore and maybe malaysia.. cauz dats wat i do with my other 9 bikers.. feel free to join us..

forget about speed..so far i tried till 90km/h...might dampen the engin's performance... smooth ridding... great tail light..

overall it's a excellent bike for me..

Do share yr comments and tips on maintaining this bike for those who had one before...thankz..:goodluck:

post-76-1173244722.jpg

yamaha x1

Bajaj pulsar(200 stiker)

Honda Super4(PB1)

Suzuki DRZ(sub rider)

Yamaha rxz135

Yamaha FZ1

Yamaha R1 &

Subaru Impreza :thumb:

:- Some drivers dont think of others o_O -:

Originally posted by D_midtriy@February 28, 2007 12:12 am

bro outspoken, care to share how ur fren lost his bike??? i mean what did he do wrong?? did he like never use the handle lock or sumtin??? maybe we can all learn from this episode.

btw to those who wanna change battlax tyres in msia. do take note. the originals are more expensive there than in spore(lab and hkl). the cheaper ones are not the originals. been toldby a few bike shops over msia....

sorry to hear the mishap...

Would like to know who have install this type of lock on their bike? It can be found on most of the msia bikes...

http://www.cwylde.co.uk/bikes-motorcycles-shop/motorbike-stores-dogo-lock.jpg

http://www.motorcycleinfo.co.uk/resources/6795/assets/images/Technical/data_r1200gs_thumbnail.gif
Originally posted by GoofRider@February 28, 2007 08:29 am

sure or not u wanna put side box.. dun look like ahpek bike meh..

why not u install top box instead. cos once u put side box, your beautiful hugger cannot see liao.. heee

my side box was given by my fren. i jus customize the brackets at the shop in JB for like RM30.

u can check out for second-hand side box in garage thread or bike shops. cos

the brand new one cost a bomb.

I personally find that pulsar install the side box looks great!!!

But because of the weight, it can really make our bike feels more stable with side box!!!

http://www.motorcycleinfo.co.uk/resources/6795/assets/images/Technical/data_r1200gs_thumbnail.gif